New VEP fees “discriminates S’pore vehicles” – MOT

singapore road

The Singaporean Ministry of Transport (MOT) has called out Malaysia’s vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee of RM20 for foreign-registered vehicles entering the republic as an unsatisfactory move – even going as far as to say that the implementation “discriminates Singapore vehicles,” as reported by Channel NewsAsia (CNA).

According to the news agency, Singapore’s MOT “will consider matching the levy in some form after studying its implementation.” Aside from that, the MOT is also in the midst of requesting more info from local authorities surrounding the requirements for Singaporean vehicles to be registered prior to entry.

Recently, Deputy Transport Minister, Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, announced that foreign vehicles will need to be registered under the Road Charges (RC) with the JPJ before September 1 in order to enter Malaysia. Drivers will be required to pay RM10 for the RC, which is valid for five years.

An MOT spokesperson has been quoted by the news agency as stating that “such costs and inconveniences could discourage Singaporeans from going to Malaysia, in particular Johor, for leisure purposes such as shopping, entertainment, sight-seeing and holidays.”

In August last year, the Singaporean authorities moved to increase the VEP fee for foreign-registered vehicles entering the country to S$35 (RM97.82) per day. Meanwhile, a similar move is said to be in the works to cover the Malaysia-Thailand border with a proposed mid-2016 roll-out date – said VEP fee is likely to cost RM20, as well.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• shawal on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:53 am

Just pay up la kiasu singlets

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:30 pm

haiyaa… our RM20 is now like SD7 only to you singaporean… nothing la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Why entering Singaporean need passport? Working in Singapore need PR/work permit? Enter US need visa/green card? Are they “discriminating” Malaysian?

For less SGD10 these kiasu guy wanna R JI R JO “Talkok in cantonese”? Walk in Malaysia lar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…RM20 shj kah…should charge them kaw kaw…let them complaint kaw kaw…hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Salambangi on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Dear readers

VEP is bad.We need Singaporeans more than they need us. We need their Sing dollars. We need their purchasing power, their businesses and we also need their amoys..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
      • OMG…Bear in mind that last year SG charged us VEP $35(almost RM100) …so we are learned from them…We should charge them more like Rm 80-RM100…hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • mohsin on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:55 am

Apahal?
    rumah aku, ikut suka aku la!
    Rumah terbuka Raya pun aku pilih2 tetamu!
    Yang dapat kad je boleh datang tau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • KevinChia on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:02 am

What? You can charge us but we cant charge you? For all these years the vehicles from Singapore always been problematic. They can against our road law and return back to their country without paying the summons. Now you will feel the same as what Malaysian has been through when we cross the border to Singapore. Please summon them with hefty fines.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • olio benzina on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:56 am

Them flaunting our laws with impunity is just not true.
      Now and then Ops have been conducted at entry and exit points in JB and many culprits have to beg or borrow on the spot to clear their cumulative Malaysian traffic fines. Several cars were impounded.

• Yusof Ishak on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:16 am

Singaporean authorities increased their VEP fee for foreign-registered vehicles (mostly Malaysian cars) entering the country to S$35 (RM97.82) per day but we cannot charge them RM20 only? Where is the logic in their argument? Why are we even wasting our time entertaining their complaints?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • olio benzina on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:42 am

The logic is this.
      SG car price, road tax and fuel are mucho expensivo for SG locals.
      So not fair MY motorists rub it in by driving in everyday essentially using SG roads at a steep discount to locals.

To be fair they don’t charge VEP for the first 10 days a year, after hours, on weekends, public and school holidays. This should not affect genuine MY tourists/visitors.

Logic not emotions when dealing with SG else we lose another rocky outcrop.

• BigBalls on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:26 am

hypocrites

u charge us for the longest time, and now when you get charged u cry like a small baby? hahaha.. looks like all the years in national service is useless when i see these cry baby kiasus

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • azhar on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:29 am

should charge those kiasu rm50 not rm20…rm20 is just too small with ever decreasing value of ringgit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Should not charge in RM, our Gomen should charge them in Sing$ or USD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Sinkapore on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:36 am

Can’t u all see, this is a thinly veiled warning and excuse for Singapore to raise yet again the VEP to ‘match’ the Malaysia side?

Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Idiots across the Causeway forgot how much they raised their VEP charges to enter SG? They said they have their own reasons right?

So we have our own reasons as well. Don’t expect a free ride.

Do they not know we will be implementing the same charges at our Northern border with Thailand? We should do the same for Sabah/Sarawak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • vivavi on Aug 05, 2015 at 6:57 pm

F no please. Dont bring your stupidity to Sabah and Sarawak border. Brunei don’t charge us, we don’t charge them.

• HaIri on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:47 am

“implementation “discriminates Singapore vehicles,” as reported by Channel News Asia (CNA)”

Hahahahaha biggest jokes from our neighbor, It’s singaporean registered car who speeding in our Expressway, Highway and also jalan kampung. Yet say we discriminates them, puiiii please charge them RM500/per entry they also can pay lah. Kiasu ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Singaporean on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:52 am

We will give you donation rm20 everyday we enter using car. Hopefully, ur country 2.6billion debt can setlle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
    • Low Budget on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Not 2.6 billion debt lah, the 2.6B is donation from some unknown sources, now that our gomen make sure you Singaporeans also donate so to increase 2.6B to 5.2B.

