Malaysia vehicle sales data for May 2015 by brand

Driven_2014_ep5_Mazda_3_vs_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_vs_Kia_Cerato 004

The Malaysian automotive market is slowly recovering from the massive slump in the first post-GST month (April 2015 sales plummeted 32.7% compared to March). The car industry registered a 13.4% month-to-month increase in May, with total sales of 51,254 units versus just 45,187 in April.

However, that figure is still 8.4% less than what the market achieved in May 2014 (55,254 units). Overall, this still translates to a small 3.6% year-to-date decrease for the industry – 264,747 units sold up to end of May 2015, compared to 274,595 units in the same period last year.

The table below details the sales performance of each brand in Malaysia – based on data released by the Malaysian Automotive Association – sorted by the top sales performer for May 2015. In general, the top brands seem to have fallen back to their traditional pecking order.

As to be expected, Perodua is still at the top of the pile, despite selling marginally fewer cars (17,290 units, 294 down). Also, this is a far cry from the 22,497 units it managed to sell in March this year. Perodua’s year-to-date number now stands at 92,027 units, which is more than double of its closest competitor (Proton with 40,939 units), making up 34.7% of the total industry sales so far this year.

Second on the list is Proton, climbing back from fourth place in April. The first national carmaker sold 8,285 units, up 66.7% compared to the previous month.

Toyota, meanwhile, has overtaken Honda into third place. It registered 7,544 units (25% up), compared to Honda’s 6,221. As usual, a significant portion of this advantage is from Toyota’s commercial vehicles (2,220 units of the Hilux and Hiace sold), compared to zero from Honda Malaysia.

Most brands registered increases, most significantly Mazda (+63.8%), Mitsubishi (+133.4%), Ford (+71.3%), Land Rover (+138.5%), Renault (+78.3%) and Volvo (+111.8%). On the flipside, certain brands sold fewer vehicles, such as Volkswagen (-36.0%) and Peugeot (-22.9%).

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

maa-may-2015-01

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• azrai on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Do you realise those luxury marques recorded a hefty 22% increase in sales. Walauweh..the gap between middle and the top keep enlarging. I think MARA officer is one of the Merc buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 25
    • Penang CM was eyeing the S-keras hyblib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 57
      • Proton sales almost double on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Wow Proton’s sales in May almost double compared to April, now Proton haters what you going to say now? Also Toyota wouldn’t have gotten 3rd place if it wasn’t of their commercial vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 46
        • cikgu john on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Just STFU and minum your own kencing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:46 am

This is just the beginning the rise of Proton. Proton will spark and blossom in 2016 and so on with upcoming new models and engine. Local vendors need to work hard and produce good quality product to our one and only national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
          • Proton False Figures on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:48 am

Proton figures are false. Half of the cars bought are bought for Government departments. Spanco which charges Rm221 million to our beloved Government per year for all their Proton rentals just bought a few thousand units for our beloved government. So, rest assured, Proton figures are false. By right it should be half. Only real losers get excited about Proton doubling their figures and being arrogant about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
        • Accordana on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:12 pm

And Lexus sell more than Audi !!!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Thanks to good sales, i will buy another new Lexus this month. You guys need to work hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • karam singh on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:30 am

Luxury brand – Go buy Merc/Bimmer/Audi rather than Lexus.
          same as Toyota,Big engine,less power,high fc.
          Merc – small engine,more power,less fc also looks young and classy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • karam singh on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:41 am

Dont forget , UMW already do recall for LEXUS faulty ABS actuator. Safety problem also.
          so much for reliability.
          Lexus also moving coffin.

Lexus ES250 – 2.5l 181hp 11-12l/100km
          Merc E200 -2.0l 184hp 6-7l/100km
          BMW 520i -2.0l 184hp 6-7l/100km

why buy Lexus ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • munkay on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Love the monthly sales data and figures. Hope you guys continue giving us monthly updates on the figures.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Gawat on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Proton and Toyota total sales difference only around 10K units.

Conclusion? Who is doing better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm

p1 real treat is honda not toyota…p1 passenger car total sales is 41k, honda 34k..toyota oni 20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • and Ford only selling 200 units of passenger cars in Malaysia.

• Oh My English! on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:11 am

What is treat? You mean hadiah? So Honda is a treat to Proton?

Bang, bila dating Bandar, tolong la belajar sikit Bahasa Inggeris.

• UiTM Student on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Don’t play-play. We are as smart as Oxford and Cambridge students as told by our minister and we become smart by drinking kencing as told by our teacher. After graduate, we can work in Proton to produce World Class cars better than BMW and Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • mr middleton on Jun 28, 2015 at 6:41 am

Lu pun sama jgk..
            *datang.. Bkn nye dating. Puii..
            Ni bkn nye blog DBP nak kene btul smua tatabahasa.. Janji paham sudah, yg mn xpaham tu nampak sgt dia lurus bendol..wording salah trus xpaham

• dugongx on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:20 am

Looks like Toyota’s massive carnival and discounts managed to improve their sales. They are learning well from proton but this will only hurt their RV even more.

