Toyota registers S-FR nameplate – new Supra’s title?

Toyota FT-1 IIMS 6

Toyota has fuelled the rumour mill surrounding its supposed Supra successor by trademarking the S-FR nameplate, as AutoGuide understands. News regarding the long-awaited replacement for one of Toyota’s most iconic model was jettisoned into the air when the Japanese carmaker unveiled the Toyota FT-1 concept.

The designation ‘Toyota S-FR’ is now filed under the protection of the United States Patent and Trademark Office and will be used for “automobiles and structural parts thereof.” As demonstrated on the Scion FR-S (Toyota 86 to us Malaysians), the new Supra could feature a front-engined, rear-wheel drive layout – considering the FR-S now stands for ‘Front-engine, Rear-wheel drive and Sport’.

Toyota FT-1 IIMS 14

Names and titles aside, the upcoming next-gen Supra will be developed in conjunction with German carmaker, BMW. While earlier reports indicate a hybrid setup for the new sports car, such notions have since been dismissed by both parties. The new model is expected to feature turbocharged, six-cylinder petrol engine sourced from its German development partner.

Styling wise, it’s a bit of a no-brainer for Toyota to pen its upcoming halo car after the aforementioned FT-1 concept. The Japanese firm has earlier announced that it plans to have a three-strong lineup of performance cars, with the 86 occupying the middle ground. The Supra will, obviously, sit on top of the range while a more affordable, yet-to-be-named model will slot below the 86.

GALLERY: Toyota FT-1 concept in Indonesia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• DPCraft on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Front and Rear copy Mazda !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Otak Udang on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:09 pm

come to Malaysia, UMW will take out the VSC and 8 airbags in the Supra to save cost and untung lebih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:44 pm

the S-FR would probably sit below the 86
    to rival the mx-5 ,

Toyota would stick with the supra name…
    twin turbo v6 is the name of the game now for most automakers…. from godzila, to nsx and ford GT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • thepolygonal on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:55 pm

“The Supra will, obviously, sit on top of the range while a more affordable, yet-to-be-named model will slot below the 86. ”

Ok I am actually interested in the “yet-to-be-named model” slotting below the 86, meaning a cheaper than GT 86 sports car from toyota is a good thing.

• will sell my beloved turbocharged vios and buy this one.. hopefully this new supra is more than 400bhp because my turbocharged vios is already 260whp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • kzm (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:27 pm

I like the design..nice

• Otak Udang on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:04 pm

in kampung got this design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 12:37 pm

I dont know I’m KL guy..birth at KL (1983) hospital but still my family hometown is kampung..I live at my kampung only 4 yrs (1997-2000) after that I further my studies, work n live in Selangor (2001 till now). I oni go back for raya or for family matter.

• Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:51 pm

In Malaysia, we got new name plate for Toyota cars. It is “Moving Coffin”

JPJ also will issue new name plates ie Toyota moving Coffin 1 to 10

JPJ also will give Toyota cars the option to have plate Keranda 1 to Keranda 10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • GTR lou on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:52 pm

@Sam loo, available here?

• or Scion FRS …. S-FR minus S …. w/o SkyActive tech be like

• Supra on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:55 pm

No matter what, I’m ready to splash the cash,as long as it’s a Supra replacement model

• IMHO… They should have used back the Supra

• Jonn dol on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Toyota, why you need to use a German engine???? You already established on the engine technology. What’s your RND doing? No issue if collaborate with BMW on chassis development.