Honda Civic Type R launched in Malaysia

Civic Type R

The Honda Civic sedan line-up is now complete in Malaysia, with the dual launch of both the Honda Civic Type R and the Honda Civic Hybrid in Malaysia, fully imported from Japan. Read more after the jump about the Honda Civic Type R, with info about the Civic Hybrid coming in a following post.

Civic Type R

At first glance, because of how stunning the Civic already looks like, you might dismiss the Civic Type R as nothing more than a Civic with a sporty bodykit. The body is not significantly wider, with only the front fenders being Type-R exclusive and offering a slightly wider look at the front. The front bumper has a huge air intake designed into it, and the rear bumper has a built-in diffuser. There are no foglamps in the front bumper design as the two little intakes flanking the large central one is functional, feeding air to cool the front brakes.

The K20A engine is an improvement over previous K20A Type R engines – it now makes 225PS at 8,000rpm and goes up to a redline of 8,400rpm. Peak torque is rated at 215Nm at 6,100rpm – just after the i-VTEC cam switch-over point at 5,800rpm.

Civic Type RWhat makes the new engine more powerful? Honda has improved over the previous K20A in a few ways.

The intake manifold design has been improved – it is now a straightened, short, single-tract, equal-length design. The Drive-By-Wire throttle body has had its diameter increased from 62mm to 64mm.

The head ports now have a smoother surface (reduced roughness by approximately 40%) thanks to a special coating process first used in the NSX.

The compression ratio is now higher, increased from 11.5:1 to 11.7:1. The exhaust manifold is now of a narrow-angle straight-flow design, and finally, the exhaust pipe design has been straightened as less bending equals smoother flow.

Other performance-enhancing features have been carried over from the Integra Type R engine, including roller bearing rocker arms, high load-bearing strengthened con rods, high-strength crank shaft, ultra-light forged chrome-molybdenum flywheel, and valve-operated variable length silencer. These strengthened components are essential to support the Civic Type Rs high engine speeds.

The K20A Type R engine is mated to a 6-speed close ratio manual gearbox which has new ratios different from the one in the Integra Type R to match the engine’s new torque curve, as you can see from the diagram above. It also sports a highly rigid aluminium transmission case and a baffle plate to mitigate oil starvation during high speed cornering.

Civic Type RAs for the chassis, it is 50% more rigid and 11.6kg lighter than the Integra Type R. Rigidity enhancements include added front bulkhead adhesives, increased upper cross main bar board thickness, increased sub frame adapter unit board thickness, added rer floor stiffener and welding point, added rear floor adhesive, and increased rear stabilizer adapter unit board thickness.

These rigidity enhancements bring an increased weight of 1.8kg, but are offset by weight reduction measures of 13.4kg as a result of an aluminium front bumper beam, removed dashboard insulator, removed floor melt set, removed middle floor under cover, thinner rear glass sheet, and unified front license bumper base. The total weight of the car without air-conditioning is 1,250kg.

Handling has been enhanced with a combination of suspension, differential and tires. The front suspension remains a MacPherson strut setup, but for the Type R the dampers have an increased valve size, a higher damping rate by 1.25 times, and an increased load capacity. Springs rates have been revised, and ground clearance is lower by 10mm compared to the Honda Civic 2.0S. The stabilizer bars are now stiffer and thicker, bush springs are raised, and the knuckles are not more rigid. Finally, wheel bearing size is now larger.

On the rear, the car uses a reactive link double wishbone suspension with modifications much similar to the front suspension – increased valve size, higher damping rate by 1.6 times, increased load capacity, revised spring rates, stiffer and thicker stabilizer bars, and raised bush springs. Ground clearance at the rear is lower by 5mm compared to the Honda Civic 2.0S.

