In a series of tweets, Elon Musk, CEO of Tesla Motors broke some news concerning the upcoming Model 3. Apparently, the Tesla Model 3 will be revealed early next year, sometime in March.
It will be priced at USD$35,000 (RM148,000) in the US, before any federal or state green-car incentives. That’s about half the price of a standard Model S. Pre-orders for the Tesla Model 3 will start then. In his tweets, Musk says that “the lower cost sedan will start production in about two years. Fully operational Gigafactory needed.”
Tesla’s Gigafactory will be in Reno, Nevada and the full construction of the plant will hover around the USD$4-5 billion (RM17-21bil) mark. This battery plant aims to produce 50 GWh in annual battery production by 2020, which should be enough for 500,000 Tesla cars.
As we reported earlier, the Tesla Model 3 will be offered as both a sedan and a crossover, in a move that will make the brand become more accessible to the masses. This vehicle will become an integral part of Tesla’s push to assemble over 500,000 cars a year too.
The fact that Musk places so much importance on a fully operational Gigafactory reveals that he’s got very ambitious plans for the Model 3. If Tesla gets it right for this model, it’s pretty much going to change the way we drive for a long time to come.
Finally something different for Malaysian. Not just sushi and kimchi, matter least since all cars got no RV nowadays.
Dude Tesla mentioned it has NO plans to open shop in this part of the world what more in the corrupted Bolehland so dream on or get one from your local grey dealer with 0% support for such an advanced vehicle.
Arhh… Let’s wait after they finish the fleet program with the government first then.
700k if it’s sold on our shores.
when i saw the title of the post i was so syiok…tot tesla 3 coming to malaysia for rm148k…
wat a misleading title!
You think Proton will let it sell RM148k here?
Rubbish Proton always wants to make cars expensive here. Sigh
read the header – ‘from RM148k’ so i am like…”im gonna get it!!”
then read the article content ‘$USD 35k’. sigh..
I read it too! Thought it was going to be available in Malaysia. And was duly disappointed soon after. Here it’ll be probably RM500~700K no thanks to gomen.
Who’s going to buy the syok sendiri Honda ‘rebuild’ then if Tesla sells for original price? As usual, Proton forces us to buy their sh*t car
tesla want to come into malaysia…but being malaysia….must let “somebody” earn, need 22.6 billion donation
Anil, please phrase your title correctly. It was so misleading. I really thought it was going to be available in Malaysia. Then when I read the article… I was so disappointed.
Hi, the RM mention was used to give a more relatable/measurable figure for Malaysians, rather than stating it in USD – especially with the exchange rates now. The story clearly states that it’s available for pre-orders in the US. Anyway, thanks for the feedback.
Cheers.
Hafriz a better option would be to put US$35k (RM148k) instead of only RM148k in the title. This would clearly state where the car is being sold and not lose context. I suggest that this standard is adopted for all news items for cars sold outside Malaysia in the future.
Hafriz, the fact that exchange rates are unstable now makes it all the more appropriate to use the denomination in US$, not RM, so it’s fixed. And what’s the big deal with being so selective with RM denomination. You think we Malaysians can’t relate to US$ or £ is it? You think we only how to relate to RM is it? Please la… when there’s a chance a headline can cause confusion, err towards caution rather than taking the risk of misleading your readers. That’s responsible journalism.
TPP will lead this car to malaysia market…
opps, dont the GLCs know this?