GreenTech Malaysia aiming to deploy 25,000 EV chargers by 2020, introduces ChargEV network

greentech chargev 01

Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) is targeting to deploy 25,000 electric vehicle charging stations across the country by 2020 as part of its Electric Mobility Blueprint, which aims to fast-track the country’s transformation into a major electric mobility marketplace.

The plan by the organisation, which operates under the purview of the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA), is certainly ambitious – the blueprint, which is looking to encourage more Malaysians to switch to EVs and facilitate the country’s transition towards sustainable mobility, is targeting to put 100,000 EVs, 2,000 electric buses and 100,000 electric scooters/motorcycles on Malaysian roads by 2020.

To kick-start the initiative, it has launched its ChargEV network, which is aimed at giving a uniform, corporate identity for EV charging stations in the country. The official launch was held in conjunction with a five-day EV roadshow at MidValley to raise public awareness on the subject.

As of March this year, there are 90 registered EVs in Malaysia, with 41 charging stations, and GreenTech says it’s looking to significantly improve on the count of public-access facilities to support the growth of the former.

GreenTech is targeting to roll out 300 EV charging stations across Malaysia in 2016 across locations in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Putrajaya, Penang, Langkawi, Johor and Melaka, targeting high traffic areas such as shopping malls, hotels, office buildings and residential areas as well as along the PLUS highway, its CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris said. The first ChargEV stations are already operational at Mandarin Oriental hotel and The Curve.

While going the EV route promises savings in both fuel and maintenance costs, the larger benefit is that of reducing carbon emissions, Hadri said. “Air pollution is a rising concern with road transport reportedly the second largest contributor to carbon emissions in our country, adding 61.6 MtCO2eq in 2013 alone.”

“Our over-reliance on conventional internal combustion engine vehicles will continue to aggravate this problem and there must be a paradigm shift from our current transport model. In this regard, ChargEV will play a pivotal role in encouraging the adoption of EVs and consequently reducing Malaysia’s carbon footprint,” he said.

It is expected that the wide adoption of EVs, which emit zero tailpipe emissions will contribute to reducing Malaysia’s carbon emissions by 6.4 million tonnes of carbon emission equivalent (MtCO2eq) by 2030. The organisation says the 90 cars running about right now have effectively avoided up to 288 tonnes of carbon emission equivalent per year.

greentech chargev 09

During the first phase of development, the organisation is offering the ChargEV package to interested premise owners free-of-charge – the cost of the package and installation, which ranges between RM10,000 to RM25,000, will be borne by GreenTech Malaysia.

The ChargEV package includes electrical works inclusive of up to 20 metrers of cabling to the nearest electrical box, as well as technical advice and maintenance support for the charging stations.

Three types of ChargEV solutions are available, these being a single-phase 16A 3.7 kW AC charger, a single-phase 32A 7.0 kW unit and a three-phase 32A 22 kW fast charger – the type of ChargEV unit chosen for a location will be dependent on power supply facilities and other relevant considerations.

Aside from a provision of rent-free space, premise owners will of course have to absorb all electricity costs related to the installed system, but GreenTech says the operating costs are nominal, ranging from around RM4.80 to RM28.40 a day, dependent on type.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• What’s the point? Nobody’s buying hybrid/electric cars anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Another “paper tiger” project….wasting of time.
    Owner to fork out $10k~25K for their package.
    BTW how many EV u’ve seen on road so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:23 pm

No need to prepare for the future? Just waiting for move EV then built EV station? If I the one who want to buy EV car I want EV station is readily available not after I buy. If no EV station available why need to buy EV car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Krasher on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:32 pm

By the time of all EV chargers in place, hydrogen fuel cell vehicles will be flooded the streets already.
        And you can keep the EV chargers for show only.

• I have a feeling that battery going to stay, u can get electric anywhere, but fuel cell refilling station have so much limitation, and producing hydrogen from electrolysis or natural harvesting still inefficient

• StupidPpl on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Abolish foreign car tax first la.. Wayang2 nak deploy ev car charger pulak. U think ev car so cheap isnt it.. Stupid ppl just like out gomen! Take my middle finger!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Good job, by the way no matter how much EV charge station you built, most important is the main energy source of the station. If our nation still depends on natural gas and i believe we are, whats the point of EV?? we still burning fuel to acquire that energy. Unless hydro or maybe nuclear is the main source, then we can go green.

• U clearly don’t have any idea what efficiency different between internal combustion engine and steam turbine used to generate power no matter what the fuel it use.

• Im just saying in general, what now you want to go in details, then show the data

Do you even read this article?? The claim of zero emission that is the interest of the comment.

Read and understand lah hayyyaaaa

• I ate on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:03 am

Furthermore not every country relies on coal burning power plants. Again, think ahead.

• George Abdul on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Another example where all the Govt money gone…

Buy new then leave it until dust… never ending “donation” supplement !!!

What next BN ministers???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Another fine example of hypocritical double standards perpetually negative so-called Malaysians.

When the Brits did it (in a post last week), their rakyat din make noise.
      When Malaysia did it (private venture somemore), we can see these comments spewing out.

Bravo Malaysians, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • George Abdul on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Again how much BN cyber troopers get pay?

Even Rm260 a day can’t compare to the RM 2.6 billions.

• Not as much as you RBA. Although I do envy u guys get paid in Sing dollars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • How can you compare with Britain. They are a rich nation and big currency and high paying jobs vs us. We are poor nation with small currency and low paying jobs. they earn 2000 units of their currency and it they can buy a cheap car for 6000 units of their currency. We earn 2000 and cheap car cost more than 10x that!

• I ate on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:07 am

Obviously you dont read UK news and their comments section very often.

• C.P. MOHAN on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:31 pm

I see another government compensation issue coming meaning eventually the taxpayer will pay whether use or not.

• Henry on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Another ambitious project that is bound to fail.

• why government like to support oversea products? Does MGTC honestly thinks building owners willing to absorb electricity to give free charging to all EVs in Malaysia? dreaming is it?

• Charged it ! on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Why so confident that EV is the way forward ? We might have new technology by the time 2020 comes along. Its not even clean energy from the way we powered our power stations might worsen the environment if more energy needed to power EVs.
    Hydrogen car is much cleaner than EV.

• Well 2020 is in the near future, and so far only 2 tech is worth exploring: EV & fuel cells. Unless someone can come out with a fusion tech that eats garbage.
      Each has its pros and cons. EV requires a vast supply of electricity but so to does hydrogen production. In fact, it takes more energy to produce hydrogen than it is able to give. And you still need to deliver it to those refueling stations.

• brianxyz on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm

EV = Clean Energy? Are you sure guys? Where the Electricity comes from? Coal Power Station? Hydrodams? I do not think these 2 sources are any better than an Oil Refinery. All these EV thingy are just marketing gimmick.

• Clean in a sense that where energy is generated the emission is better controlled.

• I ate on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:06 am

Think beyond your hangup about EV. Think technology. Cars and how we interact with them are changing.

• In Msia, the charging cable will disappear to cable thieves. The ev owner would be stranded. Have to fork out money for tow truck