Civic Type R

Cornering performance is increased with a torsen helical LSD system which limits wheel spin during hard cornering. Wheels are 18 inch Bridgestone Potenza RE070 tyres with Potenza trademark asymmetrical tread pattern – the thread is less-grooved with a big block design on the outside for increased tread rigidity at high cornering speeds, while the inside tread pattern is highly grooved for reduced hydroplaning. Stopping power is good thanks to 320mm disc brakes which leave minimum gap between disc and wheel, and 4-piston Brembo calipers. These discs are air-cooled via ducts in the front bumper.

Civic Type R

On the interior, it is mostly black and red colour coded, reminding you that you are sitting in a sporty machine. The front seats are really nice looking buckets with a built-in headrest. There is also a prominently displayed engine start button. The key you get for this car is an exclusive Type R key which features keyless entry.

The multiplex meter display is similar but not exactly the same as the Civic that we have come to be familiar with on our local shores. For one, the meter panels are red-themed, and there is an additional shift light feature in the upper deck which helps you know where you are in the rev range and when to shift without taking your eyes off the road to look at the lower deck where the RPM meter is.

Civic Type R

I doubt youd care what sound system this car has since you can listen to the Type R engine under the hood, but youll notice that the integrated head unit is gone, instead in its place is an Alpine 2-DIN head unit. It is a single-CD system without a changer. And of course, there is the now-common dual SRS airbags.

One thing you have to realize is the K20As 225PS rating is if you use RON100 petrol, so with our local maximum RON97 petrol youd likely get a lower figure because the engine management system will automatically adjust for the lower octane petrol to prevent engine knocking.

Civic Type RI was expecting the Civic Type R to be priced a little higher than the RM199,800 it is currently going for, as it is pretty much a track ready machine. I expected about RM220,000 or something in that range. It also comes with a 3-year manufacturer warranty.

This should be really popular with the MME privateers, all you need to do is buy one and do similar mods to it based on what Honda Malaysia did with their MME Civic last year. It’s definitely a proven performer on the track.

Many more photos of the Civic Type R can be found here.

There are only 60 units allocated to Malaysia for the Honda Civic Type R this year, and thus only a few are available as showroom units. The first batch has already been sold out before the launch, and the next batch will only come in 3 months time. Only the following showrooms have the Honda Civic Type R on display:

Formula Venture Sdn. Bhd.
Lot 79, Jalan Bagan Jermal, 12300 Butterworth, Pulau Pinang.

Kah Motor Sdn. Bhd.
25-B, Lebuh Farquhar, 10200 Penang.

Kosmo Auto
No.3, Jalan Pelukis, U1/46, Sec U1, 40150 Shah Alam, Selangor.

Lee Motors Alor Setar (Car Div) Sdn. Bhd.
12 MBAS 1066, Jalan Teluk Wanjah, 05200 Alor Setar, Kedah Darul Aman.

Premier Motor
2KM, Jalan Tun Mustapha, 87020 Labuan F.T.

Sri Sutera Auto Sdn. Bhd.
No,1-H, Jalan Bunga Ros, Majidee Baru, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor.

Syarikat Motor GS Tay Sdn. Bhd.
315, Batu 1 ¾, Jalan Bakri, 84000 Muar, Johor.

USJ Car Express Sdn. Bhd.
Lot 792, Persiaran Subang Indah, Taman Perindustrian Subang, 47610 Subang Jaya, Selangor.

Wegro Sdn. Bhd.
Lot 4523 (D), Batu 4 ½, Jalan Cheras, 56100 Kuala Lumpur.

Weststar Auto Sdn. Bhd.
68, Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur. (Showroom)
111-A, Jalan Ulu Klang, 68000 Ampang, Kuala Lumpur. (Svc Ctr)

2007 Honda Civic Type R Sedan Details

Civic Type R

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• coolguru (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:41 pm

Fantastic car! Fall in love almost at first sight…

But to own one, I might think twice since it’s inching to RM200k while a 320i is not too far. Brand to brand, BMW wins. Performance to performance, it’s subjective since what are the chances you max the ride. Also one down on TypeR is it req RON100 to max it’s output.