• Sam Looo on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Toyota has increased sales this month…Sure high RV again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 59
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:19 pm

the most trusted commercial brand in malaysia.

and no 1 best brand in customer satisfaction (refer JD power 2014)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • karam singh on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:25 am

also nominated as The one and only ‘Moving Coffin’.
        no.1 rated most expensive in its class but offer less equipment & safety.
        Most trusted commercial brand at first, also most of them thought otherwise after bought it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • rider on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:09 pm

But toyota doesn`t have RV!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • superdriver on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Total BS….aside from the last unknown 9 brands and 5 known brands , the rest semua recorded increase in unit but when i stare out of my office in downtown kuala lumpur, everyone driving the same old car, used car, recon car and junk cars. No one buying new cars, seriously.Some of the numbers oso dont make sense. Like peugeot, 231 units only ar, really ar, i ve seen the new 208 almost everywhere in KL, Melaka PD and the rest of the country, volkswagon polo , jetta and passat new models are everywhere. Something wrong…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 98
    • Buchstaben on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:38 pm

just by staring out from your office can tell sales up or down and deny everything? dont tell me this kind of BS ‘own fact’ ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 0
    • this is what you call lazy window researcher…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Ultra2Disk on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Peugeot, 231 units only …. ?
      Really bro ?
      Take look at the statistic back, YTD recorded 1502.
      Perhaps you looking at last year Peugeot and other cars too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • This data is for whole nation ok, not just ur office outside, bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Dude.. what are you smoking? Are you high or something? Please pass it around to PT readers.

• fariz01 on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:22 am

Bodohnya ko ni.. Beli kondom banyak2 ok. Jgn spread ur genes

• fariz01 on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:34 am

Bodohnya ko ni. Beli kondom banyak2 ok. Do us a favor n stop passing on your stupidity genes

• Good to see Renault is up.
    But Citroen no sales..Citroen sales person need to change job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • kington on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:33 pm

I think when people see Renault under ETCM, more reliable than Citroen under Naza. Few of my friends on the 308 are banging tables and chairs dy over the car and SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Dafuq, Msians too rich? More Merc/BMW sales than Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Yup..Merz & BMW are 2nd and 3rd ‘National car’ in Msia.

• Beng P1boy on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:56 am

Stupid Malaysians, Proton is better than BMW as said by minister

• Since when better was the word used? Bit BMW also uses Takata airbags, so….

• A.R.M Yusof on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:36 pm

wow Proton almost doubled their sale since last month :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:38 pm

A table on monthly and YTD sales as per segments.

• Citroen cannot sell any???

• intermilan on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:01 am

Citroen dont report its sales data to MAA bcoz its not MAA member.

• donno on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Where is Great Wall Motors data?

• No data that means no sell lor. You expect Bugatti, Lambo, Mclaren into the listing even did not sell any meh?

• Camry Hybrid on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Toyota must be partly help by the sales of its camry hybrid

• Salambangi on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Dear Camry Hybrid
      I bought one and very satisfied with the car.Not a driver’s car but a very comfortable and refined one.Test drive the car a you will be awed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Too soon to compare but if this trend keeps up, it proved my theory in the previous month that M’sians have the money, just they are slowly adjusting to GST and that panic buying in March caused the April result to be that low.

• applegreen on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:53 pm

pity to volkswagen, now they find very hard to sell 5000 units in a year. For comparison, they sold 12,000 cars in 2012.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:22 pm

and dead last in JD power customer ssatisfaction.

http://www.jdpower.com/es/node/5361

• Peaceaim on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Wow there is more new mercs & beemer on our road compared to new kimchi’s (kia+hyundai)

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Top selling National passenger cars
    Perodua 17,584
    Proton 8,825

Top selling Non-National passenger cars
    Honda 6,221
    Toyota 5,324
    Nissan 2,722
    Mercedes 1,148
    Mazda 1,068
    BMW 570
    Volkswagen 438
    Hyundai 416
    Mitsubishi 314
    Kia 293
    Subaru 249
    Ford 225
    Suzuki 219
    Peugeot 202
    Lexus 180
    Audi 103
    Mini 68
    Porsche 52
    Land Rover 50
    Renault 39
    Chevrolet 37
    Volvo 36
    Jaguar 10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • yutong on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:14 pm

June data would be interesting due to festive season… raya time… must buy new car…

• azrai on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:18 pm

P2 sales help by bulk buying by driving school la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Yaa…Whole nation driving school already bought 2500 units Axia from P2.

• Albert Sam on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:37 pm

P2 also offer easy pass to get driving licence programme with term and conditions buy a new Axia. From that programme, P2 successfully achieved 5000 – 6000 units per month.

• Zoom Zoom on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Seems like VW (438) and Peugeot (202) are dying slowly…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:36 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Shut up my son, dont talk coxk here, come to Parkson to help me sell bra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • VW still got people buy eh, bodoh ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • u jeloz becoz u cant afford to have it right? so pity of u…..

