COMOS EV car-sharing service launched: 10 locations in Klang Valley, 1st year membership promo at RM50

COMOS 7

After months of delays, the Cohesive Mobility Solution (COMOS) electric vehicle car-sharing programme has finally been launched today at Menara UOA Bangsar, officiated by Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal. With public registration having been open since last month, the service has now been kicked off at 10 locations in the Klang Valley.

The pricing structure has been revised again since the last update – membership now starts at RM25 a week, rising to RM50 a month and RM300 per year – for a limited time only, users can sign up for a significantly-reduced promotional first-year membership of RM50.

Usage rates will be charged at RM16 per half-hour (minimum usage), split into RM8 for every 15 minutes; unchanged from the RM32-per-hour rate previously mooted. For the first three months, there will be a promotional rate of RM6 every 15 minutes, totting up to RM12 per half-hour.

COMOS 1

Charges are capped after the sixth hour (meaning that you won’t be charged for any usage beyond that period), but the car has to be returned before 10 pm. Bookings can be made from the COMOS website anytime after 10 pm the day before planned usage.

Unchanged are the rental points, which are located at five LRT stations and five public spots – Asia Jaya, Bangsar, Pasar Seni and Ampang Park LRT stations as well as locations in Medan Tuanku, Lorong Bunus, Lorong P. Ramlee, UTM Jalan Semarak and Universiti Malaya. The initial fleet will consist of 10 Renault Zoes, down from the 16 announced last month.

How does it work? You’ll need to register yourself with COMOS, following which an account – linked to the user’s credit card – will be activated. Once you are registered and subscribed to the programme, you’ll be able to collect and activate your special RFID access card at Menara UOA Bangsar. That card is essentially a passkey used to unlock the vehicle, via the scanner under the bottom right of the windscreen.

COMOS 9

The pick-up locations double up as charging stations – users simply unplug the car before each journey, and upon the return, plug the charging cable back into the car, at which point billing stops. Not doing so continues the billing, so users will have to be mindful of that.

COMOS has also announced that it will be offering corporate lease packages in the near future, priced at around RM4,000 for the Zoe – the company is boasting double tax deduction for the service, along with the obvious zero fuel bills.

It has also stated that it has already supplied EVs to the Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) and Perbadanan Putrajaya (PPj); Melaka state agencies will receive their cars soon under the COMOS Corporate Vehicle Branding and Leasing Package.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Alldisc on May 30, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I take the Uber. It is cheaper. And faster. With a driver. I need not worry about finding car park. And they will come pick me up anywhere in greater klang valley.

So hassle free.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
  • Jason's on May 30, 2015 at 3:46 pm

uber is illegal Malaysia tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • kzm (Member) on May 30, 2015 at 6:31 pm

uber is not illegal but uber driver without proper permit is illegal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Chong Yew on May 30, 2015 at 8:45 pm

legality is a technicality and an enforcement focus in Malaysia, not law.

• alldisc on May 31, 2015 at 12:44 am

Uber still going strong. The last time SPAD confiscate cars from Uber, they were released within 48 hours. No case. No signage saying those cars are Uber. No cash transactions involved.

Basically no proof, and without evident SPAD has NP case.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 30, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Not inexpensive. And not convenient either. Not an option for irregular users and visitors.

• Edwin au on May 30, 2015 at 4:10 pm

If you think EV cars is mainly about performance, then u are wrong. EV cars is mainly about saving the environment.

• Gargantia on May 31, 2015 at 8:51 am

Malaysia Government “Never Encourage saving environment”.

Please look at why they 100% tax the Hybrid car ?!!!

This are just another cronies company by Malaysia Govt aka Bolehland industry !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Kelvin on May 30, 2015 at 5:49 pm

macam syed zainal

• When I saw an EV cruising the road, I rev the car pretty hard so that they can hear me ‘hurting the environment’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • Annoynimouse on May 31, 2015 at 5:34 pm

yeah… it goes to show what kind of person you are.

• Thats a joke dude. Who on earth want unhealthy environment? I’m sorry a lot if you didn’t get it.

• C. P. MOHAN on May 30, 2015 at 7:59 pm

I thought saving the environment is to give tax incentive for ownership of such vehicles both public and private.

• Gargantia on May 31, 2015 at 9:02 am

Malaysian Rakyat after 30 years still hunting by “Bolehland cronies right policy”.