Nonetheless, you might take this babe to the track while 320i sits at home :)

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:46 pm

Love it but…
    RM200,000 for a Honda Civic is not that wise.
    The Accord 3.0 is also in that price range.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:47 pm

VW Golf GTi also the same range, Re-Con Evo 7,8,9 and subaru WRX STi db8,9 also fell under RM200k.. Hmm… I don’t think this car really so great after all.. If this car is price under RM170k sure sell like hot cake..

• Paul Tan on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:49 pm

you are comparing this brand new car with a 3-year warranty to recond cars?

• Xcars (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:54 pm

torque lower than output…

• kington (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:06 pm

Well, when you have power more than torque, it is definitely produced for you to enjoy life at the redline, the 360 Modena, 430 and many other Ferraris have this sort character. Not too bad but in some tracks, you may suffer a bit.

Still the Type Rs have always been our object of worship for many many years now…..

• J (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:08 pm

One thing for sure is this Type R will sure demand high secondary value in future. Really respect the power it produced without even a turbo kit.

Is it s 6-speed manual ? Sorry can’t seem to find the info.

And I think Honda Msia priced it right, if not, how on earth that 60 units were sold before launch ? :)

• amin_ctr (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:08 pm

paul…as i know..tis car limit is 180km/h..as everycar in japan is…u knw wher can i reprogramme da ecu? or do u recommend not to …

• Paul Tan on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:21 pm

made a correction, its 12.6 inch (320mm) instead of 17 inch disc brakes.

• szw (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:59 pm

i prefer golf gti den dis car…

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 2:03 pm

i think it is worth the price for under rm200k. nice to live the legendary R performance. still much cheaper then the euro sport saloons.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 2:36 pm

still…….this car rocks!!!! :)

the challange begins!

• raverus (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 2:39 pm

EXPENSIVE

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 2:55 pm

Oh sorry paul, anywayz the VW golf GTi is new.. although the hp loss to this type-r, but still the GTi torque is great! But still some re-con car also come with 1 year warranty.. Anywayz i dont think those people who buy this car for track will get warranty also.. coz sure violate a lot of things inside for weight reduction.. So conclusion, still expensive..

• ed0r (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:03 pm

this car is for the purists, and normally they have the money to spend for it. So we, who don’t have the money, we’ll just sit aside and enjoy watching? lol or start saving probably in a few years we’ll be able to buy it, second-hand or used one.

It’s a damned cool car, it deserves the applause, but then again, different people have different perspectives, tastes and preferences. Later.

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Golf Gti is a sports car, but never come close as a track car. This type R is nearly a track car. Differentiate them wisely.

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:14 pm

expensive??? hahah wat “smart” comments

This is a Brand New car, fully imported , subject to Govt full import duty(unlike the Grey imports who cheat the G of tax ). It is also a low volume car from Honda.

The price at RM200k is reflective of all this. On top of that It has proper warranty.

sheesh

• by_projek (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:24 pm

go to labuan………RM 120 ++…..CTR…..heheheh

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:26 pm

I want the 3 dr Type-R !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ganz (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:32 pm

wow…. if only… mmm…well in my dream

• azrai (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:34 pm

The last 4 photos show Type XXX. :-)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:00 pm

last time i do facinate ,about honda,s double wish bone front suspension well today its just mac phearson, just wonder,,

( double wish bone of course its additional another arm and bushes, and additional service, but i think its great feeling like a real sport)

i salute honda normaly aspirated engine, it extracts power the best, when it screams, ocationally, …but forced induction engine will makes a complex engine useless, –no wonder 4B11 mitsubishi engine only just a basic 2cvvt, because its a turbo ready

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:05 pm

Yes it BMW price range…

When u buy the 3 series, there is thousand drive the same car..
    the TypeR is exotic…even in Japan it is limited monthly production..

• dreamtheater (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:20 pm

Definitely agree with ed0r and superman.

Its silly to compare re-cond cars with the CIVIC TYPE-R. We are getting it in our shores (first country outside of Japan!), brand new, and best of all a 3 year warranty (!).

