Vehicle sales fall 8.4% year-on-year for May ’15 – MAA

Driven_2014_ep5_Mazda_3_vs_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_vs_Kia_Cerato 001

Total vehicle sales for the month of May this year have fallen by 8.4% compared to the same period last year, according to the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). A total of 51,254 vehicles were sold, to be exact, with the numbers split between 45,874 passenger and 5,380 commercial vehicles.

In May 2014, a total of 55,941 vehicles – 49,865 passenger and 6,076 commercial vehicles – were sold. This represented a difference of 4,687 units in total. Additionally, total industry volume for the year-to-date of May 2015 was recorded at 264,747 units – a drop of 9,848 units, or 3.6% lower, compared to the corresponding period in 2014.

As for production numbers, the total vehicle build count for May 2015 was recorded at 51,024 units – 46,889 passenger and 4,135 commercial vehicles. In contrast, the figure for May 2014 was recorded at 54,432 units, representing a drop of 3,408 units. Of the total, 50,154 units were that of passenger vehicles while a total of 4,278 commercial vehicles were produced.

maa-production-sales-may-2015-3

According to the MAA, the reason behind the slump in sales performance can be attributed to the introduction of the goods and services tax (GST) – to which a majority of consumers are still finding it hard to adjust to. In return, consumers tend to exercise a lot more caution when it comes to the notion of purchasing a new car. Aside from that, unfavourable exchange rates have caused further uncertainties amongst businesses.

With that said, the MAA has predicted a brighter forecast for the month ahead in terms of sales performance. This is, of course, the result of the myriad of promotions and sales campaigns offered by dealers as part of the Hari Raya festive season.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tokmoh. on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Kurang car sales, kurang hutang, betul la gst kurangkan beban rakyat, cukur.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
    • BNaik on Jun 22, 2015 at 7:07 pm

MAA help government tax review 7 billions per annual and helps Rakyat to own cheap car, GST good for Rakyat even car price drop after GST.

BN giving more sales and promotions to new customers, just support and complaints less the 1Malaysia way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
      • fombangla on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Cukur…..cukur…..cukur……jambang!

• The Truth About Raya Sales- MAA Lies on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:03 am

I don’t know why Aishah and MAA are lying and trying to give an impression that sales will be better next month. Next month of course will be worse.

MAA and all car industry players know that prior to Raya, sales will peak to the max. This is a well known secret. Before Raya many will buy new cars to bring back to the kampong during Raya to show the kampong folks that they have “made it” and “doing extremely well in Bandar”

Then right after Raya, Malaysia experiences the highest account of Tarik baliks. Virtually 80% of all cars bought prior to Raya kena Tarik balik by the banks.

This is no secret. Everyone in the industry knows about these Tarik baliks and sales will plummet after raya because lots of 2nd hand cars available in the used car market.

Pls MAA, pls stop kying to the rakyat. Don’t kowtow to the Government to give the impression car sales would be picking up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Appeal to Datuk Aishah on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:20 am

Aishah used to be very good. Fight for consumer rights a lot. Then Government bought her by giving Datukship. Now, she like lalang fights for the Government and how good it is to have high car prices.

It is surprising how someone can just swing one day when he or she becomes a Datuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • kzm - kita mesti bercukur on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:42 am

Kita mesti bercukur Negara aman dan damai. Jangan complain banyak banyak pasal MAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 22, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Bagus! Syabas! Tahniah!

If excise duty of the car prices in Malaysia are abolished or reduced, the overall household debts in Malaysia can also be reduced significantly. Car loans continue to make up a huge proportion of household debts in Malaysia.

According to iMoney’s infographic on bankruptcy in Malaysia, 25% (the highest) of bankruptcy cases in Malaysia is due to car loans. The value of the cars depreciates and therefore it is never a wise investment.

