DRIVEN: Toyota 86 – a true gem under the veneer

Some cars are that bit more enigmatic than others to define. Bothersome even, like in the case of the Toyota 86 (Link: Official Toyota 86 microsite). Up until late in the day of our time with it, it didn’t really show any real reason why it was as special as some people have made it out to be.

Speed-wise, it’s pacy enough, but not racy, and while it looks sporty, it’s a bit generically so. The interior contains a mish-mash of material and different textures (I counted eight at least), and there’s no real sense of occasion. Upon first impression, there’s little to suggest what the fuss is all about with this one.

In fact, in a world where the normal adage is now “bigger, better, faster, more,” the 86 doesn’t quite measure up in the arms race, and the initial reaction will be to dismiss it, based on those very definitions above. The point is, if you’re looking for a bazooka on wheels, well, this one isn’t really it, because something like the Renault Megane R.S. 250 Cup will get you around a track faster. Indeed, those into brute force and application should just stop reading now.

Dismiss it though, and you also dismiss the chance to unearth a gem of a car, one with a panorama of party tricks that it won’t show until it knows you, or rather, you know it. Initial impressions can be a bit soggy with this one. You sense there’s something tucked away deeper within when you prod it, but until it’s unlocked, she’ll keep it pretty civil.

Such was the case at the beginning. I’d volunteered to give the car a go because of all the hoo-ha concerning it, all that talk about the old AE and offering an essence of that from the past. With that in mind, I decided to head out to Bukit Tinggi on a quiet Monday afternoon, which I haven’t done in yonks with a test car. Along the way, on the Karak, the 86 provided the first bits of its tonality, responding to input with a great sense of lightness and agility, adjectives that Danny has also used as descriptors.

For good reason. Here, on sweepers and at pace, it tracks well, and feedback to input has the car replying in a sure, measured fashion, so you always know what the car is doing. Undoubtedly, the 86 feels like it can do with more ponies than the 200 present, but that would arguably also ruin the composition and balance. Meanwhile, there’s plenty of useful information coming off the steering, which is nimble and quick.

A decent opening gambit, but the next step was a bit less inspiring. At Bukit Tinggi, I decided to try out the whole gamut through a series of runs, starting with the car in normal mode and with all the electronics on. The auto tranny, already hinting at slow uptake earlier, kept to its character left in Drive – with a laggy throttle response and the need to keep the engine boiling, the first climb up was, in short, unspectacular, at times even gangly.

Moving to Sport mode on the engine and going to the VSC’s Sport mode helped, but again, nothing to suggest that the 86 was anything more than a very sharp handling offering needing more power (well, uphill at least). Downhill, the Sport mode responded to heavy braking by switching down a gear, which didn’t always make for good progression at core points.

A note about the 86’s brakes – the assist and pedal feel is a bit old school, where you have to stand on it a fair bit, which I quite fancy. It does have good modulation, and hauls the car up rapidly enough when asked.

Going into manual mode, still with VSC Sport, made for the best presentation of the lot, though at that point I kept pondering for a stick shift and wondering how that would have turned out. Still, things were clean, VSC Sport keeping it all – mostly – tidy. Things were never unruly, and if you like things taut and neat, you’ll find the 86’s moderated presentation rewarding enough. It was probably good that at that point I’d not discovered the ability to switch the VSC and traction control off completely.

The drive home went into traffic conditions, which showed how well the 86 has been managed. As a daily driver, the 86 scores high in the ride department. It’s a comfortable car when you’re going about your daily routine, the suspension soaking it all up with a level of refinement a good sedan would be envious of.

Score points also for the driver’s seating position, which is a standout, likewise everything that is a contact point. Really, it’s not until you get out of the 86 and get other perspectives do you realise how well it has all been accomplished as far as driver-focus goes.

As a tool, the best manner to describe the 86 is that it’s a scalpel. A bit on the light side, yes, but efficient nonetheless at close quarters. Sacrificing outright punch and power for deftness and agility, this is a car the more you drive, the more you marvel at the philosophy of thought that has gone into it.

Well, at least that’s what happened when we finally unshackled it. As Danny’s part of the story puts it, it was right at the end of the test session, the night before we returned the car, that the 86 came out to play. We’d deliberated whether we were going to do it, and in the end, I can say that we’re both mighty glad we did.

On an oil and soap-covered skidpad that was already in place for an event, with everyone else long gone, and traction control and VSC completely off (we finally discovered it at that point), the 86 finally put its argument across that you don’t really need that much power or brute force to have fun. Or that in such a case, too much would have been overkill.

In this case, it was exhilarating, getting the 86 to do the sideways bit. Once I’d gotten the feel of the upper limits of thresholds, accomplishing graceful arcs continuously around the skidpad was an infinitely repeatable affair. I can’t say if it is, as Danny puts it, steering by throttle at its finest, but it was plenty amazing. I’m sure I must have looked like a kid in a candy store at that point, with giggles to boot. Fun? Best in a long while. All that was missing was the tofu, really.