• Singaporean on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:59 pm

We give 1000billions oso cannot la. Ur country doomed n corrupted. Ur leaders will suck ur money till dry n let u die in vain. Muahaha!

• areos on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:53 am

In Singapore everything is money…just like ABBA’s song ..money money..RM20 is equivalent to S$7.50 only (peanut)…but they are more than willing to fight for even S$1…its really a mistake, miscalculation kicking Singapore (Temasik) out of Malaysia in 1965…new generations have to bear the consequences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Steven on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:55 am

Hey common lah fellow Malaysians, it’s our government who is desperate for money, gst blah blah blah. Most of the VEP is getting from Malaysians working there, not tourists lah. Suck Malaysians money lah brother, suck dry dry. Singaporeans pls understand our gredy government, we cannot help you for now, even Malaysians we can’t help ourselves, biggest lost RM600 buta buta salary for government per month. don’t worry lah Singaporeans, we are being sucked hard. Do bear with us and pity us a little, Thanks. Thai side might be abolished since no interest to start it at same time, and no Malaysians money to suck there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • fukken yiu khad on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:40 pm

bodo..ko tau apa? menyalak x sudah2. memekak je tp xde contributions. bangang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kau ni mimpi ke ape?

• cendol (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Steven, I fully agree with you.
      If government really sincere want to help people with the VEP money? Why is Thai-Malaysia border VEP not introduced?
      If this is not selective prosecution, what is it?
      Actually the Malaysia VEP , the people suffering the most is Johoreans working in Singapore, no money for guessing which ethnicity is affected most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Turtle on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Kiasu always want FOC. Born to cheat some more. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Singaporean on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Actually , we don t mind paying any amount requested. The number of Singaporean travelling to Malaysia will be back to normal in a matter of weeks. Personally , even if VEP amount is $150, we will pay. So, why the heck they imposed RM $20 ringgit in the first place. Its ridiculously such a low price.

• Holofanboi on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Absolutely well said Singaporean! As inferior Malaysians we will be happy to receive any amount of payment from your kind.

It is with great joy to know that you all will still be able to afford it if we increase it to RM50 :)

• Oh great SG master race overlords!
      Forgive our stupid Gov for imposing this ridiculous peanut fee. We know its just 7.50 for you, but its ur hard earned sweat money. Cannot compare to our RM20 songlap 2.6billion.

May you have mercy on us poor Malaysians. We the majority have tried our best to kick out the current Gov. But still not enuff funds to do it. We are begging u to increase it somemore. Our dear leader cannot remain any longer in jail. With our pakatan in disarray, we need him out to solve our problems now.

We are willing to give up our sorry state of a country if it means kicking out the current korup kroni Gov. Please come and save us oh mighty master race!

• kiasu bastard. air paip pun amik dari sini. lg mau bising.

• Kelvin on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Fellow Malaysian, it’s ok to implement but we must understand where will the $20 used? Most likely it will be ended up donating to someone else so might as well we don’t implement it cause the benefit will not go to ordinary Malaysian.

Secondly, Singapore only charges VEP during peak hours so most affected are those going to Singapore to earn their dollars while Malaysia is 24HRS and it affect incoming tourists…is it logic! Be reasonable as Malaysia and don’t disgrace our self to the world.

Finally, why not implement in Thai-Malaysia borders at the same time? Lousy Malaysian governments and its policies. Don’t be a fool to support the incompetent BN governments, and make yourself suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Singaporean on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:07 pm

You r rite! Ur gomen is selfish retard! When singapore increase VEP, ur stupid gomen increase tolls. At the end all ur ppl who work in singapore, tourist from malaysia all have to pay more. Ur gomen corrupted to max. Only thing they want money n the money does not goes to ur ppl. Not to worry! Ur gomen will continue to suck all ur money! Nothing u all can do! Sad but its true!

• Malaysia Gov is charging VEP for Money instead to ease the traffic! and Singapore VEP does not apply for the first few entry and also not 24 hours. but Malaysia VEP is a catch all charges.

Stupid Government is making Johor Bahru worse, which we already can tell from the slow down of real estates market and soon the whole market.

Speaking from a local Johorean, not working in Singapore, and in fact we need them more than they need us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Singaporean on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Sorry to say that ur gomen is incompetent. They oni care abt their cronies and their self. We will donate more money to their pockets. No good will come to you. Such an incompetent gomen. The whole world knows abt it…

• See quite a number of comments saying “we need them more than they need us”.

Niama, wtf! If without those kiasu Singkies coming in, Johor will die??? If Johor really die, then it is deserving because the ppl of Johor cannot adapt.

Without Singkies, Johor will die. What a joke!

And…if Singkies don’t need us, then why keep hiring Malaysians?

So Johoreans, stop whining like a Singkies, OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Singapore increased the vep because of the raising cost of coe. We still let malaysian vehicles enter free after 5pm on weekdays,weekends and public holidays. Malaysia wants to charge us at all times, RM20 on top of the toll charges. Is that fair?

• Be Rational on Aug 12, 2015 at 9:11 pm

one can implement whatever policy but principal must stay, Fairness. Without that unlikely it will help. It’s said very clearly S VEP to equalize vehicle ownership, some more Foreign motorists can enjoy up to 125 days per calendar year without having to pay VEP fees, ~34% of the time. It’s a matter of fairness….. Do belief one can come out a policy here, they will do the same on other area….