Petronas Euro 4M RON 97 now on sale in Peninsular Malaysia, same price as before – RM2.45/litre

Petronas

Good news, folks. We’ve been informed by various industry sources that the upgraded Petronas Euro 4M RON 97 fuel is readily available at all Petronas petrol stations in Peninsular Malaysia as of now.

Best yet, the new formulation effectively replaces the previous Euro 2M-grade Primax 97, and carries the same price tag of RM2.45 per litre, inclusive of GST. It may not be publicised or branded as such yet, but opt for RON 97 fuel in Petronas and you’ll be getting Euro 4M RON 97.

Petronas previously announced in April that it would start selling its new Euro 4M RON 97 formulation in September this year. We now know that it has been rolled out a few weeks ahead of plans. Our sources have also revealed that the upgraded fuel will be launched nationwide, Sabah and Sarawak included, very soon.

It’s also worth noting that Petronas’ new Euro 4M RON 97 fuel is coming out of its local refineries, and not imported from elsewhere.

Euro 4 fuel calls for a maximum of 50 ppm (parts per million) of sulphur, compared to Euro 2 standard’s 500 ppm. This significant reduction will have a positive effect on vehicle emissions, besides other benefits. We at paultan.org will have a more in-depth story on this new fuel soon.

Car companies and the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) umbrella body have long called for better quality fuel (compared to the current Euro 2M standard) for them to be able to bring in the engines with the latest technology. Now this, is as good a start as any!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• woohooooo..i also dont know what so fuss about it.perhaps more gdi engine cars coming in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Why Petrol So Mahal? on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 136
      • Do you know affordability to buy a car in Venezuela and their economy?
        You need to bribe to own a car in Venezuela and one dollar note cos 80X times. 1 USD = RM300

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
        • RM2.6 Billlion Dollar Man on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Our minyak is expensive because everybody in Malaysia curi. Big man already steal RM2.6 billion. That is when he kena tangkap. Before that, he would have much much more. Taib alone got US$20 billion (RM80 billion)

Then he count la the others. One by one. Each also would have sapu either billions or few hundred million each.

Now, we got to subsidise all these thieves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 33
      • readmore on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:37 pm

You’re seeing things to narrow my friend. The middle eastern oils are cheaper because they are not offshore drilling unlike our country. There are many ways to extract petroleum and middle east countries are lucky enough that they have petroleum right beneath their soil. That basically explains why the US likes to invade their country ;)

Apart from that, Msia oil is expensive and very high grade and its better off to make it for the planes only as that will generate more income for Petronas.

Learn more about this then you’ll understand more. Don’t be easily influence by the media, do some research too. Drilling in the middle of the ocean for petroleum wont be cheaper than on land, that’s for sure. Literally explains why our petrol ain’t as cheap as those middle east country but overall, we’re still the cheapest compare to our own neighboring country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 15
        • dummy on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Why can’t compare with UE countries? Norway, for example, is also an oil exporter country, yet their oil price is very very high. Yes, they earn a lot, but their VAT is about 22%, and their income tax is about 45%. Everything is super expensive, even a loaf of bread can cost almost RM30, and apple that cost more than RM15.
          Their currency has also dropped very badly even vs RM, yet they do not complain at all. Asians, especially Malaysians, complain almost on anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 45
          • kzm father on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Ini semua muslihat Yahudi. Minyak murah di Malaysia berbanding di Singapura

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
          • IndexMundi on Aug 12, 2015 at 7:47 am

But if you look at our stats, its seems that we are no longer a net oil exporter. And given with current oil prices, we not able to cover our consumption (imported oil) using production profit alone eventhough our own oil price much higher.