• Guest on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:51 pm

U gotta know that, VW is a really good driving car and the performance and handling is just awesome compared to many others brand cars. That’s why still have many people want to buy vw just for the pleasure of driving VW. Many of u are complain about reliable but so far I seldom see any big issue compared to before dsg resolved.

• Arone Box on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:10 pm

During test drive..
      I sat in my friend’s passat before.. the acceleration of the car is really champion..

• KIA R Junk on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Lol… Look Junk KIA sales ! Worst than Hino lorry.. Just ask those Korean car fanboy, Why you no more support korean junk like zombies ? Wakakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Oh sam on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Toyota sales up, but mainly from the commercial vehicles, Hilux or Hiace maybe? But anyway.. Same L0rrr’s promotion of his Toyota moving coffin is working! nooooo…

Congrats Proton for almost double sales. We need more safer cars on the road like Proton, Honda, Ford, Kia, etc. Hope P2 and Toyota sales keep falling, we do not want more unsafe cars on the road. It poses risks to other road users!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • rosdi on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Wait till those airbags in Toyota and Honda explodes… then people will buying new cars…

• Eric Goo on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Why I don’t see Great Wall Motor Sales?

• Gawat on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Perodua total sales: 92,027 cars
    Proton total sales: 40,939 cars
    That is just slightly half year sales. Both lower. Don’t think they can achieve target. Is this sign of economic recession soon??

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:09 pm

The ppl at Great Wall are so disorganized that they can’t even provide or bother to provide sales numbers. Not that they are not selling any cars.

• Still got people wanna buy the chao chibai shit proton junk crap car??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • Sam VHL Loo on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:06 pm

It should be, “still got sohai tai lan ngong people wanna buy the jamban junk shit UMW Toyota junk crap car”?? Even RM150k junk car doesn’t have VSC and only 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • At least better than your kosong Myvi and kosong Vios. Latest Proton cars like Preve and Iriz have more safety features than the cells in your brain.

Go back to your MyVi and enjoy racing ok?

• policeman on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Honda sales are down. Guess why?
    Because news has spread that City and Jazz gearboxes will start leaking after a few thousand miles. Combine that with the airbag issues, only the absolute ignorant will continue to buy a Honda with CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Ananz on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:14 am

I am still using a 2006 City but never faced CVT leaking or any other problems after 150000km usage.

• UMW Mampus on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:32 pm

I know you have nothing to do at Toyota showroom because nobody buy your empty junk with no safety features. But please la don’t bad mouth Honda. lol… go back go back to your showroom OK sayang?

• Go sell bra on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:28 am

This policeman is from puchong branch UMW. Nothing to do coz no sales then bad mouth other brands. Typical UMW salesmen.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:40 pm

It’s a miracle how Mercedes-Benz Malaysia have been punching above their weight these last few months. Truly incredible !

And Malaysians are becoming more style-concious too ! Mazda used to be a joke in M’sia just half a decade back, now look at them ! Dato’ Ben Yeoh has done a great job steering Mazda in the right direction under Bermaz. I expect more good news from them, especially with the upcoming CX-3.

I think it’s clear that VW Malaysia’s ‘honeymoon’ is over. Their shoddy aftersales and questionable reliability on some models have taken a massive toll on their brand image.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Shaekey on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:43 am

Although the distributors play a significant role, the most important thing is the product itself.

If the car is crap, there’s only so much a distributor can do until people realize and stop buying the car – example: VW?

If the car is good but the distributor is crap, the most people will stay away from the car – example: Ford?

In this internet age and social media era, people don’t simply buy cars based on salesman’s pitch anymore. They wise up and get feedback from current owner instead. Plus, many salesmen I met don’t really know about the car anymore than I do.

• Volkswagen car is not crap, the handling is even better than mazda or mercedes. One things you should know that, in social media all is full of haters instead of real owner they just simply bash vw without fact.

• Go sell bra on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:31 am

social media is full of lying UMW salesmen like Sam loo, same loor, policeman, maserati and gang.

• fukisan on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:33 pm

of course vw isn’t a crap car. i drove everyday from north to south and i’ve never seen more stalled vw by the roadside and from what i’ve known, vgm had showed improvement as all dsg issues had been resolved.

• thx to those haters simply bash vw and make their image drop. A minor problem they can even over exaggerated and elaborate the story.

• Audi-tor on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:35 pm

It looks like audi taking over the reins from euromobil in malaysia is not producing results fasst enough.

• ben yap on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:48 am

Fuh! VW sales go down…. gotta do a promotion, buy Jetta free polo. Buy Passat, free jetta.

• Rangers on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:59 pm

The day Toyota Malaysia will come and take over UMW very soon…its a laugh stock for Toyota now..

• intermilan on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:10 am

PT,

More tables comparing monthly n yearly data based on year on year is much appreciated.