AAM clarifies status and safety of KL City Grand Prix

kl city gp banner

The inaugural KL City Grand Prix happens next weekend; and while not many know about the downtown Kuala Lumpur street races (including the Sport Commissioner’s Office), some of those who do have raised concerns regarding the status of the event and safety aspects.

Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha, chairman of the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) has released a statement to clarify certain issues. Here it is, verbatim.

Statement by Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha, AAM chairman.

The Automobile Association of Malaysia view with concern several statement made in the media about the status and safety of the KL City Grand Prix that is to be held on the weekend of 7th to 9th August 2015.

The following facts need to be clarified:

1. The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) is the sole international body governing motor sport, that is to say holds the exclusive right to take all decisions concerning the organization, direction and management of International Motor Sport.

2. The FIA shall recognize in each country and for all branches of motoring only one Sporting Power which under all circumstances shall remain responsible to the FIA; the holder of this power is the direct motor sport representative of its country within the FIA and is entrusted with having the international regulations laid down by the International Sporting Code of the FIA enforced in its country.

In Malaysia this power is vested in the Automobile Association of Malaysia.

3. The KL City Grand Prix is organised by an affiliate of the Automobile Association of Malaysia, Motorsports Association of Malaysia who is running the event together with Sepang International Circuit.

This event has been approved by the FIA and the final permit for the running of the event will be issued by the Automobile Association of Malaysia, who is entrusted by the FIA to ensure that all requirements of the International Sporting Code and its appendices are met before issuing the permit.

The Organisers of the event and the Promoters have been in continuous contact with the Automobile Association of Malaysia who in turn is in contact with the FIA regarding all important aspects of the running of the event.

4. The circuit has been designed by a firm of racing circuit designers and meets the requirements of the Circuits, Safety and Medical Commissions of the FIA. Furthermore, the circuit has recently been inspected by the FIA Circuit Commission and the AAM Safety Commission and approved subject to all requirements being met. There will be a final inspection of the circuit on the week of the event to ensure that all safety requirements are in place before a final approval is given to run the event. This is the normal procedure for temporary circuits.

5. All safety barriers are built to FIA standards and safety requirements and the layout of the barriers are as specified by the FIA Circuits Commission.

The Automobile Association of Malaysia would like to inform anyone who wants any clarification on the status of any motor sports event in Malaysia to contact AAM Motorsports (Mr Paul David) who is in the best position to give the background or status of events.

kl city gp map

Meanwhile, race organiser, GT Global Race (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd says that more than 1.2 billion people across 115 countries are expected to watch the KL City Grand Prix via ESPN and Fox Sports.

“With these TV viewers, Kuala Lumpur will shine as an iconic race track, with the Petronas Twin Towers as the monument to represent the city. Through this platform, Kuala Lumpur definitely will carve its name throughout the world thus boosting the capital’s economy,” GT Global Race president and CEO M. Arrasu told Bernama.

With Suria KLCC marked as the starting grid, the 3.2 km circuit runs through 16 turns, passing through some of KL Golden Triangle’s most famous streets such as Jalan P.Ramlee, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Jalan Raja Chulan and Jalan Pinang.

nissan_altima_v8_supercar_3

The programme opens on Friday (August 6) with free practice sessions for all categories. Saturday will feature the qualifying sessions as well as the opening races for the three support races – Lamborghini Super Trofeo, Formula Masters and V8 Supercars Series – with Sunday being the race day. The inaugural 25-lap KL City Grand Prix Cup will start at 5pm on Sunday evening. Speeds of over 200 km/h are being talked about.

Most of the required licences and procedures to legalise the event had already been taken care of, Arrasu said, adding that the circuit design has been approved by FIA and is awaiting acknowledgement as an official racing circuit. Malaysia’s Sports Commissioner Office has also given the relevant licences.

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) held a press conference earlier this week to share traffic and access arrangements in the lead up to the KL City GP – click here for full details and the traffic management plan. Bus services operating within the city will also be rerouted to make way.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What a Big Joke!! - 6 Hour Wait on Jul 30, 2015 at 1:30 pm

The AAM can come out with statements like this but their basic AAM breakdown service is so shocking and a disgrace. I have had many breakdowns. Each breakdown, for them to answer the mergency line alone sometimes takes 30 minutes.

Just imagine. Emergency and you are panic mode. Ring and ring and ring. Nobody answers.

the last time I broke down, they said all tow trucks busy. I waited waited waited and waited. Finally after 6 hours, the tow truck came. Not remote area. It was Jalan Gasing Petaling Jaya.

Many times I waited, I told them I am 80 years old and I was scared. About 10 times in the 6 hours I called to plead for the tow truck to come as it was getting darkers and I was scared

Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha, your AAM is a joke. No wonder why it is losing subscription from thousands of people.

If you cannot sort your basic emergency service, you want to advice on KL City Grand Prix? Tak malu ke?

• You get what you pay for. RM75 per year only and they do a lot more than just provide free breakdown services. If you were waiting for 6 hrs, for sure Muthu or Ah Beng tow trucks would have come by and why didn’t u take their offer if money is no object….