Taxi drivers stage another GrabCar protest, MyTeksi ready for talks with Transport Ministry and SPAD

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 2

Taxi drivers held a follow-up protest against GrabCar at MyTeksi’s Petaling Jaya office yesterday. In the first protest on June 29, cabbies called for the suspension of app-based transport services like Uber and MyTeksi-owned GrabCar, which they say are taking away their livelihoods.

In a statement yesterday, MyTeksi said it was willing to discuss the matter with its pool of taxi drivers and regulators. “We strongly feel that this is the time for an open and progressive discussion with the authorities. Together with our drivers, we call upon the Transport Ministry and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to relook current laws and regulations,” said a MyTeksi representative.

The rep added that the company’s internal studies showed that a taxi driver can earn up to RM3,120 a month if signed up with MyTeksi. The cabbies have refuted the claim, saying that they would not have staged the protest if they were earning that sum, The Star reports.

Persatuan Pemandu Teksi Subang Jaya (PPTSJ) secretary Mathavan Subramaniam said the cabbies were left with no choice but to lodge police reports against GrabCar, which they claimed is illegal. “We will not resort to violence. We respect the law and will resort to all legal resources including taking the matter to court,” he said.

Persatuan Transformasi Pemandu Teksi Malaysia (PERS1M) vice-president Kamarudin Mohd Hussain said that MyTeksi had betrayed them by coming up with GrabCar. He also called on SPAD to protect the welfare of the taxi drivers, who claimed that their income had dropped by more than half since GrabCar was introduced. PPTSJ and PERS1M also spearheaded the earlier protest, which was recorded live here.

GrabCar fares are potentially lower than a standard taxi’s. An economy-type GrabCar charges an off-peak base fare of RM2.30 and RM0.97 per km, while the flag-down rate of a cab starts from RM3, with RM1.25 charged per km.

What’s SPAD saying? The commission stressed that the use of private vehicles to carry fare-paying passengers is an offence under the Land Public Transport Act 2010. It also cautioned that drivers of any vehicle who collect fares must have the Public Service Licence, while the vehicle itself must be licensed by SPAD with proper insurance coverage for the protection of fare-paying passengers.

An UberX driver told this writer that SPAD was clamping down on the service when I rode with him last week. Apparently, road blocks have been held, and he was cautious when picking me up, fearing that I might have been “accompanied” by enforcement officers. It doesn’t look like this cat and mouse game is about to end anytime soon. What’s your take on the issue?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• johnny on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:29 pm

i thought our taxi drivers were a bunch of numpties.. but they actually know its “an offence under the Land Public Transport Act 2010” hmm impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • fast5 on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Selfish behaviour by Malaysia Taxi driver… must think of customers too.

Later Rakyat needs them to chnage to D- segment so that customers can have a better ride and better services.

No more Saga taxi with lousy services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • Bulan Puasa Protest - Message to IGP & SPAD on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:14 pm

This is the 2nd time PERS1M threatening during bulan puasa. Obvious that they have no respect for the Holy Month. The first was to threaten road blocks during puasa which would have caused mayhem and standstill and cripple the economy.

The IGP should consider this protest and the last threat the SAME as the Low Yat brawl. Each and every PERs1M driver should be arrested like how the polis is chasing Papagomo.

There is no difference between Papagomo and the current protest and threat. Both want to threaten the peace of the country and instigate riots.

The IGP should arrest each of these thugs and SPAD should cancel all their licences and ask them to surrender their licences.

There are thousands of willing people wanting to drive teksi and won’t complain. Give these confiscated licences to them.

Enough of all the threats and boycotts. If you don’t know or want to compete and you are greedy and selfish, just give up all your licences.

The last few posts on Uber, every single comment was nasty towards teksi drivers. All the comments came from Malaysians. If Malaysians can rate our teksi drivers as nasty, can you imagine how our teksi drivers treat the tourist?

It is no wonder why Malaysian teksi drivers are rated the WORST in the world. Everyday there are tourist being charged RM400 or RM500 for 5km journeys. this has to stop.