Year Production Consumption
            2000 690.03 465.02
            2001 659.21 475.10
            2002 698.46 462.75
            2003 737.86 479.86
            2004 763.48 508.04
            2005 726.44 521.85
            2006 691.81 534.41
            2007 668.27 574.16
            2008 686.24 567.50
            2009 658.70 610.52
            2010 638.26 618.34
            2011 569.93 677.21
            2012 585.56 655.89
            2013 570.26 623.00

http://www.indexmundi.com/energy.aspx?country=my

• OMG…i believed u r dumb enough and real SH.

• Marco on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Readmore – Is it possible for you to rebut
          the points from What a Lying Government.

Lets have a rational discussion with facts and figures. No insults, name calling, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Aug 12, 2015 at 9:55 am

you got a good point, but what about Brunei? their petrol is not beneath their soil…pls enlighten me…

• Their piece of land located right infront of the delta where high hydrocarbon accumulation ( a delta)

It will take hour to explain to you.

Most people not and not knowing about the oil and gas exploration/production would have less understanding, even the basic. Please read more on subject matters.

• dari dulu sampai sekarang masih x habis habis lagi tentang isu minyak Malaysia mahal. Sudah sudah lah. Malaysia penyeluar minyak TETAPI bukan pengeluar terbesar. Dan minyak kita di jual dengan harga sedemikian menyebabkan kita mendapat pendapatan KDNK @ GDP sekian dan sekian. Semua orang tahu yang Malaysia sudah 10 tahun DEFISIT iaitu perbelanjaan melebihi pendapatan. Dengan kata lain setiap tahun kita x cukup wang. Kalau anda suruh kasi harga minyak murah hanya kerana negara lain murah, agak agak berapa pendapatan KDNK @ GDP Malaysia setiap tahun akan jadi? Akan jadi makin kurang. Macam mana nak spend untuk pembangunan negara? Minyak murah atau mahal bukan perlu diukur dari sebab kita negara pengeluar minyak. Tetapi perlu diukur dari berapakah hasil pendapatan yang negara perlukan untuk menguruskan negara. Saya harap penjelasan saya x dikaitkan dengan politik dan juga rasuah yang melanda negara. Baca dan faham dari konteks yang berbeza ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
        • Soh Chin Chai on Aug 12, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Sori la bro anda bercakap macam menteri. Negara tidak ditadbir dengan cekap jadi sudah 10 tahun defisit. Kita sekarang bagi untung kerajaan sebab subsidi sudah tiada, harga minyak dunia sudah paras terendah, lagi ada GST untuk barang2 lain. Harga kereta pun terlalu mahal, pemilik kereta sudah bayar petrol beribu ringgit secara indirectly dengan 2 cukai yang dikenakan. Atas bawah kiri kanan depan belakang tepi tengah siang malam…. rakyat sudah kena cukai kaw-kaw.

• blo0d on Aug 12, 2015 at 9:19 am

do u know that we are not “one of the largest oil and gas producers in the world” as u mentioned?

do u know indonesia and UAE has stopped giving subsidies for their people?

its the industry problem. not our country only. open ur eyes pls

• Only for RIch and Famous. on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Still only exclusive for the rich to use. We, the majority have to use the high sulphur Euro2M Ron 95.

Why let the rich enjoy? And why let the poor people who make the majority suffer? Why must the majority wait until 2020 for clean diesel and petrol?

Petrona is a disgrace. They should be the first to intro this into Ron 95 now. After all, we Malaysians have kept quiet over the years lettting Petronas be the personal and private bank of UMNO.

The oil is ours. It is the right of Malaysians. We have the right not only to enjoy cheap petrol but also cheap and clean petrol. It is unfair that Petronas is the private bank for UMNO and not for the whole Malaysia and Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 61
    • What a Lying Government on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:49 pm

If Global Brent is USD50.00/barrel = RM190 (x3.8)
      RM190/159 = RM1.19/ltr (per barrel has 159 litres). Eventhough today it is below US48

Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.19/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.19 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. So, we Malaysians are paying more than 90 sen extra per litre if pump prices are RM2.05 Why?

If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.19 per litre if per barrel is US$50.

