Govt to go ahead with taxi fare increase after all

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 259

The government has decided to proceed with the new increased taxi fare announced on March 19, announced Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Nancy Shukri in a report by Bernama.

The new taxi fare rates use the same RM3 flag down rate in the Klang Valley (RM4 in Penang) as before the hike, but time and distance rates have now been increased to cost 25 sen for every 200 metres or and/or every 36 seconds. The flag down rate for Teksi1Malaysia (brown Proton Exora) has been revised to RM4, with a distance cost of 30 sen for every 200 metres.

There was some confusion over the new rates as the news broke over the weekend that the Cabinet instructed SPAD to postpone the new rates because it’s timing was unsuitable, being close to the scheduled implementation of GST on April 1. Taxi drivers were not happy about this, threatening to strike.

Quite a few taxi drivers said they would be charging the new rates anyway because they had already spent time and money to recalibrate their meters.

It’s only good news for the taxi drivers though, as the express bus fare hike that was announced at the same time will be postponed for the moment.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• This is all drama to show that Government does care about rakyat, but in the end they are part of the crony ha ha. So the rakyat who suffer while government spending money like ……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 11
    • Gargantia on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Or you can say that our DPM don’t have “pocket” shares on this department so he suggest… well another way around for Mrs minister…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Pondan Government (Perah Rakyat Puas Puas) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:06 am

See how the Government is like a Pondan here. So scared of the teksi drivers. If Government is so scared of teksi drivers, whatmore Ah Longs and Gangsters?

There is also another reason why the Government caved in. All the teksi licences, each worth about few hundred thousand ringgit, is all ultimately owned by the relative, kakar ipar, abang ipar, kakak kepada kakak ipar, cucu, saudara cucu, kakak kepada abang ipar of some Minister.

Here, the Cabinet cannot protect the rakyat because all the lucrative teksi licences are ultimately owned by the Ministers.

So why care? Just screw the rakyat for more money. Perah the rakyat for more money. All to enrich the Ministers or some UMNO crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Malaysians now don’t trust teksi companies. All teksi companies run by UMNO cronies and they charge sky rocket prices to us now.

This is unfair because the PM himself can use our RM450 million to buy new jet for himself. Shockingly, he already has 5 jets. The latest jet needed an extra RM28 million just to make the interior posh.

this is why teksi charges going up 40%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • They r not scared of Taxi drivers, cause they own the taxi drivers’ license.
          By increasing the fare, they also getting a fair share of it!

• Loser Teksi Drivers on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Please sack ALL the teksi drivers in Malaysia for blackmailing the Government. Within a week, every single of those sacked teksi drivers can be replaced.

There are many Malaysians holding driving licence that will take their jobs anytime. Now with Waze, finding roads also no problem.

I dare each and every teksi driver now to resign. Real losers

• LPPL like usual. End of story.

• Confession of a Women on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:05 am

Taxi drivers are so dirty. Always talking dirty sexual things in the cabs when we women are inside. Once, an old haji asked me whether I kept my down there shaved and trim.

Disgusting.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:53 am

So riding a taxi is expensive now. You wanna subsidizing the Persona/Exora, or get your own Vios and enjoy yourself? Your call!

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Even here Same Loor come and promote his Toyota. This is how desperate the Toyota salesman is now. For years they come here spreading rumours about Korean cars having bad RV. Then people checked mudah, carlies and oto and saw for themselves that Korean and Japanese got same RV. Infact, Toyota has the worst RV now.

The truth is out Same Loor, Sam Loo, De la Junk and Sam Loo (ori1)

• jim labu on Mar 24, 2015 at 7:58 am

Lhow class punya Gov…

• wow teksi drivers rule! who care what government has to say!!

• Same Lorrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:12 am

Buy toyota.. don use Proton Taxi.. Toyota good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • UMW Mampus on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:49 am

RV is the only thing you talk about. I pity you la shallow-minded Toyota salesman, just like your bosses in UMW. People are now progressing to look at safety features for a real “car investment” and you are still here talking about RV.

Nothing to do in your Toyota showroom? Having fun with your “stick” in the car exhaust? May as well as gather all your ejaculation, can serve as lubricants for your unsold cars in the showroom.

