GreenTech Malaysia signs MoU with The New Motion to produce EV chargers – Malaysia to be regional hub

GreenTech Malaysia and The New Motion MoU signing

It’s well known that the sale of electric vehicles in Malaysia is still a fledgling business, with one of the main reasons holding back its progress being the relatively slow implementation of charging infrastructure across the country. As a result, range anxiety tends to discourage the public from buying and using electric cars.

The Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (Green Tech Malaysia) has taken a big step to change that at the 2015 International GreenTech & Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM) today, by signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with The New Motion to fast-track the rollout of EV charging stations in Malaysia, via the ChargEV network.

Hailing from the Netherlands, The New Motion provides charging solutions to a number of European countries. “We already have over 18,000 charging stations across the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, France, the United Kingdom and Norway,” said founder Ritsaart van Montfrans. “We are proud to partner with GreenTech Malaysia to bring our technical expertise to cater to the growing base of EV users in Malaysia.”

Aside from supporting the development of the ChargEV network of charging stations, the partnership will also see the use of The New Motion’s technical expertise in spurring the development of the local manufacturing of charging hardware, related subindustries and components. Indeed, GreenTech Malaysia plans to make the nation a regional manufacturing hub, a fairly ambitious goal for sure.

“We are excited by the potential that Malaysia and the ASEAN region have to offer in terms of electric mobility,” added van Montfrans. “There has been keen interest shown by various parties, and by partnering with GreenTech Malaysia, we will be exploring every avenue within the country as well as our neighbours to truly kick-start the EV revolution in ASEAN.”

GreenTech Malaysia has big plans for ChargEV – it targets to roll out around 300 EV charging stations across Malaysia in 2016, as part of a greater plan deploy as many as 25,000 by the year 2020. It also hopes to put 100,000 EVs, 2,000 electric buses and 100,000 electric scooters/motorcycles on Malaysian roads by 2020.

The New Motion is not the first company to have signed an MoU with GreenTech to expand the EV charging infrastructure in Malaysia; the non-profit organisation – working under the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA) – agreed to form a similar partnership last year with First Energy Networks (FEN), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tan Chong Motor Holdings.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nabei on Sep 10, 2015 at 7:16 pm

The stupid ceo of greentech knows nothing about environment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:16 am

Look at the EV price now, who so stupid to buy?

End of the day, it is just another government project burning money and nothing achieved.

Why EV and hybrids so expensive? Thanks to Proton!

• Your logic: Why Samseng S6 so expensive while Mi4i so cheap? Proton lah!

• Crony shaking hand in the pix la … haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • FireAce on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:35 am

THe biggest problem is not the lack of charging station. It’s the car TAX!! This MoU will remain only a MoU for years to come.

• Jilaka on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:28 am

So many people jealous because cannot be macais..

• I don’t think EV will replace our fossil fuel vehicle in near future. Charging time is too slow, even with fast charger. Imagine long queue in charging station where everyone will take 1 hour to charge. It just is not practical.

Peoples live in high rise also can’t charge it at home. So they will only depend on charging station. It will be like taxi queue in NGV stations like it used to be. Unless new battery technology evolve where we can charge it in few minutes, it just not work.

Fuel cell vehicle is a great alternative. We should look more for this technology. Plan for current petrol station as a hydrogen station as well, it will be instant solution.

But… store hydrogen next to petrol may not a good idea. So, lets plan for a safer storage method.

• diamjer on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:40 pm

u dont wait while charging your EV, that plain idiot.

instead you will park-charge while you do your errant.

• guest on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:43 pm

you don’t wait while charging your EV, instead you park-charge while you do your errant.

this will require ahead planning and adaptation to new style of using vehicle.

• brianxyz on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Why are we wasting time on all this EV and Energy-Efficient gimmick? If Malaysia wants to promote Automotive Industry. Just let any car manufacturer own 100% of their company setup in Malaysia without discrimination and conditions. Let them build whatever factories they want. Thailand already doing that. It’s not wrong to copy if it’s good rather than to focus on some unrealistic EEV thingy which Malaysia is not ready for.