It is a choice that I am willing to sacrifice a new car smell and slightly higher fuel consumption than paying high car prices and bank loans.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
    • Sam VHL Loo on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Also, even better safety spec (although it’s rarely happen) in few years old car than brand new cars. Example 1, year 2010 – 2013 Toyota Altis 1.8G with Dual-VVTI engine comes with VSC while brand new 2015 Toyota Altis 1.8G DOESN’T HAVE VSC. While Example 2, 2006 – 2012 Camry 2.4V comes with VSC while 2012 Toyota Camry 2.5V DOESN’T HAVE VSC (this bloodsucker UMW Toyota only put VSC in their Camry 2.5V and 2.0G after heavy condemnation from potential carbuyers).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Rm150k Camry - No VSC, 2 airbags only. on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:17 am

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

Malaysians already see the light. they know now UMW and DRB Hicom BOTH tipu the rakyat with Toyota and Honda.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:17 pm

People can talkok bullshit whatever they like. The fact is: Our sales still good. 2 months waiting period for Camry Hybrid now.

Like it or not, sales figure will tell.

Simple exmaple: So many ppl were hoohaa about the Iriz, end up no one touch it also.

• Anti-Pati on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:41 am

You are very naive thinking no excise duty = lower household debt due to lower payments.

What will happen is this: Malaysians get bigger cars. Why buy a Vios for 50K when for 90K you can get an Altis or Civic?

• Toyota Salesman Crying Like Baby on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:11 am

the drop in sales mainly contributed by Toyota’s very bad sales- near ZERO sales levels.

In Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features.

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Malaysians also know, prior to 2012, Altis and Camry had cheap price but had ALSO VSC!. the newer models from 2013 onwards, VSC taken out for Malaysians to die more whilst UMW reap more profit.

This is why May and June car sales are so so so so bad!

• kastard on Jun 22, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Im waiting for the breakdown of sales for each manufacturer. i guess HR-v and axia will both top their respective categories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota ZERO sales on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:36 am

non national car Toyota always top every year. But now, nobody wants Toyota. Got no RV and no safety features. So sales jatuh like crazy.

UMW pls close shop

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Get your fact right!

You are correct Toyota is no longer top, but it is second now.

Dreaming for the nissan/ford/vw to sell better than Toyota? You slow slow dream lar!

• kek hameed on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:40 pm

no need to dream at the night because we can see too many vw cars on the road at daylight not only toyota which mean people still want to buy vw cars and it can be sell

• cendol (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 7:44 pm

People has started to realise they have been conned by government for far too long
    Pay premium price for sub-par quality.
    All we have to do now is to drive our old car until it cannot move anymore, stop new car buying to prove a point.
    Force the government to reduce the ridiculous tax and triple taxation.
    Buy car should be a basic human right and not using 1 arm and 1 leg to purchase a car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
    • samelordupe on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Only rich people can drive Toyota and Lexus with 6 airbags + VSC, for the rest of poor people like you, please drive something that is low class and cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • carCaarcAArrr on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Agreed Cendol ! Just have to drive our old car for 2 more years until MRT is ready. Then MRT + uber + myteksi is more than sufficient. No need car, wakakaka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Donkey J on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Bro well say that what myself anticipate now, investment wise don’t fall G trap.

• Albert on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:58 pm

GST
      Toll akan naik
      Tambang bas long distance akan naik
      Jamban Awam pun naik
      Viagra pun naik
      Blood pressure rakyat pun naik

This 2015 is a GST wrecked year.
      Every damn business has been badly affected,some getting zero sales in April and May,according to the one Royalty.
      Car sales,we can safely assume will dip 20 percent this 2015.Raya is 3 weeks away only.Do you see people shopping wildly like before GST ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • buylingerie on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:36 pm

So the question is can I get more discounts on lingerie from Same Lorrrr?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:48 am

Now Toyota got no sales, we Toyota salesman sell bra and panties at night in Parkson Subang Parade. Yes, I can give you cheap lingerie bro

• rakyat on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Simply agree. Not to say I am not supporting local brand, but it just can not like take the whole decade to bring up local brand right? I have no objection they try to protect local brand by introduce high excide duty, but it should not take forever. IMO a fixed number of years of protection is reasonable, then the rate should reduce gradually after that so it give a reasonable stress to the local brand to grow up consistently and become more competetive otherwise give way to other parties that have capability in it to really bring up the Malaysian brand to compete in the game.