• WhoCares on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:15 pm

I’d rather hitchhike and get in the car of a criminal than take a cab these days.

Or there’s über, for now it’s still a viable option.

Anyway adios taxi drivers, I feel sorry for the honest uncle and Pak Cik drivers, but your younger and more Fak tap counterparts spoiling your rice bowl.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • fadli mansor on Mar 24, 2015 at 6:06 am

Ok, let me set the record straight here in the comment. I am a taxi driver. After spad announced last week on thursday, i went to calibrate my taxi meter to the supplier. My taximeter brand is digitax from italy so i went to demega in batu caves office. From my own pocket money, i pay rm100 ringgit to calibrate and rm5 for new fare sticker. Queue in line for 3hours, there goes my half day income coz stuck in the q, and when my turn in workshop, calibrate porcess took 5 minutes. Oh god, felt cheated already, paid rm100 for 5 minutes job. Anyway, after this i went to my taxi company to collect the grant to make way to puspakom paid rm50 more to validate the new rate and q another 3 hoyrs, there goes my one day income stuck inq. Did u know puspakom closed at midnite last friday. Thats how many taxi q in all their locations in klang valley. Normally puspakom closed 5pm or 6 pm. Then, suddenly after all these effort, new broke out cabinet asked to hold. How do u feel after reading my description. Luckily, i read tonite new fare a go.
      P/s: people here in comment said uber so good, savior to public transportation, cheap. Did u know during peak hour uber charge surplus if demand are high. Not cheap rite, and during peak hour uber also not likely to stuck in jam. Thats why u see many mat salleh still use taxi during peak hour to mont kiara and bangsar. Take that uber. What an urban mirth. Now my waja taxi everyday peole asking to buy from me becoz exora fare high nownso less likely local get in. Less demand. But waja, persona if u sell the taxi today, today already got buyer. Some dont like pesona dashboard so waja taxi demand higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
      • I am not a fan of taxis but I believe there are still good taxi drivers out there. Don’t discriminate against all. Just use the good ones and boycott the bad ones. Whenever I have no choice but to take taxi (rarely though, admittedly), if the driver is good (use meter, courteous, clean, etc) I will usually give tip. Because I think they are hard pressed to make a decent living (with all the ‘rental’ fees) and to ‘reward’ the good ones. The thing is not all taxi drivers ripping people off, but rather taxi companies (mostly cronies) doing this.
        To Fadli, good for you to give this information.

• How do I know good or bad taxi until the moment I stepped into a taxi? The answer is, I can’t. There’s no enforcement or observation system on this. So that’s why at the end of the day, ppl use Uber coz the enforcement is done better there. If MyTeksi willing to take such risk and implement such review system, I am willing to use MyTeksi to get a taxi.

• Myteksi is pretty good. At least it has alot of good features. I hope you have used it before criticizing.

My experience with MyTeksi has been good so far with the app giving me all the details of the driver, his eta, contact number, estimated price and also being able to share your travel details. Think its good. I only dont like those teksi drivers who charge high flat rates

• Confession of a Women on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:06 am

We women in Malaysia are so scared of the teksi drivers in Malaysia. Always talking dirty sexual things to female passengers.

• Teksi Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:44 am

Today, so many teksi drivers come online using their smartphones to write good comments about teksi in KL

• Promote Vice in Malaysia? on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:54 am

Can I ask why nearly all teksi drivers promote vice and sex trade in Malaysia?

Nearly every male person who enters any teksi alone always is asked by the teksi driver want to play prostitute or go to spa to main perempuan.

We all know, the teksi drivers get a commission from the brothels and spas.

Very shocking why this is so prevalent in Malaysia. Isn’t Malaysia supposed to be a Muslim country but why is our teksi drivers promoting the sex trade?

• To Teksi Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:38 pm

and before the teksi drivers with smartphones existed keyboard warriors talking thrash with no basis and experience. Just their imaginary “friends” stories. Lol

• Promote Vice in Malaysia? on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:57 am

Fadli, kenapa teksi driver in Malaysia always promote dosa in Malaysia? Always ask any male passenger want to main pelacur?