My advice to SPAD, cancel all their licences. Make it open to the public. there will be thousands wlling to appy to be teksi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
        • Jakim Jawi Buat Apa??? on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Hello Jakim, your teksi drivers in Malaysia are promoting Malaysia as a sex capital of Asia. Every male passenger who enters any cab, whether he is local of foreigner tourist, always get asked whether the passenger want to go spa or visit brothels.

Jakim, 9 out of 10 teksi drivers are involved in this practice. We all know they get commission from these brothels and massage parlours for every customer they bring in. Infact, the teksi drivers now are enticing most male passengers to visit such places.

So, Jakim, please check these people. They berani to go against Uber and others but deep inside they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia and doing injustice not only to Malaysia but to women in Malaysia also.

At least Uber don’t do sex rubbish in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • IGP and SPAD Banyak takut on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Anybody knows why SPAD and IGP are so so so scared of teksi drivers?

• SPAD Tipu Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where the cab driver can decline taking you and not use meter. Both also illegal but they dare to protest. You come to protest you must come with clean hands. Every other teksi driver never use meter and refuse to pick up passengers when hailed.

This SPAD is so scared to do anything. We complain to SPAD also, nothing is done to these drivers. In reality, do they even get penalized? My neighbor is a crook teksi driver and he has been driving for 10 years. He never uses meter at all.

Many of us have complained to SPAD about him but he has NEVER been called up.

SPAD is a sham and full of lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…bcos of the cronies and corruption make all these incidents happened…really shameful…puihhhh.

• Anonymous on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:32 pm

All involved must support and adhere to the rules and regulations set to govern for the safety and protection of the public consumer.

Uber n GrabCar are merely making earnings by cutting corners to the required regulations. SPAD & transport ministry must be sincere, and quick to take the matter by the horns… intensify enforcement, suspend their licences n seize their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • Brition Charged RM450 on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Spad kena ugut again by the thugs. How is the public now going to be protected by cheats? Every one of us has been cheated by cabs not once but many times. Give me a like if you have been cheated by a cabby in Malaysia.

Tourist also get cheated everyday bringing bad name to the country. The story below is very common. Happens everyday and it is NOT an isolated incident. Really happens daily

Briton charged RM450 for 10km trip, sparking furore over cheating cabbies

PETALING JAYA: An English tourist was charged RM450 for a taxi ride from KL Sentral to the Suria KLCC shopping centre, a distance of less than 10km.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the tourist paid the fare before lodging a report against the driver.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said they were investigating and would take action against the taxi driver and the operator.

He said the taxi driver was believed to have threatened the tourist into paying the fee.

“Taxi drivers are our frontliners and ambassadors of the country as they interact with tourists daily.

“We are taking this seriously as it affects the country’s image,” he said after opening SPAD’s new enforcement centre at the Persada Plus here yesterday.

He said SPAD was conducting a study to regulate the pricing mechanism for the taxi coupon system.

“We want feedback from taxi drivers and passengers before proceeding with the study,” he said, adding that there were mixed views about the coupon system.

While some supported it, he said, others saw it as restrictive.

“Some drivers said they would be unable to take passengers if they were not part of the taxi coupon system, while others felt it restrict-ed their movement,” he said, adding that the system was implemented privately by mall and airport operators.

SPAD also announced the purchase of 17 new vehicles, which will be used by its enforcement officers nationwide.

Syed Hamid said the highest number of reports SPAD received were against illegal taxi touts, followed by complaints about overloaded lorries on the road.

In the 3,845 operations conducted since Jan 2010, 74 individuals and operators have been taken to court. Source: The Star Online

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Uber adalah haram. PERS1M adalah benar dan saying sokong PERS1M. Kami sokong pemamdu teksi di Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 65
    • Teksi Driver SAME Lowyat gangster on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:37 pm

I see they are the same. These PERS1M drivers and lowyat gangsters, SAMA Sahaja!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • taxi drivers again..
    why am i not surprised?
    they never failed to amuse me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Teksi Driver SAME Lowyat gangster on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:38 pm

IGP and SPAD Albar very very scared of them. But both cannot touch these teksi drivers because Albar’s wife herself own a few teksi companies.