I think most people tend to confuse souped up Hondas with rice-boys and Ah Bengs (which is a serious pity), but dang man, this is the original TYPE-R, the DNA of Honda motorsports.

The price is RM199K is an absolute steal especially since we are living in a country where re-cond Japanese sports cars are around that price range.

I seriously salute the buyers of these cars because this is one helluva ‘investment’ into personal joy and driving satisfaction …

p.s. Golf GTI ? Only those who follow Jeremy Clarkson columns and soaps would buy one over this baby ;)

• dreamtheater (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:22 pm

Oh and btw, the marketing team who hired the two models ought to be shot. What a disgrace to the poor Civic on display .. :)

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:32 pm

AzaniLaiho said,
    August 3, 2007 @ 4:05 pm

Yes it BMW price range…

When u buy the 3 series, there is thousand drive the same car..
    the TypeR is exotic…even in Japan it is limited monthly production..

———————————————-

Give it a few months and you’ll be seeing a lot of normal Civics with Type R looking bodykits. A lot of people probably won’t even be able to differentiate your 200k special limited edition model to the cooking version. So it is exotic in essence but you don’t really feel it. That’s the problem when it is based on such a common model as the Civic.

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:52 pm

extrapolating the graph will mean about 250++kmph top speed at about 7800rpm… fuuhh…

well… can be calculated from the ratios anyway… and at a full 8400rpm, its gonna be close to 270…. ! the final drive is an insane 5:1!!!

recommend to visit wongKN’s TOVA site for more hardcore technical information especially on the engine.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:08 pm

*DROOL*……… It’s pretty much perfect already….. only car cooler than this will be the Euro version Type R hatch.

• adrian yap (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:25 pm

It is still a japanese with a continental price prabo!

• tishaban (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:37 pm

I’m still very impressed that the first batch of 60 units for the initial launch have already been sold. That was an easy RM12m sale for Honda :-)

I do wish however that the Malaysian govt is a bit more progressive for the Hybrid Civic. It should be be cheaper to encourage people to be more aware of the environment.

• dreamtheater (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:56 pm

——————
    silverfish said,
    August 3, 2007 @ 4:32 pm

“So it is exotic in essence but you don’t really feel it.”
    ——————

Unless if you’re the owner, of course !!

Seriously, that’s a load of turd if you ask me, comparing the current Civic with the Type-R. Please, have a read at the spec of the car before making such passing comments.

Speaking of the high price tag of the CTR, did anyone forget how much Mitsubishi Motors and Nissan priced their Evo9 and 350Z ? I reckon it was so obscene that no one even bothered to remember it ..

• tanasi (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:38 pm

Non direct stabilizer bar – not so efficient, hence it’s got to be thicker to match the direct type.

But on the other hand, it doesn’t corrupt steering feel as much.

Wonder how the ride is. No doubt bout the handling — what more with the sticky tyres.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Comparing BMW 320i to the Civic Type R? Hahahahaha!!! Compare Golf GTi to the Civic Type R is more realistic. Its apples and oranges. I have seen the GTi close up, driven it and even taken parts off the engine apart. Its a nifty car with lots of smart tricks in it. Civic Type R also has its own gizmos.
    The GTi would be a great daily driver as the torque from the turbo charged engine would make it very driveable, especially in traffic jams. Type R would be a totally different beast. Never tried it though. HArd to compare these two although people might buy for the same reason.

• zafedz (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:46 pm

Is there any plan for this Type-R to be local assemble?The price could be lower a bit than 200K.For me if won’t be any problems as our Honda factory
    in Alor Gajah are capable producing such models.

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:48 pm

it really blown the fans away with such a quick launch of ctr over here. thanks 2 the efficiency of the Japanese’s management team. most of the local car dealers only 1 2 do easy jobs when selling their product 2 the customer so that they can have much time 2 play golf, which leave customer with limited choice of car. just the usual bread & butter model.
    i think is not fair 2 compare this car 2 ckd & Grey imports without warranty. a few back issues of motor trader advertise a used cl9 euro r around 220k. even a used dc5 also asking around 150k 4 a 03 model. even a 02 ep3 also asking 4 rm118k. i think is more practical 2 choice this car with free of mind of getting a joint car.
    of cos those new ctr owner definitely not the laymen like u & me. if we really long 4 1 may b wait till 2010 when free trade japan arrive. even a more refine ctr waiting 4 us if every policy really properly executed according 2 the policy. treasure your life till that day.