• skyjuice on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Seems like MAA successfully brainwash your mind into believing everything is the fault of government.. Yeah, governent is part of it, but did MAA try to reduce the price? I don’t think so.. I guess we should post the face of directors of all car distributors in malaysia, the greedy faces..

• Anti-Pati on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:57 am

Owning a car is a basic human right? No it isn’t.

As for taxes is it really that expensive? Take for example the Ford Fiesta – in Langkawi it’s only 35% cheaper than in Peninsula Malaysia which means GST 6% + Excise & Import duty 29%. And the cheapest Honda City is only 18% cheaper in Langkawi than Peninsula Malaysia which means GST 6% + Excise & Import duty 12%. The only big difference is for D-segment cars like the Mondeo where the difference is 75% – but then again, it is fully CBU & given that D-segment cars are for the more affluent buyers, the rich should be taxed more.

Stop comparing car prices to the US where their market is humongous compared to Malaysia – their sales is 10x ours & hence they have the economies of scale that can be transferred to the people. Even so I still see a lot of clunkers on the road when I was visiting there a couple of years ago.

So is it really a case of taxes, or simply the fact that cars nowadays ARE expensive? Don’t forget, additions like enhanced safety features do add to the basic costs.

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:32 am

ford fiesta and honda city are either local assembled or asean CBU sourced. they are not subjected to import tax, maximum is 5% allowed by AFTA.

get your calculations right.

how does the car price came up
        1. base car (CIF) – reference is made on the issued docket price by the car manufacturer.
        2. then plus 75% excise duty.
        3. then include margin for profit by distributor.
        the margin will include net profit, operational costs (include advertising) and dealer margin.
        4. all the above then is subjected to 6% GST.

dont forget, all non-national cars are also subjected to “price setting” by the government. meaning if toyota can sell vios at 55K while mazda can sell M2 at 50K, they will be asked to stay away from the national segment.

this is what we get today.

• Anti-pati on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Is excise tax applicable to Langkawi or not? If it’s not then why is the price only 35% lower and not 75%? They mark up margins by 100%?

I remember distinctly that some carmakers enjoy lower than the published excise duty rates – so I ask again, is our current car price really due to exorbitant taxes, or it’s the way of life given how our currency has not appreciated to the same levels as the heydays of the 1980s when USD1 = RM 2.50ish?

• Konga on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Low demand bez rakyat still adjusting n dealing with Hi costs of living meaning less earnings n Hi expenses n 24\7 raping rakyat money is gst.
    Gst must b 2% first then increase when people living standard increase in due stages
    On top of that 30% reduction in car prices by bn is somewhere in gutter releasing shit smells to rakyat only

• Nancy on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:41 pm

“Saya berjanji akan kurangkan harga kereta sebanyak 30% jika BN menang”. Ppl are waiting for your janji. But now looks like betul – betul dicapati. What makes it worse now is the gst followed by the fallen ringgit. Sinking? Yes, indeed it is sinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:43 pm

You wont be able to force the govt to reduce tax. They can instead force you off the road by implementing 5yr old vehicle ownership scrap policy to increase car sales.

• sammy on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:18 pm

The poor sales is attributed to GST??
    Might as well say is attributed to 1MBD, weakening ringgit, fuel price uncertainty, poor CPO prices, possible increase in toll, mahatir bad mouth malaysia, people can’t go JPJ because no sarong along with other social problems…
    Or simply all the negative news happening in the countries without yet a silver lining…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • paanjang16 on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Hopefully this slump in sales will continue until next year. Hoping that will shake the auto industry into making cars cheaper, safer, better build quality and more fuel efficient plus at the same time offer better after sales service.

Buying a car is a great liability due to the fact a car is a depreciating asset where it loses value over time. Due to the high price of new cars it is cheaper to maintain an old one even though it has a higher fuel consumption. Unless the new car is very much fuel efficient than your old car, the payback for buying a new car might not be favorable compared to using your current car.

Me myself is driving a 20+ year old Wira that still runs without any major problems since I properly maintain it. The cost to maintain it is much much cheaper than buying a new Myvi, Iriz or Axia. The money saved from not repaying the new car loan can go into investments or other expenditures such as rising food, fuel, tire, oil, insurance costs etc.