In Malaysia there is no conflict of interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:35 pm

if you spend as much time improving your services than protesting perhaps you would not be rendered irrelevant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • Teksi Drivers ARE RICH on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:40 pm

They are greedy. They actually make lots of money but pretend to be poor. My friend teksi driver managed to send 2 kinds to UK to do law. I think someone else wrote also and said he knows of another teksi driver managed to send their kids for medicine.

the problem here, these teksi drivers are greedy. they want more money and lazy don’t want to compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • kl fella on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:40 pm

most of these taxi drivers act like gangsters and samseng, if you get into accident with them eventhough it’s not your fault, they’ll still shout and kick your car and threaten you.. or most of the time just drive away.. happened to me many times.. i don’t have respect for the red and white taxi drivers.. even worse is that they can even dictate who to fetch and where to go and upfront tell you RM50 just to go from midvalley to section 14 pj during peak hours

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
    • Albar 6 figure Salary on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Until today, everybody still confirms, teksi driver dictate where they want to go and how much. What is SPAD doing?

Albar can earn 6 figure salary per month and still close an eye to this big problem. Everyday teksi drivers dictate where they want to go.

then they lie and tell you they are on call. If on call, why did you stop for the passenger on the road in the first place?

• kl fella on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Persatuan Transformasi Pemandu Teksi Malaysia (PERS1M) andd Persatuan Pemandu Teksi Subang Jaya (PPTSJ) and all other teksi associations.. i have only one word for you.. PODAHCHI!! go play far far away

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • IGP and SPAD Banyak takut on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Both IGP and SPAD are so scared of teksi drivers. Why ah? You scared all the teksi drivers come and complain how much the trafik officers have songlap from the teksi drivers?

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:44 pm

I’m in for whatever option that gives me a peace of mind and I’m being charged correctly for the distance I’ve traveled no matter its 50km or 5km and I must say Uber is the only company that satisfies the conditions

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:45 pm

it is pretty amusing to me when an uberX driver claims fear of SPAD when his car is unmarked and there is no cash transactions involved at all whatsoever.

this loophole is what SPAD finds hard to charge uber of any wrongdoings.

uber is not a taxi or limosine service whatsoever, it is an electronic app for ride-sharing.

• hondaman on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:11 pm

SPAD enforcement team will go undercover to nab the drivers lerr… that is why not easy to catch the uber drivers because Uber will be able to identify the enforcement team via the credit card used and blacklist the customer.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:45 pm

When they can’t compete due to their bad quality, they protest cari pasal. Same like the thieves go back beat people after they were caught.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • bodoh on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:15 pm

looks more like gangster than taxi driver…

• Albert on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Just look at their f…up faces.Do you trust them?
      Infact the public should stop using their f..up services,and look for alternatives.
      Do you want to board a gangster’s vehicle and be subjected to high charges and harassment?
      I took a cab from Bt Caves to Shah Alam.The taxi driver was very polite and fun loving but when he reached Shah Alam,he demanded rm40 and said he forgot to” on” the meter.Being in a hurry,I paid cos I need to go to the JPJ Padang Jawa office.
      Sounds familiar?

• kzm (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Wow that cheap!!..bt caves to shah alam is almost 50km..that easily cost u almost RM60 based on RM1.25/km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Albert on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Are from Kamunting Zoo?
          What cheap? What about all the toll charges,Duke,NKVE,BT Tiga Toll?Before the taxi price increase,it should be less than rm30 on fare alone if he use the meter.There was no jam at 11am.It was smooth all the way.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:35 am

even with old rate it will cost u more than RM40 let alone less than RM30 like wat u claim..hack even 10km ride with old rate is bout RM10.80..for 50km u do the math…u should ride KTM komuter as batu caves n jpj padang jawa near komuter station

• Feel sorry to these cabbies, but, u all deserve this.
    I feel unsecure everytime I was taking taxi. And to be honest, I can’t afford the fare that u charged me. All gangster looking face, not professional at all.

• akupunya on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Shut up Malaysian taxi drivers!!
    The worst taxi drivers in the world!