• roketmel (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:44 pm

The rare breed has make is way in Malaysia.For purists its the driving experience that the new CTR offers, not the looks.Well , I’ve never heard any type-R to be assembled outside of Japan ,,,

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:53 pm

dreamtheater said,
    August 3, 2007 @ 5:56 pm

Unless if you’re the owner, of course !!

Seriously, that’s a load of turd if you ask me, comparing the current Civic with the Type-R. Please, have a read at the spec of the car before making such passing comments.

Speaking of the high price tag of the CTR, did anyone forget how much Mitsubishi Motors and Nissan priced their Evo9 and 350Z ? I reckon it was so obscene that no one even bothered to remember it ..

—————————————
    Look smart ass, please at least try to understand what the other party is trying to say before you start unload turd of your own. I’m not even going to bother to explain if for some reason you still can comprehend.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:33 pm

I like the hybrid, any idea how much you would save driving it?

• king (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 11:51 pm

now this is what i call a proper performance car…not like Blade master G name oni cekap.

sub-200k is already well priced….already sold out so wat for need to reduce the price?

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 12:14 am

Looks like it is new target of the car thieves…

• wmblade (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 3:08 am

All is fantastic, just I find the color white is the worst color to have in any car, despite the flowery name of NH0 Championship Racing White.

• droll (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:38 am

the white has a history behind it….look it up.

absolutely beautiful car in its own league.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 12:57 pm

Japanese
    Civic + R&D + R&D + R&D + R&D = Civic Type R

Malaysian
    Civic + Sunway + Brother’s = Civic Type R

• matomyam (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 1:36 am

Looks like it is new target of the car thieves …anyone by chance?

• mild7 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 6:52 am

yes, this car is really hot n spicy!!! all young man sure love this car which same v evo or sti and etc!!! the price range is a bit high but this new version is give a lot different or advance feature so should be worth than those RECOND car lar!!! already saw the car which launched 28th July at BRUNEI… which is many many young guy n hot chick visit the showroom at HAPPY MOTORs!!! here selling B$5xK

• aliBaPa (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 7:24 am

So expensive, better buy a bmw or merc!

japan car no matter how good, still for those not that rich.

• ab (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:03 pm

this or golf gti

• familyman (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 4:57 pm

I NEVER THUT i see the day.. honda malaysia will officially bring in the Type R officially in malaysia with 3Y warranty…

this is truly a malaysia 50Y independence worthy historical event :P hehehe

congratulations to all the new CTR owners!
    the rest of us mere mortal who understands the place and heritage of the Type R in this automotive world can only “dream” lah hehehe.

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 11:28 pm

so my view is, this car will be slower than Evo or Subaru Impreza (WRC) version?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 12:36 am

no money to buy this. wait for the new AE86. should be cheaper

http://www.autoblog.com/2007/08/01/rumoured-new-ae86-more-details/

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 12:58 am

ingolstadt said,

Japanese
    Civic + R&D + R&D + R&D + R&D = Civic Type R

Malaysian
    Civic + Sunway + Brother’s = Civic Type R

———————————–
    LoL…That was what I was trying to say earlier, basically.

Well done Ingolstadt for putting it in a much easier to understand way.

• e_tothe_izzo (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 1:03 am

Correct me if i’m wrong. But isn’t the ‘Type R’ version of K20A suppose to be K20B that’s on the DC5?