Kenapa?

Uber don’t do this.

• Unfortunately, for every 1 good taxi driver, there are 10 others who refuse to use meters and rally / hide behind associations to make demands to govt then charge exorbitant flat rates to customers. All the time spent on calibrating meters et al is just official excuse. In the end, more than half the meters are used.

• Wow best trolling ever, i wish gst just the joke for April fool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Buaya & Ular Mayan sama sama on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:13 pm

As usual govt. Got ‘no balls’ just because these crooks threaten to strike; you give in! What to do when the Buaya & Ular choose to rub each other’s back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Matchy on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:23 pm

The U-turn gov ;) Lets see whether GST will be postponed or not… haha

• bomoh on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Thank you BN ~~

• Rangers on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:34 pm

now you know who run the G, the cronies..

taxi are monopolized by few of them. (or 1).

• Maybe Teresa kok can help in this too???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • hondaman on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:36 am

not a single squeek from the opposition becuase most taxi drivers are their supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • “Quite a few taxi drivers said they would be charging the new rates anyway because they had already spent time and money to recalibrate their meters”…

Does that mean their meter can be switched to new rates as and when they like??? How SPAD govern these taxi and meter really puzzle me.

• Haiyah. All this is pure wayang kulit. In the end, these unscrupulous cabbies will just use the new rates as a higher threshold to charge without meters.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:47 am

Suddenly increase, then cancel, now don’t want to cancel.

Really fickle-minded. Even worse than when I ask my girlfriend where to eat

• Donny Yen on Mar 24, 2015 at 7:47 am

If the taxi issue still the same after the raise… Can the rakyat put on a strike? Will SPAD increase to check the enforcement? Our taxi system itself is confusing where we have different taxi operators? Teksi1Malaysia… why cant they just simply put a unified rate for the others? We might know which one but for foreigner…

• Datuk Faiz on Mar 24, 2015 at 7:59 am

Good work government, its only fair the taxi drivers get their share of increase salary. We have been getting numerous complaints by our fleet of taxi drivers that they are not able to pay their rental and permit, hopefully this will help them in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Dat UK Far East on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:06 am

Thats because companies like yours suck all the money leaving the drivers to fend for themselves. Rich cronies like you take all the permits and licenses and charge huge amounts of money to “lease” your cars to them under your company. Why not share some of your profits with the drivers for crying out loud.

• FaizalMisman on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:03 am

No wonder traffic become worst everyday. People will prefer to use personal transport to move rather than public transport after this.

• poyo la teksi driver ni.
    dia tak tengok lagi orang malaysia boikot teksi macam kitaorang boikot McD lagi.

• I think its fair that taxi drivers finally get a price increase. However, I only hope that while they so eagerly implement the new rates, they will do so by revoking the licenses of those who still refuse to use the meter.

• harap pagar, pagar makan padi!
    Umno & kronies,jangan harap dapat undi rakyat PRU akan datang!

• AKoNGz on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:15 pm

SPAD > Taxi > Government

• Hudud Expert on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:26 pm

it is against hudud

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:42 pm

After selling my Sonata to Sam, I am taking taxi very frequently now until I get my Accord.

Having said that, I feel more majestic in a Proton Waja Taxi compared with me in a Sonata.

When others see people driving kimchis, the look you down sentiment comes in immediately.

• Maserati (original) on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:04 pm

I am taxi driver you all still need me bodo

• I feel for the good taxi drivers. The royalties they have to pay for their license is high but the fares are low.

I am not against a price hike in their fares but the real problem is the amount they have to fork out for the licences/permit.

• Shawal Ali on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Negara berpendapatan tinggi

• Hermin on Mar 26, 2015 at 10:24 am

There is need for enforcement taxi not using meters, especially outside KL. I see SPAD are more focus on enforcing what the drivers are wearing than weather they are using meter or not. Last week my car was in the workshop and I was in IOI Puchong, the taxi that I ask all don’t want to use meter and they want RM 30.00 to go to Sunway. Their excuse is no passenger on the way back. I waited almost and hour until honest taxi driver came and said yes to use meter. The fare using meter is RM 13 and I gave him RM 20 for his honesty