Danny, meanwhile, took the car around harder, and while there was a less ability to maintain a continuous hold through more than a few circles at a time (inevitably, too much gas proved the undoing for the tail), it all looked mighty impressive. And as dramatic as it looked, it was all accomplished is simple fashion, without having to put too much thought – and effort – into it.

The point is, the car makes it so easy, once you give it the range and scope to run. The next day, before returning the 86, I set out to do a final session with it sans electronics on a few quiet stretches of road. Mindful about the tyres, I kept things to a minimal.

Still, it was an absolute gas, and it was easy to drum up images of Bullitt amidst the limited shenanigans, with a ‘keeping it hanging as long as possible but sensibly’ bit capping things off. Nothing smoked, and the Michelins were very much alright. Addictive though, so inevitably it’s going to cost you in terms of tyres with this one once the bug bites hard.

A rear wheel-drive, light sports car offering beguiling deftness and agility when you choose to stretch its legs while being practical (!) and comfy enough for everyday use when you want to be pedestrian is a rarity in this day and age. That it comes from Toyota is perhaps the surprise, but it does show that when it wants to, the automaker can be adventurous.

No, it’s not perfect, but pricing not taken in the context, as an experience this one is simply brilliant, and drivers should be thankful for such manna in a world fast becoming too generic and matter of fact. Shame that its price means not many will get to enjoy its unique charm, but such is life.

Danny drives the 86 again:

Roped in to give a second opinion on Toyota’s reborn icon, I drove to Sepang and back with Anthony for an event, and the journey revealed plenty about the 86, mostly pleasant surprises.

I’ve already stated my love for the car’s driving position in the preview drive story, but it’s worth repeating. One sits really low inside the cabin, which is good, and the space is snug but not overly enveloping for me – good headroom for the front two, enough width to feel “normal”. We don’t wear short skirts, so graceful exits aren’t an issue.

The seats are not branded, but they offer good support. Not the tightest wrap for me, but good enough as they need to accommodate the bigger guys as well. The steering wheel may look simple, but it’s perfect as a tool – small diameter, just the right thickness (i’m not into BMW M style fat rims) and tilted at a nice vertical angle.

Besides the above, shift paddles that turn with the wheel (action is just about substantial enough), a hand brake lever on the driver’s edge of the tunnel and a clear instrument pack dominated by the rev counter (as it should be in a high revving sports car) all contribute to a driver focused environment. On the latter, I like the digital km/h readout but would have preferred 0 to start at 6 o’ clock for the analogue bit.

I also don’t find the 86 dashboard design attractive, and some materials such as the faux carbon fibre panel look nasty. Good thing though that none of these affect the business of driving, and it doesn’t take long to realise that this car was made by folks who love to drive.

The relaxed highway run to Sepang and back gave the 86 a chance to charm us with its manners, and yes, this is a car I can easily live with everyday. The rear seats are for kids only, and a RON97 diet is costly (UMW Toyota says the car will run fine on RON95), but Toyota didn’t throw comfort and refinement out of the window with its first sports car in years.

The 86 rides surprisingly well on our less than perfect roads, and in more ways than one. The ELITE highway is quite choppy in stretches, but we didn’t get bounced around too much – the primary ride is certainly calmer than in many sporty cars. The Honda Civic FD2R and VW Polo GTI are two that come to mind.

Perhaps Toyota didn’t have to spring the 86 too firmly, because of the car’s light weight (it tips the scales at 1,280 kg). Small road imperfections are steamrolled over without much fanfare, too. I feel that this attribute, like the great driving position, aids fast driving because one can truly focus on the subject.

The good ride comfort is a great ally to the decent rolling refinement. At a highway cruise, and even when you’re past the limit by 30 to 40 km/h, the 86’s boxer engine settles to a quiet sleep, waking up only when you stab the throttle. Tyre roar and wind noise didn’t stick out either, unlike say in a Nissan 370Z.

We’re also pleased to report that the exhaust note is neither overbearing or a constant companion, although I wouldn’t mind an engine note with more boxer burble in it. Just enough, although some owners would surely proceed to “fix” this “problem.”

Another thing some might want to fix is the naturally-aspirated 2.0 boxer’s grunt, or rather the lack of. It’s not an issue for me – personally, I find it fast enough and I quite like the need to work for the performance. It undeniable though; to get the most out of the 86, you’ll need to rev the engine hard.

Many might miss the immediate turbo rush served up by today’s hot hatches, and their better flexibility, compared to the need to keep the 86 on boil. It can even at times feel lethargic at low revs, especially when momentum is broken and you need to get back up to speed.

I can imagine this trait being a hassle to many, which is another reason why the 86 is not for everyone. But for those who love to work with a good high revving NA engine, proceed to enjoy the second wind that takes you to redline. It’s not as dramatic a switch as in a Honda Type R, but acceleration and sound becomes more vivid as you ride the wave and catch the next gear.

Speaking of gears, it’s my third time sampling the 86/Subaru BRZ, but I’ve yet to try the manual version, which bugs me! So all we can say is that in D, the automatic is faultless in town and in normal driving, but incapable of being one with you when the pace is upped. That’s when the steering paddles come into play, and DIY shifts happen fast enough. Still hankering for the manual, though. To try, I must buy? Let’s hope not.

