GALLERY: Forty years of the BMW 3 Series, E21 to F30

BMW 3 Series 40 Years 19

Nothing warms the heart like nostalgia, and BMW knows this. At the international drive of the facelifted F30 3 Series, BMW brought out the whole family to the parade, all five generations before today’s car: E21, E30, E36, E46 and E90 – it’s hard not to be proud of such ancestry.

The 3 Series formula is a successful one – a compact sedan or coupe (there are wagons and convertibles too, of course) with a sporty flavour, wheels at the corners with minimal overhangs, pushed back cab and rear-wheel drive. All six cars here share this ideal and have provided driving pleasure to countless owners and fans over the decades.

Cars used to be a lot smaller, and the E21 316 looks tiny next to today’s car. The Three of the 70s had just two doors, and the lack of an ‘i’ in the 316 name is because its 1,573 cc four-pot didn’t have fuel injection. BMW offered a four-door E30, but we’re thankful it brought this coupe to the party, a rare 320is.

This is no normal E30 Coupe, but an “Italian M3” in a civilian body. Only 2,540 coupes were ever made (plus 1,205 sedans), specially for the Italian and Portuguese markets which imposed high taxes for engines above two litres. Under the hood is the legendary E30 M3’s S14 engine, with a shortened stroke to make 1,990 cc.

The high-revving four-cylinder unit made 192 hp/210 Nm, and is paired to the M3’s “dogleg” (first gear hangs out like a dog’s leg, push up for second gear) close-ratio Getrag five-speed manual. The 320is may look like a standard E30 Coupe with M Technic styling, but pop the hood and “BMW M Power” greets you from both sides.

As expected, there was a long queue for short test sessions of the classics, and the E30 was the most sought after by both journalists and BMW staffers. Yours truly was fortunate enough to have a go in the 320is, and its rawness and enthusiasm immediately woke me up from the routine of a media drive event.

The buzz from the four-pot as it made the final dash to 7,000 rpm was intoxicating and addictive. The motor likes it high, and you’ll get high from that. Coming in straight from a modern car, it felt unfiltered and uninsulated, contributing greatly to a heightened perception of speed.

Took a bit of getting used to, the dogleg gearbox layout, but all was good after five minutes. As expected, the shift isn’t as short and substantial as today’s sporty cars, but this is a 25-year old car and the everything felt right as it is. I’ve driven Harve’s E30 320i Coupe before, and this one feels sharper and more hunkered down. It was raining and I didn’t want to be eternally blacklisted in Munich, so there wasn’t any RWD hijinks. Hints of a lively tail went unexplored.

I didn’t have time to try the E36, E46 and E90, but did spend five minutes walking around the sleek shape and graceful lines of the E46 328 Ci. It’s a timeless design that remains classy till today.

More 3er pics and more history here. Which is your favourite 3 Series?

BMW E30 320is

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Holofanboi on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Obviously the F30. The rest of the previous gen look tame and easily bullied, unlike the f30 that says :

“whatchuu want, punk?” >:(

The perfect car for me to overcompensate for my tiny gearstick!

In all seriousness though, my favourite would be the e46. The proportions make it look long, sporty and in a way, moderately aggressive.

Also, those wheels *goes all giddy with the spokes* x3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Audi is more appropriate for tiny gearstick like you.

• US$32k vs RM300,000 on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:33 am

This is a ripoff in Malaysia. In the US a 328i is about $32k for a CBU German made model. In Malaysia, it becomes RM300k for a CKD model

How much BMW Malaysia want to untung? BMW Malaysia will get this car so cheap from their principal in Japan. Most likely they will get it for US$25k. This is a conservative estimate. Then to CKD in Malaysia, it will be about US$20,000 per car. (about RM70,000)

Then how does it become RM300,000? Our tax max out at 130% for BOTH excise and duty and sales tax.

• US$32K VS RM300,000 on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:42 am

sorry Typo. Germany not Japan.

• BMW 740li Owner on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:48 am

Ha Ha Ha Ha, This is a record. Malaysians now paying more than 4X the global prices.

Secret about buying BMW, buy 2nd hand. I just bought a 2010 BMW 740li for RM180k. Brand new it was RM880,000. My car virtually brand new, only done 40k KM and serviced at AB all the time.

Don’t be bodoh and buy brand new BMW. It is a waste of money

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Thing with the F30 though, in halogen reflector lights form it looks hideous imo. Why can’t they make projectors standard beats me.

• F30 Big Rust Problem on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:45 am

The F30, costing RM300k can have rusty seats. Rust so bad, until it can detach from the bolts. That is CKD quality. CBU F30 got no rust issues.