Support Uber and GrabCar…
    Malaysian taxi driver are suck!!
    Penipu and sombong.. penumpang dianggap hina bukan sebagai tetamu konon2nya menumpang di dalam keretanya… stupid !!

Uber dan GrabCar lebih profesional, cuma perlu pastikan driver2 GrabCar dan Uber bukan penjenayah, gila seks, perompak dan penipu.

Kalau tidak, GrabCar dan Uber jugak kami akan tolak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:33 pm

uber has this rating system which if a driver behaved unappropriately (like peeping at underskirts), the passenger (uber calls rider – not passenger) can rate him down. if the rating goes too low, the driver will be blocked from receiving any ride sharing.

uver is much more secure. besides, all drivers are registered and the same goes to every ride.

• to these taxi drivers..if you find that life as a taxi driver is difficult, please go find another job with decent salary..

• Nasi padang on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Diam lar. Bad attitude! Smelly cab! Face like gangster. Who the heck want ur service! Go sell roti prata lar.

• cobra on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Instead of protesting, why not improve on the image and service? When there is competition, you just need to buck up. Simple as that.

Can’t blame users opting for MyTeksi and Uber cos they are giving much better service in a much nicer and roadworthy cars. Whereas I still see Wajas and Wiras taxis, possibly 15 years old car still plying the streets.

• Some people will never change. Time to move on and leave them behind. Waste of time and resources talking with or about them.

• ben yap on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:44 pm

so many donkey years these taxi drivers got a chance to improve their service. instead they resort to daylight robbery and gangersterism.

now when competitors come in, they cry foul.

• Guan Yin Maa on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Apa lu mau lagi

• sepul on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:57 pm

They should look and learn into how Uber and Grabcar do taxi business before talking about legal actions against them.

Learn from the competition and improve upon it.

• jsfjafajaslgjaslgjal on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Why these people can’t see the long term effect of Uber. Basically Uber makes them own a business rather than working with all these taxi company that pay them peanuts in the end not ending their poverty but taxi companies generates huge profit for the bosses.

If you want money be your own boss… no boss in this world going to pay u a lot of money to drive taxi when majority of malaysians also know how to drive.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Uber n myteksi can do either stop those controvesial service (maintain their original offering) or register those taxi driver under their wing

• Bobby (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:39 pm

The world does not owe anyone a living, but these no good scroungers are using all means to show it otherwise. And not surprisingly the general authority supports it by doing nothing. If you r good and genuine, society will not price u out of the market place, but protectionism will, one day!!

• Last week at KLCC, want to take a taxi to 1U Bandar Utama. After stop 8 taxi none of them want to use meter bill.

Malaysia cab really disappointed.

Think… if your service is good who will take other alternative which your so call “illegal”. illegal public transfer better and safer than their so call “legal” service.

• Hazri on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:59 pm

i pernah bergaduh dgn uncle bawak teksi di TBS…almost everytime i hire normal teksi mesti banyak problem…bad attitude/tak nak guna meter/sleepy

i also have several experienced using MyTeksi…indeed, they provide great service..somemore, boleh naik for free!

• bumi jati on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Ini macam teksi boleh tukar pi grab car dan uber. Masalah selesai. Apa lagi mau komplaint.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:06 pm

These uncivilzied thugs deserve to be driven out of business. Drive like gangsters, act like gangsters, and all the while protected by unfair laws e.g. if a taxi hits your car, you can’t claim insurance from them, but if you hit a taxi, they can claim damages from you, etc. Govt crony protectionism has bred a gangster culture among express bus and taxi drivers because no legal action will ever touch them. Serves them right that people no longer sympathize with them and give a shit about them

• JL Choo on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:15 pm

MyTeksi in the article stated that according to their records, Taxi Drivers under their banner stand to earn up to RM3k per month. This claim is refuted by PERS1M. On what grounds are you denying this claim. Please look into a mirror and consider how many hours on road are you guys actually ferrying passengers. In a 14 hour work day, how much time is wasted lounging around waiting for passengers when you could be maximizing your journey with MyTeksi. There’s no helping laziness and it’s your fault that your rice bowl is affected by competition. Step up or move out.