:\

• Apathy (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 1:25 pm

huhuhuhuhu i can only dreams of owning such beauty. huhuhuh hidup d Bolehland seperti d paksa beli kreta P1, P2……apa boley buat…..im just a fresh grad rakyat. not born with silver spoon.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 1:33 pm

Checkout http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXwapwrHgIU

Seems like all other cars were ‘hesitant’ to downshift in the corners, just so the Civic Type R could get away. Especially the NSX, where the driverdidn’t change gear and had to wait for the engine to rev from 4K rpm. My gosh the Civic is such a sore loser

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Hmm… looks like they’re using the same K20A TypeR engine…
    A viable alternative to the Golf GTi but with different driving dynamics. GTi has more torque while Type-R needs to be whipped to get the best performance. I’m sure maintenance is higher for VW and handling has gotta be sharp n sweet on the R. R will be an awesome track car but everyday car would be GTi. Tough choice…

Or just get the older 2.0 WRX for less $$ and more HP. I believe Motor Image still have those in stock.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 2:02 pm

aliBaPa said,
    August 5, 2007 @ 7:24 am

So expensive, better buy a bmw or merc!

japan car no matter how good, still for those not that rich.
    ————————————-

The rich don’t care if it’s Japanese, German or Italian. They buy what they like. It’s only those not so rich who WANNA SHOW OFF that will buy a bm or merc when they can get better cars for the same price.Besides, there are Japanese cars that are better than even Europeans. Is there a bmw or merc than can beat the EVO or WRX in the World Rally Championship? Can they match the low interior noise of the Lexus LS?

• chrisbangle (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 9:50 pm

As usual, some of you guys here know nuts about cars. How can you compare the Type R with the likes of the Golf, BMW or Mercedes?

I mean this is a performance car, and will do well in the track. Can the 320i or the C200 or the Golf GTi tapau this car on the track?

I don’t think so, unless the driver is weak.

This is a car appreciated by those who are keen on performance rather than anything else.

The WRX, brought in by Motor Image, are the lowest specced WRX. Unlike EVOs where their basic package is already enticing, the stock WRX is nothing to shout about. It even runs on a mildly treaded 16-inch tyres that flexes like mad.

Even the 2.0GT Lancer has better tyres than the WRX here.

So if you are considering between the Bimmer or the Golf GTI, it shows that you don’t appreciate performance. Petrolheads will straight away choose this AhBeng Typist…err….I mean Typer, in a second.

• by3n (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 12:32 am

for me paying 200grand for a type r is way to much….it has lease power compare to the car that is the same lvl as the R…such as the subaru vertion 8 sti, evo8, or an rx8…casue i am a guy that will go for performance but not other stuff….maybe a 180 i will buy the car…

• repulse (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 1:54 pm

awesome car and i’d honestly say the price is slightly over the limit. this is definitely not for the faint-hearted and it’s definitely not a cheap-man’s car or rather bengish as some of u have mentioned.

all i can say is; comparing the CTR and the BMW/Merc is just out of context. BMW/Mercs are cars simplifying/defining elegance, class and comfort. whereby the CTR is a car that offers u power, performance and all the sportiness a luxury car cannot offer and vice-versa.

it’s typical for someone to compare this brand new CTR with a used Evos and/or Scoobies. Yes yes, more power, turbo, it’s 4WD….. right. thing is, the CTR has got no turbo and it’s running on front-wheel @ 225ps and it’s one of the quickest FWD ever made in history! PERIOD. by the way, did i mention that maintaining the Evos and Scoobies is/are twice if not three harder than maintaining an NA-car? Speak about turbo leak…

i read someone comparing the CTR and a normal FD with Type-R bodykit and that others wouldnt be able to differentiate between the original and the fake? well if u own a CTR, why would u care if others are gonna know if it’s real or otherwise? thing is, u bought it, u know it’s real, u have it in ur hands, be proud of it, be oh-so-bloody-happy u’re owning a limited production car!