Then there is 2 other elements. 1) Refining cost and 2) Petrol Dealer Profit

The maximum for refining cost is 10 sen per litre. That is the Maximum ceiling for refining based on global refining charges.

Petrol dealer profit also is usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. The non reductions is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat because recent months Government increased so much…pandai pandai. Also Malaysians just got used to the high prices, as usual.

Critics will argue about sales tax but every single oil producing country sells their oil without sales tax to the rakyat, except for the UK.

Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.

Even at the price of RM2.05, we will be overpaying the Government over 90 sen per litre.

Government made RM Billions in just one month because the prices were so much higher than global prices. Where got real float?

How can they charge so high when they just gave the rakyat the GST gift?

Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 74
      • bapak hang on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:51 pm

pergi study lagi bro

1 barrel tu hang ingat semua nya ditukar 100% kepada petrol ka? dah pasti tu minyak mentah belum proses..

tu harga minyak mentah… adakah kos keluarkan minyak dari laut tu, kos bawak ke pantai dan bawak ke kilang tapis.. dan kos tapis tu FREE KE? dan dari kilang tapis hantar ke storage dan storage hantar ke stesen pun FREE?

refinery paling canggih di dunia pun hanya boleh tukar sehingga 50% je kpd petrol…

adakah kita ada refinery plg canggih ni?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 16
        • blablabla on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:31 pm

These type of people cakap je lebih. tapi sebenarnya bodoh sesangat!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
      • Marco on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:09 pm

What a Lying Government -> Is it possible for you to rebut the points from user Readmore.

Lets have a rational discussion with facts and figures. No insults, name calling, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Where is Euro 5 Ron 95? on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Now already become Global prices, Government still give us low grade Euro 2 fuel for Ron 95 that is causing so much environmental damage and health problems to Malaysians.

Since now Government give us a float system, give us clean fuel please. All our neighbours got clean fuel except us.

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
      All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment. Now increase diesel price, why wait till 2020 for cleaner Euro 5 diesel?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 47
      • If you are serious on going green, don’t drive and take LRT, buses and etc.

It’s easy to blame everything on others. Reflect on your own first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
      • All countries using Euro 4/5M? Where you get this from.

Don’t just for the sake of lying, you make wild allegation. I bet you didn’t even know what is Euro 4M without Paultan in very 1st place.

You know biodisel, diesel 4M, etc? Donkey!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • So the oil/gas produce by PETRONAS in Sudan, Iraq, Vietnam, Indonesia and many more countries belong to Malaysian?
      -This blog is for automotive not for you to express your policitical views.
      If one day PR rule the goverment, PETRONAS will be private bank to DAP-PAS or PKR?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 20
  • Tanah Merah on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Fantastico ‘

• Good news !! A good start for our national heritage and fuel produce locally.

• watever it is stil dont use petronas and shell oil. Always BHP and CALTEX the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 43
  • albag on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Celaka why peninsular only??? Sarawak Sabah how??? East Malaysia discrimination is it???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
    • abckacang on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Why come to conclusions so quickly? Just wait la it’s not like they’re not going to introduce the petrol here anytime soon. Accessibility in Peninsular is better, so just be patient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • KeNxRaCh on Aug 11, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Yes, i forget that oil resources are 100% from West Malaysia and there’s 0% extract from Sarawak & Sabah

• albag on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:14 pm

the comment shows that how retard you are… definitely a Peninsular retard

• poor should take public transport , why complain oil
    prices high in Malaysia . car should be exclusively for the rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • hadi75 on Aug 12, 2015 at 8:23 am

You think this country only belongs to the rich people ka? You think those low income..middle income earners don’t pay any taxes at all ka? Stupid arrogant b#@*@#d..

• toyotafan on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Shell 97 is also on 4M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Good news indeed! At least it shows we can stand on our 2 feets rather than relying on overseas supply.
    With the fluctuation of RM vs USD, its good we can keep in within our borders.