OK, so how does it respond to fast driving? Friendly and intuitive is the first impression. The steering is light and very quick, and there’s good feel through the rim. Forward visibility is good, and enough has been said about the nice driving position and good ride comfort. The feel of lightness and agility is a constant, and the 86 grips well in a normal fashion if you drive neatly.

Even at this level, the 86 does many things better than the fatter and faster sporty cars we’re more accustomed to. Great job for any sports coupe, but the 86 is no normal sports coupe. We are of course looking at a rear-wheel drive descendent of the AE86, made famous by drifting and Initial D.

We very nearly didn’t discover this unique facet of the 86. It was luck that we got to do so, and without any damage done or a set of bald Michelins. You see, there was a driver training exercise being held in SIC’s paddock carpark, and the skidpad for the oversteer exercise was layered with oil and soap, which is inherently much more lasting and tyre friendly than water. The show was over, it was dark, and we were naughty …

The 86 has a special VSC Sport mode, which allows for a bit of rear slip before the electronics intervene to keep the car (and you) in shape. This is great for the road, where normal mode can be too restrictive and full VSC off is too dangerous. It works as advertised. But faced with a safe playground, VSC off it was.

It was amazing, and easily the most fun I’ve had in a long time. Not only is the 86’s tail effortless to kick out, sustaining a drift is also relatively easy if you know what to do. The quick and intuitive steering and the sharpness of the throttle response played a big part here – every stab of the gas pedal coincided with immediate body movement – steering by throttle at its finest.

While Anthony was pirouetting around gracefully, coming out for a chuckle, then hopping in back for more (like a kid in a candy store!) I was trying to donut my way around the centre circle – it was fun and addictive either way.

And before you say every RWD car is the same, this amateur wasn’t nearly as successful trying the same course earlier in the day in a German example. I also don’t remember the Porsche Cayman being so willing to dance. The Toyota 86 was made to drift, and I’m just glad to have been able to teman it doing its thing.

What do we want out of cars? Many want reliability and resale value, some are drawn to looks and features, while some want the most power and speed for the money. Some have big families, a few prioritise driving pleasure above all else. Me? I want to feel good, and the 86 made me feel like a hero. But after the dust had settled, I realised it was the true hero. One of a kind, not for everyone.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sudonano on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Good one! keep it up!

• Goodma on Jul 02, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Good one?
      Yes it is perhaps not bad.. but given the price tag at 250K, it does not really justify the money spent.

When i read thru the review above, especially the first reviewer.. I felt like reading a poem or wat, seems like finding all the beautiful description he could to praise about the car, but not saluting it.
      All I felt is this toyota 86 is build in “raw” with all the minimum equipped to provide “raw” fun.. as to continue the legend of the old school AE86. but yet, the AE86 was not a expensive car, but this new one cost 250k!!

come on… Why ppl pay few Thousands for a leather PRADA, or LV wallet while they can get a Braun Buffel with just a few hundred.. u judge it..
      But in this case, the 86 is like the Braun Buffel to sell at LV price tag…

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:02 am

You dont have the money thats why…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • we have a lot of 10 sen and 10 sen is money too !

• vindicator on Jul 05, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Agreed. Everything about this car, eventhough it is a fun car to drive bla bla bla, it is suppose to be an “ENTRY LEVEL” sports car like how it is selling in any other countries… All the accesories and finishing just doesn’t tell you this is a mid-range or high-end sports car… RM250k, is definitely not an ENTRY LEVEL price. Duty and taxes set aside, compare to other cars in the same price range in Malaysia, there are really alot other better choices! Pretty decent car with good concept but two thumbs down for the price in Malaysia!

• aravind on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:42 am

it’s an awesome car but 250k is bloody expensive and it is because of the taxes and etc. In UK the car is half the price and even cheaper in the US. Moreover we can’t use subsidised fuel for the 86. Totally not worth the money.

• Interior is ugly and only ron98 can use? since Golf R is faster than this thing and can use ron95 !

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:06 am

No money no talk i bet you dont even have vw only kapchai if youre lucky enuff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Sorry i never talk to the PC screen and i’m only type…no money no talk? lolx u think everyone here r poor?u r so smart !

• looking forward on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:04 am

People always say about no money no talk.
        This car is good in terms of performance. Boxer 2.0 can get up to 200bhp while other engine only capable of reaching 150 ~ 170bhp.

But for value of money? And with that price tag + let say still looking for Nippon car – I’ll go for the new Subaru Impreza

• theanswer on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:37 pm

dont forget honda civic fd k20 or clio rs 2.0..still using inline 4 na but capable of churning 200bhp.

• sudonano on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:19 am

Umm, actually i was talking about the review… As in I liked the way it was written, forget the car, as in the way it is written is much better than some reviews that sound so biased on this site, sadly. (If you have read a review on this site in the last week, you’d notice one review of a Japanese that i felt was a bit biased to the manufacturer :/) as the price, go ask the government? it is govt. approved. remember have to protect the satria neo still the ‘hot hatch’ car. so obviously do not expect 50k price. or anything below 100k, cause the neo (special lotus edition) is nearly 100k if i’m not mistaken… And you can’t compare the price of a car in the 1980 with one in 2012 la!