So unless my car cannot move anymore and the repair cost is far greater than the cost of the car, then maybe I’ll buy a new one. Until then, I’ll stick to my current car.

If I do buy a new car, it must have good safety equipment and not be a Milo tin kosong like some of our local and sushi makes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Jobless car salesman on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Where r those experts who predicted the Malaysian car market goint to go up until 700k anul volume in few years time. And remeber someone from p 1 claimed they going to tRget 600k anul sales in a 700k volume market…damn i wish i could have their jobs..just cincai talk but highly paid

• talkkok on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:39 pm

You also talk cincai only knows to complain complain complian till late nite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Jobless on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Kastard, accordimg to the geniuses at mycc it is illegal to share monthly sales figure by individual models!!!

• BuRaI on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:53 pm

As the economy goes does the drain thanks to GST/Petrol/ future Toll increase, all businesses have to resort to reduced prices to survive the downward fall in sales. Surprisingly it is the companies that are trying so hard to maintain the economy. And those working in it will also have to work harder, earn less/less bonus, while bearing GST and inflation.

• gberd on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:13 pm

it is taboo for most malaysian to realize the economy of this country is in dipshit, anyone still remember 2008 ???

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:22 am

i believe we are way beyond 2008 now. seriously deep deep shit.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Actually, kimchi owners that come in to my yard nowadays are getting less and less hailat look on their face when I show them the Hilux.

By now, everyone that wants to sell their rotten cabbage are more or less prepared to be faced with a RM100k+ loss for a 12 month old D-Segment and RM70k loss for a Elantra. Celaka is still not accepted for now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • youareliar on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:43 pm

You are high or what? There are used Cerato here and there. You said it’s not accepted? Liar liar liar

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:44 pm

The only reason why so many Celakas are still on the road is purely because that no used car dealers accept these cars anymore, unless they are taken in like RM3k or RM4k

• ChrisCK on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:21 pm

SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:26 pm
    Actually, kimchi owners that come in to my yard nowadays are getting less and less hailat look on their face when I show them the Hilux.
    By now, everyone that wants to sell their rotten cabbage are more or less prepared to be faced with a RM100k+ loss for a 12 month old D-Segment and RM70k loss for a Elantra. Celaka is still not accepted for now

Do u mean 12mths old kimchi brand like d segment sonata or c segment elantra loosing 100k & 70k respectively?

New sonata price about $158k -100k+(12mths old) = <$58k now?

New elantra price about $118k -70k(12mths old) = 48k now?
    Woow pls get me 10 each i fleet purchase by cash for my staff

• Angah on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:46 pm

From the article:

“According to the MAA, the reason behind the slump in sales performance can be attributed to the introduction of the goods and services tax (GST) – to which a majority of consumers are still finding it hard to adjust to.”

They still did not want to acknowledge that our car prices are too high relative the specs and safety features provided. Otherwise why citizen needs 9 years loan…

Let this happen and continue further…
    Let together hold our purchase of any new cars…
    Let us stick to our current car…
    Let buy good second hand if we need cars…

If we do these together, stock will not moving, inventory will pile up, finally price will drop and we as customer will actually control car prices.

Whatever MAA, car companies, MITI, government, banks says will mean nothing if we stop buying…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• Beckscum on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:52 am

MAA is full of excuses crap. Does anyone need them anyway? This MAA President I recall boasted and thump her chest asking consumer to faster buy vehicle before GST as price will increase, then later after GST price went down mostly, Then come out with statement that total vehicles sales will increase, now blame GST after sales drop. Even the crazy coconut bomoh in KLIA has more credibility than MAA President.

• Wee fuk yew on Jun 23, 2015 at 1:29 am

This is the best piece of news i’ve heard this year. Hope the situation does not improve for the rest of this year.

• SAM LOO. on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:02 am

toyota vios climbing up! honda got recall for airbag…stupid Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Ananz on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:40 am

http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/umw-toyota-issues-recall-airbags-takata/

Are you sure its only Honda that recall?? This article states that Camry, Altis AND VIOS are affected by the recalls dude.