Just they need to ramp up bit more to go for Euro5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • gaviny on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:15 pm

sorry lah, BHP still for me, petronas fuel i have problems with engine knock always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • shawal on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:28 pm

For a population of 30 million and no.27 in d list of oil producing countries we are doing welll for ourselves..

UAE just stopped fuel subsidies and its priced higher than ours…

This euro 4m is a good step forward…

Looking forward to new honda engines with DI and kias gdi turbo engine for the k5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • TakMesra on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Petronas Mesra points calculated by litres not RM.
    You get 1 point for every litre you pay.
    Pay more for RON97 but get less points.
    Pay less for RON95 but get more points.
    Who’s stupid idea was that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • NeedForSpeedUnderground_V2 on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:28 pm

4M stands for = My Money My Money … :) just joking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • CarmenTung on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:11 pm

What is this Euro thing aaa…if more Euro more power ke…sorry, I’m just a stripper down the street..

• RicoT on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Unlike BHP who mentioned which station in Klang Valley has Euro 5 diesel with different nozzle colour. Petronas do not specify which stations have already implemented Euro 4M RON97, so one might ended up filling with old stock Euro 2M RON97 until the stations replenish their stock with Euro 4M RON97.

• Not gonna be a matter coz both are priced the same..

• have they announce euro 4m available yet? no? so wait until they announce la bro. maybe you should expect paultan to give you the list hehe

• Possibly just a matter of time when the petrol stations runs out of 2M and next batch pump in 4M.

If you very particular, just pump BHP Euro5 then wait 1~2 months.

• RicoT on Aug 13, 2015 at 2:08 am

You are welcome to pump BHP Euro 5 diesel into your car. Then later on pump Petronas Euro 4M RON97 into it as well. :)

• Najis Rusmah on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:58 pm

IMHO
    97 petrol ranking base on my personal trial
    1. Caltex – Is it Euro 4M already? super smooth
    2. Petronas – Fuel efficient
    3. BHP – Powerful, consume more fuel
    4. Shell – Less efficient
    5. Petron. – Least power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • George Abdul on Aug 11, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Come and try Bandar Damai perdana Petronas station the dealer will make you know what is call cheating !!!

Fuel efficient kepala otak kau !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • trolololo on Aug 12, 2015 at 2:03 am

lol he just said his own opinion, if any cheating just report to Petronas Dagang meh

• But must wait for Proton diesel engine first, right?

• Adib Ali on Aug 11, 2015 at 5:49 pm

which Petronas stations here in Klang Valley that are already selling Euro 4M Ron97? Any idea? I used to fill up with Petron, RM1=1 point, most rewarding ever, just redeemed my free RM45 petrol after amassing 3000 points. Fill up with Ron97, the faster you get to redeem your free petrol, but I’d be inclined to switch to Euro 4M if it’s available now.

• Jimmy on Aug 11, 2015 at 6:12 pm

May lost Johari, Samawas and Saban. Where are some 5000 brains? Ambil gaji besar tapi tak nak gunakan otak / kerja keras is another type of makan suap.

• Petronas is the worst petroleum i had ever use, especially my ride is a turbo charged high compression engine, it is too sensitive that i can feel it, since the engine is build for euro 5, i wonder is the Euro 4 play better for my engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • evo_user on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:24 pm

are you stupid? this standard was used for the sulfur quantity in the fuel. in short, environment friendly. we turbo car need is high octane which mean ron 97 or ron 99 for our turbo car. you idiot gave such stupid comment. don’t bash petronas due to political view. Petronas fuel is much better than Shell except v-power racing 98.

• shamgti on Aug 11, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Gov and opposition all the same..promise only..But never deliver.Only talk3.They know how to make their own pocket money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Penipu jual minyak ke, sendiri pakailah, penipu, mana payung saya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I dont care i will never support crony petronas.