• tunguuu on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:48 am

bro…think a bit. how come GOLF GTI is 200k then? this one is 250k? or megane RS250 is is much more powerful still 250k plus? or the scirocco r also 250k? dont get fooled by the gov talk. do some research before posting.

• hmm, i’d say ask the greedy guys of UMW…

• sudonano on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:32 pm

UMW has to set a price, above the price of the min govt price. govt doesnt care even if UMW is gonna charge 500k also, as long as it doesnt kacau with the P1 and P2. govt should have regulated it, by not letting these companies go overboard with pricing too. and by the way, Golf GTI despite being cheaper. remember that the DSG has some issues, so there is a likely for some transmission trouble in a few years of ownership. This is a known fact with the DSG where the mechatronic fails. the you are stuck. also, running costs, the toyota may be cheaper, generally german/continental cars are more expensive to maintain than the japanese. so yea, i guess that my opinion in this.

• mohsin on Jul 03, 2012 at 12:24 pm

I vote for BRZ

• shawal on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:08 pm

I’d have this and a 320d sport in my garage…
    and an 7-seater ’emerging markets’ car for the wife…. hahahaha

• LE_buruk on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:12 pm

which 1 is better gt86 or s2000?
    both have 2l engine…

• deftones on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:21 pm

paul, is that 146km/h at 3k rpm? looks good for cruising too..wonder what rpm will be at 110-120km/h..2k maybe?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Yes it is. And it’s around 2,500 rpm at 126 km/h (as seen in the other photo with Danny behind the wheel).

• looking forward on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:07 am

If dyno it, could it possible the torque curve is almost straight line from 2000 rpm?

• bobdbilder on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:45 am

Torque dip between 3200 to 5000 rpm. HP flat around that area too

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

pity about the price otherwise many true enthusiast will be able to enjoy what it was intended for..cheap and fun…

• kington on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:52 am

Yup, the price is a real killer here.

Which is sad because the AE86 was not built as an expensive car, more like a Putra for all of us.

• kingston on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:27 pm

I want to own one someday :)

• Min Ron 98? Means only can use v power racing in Malaysia ?

• Ron 95 on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Walawe…Ron 98 only???? Suck my pocket!!

• Poket Penuh on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Thanks my VW & BMW coz allow me to use RON 95 :)

• _xXx_ on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:53 am

pocket penuh, go find out what najib said in the newspaper today. fuel subsidy is not forever…

• bobdbilder on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:49 am

Dont tell me it hasnt a knock sensor? It will run 95 but the retardation wont give you full specified power/torque.

• DArkerMarker on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:53 pm

the only reason why ppl are kept away from this car is the price tag.

Sadly true…

• tunguuu on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:06 pm

is a very gud car…sadly..UMW’s greediness and a min 98RON means u will c very few of this gem on the malaysian roads.

• sudonano on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:21 am

sad but true. UMW also cut throat with toyota in this country. we need a new distributor la. :(

• Simon Ng on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:58 am

I think car prices is not only determined by money but also the estimated demand/ supply and factory capacity. If price too low, there is a surge in demand but the factory capacity is not able to handle the demand. Yet, the profit is not sufficient to justify factory expansion in the long term. Furthermore, it only dilutes the brand or making customer angry due to long waiting period. As such, it actually make sense to set the price high and only serve smaller number of customers.

• Savvy88 on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:19 pm

OMG.. without the spoiler, the car look very cacat!

• Is this car from Toyota showroom or is it from someone who actually forking out 249k ?
    I remember the car during launch is an auto, which is so wrong.

• 4agze on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Sorry Anthony, you writing are too poetic. Please cut the bombastic language and excessive adjective and be more straight forward like Danny’s.
    Just my honest opinion.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Ha ha, we’ve been on this path before, 4agze. Like said before, to each his own, and too old to change! That’s why we have Danny! :D

• confused on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:47 am

Keep up with your writing style. O like it. Each one of you have different writing style, that’s unique actually. Making the review, less dull.

p/s: if all the presenters in Top Gear are like Jezza, how boring it would be? That’s what Hamster and Capt. Slow are for.

Awesome review by both of you. Hats off.

• yup..keep the writing style. at least we can sense some real passion in the review.

• Goodma on Jul 03, 2012 at 12:36 am

Agree… straight to the point like man talk pls..

• lalok_stylo on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:41 pm

this car is good but it is overpriced….

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:18 am

Overpriced for poor people like you.

• Mic Tee on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:51 am

Go sell to a millionaire a kapchai for one million dollar, would he say overpriced or not? duh….

• _xXx_ on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:59 am

poweeerrrr ni kerja kat opis kajaan mane ni? senang je…

• Stop judging people damn it. What do u drive? Bugatti veyron?! Not all people are blessed with good fortune, and if u do have billions of dollars, be grateful lah. Ni pergi ckp orang miskin, siot betul -.-

• Modesto on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:02 pm

With this type of price tag, I rather go for 3 series. Yes, pls use less bombastic words, angmoh language skills not so good here.tq

• Went to see the car during a roadshow. Black Auto.

