GALLERY: Volvo S60 Polestar V8 Supercar in KL

volvo polestar malaysia 8

After a meeting with Polestar’s Magnus Skeppstedt yesterday afternoon, when he shared with us the Volvo-owned tuner’s plans (chassis and aesthetic parts launching late this year, coming to Malaysia in 2016), the Swede showed us Polestar’s ultimate machine – the Volvo S60 Polestar V8 Supercar.

The blue Volvo is one of five Australian V8 Supercars in town for a demo performance in conjunction with the inaugural KL City Grand Prix. The other race cars are Aussie icons Holden Commodore VF (Red Bull) and Ford Falcon FG (Pepsi Max), plus the Nismo Nissan Altima (Teana to us) and a Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG.

volvo polestar malaysia 19

Just like in Japan’s Super GT series, the V8 Supercars have very little in common with their road car siblings, appearance aside. The S60 Polestar V8SC is powered by a 4,989 cc V8 that produces 650 hp. Power goes to the rear wheels via a six-speed sequential gearbox.

The 1,400 kg (including 22-year old driver Scott McLaughlin) beast is stopped by six-piston calipers gripping massive 395 mm discs; four-piston and 355 mm at the back. At each corner are double wishbones, adjustable dampers and 18-inch wheels. The wide body is a combination of steel and carbon fibre.

Looks fantastic, doesn’t it? The closest thing to this one can buy is the Volvo S60 Polestar – 345 hp and 500 Nm from a turbocharged 3.0 litre inline-six engine, with power going to all corners via a Haldex all-wheel drive system. 0-100 km/h is completed under five seconds and top speed is limited to 250 km/h.

Also available as a sexy V60 wagon, the Polestar fettled machine gets new springs (80% stiffer than Volvo’s R-Design items), Öhlins shock absorbers, large Brembos and bespoke 20-inch alloys. There’s also a wind tunnel-tested aerodynamic package that includes splitters, a rear diffuser and deck spoiler. Oh, and the tuner’s trademark blue paint, of course.

The “engineered” S60/V60 won’t be available in Malaysia anytime soon (they’re limited to 750 units each by the way) but “optimised” by Polestar offerings are already in Malaysia – the 1.6 litre T4 engine gets an extra 20 hp/45 Nm for RM5,944, announced in May. Suspension, exhaust, bodykit and interior enhancements are set to surface later this year (think BMW’s M Performance), and will reach Malaysia in 2016.

Volvo S60 and V60 Polestar

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• You’re comparing a 650hp tuned Volvo Polestar with a 355 hp Carrera S?. Seriously? . Who gives a shyt about race quality in a race?. It’s about who finishes 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Hahaha .. Are you aroused by seeing those legs ?. Bloody sarong lover.

• Better wear Sarong. Up north, even the Dugong also can kena hantam. So anything is possible

• It’s like a kilt. Makes guys get in touch with their feminine side.

• Who gives a shyt if the car is made in China. So long the quality is there, that’s all you have to care about. Majority of the huge automobile companies are having their production line done at India,China,Thailand etc etc .. Why ?. Cheaper labor cost. The steel from China is not stronger than the steel from Europe is it?. Your perception of things made from China is embarassing at this day and age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Bodoh Betul on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:48 am

I care cause i think RM300k is a lot of money. It is not a RM500 handphone abang. Maybe your money easily comes but many of us work hard for our money.

• Dude, there’s something called quality control. You’re not buying a car made from cheap steel la. The price you can blame on Ajib kor. If you can’t afford a Volvo then don’t bother buying one. I also cannot afford it but to say Volvo is expensive coz it’s made from China is stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Theanswer on Aug 07, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Err..those who can afford 300k, wont think like you. Just ask people who bought 200+k is250 over bmw 3 series. And btw, new volvo is safer than old tank volvo. Remember, crumple zone.

• blablabla on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Dear bodoh betul dude. people like u cannot afford the car, so don’t talk about quality.. This is not cherry easter we’re talking about.

• kington on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:37 am

As funny as it sounds, Volvo has been in the racing scene since the 70s. My first glimpse of a racing Volvo was the 240GL used in rally. Imagine that car in rally!

Like many of us, I never liked Volvos until my father bought a 240GL in 1988. His brother in law had a 244GL which came in a long and extended bumper, rivaling that of Nissan’s Sunny. Back then, hard and tough steel was the order of the day, no such thing as crumple zones, passenger cells and etc. My uncle survived a huge crash and a trip down a ravine in his 244GL. My dad’s 240 served him well, notable problems were electrical fuses and shorter lifespan of its rear absorbers compared to my mom’s Kembara.

The 90s brought Volvo some steam back in racing when they entered the BTCC with that 850 GLT Estate which later spawned the homologation 850R. This was followed by the S40 tuned by the late Tom Walkinshaw which gave us amazing scenes racing against Audi’s A4.

The last S40 sold here was quite problematic, especially electricals but other that I’ve not heard much of it. A distant relative drives the current S60 T4 1.6 and she seems happy with it.

I think the biggest problem for Volvo is the price. At approx RM270K for the S60 T5, it’s heavy money when you consider that a 320i goes for RM240K. Only Volvo fans would apply, and by now many who liked Volvo back in the 80s or 90s could’ve switched to other brands already.

• Yes .. you are right. Volvo had always have the public’s perception that it’s a bloody safe car however it’s bloody pricey. Back in the late 90s, owning a Volvo was a rare sight and it was on par with the BMWs. How times have changed.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:19 am

It’s a problem with the dealer here, strangely they’ll gladly give massive discount from time to time, even I can’t understand why they can’t just price it lower in the first place.

Their V40 and XC60 is well priced though, XC60 even has their latest Drive-E powertrain.

• volvoxlaku on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Tak laku lettew, why not doing road tour like Toyota?

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Better give discount directly than do roadshow.

Volvo trucks seem to be doing well though. Maybe they rather focus on that, leaving car sales in limbo.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:39 am

Very nice. So basically, the car only looks like the production version (albeit with a longer wheelbase), but most of the car is different. Noticed that the engine is north-south rather then east-west in the production Volvo. Must sound amazing that big V8.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:41 am

Where’s Tokmoh? Your car is here. hehe.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:01 am

HNNNNNGGGGGGHHHH this is pornography!!

Thank you, thank you Danny!!! Your best post ever, better than those chicka posts <3

• volvoforvulva on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:59 am

VOLVO FOR LIFE!

#no2ndhandvalue

• DPCraft on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:10 am

I found S60 design quite attractive !!

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:11 am

U yang bodoh.

You think family man want a Porsche? Porsche can carry family? Porsche got safety credentials like Volvo? Unrivalled comfort that kids will love? Built-in booster seats?

And please la, Carrera S 2007, already 8 years old, u think no need to maintain? Beech please, the Volvo that costs the same is maintenance free for FIVE years, not a single sen need to fork out. Porsche? Good luck!

Bodoh piang compare apple and orange, car for family compared with car for driving pleasure. Lagi bodoh dari Sam Loo, better buy Hilux la, u also become hailat.

• porscheftw on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Who cares poor Volvo badge if can get Porsche’s.
      2011 Porsche Cayenne 3.6 (A) RM 249 000.
      Can carry family!

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:40 am

Hot damn!

• “The Swedish really have no brains”

…and Malaysian still go to Ikea for furnishing & idea to deco their homes.

Hmm…