We pay RM300,000 for a car hardly costing RM100k. But yet we have to bear with low quality issues

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:12 pm

One thing is for sure, if not for the E90, it is unlikely the F30 would have been what it is today. The E90 was the turning point in the lineup, and probably the bastard child as well, but that was ahead of it’s time. The LCI especially made the E90 really great, in some ways, better than the F30 (i.e. rear design, and centre console).

The E90 will probably be the one I would look out for in about 10 years time, probably a 323i or a 325i, with the 6 speed auto and LCI. Too bad the E46 would be too old at that time to keep it alive, cause that had a pretty cool interior as well.

• Totally agree. The E90 in LCI form looks awesome and in some sense looks more expensive than the F30. I somewhat feel the taillights on the F30 looks cheap compared to the E90 LCI.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Indeed. I felt the same way too when the F30 came out. Even after the LCI I feel the F30’s rear just doesn’t look as modern as the E90 LCI rear.

• teropong on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Well, with little variation of tail light styling technology available on f30 release, they had to exclude something for the f30 lci later on ;)

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:59 am

True true.

I still feel the next 3 series should go back to the E90’s more premium interior. The E90 was at the time when they caught Mercedes while Merc was in the DaimlerChrysler days and even when the early W204s were out, the E90 felt better. In fact, the E90 only had serious competition when the W204 facelift came out, which at that point the E90 was already on the way out…

The F30 from a design perspective (inside and rear at least) is not as nice as the new W205 C class, especially the F30’s rear with the bulbs…

• Beemer on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Good, 40 years of BMW is better than 30 years of Proton

• BOYRACER on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:32 pm

I love all the generations of the 3-er.I have never driven the E21 n E36.The rest I have.Based on driving experience the best for me is the E90.I think for best driver’s car this is the one.The E46 is ok but a little bland.The F30 however is better in everyway except steering feel.Feels slightly disconnected.The 8-speeder is great though.So it looses on ultimate driving feel.Imho the 3-er all looks stunning in their coupe guise.

• Wiwiwiwiwiwiwiw on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:33 pm

E36!! Any E36 owners out there? :-)

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:29 pm

That’s one massive legacy that the upcoming G20 3 Series will have to live up to and its never too late for anyone to own one and join the family. My first BMW was the F30 and although it had its fair share of warranty issues, after ironing all the problems the car is truly a gem to drive and I find it hard pressed to have Audi or Mercedes sway me from the 3er family.

With the coming of the LCI F30 I hope they have ironed out the wind noise and made some tweaks to the suspension so it feels planted like how the E90 was without needing to fork out $$$ for the M-Sport suspension to solve the issue.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:54 pm

40 years of sui kwan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • policeman on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Anybody else getting tired of BMW and other German cars? They’re so dull. BMW is the worst. Same boring and crappy design for all their cars. A real grandpa’s car.

I’m also sick of German junks breaking down and causing jams. Please learn how to build a reliable car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • das auto on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:13 pm

The E36 still looks more handsome than any new junk toyota produces today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Sure, it will look even more handsome being hooked behind a tow truck all the time

• wiwiwiw on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:56 am

ask.com an E36 owner, all E36s are a solid proven highly engineered car. It is a pure sports sedan before the new generation electronic enhanced modern BMWs. Your statement is dubious as cars that is not properly maintained will ended up giving problems. Not only the car is handsome, it is also very comfortable, fun thanks to rear wheel drive, perfect 5o:50 balance and smooth straight six engine!

• Sting on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:18 am

Careful when following the tow truck, hit it and your airbags pops your head off.

• Josh Ling on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:37 pm

my favorite is still E46, especially the LCI version, and who can forget that gorgeous coupe design. E90 is the close 2nd, but only the LCI version.

E36 is good looking too, but it’s not as timeless as E46 to me.

• owned e30 m40 for a while and i love the handling and agility..small but feels solid..however the car suffers rust issue and at that time i dont have enuff fund to restore it..also had throttle body issue if i remember correctly..

maybe one day i’ll buy again the e30 and wish to plonk the more desirable m42 engine hehe

• alldisc on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:55 am

E46 330d manual in SE trim (Special Equipment).

excellent torque delivery, plus that raw handling without intervention by electronics.

of course, this is only a dream since this model was never on sale in malaysia.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:29 am

E36 for me please. Love that extremely short front overhang (unheard of in a sedan back in the 90s), the long sloping bonnet (sloping bonnets are not possible anymore these days with pedestrian safety being a top priority for carmakers) and perfect proportion of lines, metal and glass all round. Best of all was the E36 M3 in Estoril Blue with the 10 spoke rims. That blue colour was amazing then, and still is now.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:35 pm

I agree, you mean like this one :-)
      Jeremy’s Health and Safety FAIL: BMW M3 0-60 mph …: http://youtu.be/omibNVl6SQM