• taxi gangster same as lowyatt gangster maaa..

• pemandu kereta on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Pemandu2 teksi baik bermuhasabah diri… kenapa semakin ramai org menjauhi mereka. Sbb utamanta sikap sebahagian pemandu teksi juga. Caj mahal mentekedarah, pandu mcm pelesit, kereta panas mcm dlm oven, dan perangai samseng tahi kucing. Tak hairanlah pemandu teksi KL dianugerahkan sbg perkhidmatan teksi terburuk sekali dlm dunia ini. Memalukan! Elok dibenarkan shj uber dan grab taxi beroperasi dan diberi pendaftaran sah. Rakyat dan pengguna berhak menikmati servis yg lebih baik, cekap dan harga berpatutan.

• paulz on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:26 pm

As i said before, boycott all these arrogant taxi drivers!!

We got better transportation like feeder bus, MRT, LRT and KTM in the future.

• Satumii on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:42 pm

SPAD must find ways to legalise UBER and GrabCar. This will enable them to operate legally and compete with the Taxi. The service of Malaysian taxi is way below standard. Al alternative will improve taxi services

• I think its the other way around. UBER and GrabCar are the ones who need to be proactive to get legalised in Malaysia. GrabCar/MyTeksi is taking the initiative to have a discussion with Gov.
      But as usual, UBER being arrogant dun wanna play that way. Just like they offended the Govs of other countries (1st world among them).

To summarise just becoz UBER is against the law doesnt mean teksimen can do whatever they like. 2 wrongs dun make a right as they say.

• Minister on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:23 pm

No songlap how to be legal?

• No2SPAD on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Bothm per1m and spad can go die.. U idiots chaeting malaysians and simply putting blame on grabcar… I only want grabcar, uber n myteksi as they are cheap, reliable, safe and honest!

• Murthy on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Wow! It seems 99% of the comments are against Malaysia Taxi drivers. Try to become a taxi driver for a year without any other income, only then everyone will understand how they are struggling to make a living.
    Just imagine when there’s no taxis around and the only option is to hire a private car and the fare will be a flat rate which will be absolutely very high.

At the moment they are offering promos and free ride to kill the malaysia taxi industry so they could take over it.

Once they are in control we have to pay whatever amount they ask for the ride.

Hope our government will legalize the ridesharing service so all the Taxi drivers in Malaysia will have an option to choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • It seems like this an uber forum,all only bad mouthing can driver and praising the unothorise illegal so called cab services uber/grabca,dont tell that non you ever had good and kind honest cab rides in k.l,what a bunch of hypocrates.

• Mek Dee on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:19 pm

These taxi drivers’ stupidity knows no bound….

Let them stage protest under the sun, as long as they want. Let them shout whatever they want. Dont give them any publicity. Let them syoik sendiri..

Hopefully, they just dried-up and die…

• Murthy on Jul 15, 2015 at 12:54 am

If the government legalize the ride sharing service such as grabcar and Uber I think 100% ofthe taxi drivers in Malaysia will give up their profession and become Grabcar and Uber drivers.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:08 am

These taxi drivers are pests like cockroaches. Always blocking up the road and creating traffic jam. Now they make our country’s name stink to the core by cheating and robbing tourists. Unfortunately cockroaches seem to survive forever.

• superbird #43 on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:49 am

if u think they all look like morons, give me a hell yeah….

• Teksi pun tak patuh undang2 pasal tak pakai meter. Sama gak.

• Peeved on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:29 am

Again this is another case of a irresponsible bunch taxi drivers tarnishing the name of the entire
    Malaysian Taxi Community. SPAD should be doing a better job to apprehend those bunch whom are causing the bulk
    of the issues to ensure the other hardworking and “by the book” taxi drivers deserve their proper image.

If Uber and MyTeksi is doing such a great job and garnering good customer reviews, it means they are doing something right. Instead of penalizing them or shutting them down, learn from them and integrate their processes to the current taxi services to better improve it. Also ensure they follow the required regulations for operating as a taxi service so that there will be fair competition for all.

