LaFerrari recalled in the USA – seat and TPMS issues

LaFerrari-10

Recalls don’t discriminate, and here’s proof. Ferrari North America is recalling all 85 units of the LaFerrari it has sold in the USA, manufactured between May 2014 to March 2015, over two separate issues.

The first issue is to do with the L32 seat that’s standard for the hypercar’s passenger side and optional for the driver. In a crash, the headrests of the larger L32 seats may not absorb the required amount of energy, and can increase the risk of injury.

The second issue concerns the 963 hp LaFerrari’s tyre pressure monitoring system. In the event of a puncture, the affected vehicles will display the incorrect warning message of “Low Tyre Pressure-Max speed 80 km/h” instead of the correct message “Low Tyre Pressure-Do not proceed”. The wrong message may lead the driver to continue driving, which is dangerous.

The headrests will be changed and TPMS software updated, free of charge, of course. We recently got up close with Maranello’s latest halo car at Ferrari World Abu Dhabi, and you can also see it on track together with the F40, F50 and Enzo here.

LaFerrari at Ferrari World Abu Dhabi

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 135
    • Delloid on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Ferrari should give 7 years warranty. But power windows no need warranty lah, seldom use it anyway.

• Hor Shen Hau on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Bro,are you sure Proton tak pernah buat recalled?The latest Proton recalled is they call the Proton Iriz for ECU and TCU update. Isn’t that a recalled? And now this articles is about Ferrari, kenapa tiba2 you cakap pasal Proton pula?Don’t know how to read ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Edward on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Now compare Ferrari with bicycle please

• Razak bin najin on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Me should send my ferrari for claim…huh!!!! Maybe time to change to proton.more reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jimmy on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:43 pm

This is for the taukehs of all the luxurious brands:
    we don’t expect a 21-year-young child to handle our precious vehicles, meaning we don’t expect to see young kids in your service bays. No trainees’ hands on our vehicles please.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:26 am

Only in the USA? Malaysian LaFerraris not affected (wait are they sold here)? Anyways, these are minor problems. First one requires a new headrest. Second just requires software patch.