2015 Porsche 911 Targa 4S, Cayenne GTS facelift introduced in Malaysia – order books now open

991-porsche-911-targa-4s-introduced

Fans of the ubiquitous, rear-engined sports car from Stuttgart rejoice! Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) has introduced the 991-generation Porsche 911 Targa 4S for the Malaysian market at its new Sungai Besi showroom today. Joining the multitude of 911 models on sale in Malaysia, the Targa 4S brings to the table its own unique flavour of automotive theatre.

The key lies in its namesake, of course. Being a 911 Targa, it (sort of) straddles the fine line between being a convertible and a coupe. For the 991-generation, said model remixes the trademark Targa concept by injecting a dose of modern technology into how the electronically-operated fabric roof gets folded away.

With the push of a button, the entire rear window assembly pops up to reveal a storage compartment beneath it. With that out of the way, the two latches on the upper half of the Targa bar split open to release said roof, following which the fabric gets folded in half before “mechanical arms” attached to it peel back to stow the entire roof away. Finally, the rear window gets reset to its original position, completing the transformation.

Going from coupe to convertible and vice versa takes just 19 seconds – the car cannot be on the move for the process to take place. Additionally, a wind deflector is integrated into the cowl panel frame and is aimed at cutting wind noise and reducing buffeting. The aluminium panel of the Targa bar conceals the steel roll-over protection system. The heated rear window is made from laminated safety glass.

porsche-991-911-targa-4s-introduced-malaysia 16

In terms of its aesthetics, the Porsche 911 Targa 4S retains all the characteristic hallmarks of the fabled model – a relatively bulbous front end, replete with circular bi-xenon headlights, tapers into a squat rear end with slim LED taillight. Being an all-wheel drive model, it adopts the Carrera 4 and 4S‘s 44-mm wider body.

Beneath the rear bonnet lies a naturally-aspirated 3.8 litre flat-six engine pumping out 400 hp at 7,400 rpm and 440 Nm of torque at 5,600 rpm. A choice of either a seven-speed manual or a seven-speed PDK dual-clutch gearbox is offered. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.6 seconds and a top speed of 294 km/h with PDK – the manual does the sprint in 4.8 seconds and tops out at 296 km/h.

If performance SUVs are what you’re looking for, the Porsche Cayenne facelift has also been introduced by SDAP. Looks wise, Porsche has kept most of the changes (both inside and out) relatively subdued. Up front, a reworked air intake features “airblades” on the outer edges while the LED headlights sport a revised design. Additional changes include updated taillights and a lightly restyled rear bumper.

On the inside, a 918 Spyder-esque multi-function steering wheel with paddle shifters remains the most obvious update while the rear seats are said to have been redeveloped for greater comfort. As for engine options, a plethora of powertrain options are offered.

porsche-cayenne-gts-fl-malaysia 1

Pictured at launch is the driver-oriented Porsche Cayenne GTS. Said model may not exactly be the most powerful variant in terms of outright horsepower rating but it is, arguably, the most dynamic model to pilot. It employs a 3.6 litre V6 engine with 440 hp at 6,000 rpm and 600 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm.

Externally, the Cayenne GTS gets 21-inch gloss black multi-spoke alloys shod with 295/35 Michelin Latitude Sport 3 tyres. As for the interior, the seats are trimmed in an Alcantara/leather combination with additional red highlights (including the seat belts) to help set it apart.

Mated to an eight-speed Tiptronic transmission (seen on every other Cayenne variant), it sprints from 0-100 km/h in 5.2 seconds (5.1 with the Sport Chrono Package) and powers on to a top speed of 262 km/h. Fuel consumption on the combined cycle includes a figure of 10 km/l with CO2 emissions pegged at 234 g/km.

As for the base Cayenne, it sports a 3.6 litre V6 engine pumping out 300 hp and 400 Nm of torque. Paired to the aforementioned gearbox, the SUV sprints from 0-100 km/h in 7.7 seconds (Sport Chrono shaves a tenth off) while top whack is 230 km/h. The Cayenne S employs the same mill, albeit twin-turbo’ed to achieve 420 hp and 550 Nm of torque, allowing for a century sprint time of 5.5 seconds and a top speed of 259 km/h.

The top dog of the petrol range includes the Cayenne Turbo. Said model adopt a twin-turbo 4.8 litre V8 engine with 520 hp/720 Nm of torque. The century sprint gets completed in 4.5 seconds in the Turbo before it tops out at 279 km/h. The insanely powerful Turbo S is available via special order should you feel the need to own an uber SUV capable of lapping the Nurburgring in under eight minutes.

As for diesel-powered options, the Cayenne Diesel and S Diesel variants are offered. The latter employs a 4.1 litre V8 engine pumping out 380 hp and 850 Nm. As a result, the S Diesel goes from nought to 100 km/h in 5.4 seconds and tops out at 252 km/h. It records a combined fuel consumption figure of 12.5 km/l, CO2 emissions stand at 209 g/km.

