VIDEO: Are you using a child car seat for your child yet? Listen to these testimonials from parents

Last weekend we gave out the first batch of child car seats to parents who applied for our Child Seat Rental for Raya campaign, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. We took the opportunity to interview some of the parents to compile this testimonial video.

If you’re not convinced by the need to use child car seats for your little ones while traveling yet, please do hear what these parents have to say. Many of them came with a new-found realisation of how important child car seats are because of the tragic accidents reported in the media recently where children died because they are flung out of their cars.

There’s even one lady who had to experience first hand what it’s like trying to hold a baby in her arms when her husband had to do an emergency brake. Trust us when we say it’s impossible to hold on to your child in a crash – we will never be able to do what real safety harnesses can do.

We started our Child Seat Rental for Raya campaign to get parents who are still unconvinced to try out child car seats with no monetary commitment. The idea is to get more children secured in child seats during the balik kampung period where accident rates are higher.

We started our campaign with 50 seats but managed to increase this up to 165 seats thanks to Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s sponsorship. We’ve given out the first batch but there are still some seats remaining so if you’re interested you can still participate.

Click here to sign up.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wendy on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Wowww! Superb initiative from paultan.org!

• Ainon on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Some parents complaint that their children do not like using the child seat and will throw violent temper tantrums if forced. Well it is about conditioning and disciplining both the children and parents to get used to using them. Starting early would also help the children to be comfortable using them.

• rigid on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:49 am

it took me 3 mths to hear my son cry/throw tantrum for a 2hrs to-fro work daily.now, he even climb himself to sit in the child seat without told to. totally worth it!

• Kayako on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:01 am

I say let them be if they refuse to use car seats. Less burden for taxpayers. We just have to ensure we do for our children.

• InvinceZ on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:31 am

Rental? Just giveaway for free lor or give away as 50% discount. I want one too.

• I was one of the parents, my daughter loves the car seat so much that she forgets her old car seat. I hope to buy the car seat at discounted price, hehehe….