Toyota 86 style Cb unveiled in Japan, on sale April 23

toyota-86-style-cb-3

Love (and a fair bit of tyre smoke) is in the air this Valentine’s Day with the introduction the Toyota 86 style Cb – rather unfortunate when you consider what that acronym stands for here in Malaysia. No worries, though, as the car will only be available to Japanese customers when order books open on April 23.

If the new variant appears familiar to you, that’s because it is. It was originally previewed as a concept at the 2014 Tokyo Auto Salon. The difference this time being that only the coupe version has made it across as a production model – the convertible version remains, for now, a concept.

The most obvious change here is the front end, which features a more bulbous, rounded look to it when compared to the edgier, standard version – to attract buyers of the fairer sex, apparently. Inspired by Zagato, the round head lamps and refreshed grille gives it an uncanny resemblance to the sixth-gen Toyota Celica.

toyota-86-style-cb-5

Under the skin, everything remains as it is with the Subaru/Toyota-developed 2.0 litre, naturally-aspirated FA20 flat-four engine providing thrust – total power output remains at 200 hp and 205 Nm of torque. Mated to the mill is a choice of either a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic transmission.

On the inside, things get a little more tasteful(?) as part of the centre console and dashboard receive a wood grain feature that apes “high-end audio components” while the leather-wrapped steering wheel now sports the ‘Cb’ emblem. The instrument cluster now features white needles and a design that “exudes a warmth that seems appropriate in a coupe designed for drivers with mature and discerning tastes.”

The Toyota 86 style Cb comes in five different colours, including two two-tone schemes – Nuance Beige and Demitasse Brown. Available at Toyopet, Corolla and Netz dealers across Japan, the car is slated to cost 4,180,582 yen (RM125,648) for the manual while the automatic variant starts at 4,263,055 yen (RM128,127).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:48 pm

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

This one looks like a rehash of the FTO.

• CBAGAGAGA on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:05 pm

What car you driving sir?

Im driving a CB car..

HAHAHAHHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • mohsin on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:18 pm

it should be Mazda5!
    But the rear end so – so

• classic!!

• Only those who love Zagato-esque design will appreciate this… Personally it looks so docile compared to the original striking design of 86

• azrai on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:43 pm

I think this is what Aminar mean with their 4th model. A Perodua Cb.

• Rahim Zagato on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:57 pm

I wish that I could afford the FT-86 in boleh land , supposedly the car is the poor man’s version of a sports car but I’m afraid the price tag of 240K puts it outside almost all working people reach except a few elite people.

• Gajen on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:58 pm

I think this looks good, classic look. the current one is not bad but looks like its trying hard to look good.

• macam CB

• Lol, ‘Cb.’ Suits the pricing for it here in Bolehland. I kinda like the front end – looks like a Porsche. But the rest of the car doesn’t really go with it.

• laughed so hard reading “Cb – rather unfortunate when you consider what that acronym stands for here in Malaysia”

bro Greg thanks for cheering me up after an exhausting workday :)

• cendol (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

CB or no CB, not many Malaysians can afford this.
    So it is LPPL

• albag on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:51 pm

mmg CB punya design

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:27 pm

sam loo now can talk cb with this cb

• cbuckd on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Why CB? What is CB? Fat uncle can you elaborate it?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:34 pm

u are male or female? if u male…ur a cb by character….if ure a female…u have cb naturally

• No more Value on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:07 pm

CB is a good thing

• DRIVEN Episode 6.9: CB, all the guys at Paultan.org enjoyed it.

• a refreshing look at front…better than the current styling