No price hike, no extra buses for Raya – Transnasional

MK02_160208_KTB_SKYVIEW

No price hike, no extra buses for Raya. That’s essentially what the boss of Malaysia’s largest express bus company is saying.

Konsortium Transnasional Bhd (KTB) MD Tan Sri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh said the high demand for inter-state bus tickets might be taken over by other operators who would charge higher rates for passengers leaving KL.

“There will be a problem in terms of buses. We need to increase fares to deploy more buses. If the government doesn’t allow this, rogue operators will charge higher prices,” he told The Star.

Nadzmi explained that KTB normally added over 100 express buses to meet demand, in addition to the usual 300 on normal days. Bus companies would run at a loss during Raya as buses would leave KL every day full, but return near empty. He added that KTB needed 70% capacity to break even, and that it already owed “millions of ringgit” to creditors.

SMRT-Bus-SingaporeJohor is reportedly losing its bus drivers to Singapore, where the basic pay can be more than RM4,000

Earlier, it was reported that some bus operators found it hard to get their drivers, who are mostly Muslim, to work during Hari Raya. They said a 20% express bus fare hike would help them cover costs, which is claimed to have risen by about 35% over the past seven years. Some bus drivers have also packed their bags for Singapore, which offers higher pay.

Bus operators are also urging the government to deregulate express bus fares, like with school buses since January this year, if they are not willing to increase fares. A fare deregulation will open up a free market where operators come up with their own prices and compete with each other to attract passengers.

In March this year, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) announced a price hike for both taxis and express bus services. The government gave the green light for taxis, but postponed a fare hike for express buses.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said he was aware of the problems faced by express bus operators, and that a paper calling for a fare surcharge had already been sent to the Cabinet secretariat. “We understand the problem and we think there is a black market. But there’s nothing we can do until the Cabinet decides,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TT@TT on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:24 am

SPAD should commission ETS to Padang Besar earlier do not delay..ETS is the answer to this (North Sector).

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Government has money to burn, while Malaysian citizens here are suffering.

• Mahai on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:33 am

We need to pay high price before we become high income country ma..sabarlah

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:50 am

Deregulation should also be match with anti collusion. All measures should be in place to prevent any join arrangement by express to pre agree fare heights.

• If all the backroom dealings are done in the backroom of cabaret clubs, and theres no paper proof just verbal agreement, can the police prosecute them?
      I dun think so, but this is how it works.

• Jimmy on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Hello, KZM punya friend.

This is call kawans. Tidak berupaya juga boleh mendapat kontract untuk membina Mars; bila little untungs, chase after you asking for everything like pampers-an. Use 1 million cakes to fish 10 billion cakes.

I dont care you hamba berdarah biru sama gua. I just want my cakes.

She is fighting for China and Taiwan, in case I cannot understand.

• Dude, ur English I cant understand. Ur Malay also I cant understand. Dont mix and miss-match!

• drama on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:56 am

lets watching drama between gov and bus operators.

• Tomey on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Gov should let the Bus Operators hire Bangla’s, Myanmar, Nepal, etc..

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Want a high pay & be provided with a really big & pretty expensive “company vehicle”? Come to Singapore to become bus driver.