As long as “Bolehland right” still in power Rakyat can’t stop the cronies monopoly industries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • jacksparrow on May 31, 2015 at 8:41 pm

you know, start saying Malaysia instead of bolehland and then talk..Malaysian really are ungrateful lot

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2015 at 9:10 pm

I dono, i jus think our market is not mature enough for this type of service, though i appreciate the out of box thinking… I just dont see it last very long…
    I feel uber is alot more popular that it really is… Its like the brand is alot stronger (due to controversies) than what it makes u to believe…

• seancorr (Member) on May 31, 2015 at 8:45 am

I don’t think so either unless manufacturers start building the foundation for EVs here in Bolehland…much like how Norway is doing it by driving its whole country to switch to EVs by giving very good incentives to both the public and the manufacturers.

Right now I only see too few charging stations in very selected malls….and that’s about it to support the EV community here.

• seancorr (Member) on May 31, 2015 at 8:42 am

Its a good initiative to go green but I can’t see how this will drive the EV infrastructure nationwide.

Even if they expand their service nationwide, the charging stations will solely serve their own fleet of EVs and will not share with the public unless they build and open up more charging stations at strategic locations.

So who’s willing to build these rapid high powered and expensive charging stations in which the ROI for each will be bloody slow? I guess it will be the band of manufacturers who decide to bring in EVs in a big way to Bolehland which will be in like a million years!

• Think of it as preview to EV technology, a PR gimmick to jump start the interest. Once people have accepted the technology, they’ll start to demand the cars and infrastructure to support it.

As for big names, Tan Chong has been the forefront to introducing EVs not just as car but as an ecosystem (cars, infrastructure, service). Hopefully others would follow but I wouldnt count on it. I predict the next big name would be Proton, which is due to introducing their EV in 2016/2017.
      MB which has plugin hybrids, and has been enthusiastic to bring in their hybrid tech, might follow suit.

It will take a while, and most probably require the private sector to take the lead. If Gov does it, you can bet some “rakyats” and politicians will protest about their tax money used for rich people playthings. Damned if you do, damned ifyou dont.

• Tadalaku on May 31, 2015 at 8:50 am

syoik sendiri, as always

• jacksparrow on May 31, 2015 at 8:44 pm

what’s wrong with you? when someone rehash old design u say syok sendiri and when they bring something new to the table also u say syok sendiri..typical malaysian

• Bursa Malaysia Jatuh on May 31, 2015 at 9:15 am

I am so thankful that I bought both my Priuses for myself and my parents before they scraped the incentive. From 148K to 200K+, how are we ever going to save the environment? Lucky for us, now we have the Camry Hybrid and a bigger car that is cheaper than the Prius. Government oh government, kalau nak galakkan rakyat memelihara alam sekitar, tolong kurangkan harga jualan kenderaan mesra alam. Jangan asyik ingatkan nak untung je.

• Oh boy. It’s a given that any EV-designated parking spot will be parked by non-EV cars. Malaysians are stubborn enough to park on a spot for the handicapped even if they’re not disabled themselves.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:11 am

Yeah. The solution is of course that the operator of these charging spots will have cameras to observe, and when they notice that a non-EV car is parking there, a tow truck is called and the car towed away, for a fee of, say, RM 1000. Don’t pay, don’t see your car again. Ever.

• brazbuz on May 31, 2015 at 10:51 am

I think uber services using comos fleet car will be better

• Albert on May 31, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Remember the days when someone started “caravan homes” for rental,like in Kangaroo Land ?The caravan simply disappeared across our corrupted borders.
    Now even graveyards of Rohinyyas are there,within our borders.
    Syed Zainal,this will not work here.Perhaps,in Down Under where people will feel more civic conscious.Here,I heard a cop cursing when his car is stolen 50 metres from the Balai,while he is having his teh tarek.
    Maybe,one day you can see these ev cars cannibalised for spare parts as some dudes will report them stolen.Possible in Bolehland?

• Albert on May 31, 2015 at 1:54 pm

One afterthought,Syed Zainal…since you are a bumi, just get a blady Giant AP ,bring in Exotic cars like the late Naza boss,shake legs…or like the blady Westar arrogant bastard… why sweat,and introduce something ‘not so so” yet here?

• gaviny on Jun 01, 2015 at 9:07 am

only makes sense if there are city restrictions, parking restrictions, incentives to use an electric car, otherwise it’s a funfair novelty ride

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:39 am

….The silence from the Taxi operators are defenning.

Maybe they also know that this is all but a passing fad.

The only time it makes sense is when both your origin and destination are Cosmo points so you don’t have to pay for parking. Can’t really see this outfit getting any traction as it is really expensive.

I would be sticking to UBER Black.

• Shariran Shaari on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:32 am

Like everything else,COMOS EV cars are not meant for everyone.If we are not interested to use the COMOS EV,it’s better to reserve the negative comments.Nowadays, we Malaysians tend to comment eveything under the sun!! Kudos to COMOS EV for introducing something fresh to our public transport industry.