Owners with a more environmentally-friendly disposition can opt for the Cayenne S E-Hybrid – the third plug-in hybrid model after the 918 Spyder and Panamera S E-Hybrid. Said SUV employs a 3.0 litre V6 petrol engine mated to an electric motor for a total power output of 416 hp and 590 Nm of torque. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.9 seconds and a top speed of 243 km/h.

Porsche 911 Targa 4S

Porsche Cayenne facelift

Porsche Cayenne S Diesel facelift

Porsche Cayenne S E-Hybrid

Porsche Cayenne GTS facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• spongewai on May 28, 2015 at 3:41 pm

one day going to visit showroom at Sg Besi/Chan Shao Lin once opened officially

• kenot on May 28, 2015 at 4:14 pm

The basic shape still same from generation to generation. Porsche is one of the iconic car through their legacy..dream car..

• Same Lorrr on May 28, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Dont buy this junk.. buy toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • taknakToyota on May 28, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Errr….you mean the junky brand with dangerous airbags?
      Nah, no sushi in the list pls, next!

• No more Value on May 29, 2015 at 8:19 am

Yes Toyota has much higher value than this glorified VW.

• Porsche Salesman on May 28, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Rich people please come waste your money here. You own these cars, those regular cars have to switch to left lane when see you approaching. Come, don’t shy. You don’t like the specs we offer, never mind. There are plenty of optional for you to choose. You guys are rich, so high pricing should not be a problem.

• No more Value on May 29, 2015 at 8:26 am

0-100 km/h in 7.7 seconds is a joke, the slowest petrol X5 is 6.2 seconds. Tell me Porsche Salesman why should I waste my money and get tapao all day long?

• chrissy on May 28, 2015 at 5:08 pm

The Porsche guys did not mention about the prices but frankly if you have to ask how much they cost, then you probably can’t afford these super cars. This world, of course, is not fair to all. period

• The phrase “if you have to ask how much they cost, then you probably can’t afford the car” is outdated.. For those who love cars and in this case Porsche… We all know that it’s close to 1mil for Carrera/CarreraS models to 1.3mil for Turbo.
      Knowing that bulk of the purchase price goes to the Government in the form of import duty and tax, some won’t buy even they can afford to pay for it. Pre-owned, or even recond units are preferred… And they would normally go for those mint units with full service records. 4-5 years model cost less than the original asking price from Sime Darby.

• halimievo on May 30, 2015 at 9:33 am

Its true, that phrase is very outdated. And there are many rich malaysian out there can afford. But why do they want to feed the government? Rather go for pre-owned at least its not so expensive. In Malaysia, the duty and tax doesnt not go back to the society, it goes to the pocket. So if there is a change to skip tax. We all will be gladly to do so.

• That is why I bought a 997 instead of Panamera when I was shopping for a Porsche… The 911 series is iconic, with no significant changes to body shape, and synanimous with Porsche brand.
    It drives perfectly… Suitable for everyday drive. Wanted to go for Targa initially but I have to sacrifice 2 seats at the back which can fit my 2 kids when we go out, so ended up with Carrera.
    However, I still can’t heart the fact that it’s selling close to 1 million for Carrera models. Damn Malaysian duty and tax system!

• gill60 on May 28, 2015 at 7:04 pm

For the base V6 and diesel models which are essentially the same car as before they have increased the base price by RM110k before options. At least for the Cayenne S there is a 3.6 bi-turbo that replaces the previous thirsty but glorious sounding V8. I am sure that these considerations are academic for the intended target purchase group.

• sudonano (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 7:53 pm

That targa is love, targa is life.

Perfect top down, corner attacking, pulse racing, modern classic machine. Wow. Just wow.

As for the Cayenne, while I do like beige/brown interiors, somehow I don’t know, something feels off for the Cayenne V6. Not sure what is that… The diesel is probably what the common colour combination would be, judging by the number of white with black units of the old Cayenne.

The e-Hybrid too is pretty cool, that interior colour is classy alright. 10/10 for the interior alone, and nice silver to make it look not too overwhelming. Probably I would personally not take the gloss black rims though, I think those rims better fit the GTS…

The GTS. Now that is what I call practical insanity. Looks badass, pretty sure it goes like stink as well…

Interestingly I don’t see the Turbo though, pretty sure I saw a couple of Cayenne Turbos running around the streets with the official importer number plates (official imports carry the “Porsche Centre Kuala Lumpur” plate holders, and I highly doubt you can get them just like that…).

• halimievo on May 30, 2015 at 9:36 am

Not a few but I have seen many. Most Malaysian can afford luxury cars. Its just matters that whether they want to pay such high tax to our lousy G.

• RV King TOyota on May 29, 2015 at 12:28 pm

For the next 50 years I am going to buy 10 Toyota and resell in 5 years, hopefully the savings from Super Duper High RV can save enough money to pay for 4 tyres.