• DC5H14 (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 3:25 pm

if u buy this car at japan n ship it here still cost u near the same price as msia…plus troubles n time…so i consider the price tag does make sense…this baby needs RON100…RON97 ok ker??

go go DC5

• ignas (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 1:32 am

er…the previous post was like a year ago…lol

• Honda-saleman80 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:35 pm

This car i very like it also can say is my dream car, even i cant afford to buy but i will not compare to the other car, becos type r is a N/A engine, that not have turbo or something , Technology is good is very good, even u someone balik kampung and i drive type r then u drive turbo, let see who will reach the destination faster….. im very sure if u keep chasing me your turbo will PECAH,, haha, Type R is a good car even the price is 199k…………………

• azriq on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:58 am

can i know the retail price please.

• honda-saleman80 on Feb 14, 2009 at 12:57 pm

rm199,800

• R_lover on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Typical Malaysian peoples only know bout condemn..condemn and condemn!!

If u have a money, just bought it!! If u dont have it, just keep ur mouth shut!!

No need to condemn bout tis car and compared to others brand!!

Damn!! Dont talk nonsense here!!

• Constantine on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:28 pm

hi guys im gonna get this car soon and i wan to do some modifications to increase the speed , do you guys know wat i should do?

• harry on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

honda civic type R = power of my dream

• Jdm civic on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:09 am

BRing On "so call GTi R32" or new Sccorekot…oppss..hehe he

• civic dreamer on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:54 pm

bodoh korang ni…

beli je la bodoh..

sape nk pakai je la, tk nak pakai diam2 sudeh..

pedulik ape, duit sendri2…

• civic dreamer on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

betol tu sewel..

meh kite beli, aku ade singgit, ko ade brape?

civic type R VS Golf GTI Mk6

• altimasss on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:22 pm

surprisingly they retained the rounded tail lights as compared to our FD facelift… interesting.

nice looker

• carter15 on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Still can't fight the mighty 295Ps & 366Nm Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X . Don't even think about to escape away If you take this car speeding over the road and our Police Evo squat is behind you.

• altimasss on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm

ssorry ignore my post above..

• rizal on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:19 am

aa

• a pure raw type r without AC.

how about malaysian market? is AC listed as optional?or standard in this case.

in some european the advantage is no AC is normal and the ambiance temp is lower ,the air is denser.

• lchan on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:14 pm

"….So if you are considering between the Bimmer or the Golf GTI, it shows that you don’t appreciate performance….".

Wrong and right. If we are talking about 200k price list, then the bimmer doesn't have a product here. The gti on the other hand is a direct competitor to the ctr. It just shows how different car manufacturer car design philosophy, regional and social preference, etc. (e.g, ctr europe is made to cater to regional preference and asian ctr is more for japanese). Each has it own merits.

• if go track I take the Tap-R!!! if go to drive aorund KL/PJ take the VW GTI.. as it is auto mah.

• WilliamSmith on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:33 am

I wonder if skipping the rear application of Brembo Calipers is still the purist? Looks like it's "the Power of Cost Cutting". Would be ideal if it's Brembo all around with the choice of ALL BLACK interior than the bright RED here and there (especially the carpet on the floor, gee..it reminds me of the red carpet).

Given me, I'll rather Honda skips the ICE but fit with a LCD screen for OIL pressure, temperature, VTEC controller, RED LINE Buzzer and AIR/FUEL mix controller. These will definitely be more helpful than the ICE with NO more sound insulation for the car (ok..i know it's local rule to have ICE unit fitted for new car).

Now..where's the original accessories for this car, Mr Honda? I need a factory fitted fog lamps for this car.

• atamatensai on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:16 am

First to comment for 2010. Yay!

-end of comment-

• jo epoh on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:59 pm

honda civic type R is very nice and good looking…the price is not very expensive..above
    200 thousand…I really like it…Good bro

• Surain on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm

B4 2 week my honda civic type R geting accident..Now total loss..Bt it save me..I realy apreciate hondacivictypeR..8633..A for the Car…

• mango on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:34 am

watever.. i love caldina gt4 black… hehe
    nice body kit

• elvin89 on Aug 09, 2011 at 12:49 am

realy nice car laa….

• very expensive…better get the recond car like Evo laaaa