Former Top Gear trio not worth £160 million – Netflix

top gear trio

As reported earlier, it has been a fairy tale so far for Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond and James May, after the trio found a home on Amazon Prime next year. Former Top Gear executive Andy Wilman will be producing the yet to be named show.

Interestingly, Netflix’s Chief Product Officer Neil Hunt told UK’s Digital Spy that the trio are not worth the money being paid by rival streaming service Amazon Prime. Clarkson and friends will have a £160 million (RM1.06 billion) budget to make 36 hour-long episodes, which translates to £4.4 million (RM29.3 million) per episode.

“We have past episodes of Top Gear, so we have a pretty good gauge of what audiences like,” he said. Hunt stressed that Netflix’s buying decisions are “somewhat data-driven” and that’s why he believes the trio “sold themselves for way more money than they’re worth.”

Hunt told the publication that Netflix is not bothered by Amazon’s spending power, even with the amazing sums that the former Top Gear stars are raking in. “We’re much bigger, so we have bigger cheques to write,” Hunt said, adding that “there might be other people ranting, but we’re still in a good place.”

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Salambangi on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Dear Clarkson

Damn you Clarkson. You bashed people and you get paid handsomely. You racist bigot and Asian hater but sad you stillhave large followers in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 33
    • The Stig on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:47 pm

He’s a bloody genius. The luckiest man in the world. The most hilarious man in Earth. Build a bridge and get over it kid. Butthurt much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
      • Hes a funny guy, but he’s far from the funniest person alive. Anyway I don’t get how he’s a racist and…err…an Asian hater?
        Lol people don’t know how to take a joke. If you can’t learn to laugh at yourself once in a while you have some serious problems.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:50 am

..because there was a slope on the bridge.. do you even watch Top Gear?

• budaya barat. Haram. We should watch our own Malaysian car shows. Bodoh Mat Salleh. Haiz

• he is a real idiot. Not our culture to bash people. Sound like those Bersih 4 people only.

• Alot of Malaysians luv to be made fun of and derided by gweilo masterrace especially those that come from our colonial masters.

If he comes here, they will lick his boot and his butt.

• ganni on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:04 am

you know what..i love to watch topgear eventho i knew fifth gear is better in term of giving information or even any video in youtube are far better than those 2 programs.
        Sometimes u would love to see the character of jeremy. he is outspoken and yes it is good to improvise the automotive industry. we need ppl like him. but i would never lick his boot & butt. only a stupid ppl will do that.
        so i u really love/adore/like somebody, will u lick his boot and butt. it is so gross and pls dont be childish then.

• mampus Clarkson. Kami tak nak budaya barat kotor anda!

• Renee on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:55 pm

They make fun of everyone, including themselves. The Top Gear series they hosted before was actually an entertainment show and not sole about cars only.

These guys are good and they work well together. That’s why Amazon is paying them big bucks.

• shawal on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:08 pm

the show will be called……….

” An Amazon of cars… ” ….bwahahhahaa

• tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Let the butthurt flows through them.

• Pontiac on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:50 pm

It’s NET. Not NOT worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Not net on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Errr..it is “not”..did you actually read the article or you just like to type stuff on the internet?

• You should read the article one more time before start correcting other people..

• kurangak on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:35 pm

do u even english bro?

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Soo what? They’re nowhere close to how much Najib is worth now hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • andrekua on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Worth or not really depends on viewers number. We will have to wait for the numbers to show.

As much as I enjoy previous shows, I think I will be moving on to the new TG for a change.

• richard on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:25 am

This is just sour grapes from Netflix! If Top Gear brings in about $220 million again this season, then they are absolutely worth $160 million. Netflix are just pissed that they couldn’t get the team onboard with them and are throwing their dummy out of the pram. Very sore losers!

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:26 am

i totally agree.. this is just a case of sourgrapes.. Netflix were actively going after the Trio, but Amazon is the one that got them in the end and now they say, “oh.. they’re too expensive..” blah blah…

• Netflix gauging popularity by their old episodes that everyone else had watched on BBC is pure bollocks. It’s about exclusivity sir, so please sit down and enjoy your butthurt sandwich and watch them rock on Amazon Prime.

• netflix are just jealous they lost and amazon got them instead. The butthurt is strong in this one.