First impression, open up the door, immediately felt the rubber material inside the door is cheaply made. Not firmly stick on the door, but like floating around.

Auto, yes, they display Auto model in the roadshow. Who on earth will want an Auto? Yes, 30% according to Subaru, based on their order worldwide. 70% of their orders are for the manual version.

At RM240k, it makes my purchase of RCZ at RM220k a definite better decision. RCZ is nappa leather inside the car (seat, dashboard, steering…etc.). Feels much more elegant than the 86.

Toyota Malaysia does not allow test drive on the 86, and I am not going to spend RM240k just to test drive one.

• Azydy on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:33 pm

not good design.. i think my car that i use now more stylo than this.. not believe..lets visit my blog..

• Polo Saga on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:50 pm

but it is still overpriced, u could get half price which is RM120,000 in Taiwan!!!

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:24 am

Migrate to taiwan then. I bet you cant buy it either.

• polo saga on Jul 03, 2012 at 7:40 am

i’ll migrate to taiwan right after u work as a hooker.

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:00 am

Polo saga is truly no brainer thats why this thing (polo saga) wanted to go taiwan just to be a hooker

• BN hater on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:47 am

Poweeerrrr maybe is Najibai’s son, who knows!!

• Taiwan only gets 100 units for the moment at least. Chances are all of them are booked.

• Fantastic write-up Anthony!

• bmpower on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:21 pm

that pricetag?
    VW scirocco still far better in specs of many.
    left only RWD?… enuff with toyota DX / KE 70.

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:16 am

No money dont complain la. Your dx ke 70 is not the same with this car. Thats the cheap car for poor people like you!

• ah_lock on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:35 pm

plenty of option we can choose here.. let me see, there are lot of button, vsc on/off, sport mode.. ermm, but “snow button”..?? haha..

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:13 am

The snow button to be used during wet road condition i.e heavy rain as well

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:14 am

In evo you also have snow, gravel, tarmac traction control

• cutester on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:56 pm

For the Malaysia model, it should be Sport and Flash Flood mode…. Hehe. Just kidding!

• danedz on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Better buy MX5 rather than this…

• If the auto transmission Toyota 86 is so good, then the manual version is going to be a dream to drive!

• Levin_enthusiast on Jul 02, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Why do I have a feeling that they are writing about test driving a Hyundai Coupe????

*sigh*

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:27 am

Are you drunk? This is a review of toyota 86 not hyundai. Dont understand is it?

• hey this is not your blog.

give your finger a rest. f off.

u must be a salesman, go sell your vios. and shadup.

• one word…expensive!

• M.P.Choy on Jul 02, 2012 at 11:56 pm

IMO that stick pretending to look like a MT is so wrong…

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:00 am

Why are you guys complaining about the price? If you dont have the money dont buy it. No body force you to buy this car.
    No money no talk. Go fly your kite!

• salgoodguy on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:05 am

seriously u got problem dude, go check ur brain!

• Medic on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:16 pm

So expensive this stupid Toyota car.Only a hooker like Powerrr can afford.Everybody is entitled to his opinion,got money also must make purchase wisely.

• Patrick on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:21 am

I have some questions, please provide answers.

I am from Miri and I am interested in this car.
    1. Where to order them?
    2. Can this be order from toyota Miri? if not where?
    3. What is the price, model(engine,manual or auto, and colour choice)?

If it is possible to send me catalog.

Thank you.

• Goodma on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:49 am

are you new to this blog? or are you not malaysian?

• PoorMiriGUY on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:10 am

U think this page is a Toyota homepage that can send you the brochure? just drop by any Toyota branch and bring the deposit. No money no talk.

• 868686 on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:48 am

Patrick,

Its on UMW Toyota website. You can download all the answers u asked. Yea, you can order from Miri outlet.
      Overall, there are 2 variants (Auto & Manual), 6 Colours available – White Pearl, Silver, Black, Red, Orange, Blue.
      Catalog can download off www.toyota.com.my
      For Miri, price is at: RM 243.9K for Manual ~ 249.9K for Auto.

• confused on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:48 am

toyota.com.my la kawan.. Order online. Macam order PC Dell.

• Medic on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Contact Powerr,he seems to be a Toyota salesman(daytime) &hooker (at night)

• Bro, go NBT Gadong showroom buy 50k brunei dollar, manual.

• 250k for Sushi tofu car…. it would be a better buy if priced around 140-160k price range.

• powerrrr2 on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:20 am

Wow…looks like someone called powerrrr has too much time to keep replying in the comments section. Butthurt toyota salesman? Hahahahaha…

• TurboMan on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:44 am

Simply an immature troll with too much time on his hands.

Dont feed his troll nature by replying to his messages.
      Just ignore him.

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:12 pm

After this the govt will remove the fuel subsidy then you will cry for sure hahaha

• This car is overpriced if you consider what its selling for in the US. USD 30K. Of course the volume in Malaysia will be small but you could almost buy 3 in the US for the price we are paying here. And its not Toyota being greedy. It’s the tax structure as well. It’s not a question of whether “you got the money”.