• “KL Cabbies are the worst”
    “Drivers from Kuala Lumpur are well known for overcharging clients and detouring.”

Says it all. Nothing else to argue about. If you don’t improve, you be out of business.

• JohnBicaso on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Since you guys have alot of problems such as rental ,cannot take leave in event of emergency .let me give you a piece of advice. “JOIN GRAB CAR or UBER” for better life. Customer always rite but in your case you guys nt respecting the customer at all. Stop complaining guys!!!

• FED UP on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:35 pm

What more awards you bunch of idiots want? Getting the honour of THE WORLD WORST TAXI SERVICE isn’t enough! Now you want to go for the OLYMPIC GOLD MEDAL! award? Each & everyone of you are nonetheless criminals; cheating and extorting from the public daily. All of you belongs behind bars.

• arief on Aug 01, 2015 at 5:04 am

There is one time i want to go back from KLCC to gombak… around 9pm and urgent that i cant even wait for using slow lrt… but ALL of the licenced taxi driver there refuse to take me home… BULLSHIT! And there are some 2 or 3 taxi driver asked me for RM 50 for a journey that always cost me around rm 15 only using meters!
    Then i call my friend and offer him rm 20 to take me home and he agreed.. does it seems what it looks like what uber and grab taxi services?
    So PERS1M just f**k off and improve ur service not to mention ur 20 years old noisy car and sometimes air cond problems…. u already ‘cekik darah’ taxi driver until they do like that..

• Nicky on Jan 14, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Malaysia Taxi drivers are arguably the worst I have ever encountered. Having experienced visiting many countries in Asia Hong Kong, Taiwan, Korea, Japan to name a few I find the attitude of Taxi drivers in Malaysia the worst.

On a trip from Damansara Utama Uptown to the TBS bus terminal a taxi driver took me on the longest merry go round trip that ended up costing RM120! I was stunned beyond belief but calmly paid the driver without uttering a word. The trip itself was more expensive than my bus fare to Johor and then on to Singapore where I traveled to for an interview.

A couple of other incidents that happened to me; paying RM55 for a trip from Syabas office in New Town to KLCC;RM50 from KLCC to Old Klang Road 3rd mile;RM30 from Mid Valley to Old Klang Road 3rd mile. In all of these incidents I calmly paid my fare without raising an eyebrow and more especially In all these instances I never got into any arguments with the drives who by the way were all overwhelmingly oopp.. hmm your guess is as good mine!

I do drive frequently around KL and so I know how long it will take a taxi driver and possible routes to the TBS terminal. I am also quite familiar with the road networks in and around KL so I know my way around town fairly well.

It is about time the land transport authority and SPAD disband hoodlums from driving taxis. If you look at the behavior of all these hoodlums turned taxi drivers they are menace to the society at large.

Quite a sizable percentage of the Taxi drives here are among the most reckless, dirty, and irresponsible that I have encountered. Try stopping a taxi during rush hour and they treat you like you are a beggar. Why?

Taxi drivers here in Malaysia tarnish the image of this beautiful country; and moreover I think that a particular group of drivers need to upgrade their professionalism, mentality, and overall behavior.

There is no point for these bullies to continue intimidating the general public i.e., citizens, Foreign residents and visitors.

Malaysia enjoys a positive and respected image globally; however when any visitor to this country experiences the brutish behavior of taxi drivers here it leaves them with unpleasant memories.

And now and to all the naysayer’s who often hide behind their backward and flawed reasoning by saying “Oh this happens in every country around the world” well then ask yourselves this “does two wrongs make a right?

The government and SAPD with the support of the Ministry in charge owe it a their duty to the peoples of Malaysia to create healthy competition to encourage better services; and not to a bunch of hoodlums clamoring for the monopoly of an industry.

Malaysia is a free market economy let new businesses flourish so as to create healthy competition to drive development and create new opportunities.

Innovation will cease to exist if hoodlums are allowed to determine how any society wants to move forward. Local taxi drivers must accept the changes sweeping their industry.

And if I might add I really cannot understand the resistance to MyTeksi, Grabcar and Uber if we as a country keep on harping about Innovasi…Innovasi…Innovasi…