They’re back! Clarkson, Hammond and May’s new car show to hit Amazon Prime in 2016!

It’s official! Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond and James May have found a home on Amazon Prime next year, on a yet untitled show. Former Top Gear executive Andy Wilman, the man who worked with the trio on BBC’s Top Gear, will be producing the new car show.

“Customers told us they wanted to see the team back on screen, and we are excited to make that happen,” said Jay Marine, vice president of Amazon Prime Video EU, when speaking to UK’s Independent.

“Millions of Prime members are already enjoying our ground-breaking original shows. We can’t wait to see what Jeremy, Richard, James and the team will create in what is sure to be one of the most globally anticipated shows of 2016,” he elaborated.

11732041_10153506297052422_218156136877495440_o

It is reported that Amazon made a ‘significant investment’ to get the team. Previously, it was thought that Netflix may bag the deal, but Amazon has come out on top.

Speaking to the Evening Standard, Clarkson said: “I feel like I’ve climbed out of a bi-plane and into a spaceship.” Hammond chimed in, saying: “Amazon? Oh yes. I have already been there. I got bitten by a bullet ant.” May rounded it up by adding: “We have become part of the new age of smart TV. Ironic, isn’t it?”

Apparently, Amazon Prime has promised to give them ‘creative freedom’ on the show and will give the team enough room to be ‘innovative and make shows they want to make.’

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Diesel on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Wow. Good! Life will not boring with them on TV. Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • BigBalls on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Yes!! Now they are not bounded by BBC’s pathetic attempt at political correctness, I wanna watch them given the freedom to express themselves, entertaining us and show us more cars with MORE POWWWAAARRRRRR.

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Yes its apparently true that if you’re fabulous and famous enough you can get away with anything.

I guess the commoners dun have the right to criticize Najib for doing what he did then. Cheerio ta ta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:37 am

You mean like Mark Thompson, who, for no reason, bit a colleague who just walked through a door? The BBC tried to cover it up, and when the victim tried to press charges the victim was sent to Afghanistan or so. Later Mark Thompson was made director general… the highest position in the BBC.

Sorry, Clarkson had to be punished, but the way the BBC did it they only punished themselves, while making him really ridiculously rich. Much more so than he could ever be at the BBC.

• So if im the star of ur company, almost indispensable, is it okay for me to beat u and only got docked 1 months pay?
          Its a lot of money, but as if i giv a f*ck, just 1 month onli. Derma to company.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Nope. It is not ok, it shouldn’t be. But that’s how the BBC operated, so I think the way the BBC reacted this time was too much. It’s like they tried to make up for all the other cover ups of much more evil people. Like that Jimmy Saville.

The punishment should have been in form of a TV show that he really wouldn’t like. A TG episode that sees him travel through Africa in a Reliant Robin, with the backup car being even worse, while Hammond and May get something decent, and the producer gets something really nice to travel in. A boxing match against a professional boxer. Having to host a morning show. All of that unpaid, obviously. Or do something else creative.

The BBC should have known that when they fire him, a bidding war will happen that will make him extremely rich, and that such a deal would involve Hammond and May too, which means they get a big offer too. That the result is losing Top Gear (the brand isn’t worth nearly as much as the presenters). I said so from the start. And I hope that the guys who run the BBC are smarter than me.

• camtakpro on Jul 30, 2015 at 9:45 pm

So more hammering on crappy cars like Perodua, Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • olile on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:21 pm

No, crappy cars are BMW Merc and Audi and all those sushis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:15 pm

No need for them to hammer on Proton. Malaysians do it more than enough already.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Hammond’s all grown up. He’s got a goatee now. Can’t wait to watch new mayhem from the trio.

• intermilan on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:08 pm

The key is Amazon Prime which is unavailable to most part of the world.

• andrekua on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:51 pm

I don’t really feel like I missed them at all. I’m looking forward towards the new Top Gear show.

Personally I kinda hate it when Jeremy burn rubber with power sliding and call it a fun car to drive.

Hopefully the new TG will have more cars to see than hilarious race between public transport vs 2 wheeler and 4 wheeler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • They also need to find a new test track from an unused airstrip, as well as a tame racing driver to replace The Stig.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:29 am

It is reported that the deal over 3 seasons, 36 episodes was worth $250 million to Amazon. Per episode they will be getting 7 million dollar… to put it into perspective Game of Thrones is supposed to cost on average 6 million dollar, despite their huge cast, thousands of extras, lots of high quality CGI (almost every scene has some CGI), massive sets, and 2-3 teams that shoot at the same time at different locations. House of Cards is at only $2.6 million it seems.
    Compare that to Top Gear… which is much cheaper to produce. Only a cast of 3, not that much CGI, no sets, no extras, …

–> Clarkson, Hammond and May will be obscenely rich, unless they start to play car football with Zondas and Veyrons. Which they now could actually afford to do.

Punishment? Hahahahaha. Right. That didn’t work. The BBC is struggling for public approval and essentially cancels their biggest cash cow and popularity booster, and the person that was supposed to get punished by it profits the most from the punishment. Epic fail.

• Add-A-Comment on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:43 am

I am not even angry but rather amazed by how you guys can link your comments to politics, Najib, Proton, etc. to every single post regardless what is that about. You guys never failed to amaze or amuse me.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Ollie on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:53 am

Well, i guess this would be a ploy to subscribe to Amazon Prime, and maybe there will be a challenge where they deliver someones package.

• BBC’s automotive channel can close down!