• The clock looks so outdated in a 200k+ car

• 868686 on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:52 am

To all,

It should be pointed out that the Toyota 86 FA20 engine – is a high compression engine, an high RON rating (RON97 & above) is RECOMMENDED to get the most power from the engine. However, if you read the owner’s manual, it has also been tuned to accept RON95 minimum. The engine will not suffer, and you can still run the car normally – just that perhaps you won’t get ultra response in the initial revs, and that this engine has modern knock sensor, it is no problem.
    Those who own 4A-GE engines would know this very well.

• seriousdude on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:19 am

no manual transmission?
    hope brz is a manual tranny when it comes in…else how to drift with auto tranny ^^

• ahsiang on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:33 am

wait, where is the cup holder?

• ABTguy on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:37 am

In Taiwan, the same 86 cost about RM140-150k. And a BMW 328 cost RM220k+

So, 2 conclusion.

(1) we are taken for a ride by Govt & UMW
    (2) I rather buy a 328 sport !

• ss427 on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:38 am

Well like I said before, this is the ONLY Toyota sold in this part of the world that’s worth the look and purchase (well price be damned).

The trouble with this 86 is…exactly how much ‘Toyota elements’ was there inside this car? The entire drivetrain is froM Subaru, the bodyshape is 90% Subaru, interior parts is mostly subaru too.. saved for that dorky looking Toyota corp parts radio and some minor parts bin.

Did Toyota chip in to develop the DI heads for the boxer engine? Subaru doesn’t have any DI tech in their engine lineup.

Hmm… any 6MT model for Bolehland? We have both 6MT and 6AT model in SG, and last heard 6MT is selling better at about 60%.

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/86/index.aspx

The 86 is the ONLY Toyota to have 7 airbags in SG… :) We can’t even get 6 airbags in the new POS Camry.

• Maid05 on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:19 am

Toyota’s chief engineer on the sports car program, Mr Tada said Subaru was initially resistant to the coupe project and that the companies (Toyata & Subaru) clashed over the use of Toyota’s direct-injection technology on the Subaru boxer engine.

He said he commissioned a proof-of-concept mule based on a shortened Liberty sedan converted to rear-wheel drive in order to get Subaru on board.

In the end, Toyota initiated, largely funded and contributed styling, direct injection and transmission components to the project, while Subaru provided the flat-four engine architecture, engineering and production capacity.

You may read the further story at:

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/2094BD9AD5301837CA2579C6000CD9F2

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:51 am

Yes. 6MT is RM243,000 in bolehland. No idea how many sold so far here, but heard in Indonesia, all 37 units sold out. The 86 starts from Rp600 million (RM202,000) over there.

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:17 am

Takde duit jgn nak buat kacau la wei

• Rotary on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:39 am

its way overpriced,the Mazda 3 MPS is only 180k with 255bhp and compatible with ron95,although the purpose is different from the 86

• tunguuu on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:54 am

i just wonder really, how come no mention about its price..is it worth that price? compared to lets say a Golf GTI? i mean a review should also include a comparison, but turns out even paultan.org is a bit biased. probably because they advertise on your site?

please enlighten us.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:07 am

We’ve already mentioned the price before this. In fact, if you’d click the link, it will bring you to our launch report that details the prices for the manual and automatic versions. For your convenience, here’s the link: http://paultan.org/2012/06/01/toyota-86-officially-launched-in-malaysia-manual-goes-for-rm243k-auto-rm249k-we-try-it/

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:21 am

Anthony, Chris,
        They all dont have money to buy and actually envy with this car thats why the wrote negative things like overpriced la etc. typical malaysian mentallity takde duit buat la cara takde duit sedar diri sket

• Chris,

It seems like Poweeerrr have loads of cash to blow. I think it’s good to ask him to sponsor those test (daily usability 1 month test) that we wanted you to run now. Ain’t it. :)

Poweeerrr bro, sponsor la.. pls.. :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:32 am

tunguuu,

Everyone by now knows what the 86 goes for in Malaysia. That we have to pay what it is we pay for it and cars in general has also been established; we could argue till the cows come home, but nothing will change. That’s the reality of it.

The worth of a car (monetarily in relation to perceived value) lies with the individual. Likewise many cars for that matter, be it a Golf GTI or a Megane R.S. 250 Cup, for example. Are these cars priced beyond the reach of many? Yes, but such is life.

I mentioned that the R.S. 250 Cup will get you around a track faster. As for the Mk VI GTI, two very different approaches. The Golf will carry five comfortably enough and is a very rapid and balanced offering, but the fun we had in the 86 was unique, that sort of thing.

I placed the qualifier that “pricing not taken in the context” at the end of the story. What I should have done was add “Shame that its price means not many will get to enjoy its unique charm, but such is life.” Which I will do so now.

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:54 am

Pretty soon, we might be able to get it much cheaper from grey importers. Aside from warranty issues, it’s only a matter of willing to enrich AP king further or not.

• Judeth Jurhardi on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:07 am

its an ugly car. ugly color. the interior looks like my myvi se ..red and black leather stitching…better i buy golf gti

• benedict on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:27 am

no need golf gti to smoke this car lo…civic fd2r also can tapao tis 86 to pasar malam and make bak ku teh lo..then can stop by drink teh tarik and play mahjong also 86 cant catch up..if bring gti the 86 go back sleep..

• zas zahari on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:33 am

buying a new car is all about passion…so do not mention about Golf GTI, Mazda 3, BMW or even budget MyVi here….If u like Golf GTI, BMW etc.. than go & buy it. Nobody will stop you. If u using a car to fetch the children from school than get MyVi…Whatever you said, Toyota Engineer is among 10 best auto engineer in the world & they makes Toyota brand sells more than any other brand world wide. Do you really think RM250k is a limitation for people who used to dump RM200,000 price tag sports car on the track?

• “they makes Toyota brand sells more than any other brand world wide.”

LMFAO… the only reason toyota still sells it’s because it has a good branding thanks to the good deeds it has done in the past years.. Now, it’s just trying it’s best to milk everyone (in msia) dry before the brand is shot.

Fact: Look at spec sheet of new Camry. Yea, best engineers come up with a 4 speed autobox and still claim best in mileage. Ptui!

• benedict on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:04 am

Name u tell me ur name gua salute lu la..itu zas mesti orang toyota..lu orang umw ka zas?

• benedict on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:56 am

zas kita orang comparison ma..semua kereta pun ada competitor itu segment..itu price range kita bagi comment ma apa yang boleh beli selain itu 86..u tak lak suka lu jangan baca la..ini kita panggil forum dan comment..semua brand engineering pun gua caya sama dia orang itu pasal boleh global tapi among them pasti ada yang best punya..macam bola..germany italy all also power tapi spain the best..so kita compare kereta ikut we all plefelence and what think and we think 86 not so good compare to other lor..

• Judeth Jurhardi on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:44 am

some people dont understand the meaning of a forum, and having a discussion

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Nice one zas!

• ss427 on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:02 am

Hmm… does 86 owners in Malaysia needs to come to SG to refuel? The gas cap flap sticker stated 98 octane gasoline only

98 octane fuel is standard fare here in SG in addition to 95 octane. Malaysia top fuel grade is 97 octane only. Don’t tell me you guys die die have to use Shell Vpower as the sole fuel choice for the 86?

This car really needs top quality fully syn oil and top quality fuel to work well. Running cost won’t be low although the claimed fuel economy for the 6MT is an astounding 16+km/L on the highway

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Modern cars like this 86 have knock sensor, which means it should be fine using RON95.

It’s the same story for Golf GTI, Civic Type-R, Suzuki Swift Sport, all say need RON98, but no problem at all using RON95. Horsepower and torque will be slightly less, but that’s about it.

• the price of this car is absurd! i dont see where the money is worth.

• Ahmad on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:13 am

Dear Paul / Danny / Anthony / Chris

Speaking of high compression ratio engine. What is your opinion if compare this engine against Mazda Sky-Activ?

Regards

• Bookworm on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:41 am

In Japan, Toyota 86 (5MT) is priced just RM4k higher than MAZDA 3 MPS.

In Japan, Toyota 86 (5MT) is priced only half of the BMW 328i price.

What’s the TRUE value of this car? I don’t know. I have no money.

• BN hater on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:46 am

Poweeerrrr maybe is Najibai’s son, who knows!!

• 868686 on Jul 03, 2012 at 12:23 pm

The 86 is compatible with RON95 as well. The higher RON (97 & above) is recommended to get optimum engine performance.

• It’s a car that some have been waiting for since the celica and mr2 era. Having seen this car at a road show, i feel that the price should be at RM 140K to RM 170K, for both the distributor and buyers.

• USELESS, RON98 ONLY!!! SNOW MODE ? !!!

• corny on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:19 pm

I actually love the pricing of 86, coz I dun wan everybody driving the same perf car, like this more exclusive.

• NeoBest! on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Wahseh…lagi baik beli Neo R3, boleh beli dua lagi ! Performance same same sahaja.

• n00bcakes on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:29 pm

lots of readers here are idiots, blinded by toyota hatred. toyota makes good cars too. and they also make bad cars. dont bash unnecessarily when a good toyota is featured.

• sudonano on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:33 pm

cannot accept the fact. people opinions, haiz, what to do.

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Lots of forummers here are dumb and no brainer. Look at those stupid fella created many id just becos to dislike all of my comments. To all poor forummers out there…..yuo gonna become more poor when the govt remove the fuel subsidy. Padam muka kau!!!

• nighttrain on Jul 04, 2012 at 9:47 am

Dude, you have any idea what ‘no brainer’ means? And try not to hate people too much. Makes you old too quick. Your passion to protect the car’s price is enviable, if we were in a meeting, you might just break someone’s neck and call then poor just for mentioning the price, wouldntcha? Am I right guys?.. guys?

• Poweeerrrr on Jul 04, 2012 at 11:57 am

I hope the govt will increase the car price soon. The property price is now skyrocketing. Good moves lets the poor and middle income suffer. Padan muka kau!

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:13 pm

They never come with good price, that’s what get most people riled up

• bobdbilder on Jul 04, 2012 at 1:03 am

Its a Subaru ainnit? Part of the case there was too much hype for a car that’s outsourced. Its been years since they started it. So they built up the feeding frenzy. And it sizzles out…. You say to yourself; ‘What’s the point?’

• wetshoes on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:57 pm

The comments are just as entertaining as the review.

• confused on Jul 04, 2012 at 9:59 am

Lots of people here just complain here and complain there, as if the price is limiting them to buy; but the truth is they just want a point to condemn. If UMW priced it at RM150k, would you able to afford it in heart beat? If you can afford it then good for you, go ahead, you have many other choices too. If not, work harder and stop being a sissy. Enough of the whining about the price and to make matter worse, every god damn post in PT is linked to politics issue. What. The. Hell.

Please talk using your brain. Don’t end up PT comment section like a 3rd-world-mentality-filled kopitiam.

• kucing on Jul 04, 2012 at 9:36 pm

even people got money also dont want buy this car la. now everybody looking for GREEN machine

• Poweeerrr please stfu can u ? i own a F30 and E90 do u think i will use a stfu shushi 86 here ? use ur brains please and do a test drive on other car. Please it feels like a cheap sushi car btw and really not worth the price at all

• carnoisseur on Jul 05, 2012 at 8:55 am

the car is over priced .fullstop . many other choices for that money . I could buy it now but id be spoilt for better choices . Bring the price down and it will sell well. RM130-150k thats all I would pay

• GovTaxSuperMahal on Jul 06, 2012 at 12:37 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xa6-Z8fcPjQ

When will gov restructure the car tax? Its so expensive to buy a car and loan a house.

Acceptable price for GT 86 around Rm 130 – 150K as carnoisseur said. Its about the price” ngam “or not ” ngam “only.

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 06, 2012 at 1:37 pm

..huhu not that kind plain steering wheel!!

• I wonder if there is any 86 buyer or owner here. I have seen none on the road so far.

• Nice writeup Tony/Danny.

I like the car, but couldn’t help but notice that a lot of words are written to beautify the car. ‘Suger-coating’ is the term I think. For each of us there should be some cars that don’t need excessively words to describe them. It’s either good, so-so, or it’s sh1tty.

Sadly I haven’t read much about UMW’s plans for the car locally, and why all compact rear-wheel drives like the 86 and Mazda MX-5 are priced as such (above RM200k).

For that kind of budget, the ideal setup would be to pay only half for the car, and the rest for swapping fresh rubbers, frequently. But some tame fun with oil and soap skidpan can be done once a while too.

And Toyota is wise to juice all they can from the AE86 heritage claim. But bear in mind this car is NO AE86 (if you must know, it’s official model number ZN6-AKE8). So stop teasing those of us who were so stoked on the AE86 (stupid comic!)

Unless we got a spare 250k lying around…! :)

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 09, 2012 at 5:15 pm

The 86, and its talents, are not common in today’s market. The buzz of driving something special was still lingering when I wrote my part, and I believe it was the same for Anthony.

The 86 doesn’t need “sugar coating”, I think it’s sweet enough as a driver’s car!

• Nobody doubt on the driving quality of the 86, the only doubt is on the pricing of the car.

Interior is just too cheaply built, not blaming Toyota as it was never meant as a luxury sport car, only in Malaysia it is too much overpriced at rm240k.

• cheng on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

lalalala,,,cheap quality

• tony blair on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:50 am

low speed n quality…try it first,u will regret

• blaster on Jul 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm

seated low….rear wheel drive, high rev engine with a low curb weight? Would be a dream to drive.

Then….I was dissappointed with the built quality and nearly fainted when I saw the price! In the US, it is branded as SCION – Toyota’s budget brand….Original intent was to build a cost competitive and fun sports car. Toyota/Subaru has achieved that with more than 5000 sold since launch! UMW and Bolehland killed it by pricing it at 160% more? Wouldn’t touch it with a 10 foot pole. Wait for the gray imports….wait for it…..wait for it……

• Ashwin on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:05 pm

seriously, the interior reminds me of a 96 BMW Z3, with rather uninspiring design. Though praises may be all out for its handling, I believe that this car should have been priced in the 150k zone, as its rather a boy racer car and not an established premium marque. For the same amount of money, I’d rather spend on a Scirroco GTI. Just makes a whole lotta sense.

• maaajeeedaaa on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:33 am

A Sore LOSER!!! Toyota 86 is a piece of crap with that price tag…I was thinking of having one but after seeing Tengku Djan driven in for drifting…jeez it’s better to buy a house than this crap!!!

• 86owner on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:33 am

I owned Toyota 86 with 6MT, i bought it for B$53k (rm130k). This car in stock form engine performance
    not as good as 4AGE on AE86 but with a little upgrade done this car will show its true performance.

I have bolt on supercharger kit by HKS and now the performance very impressive, it now can beat Civic FN2R.

I owned Toyota Levin AE86 too its a very fun car to drive than toyota 86, all i can say AE86 still is the best car ever made by Toyota.

Toyota 86 is a good car actually but it will not get a legendary status like AE86.