Volkswagen to drop its 10-speed DSG transmission?

volkswagen-recalling-16-million-cars-globally-to-fix-dsg-gearboxes-71053_1

German brand Volkswagen announced earlier last year that it was developing a 10-speed dual-clutch transmission to add to its current line of six- and seven- speeds DSG gearboxes. Now, sources have told motoring.com.au that the DQ551 10-speed DSG has been cancelled due to a couple of reasons.

A source apparently told the publication that the gearbox is a very expensive and complex development, making it impractical. As such, the brand has thus chosen to put its focus instead on other, more pressing developments elsewhere. “In the end, we had to balance what our priorities were with our transmissions and other things are more important and more urgent,” the source told the publication in Frankfurt.

The planned gearbox was said to be able to take on up to 500 Nm of torque and could be installed in both transverse or longitudinal engine bays. Additionally, the main purpose for the extra gears was reportedly to increase the efficiency of cars by up to 15%.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_075

The 10-speed gearbox was reportedly set to feature in the next-generation Mk8 Golf GTI and supposedly in the more powerful Golf R 400 as well as the upcoming Polo. Currently, the brand already has a conventional torque converter eight-speed automatic gearbox from Aisin, which is found on the second-gen Volkswagen Touareg.

If the sources are true, brands such as Ford and Mercedes-Benz are set to be in the lead for having the most gear ratios around – the former will be installing a 10-speeder into its F-150 Raptor and the 2018 Ford Mustang, while the latter has a nine-speed 9G-Tronic gearbox installed in the Mercedes-Benz GLC.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Asoh Jual Ikan Pun Tau on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:39 am

Ha Ha Ha Ha. Even 7 Speed also always breakdown, whatmore 10 speed? You will be having romantic dinners with the tow truck driver.

I hear VGM customers now call the tow truck driver for their kid’s birthday party. Already become close friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • VW_rocks on Sep 21, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Believe or not. Quality of its clutch pack is the main cause of DSG issue. Wet or dry.

The more worrying one, to me, will be their latest “illegal device used in the emission test”. $18 billion bill can ask VW to close-shop in many non-performing countries such as our Bolehland. LOLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • 10 Speed Means 10 Visits. on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:41 am

It is very easy. 7 Speed means 7 times to the SC for breakdowns. 10 Speed means 10 times visit SC for breakdowns.

Simple formula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • shitty vios driver here on Sep 21, 2015 at 9:43 pm

ur formula is too direct…havent take into account of other failures…

• Simpleguy on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:44 am

Sometimes its better to learn how to walk properly first before telling the world that you trying to fly.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:39 pm

VW 10 speed gearbox fail, Iriz CVT no gear also epic fail. Better stick with reliable technology, like Toyota 4 speed auto.
      Yes, you need to spend a little bit on petrol, but at the other hand, you save a lot on gearbox repair. One time change gearbox you can pump how many times full tank? Count yourself lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Mat Salleh Also Lie Ah??? on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:47 am

Cannot trust VW and VGM anymore. Pay so much but get cheated.

• My bicycle got 9 gears with 27 speeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • heybadigol (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

If you really want to improve efficiency, why not just use a CVT? Its got infinite number of ratios. It will cleanly beat a 10 speed DSG in terms of efficiency. Of course, its no fun, but it is efficient.

Trying to develop a 10 speed DSG is a bit like trying to design a pen which you can erase its written ink easily, when all you need to do is to use a pencil.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:53 pm

You obviously haven’t seen this:
      http://www.pilotpen.com.my/main.php?choice=300&range_code=3&range_name=Erasable%20Ink%20Pens

Just go to any decent stationery shop and give it a try. Legibility of a pen with the convenience of a pencil. Does not damage the paper like pencil erasers do.

Now back to topic:
      For the average passenger car, I would rather have a CVT + torque converter than an automatic any day.
      However, for vehicles with high amounts of torque, you are stuck with either an automatic or DCT. Only a DCT could give you power without significant loss of efficiency.

If anyone knows of a vehicles with CVT and high torque figures, please share.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:40 am

You answered it. It’s no fun.
      Anyways, I’d go for the stick manual shifter….

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:59 am

Whether you use 4 or 5 speed or 10 speed, no difference lah. I got an 8 speed BMW 520i and I got a 4 speed Nissan.

both also same. Mat Salleh try to cheat people.

• samelordupe on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Yeah better stick to dino age 4 speeder gearbox
      You will get high RV

• VeryWorried Owner on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:28 pm

“In the end, we had to balance what our priorities were with our transmissions and other things are more important and more urgent,”

Namely to refine the current 7 speed DSG (dry) so that it is 100% officially clarified guaranteed can withstand hot weather and jam for Malaysian user.

9 months into ownership, cant say thoughts of breaking down have not crossed my mind.

Anyway, it is a good car, Jetta.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:03 pm

” VW Admits Cheating on U.S. Pollution Test ”

USD 18,000,000,000 bye bye.

:p

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 21, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Stock also bye bye. No money to make new DSG.

:p

http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/VOW:GR

• performanceCvt on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Why not try on CVT? If the power&torque curves were for optimization today, I believe it is possible to be developed/tuned for performance in future.

• Lance on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:36 pm

CVT is for gay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • towtruckfriend on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:19 pm

You must be one of VW victims, pity.

• performanceCvt on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:23 am

Lance, it has ntg wrong with CVT. Today no matter how quick stick shifter you are, there are still glitch happen on every time your gear shifting, CVT is the eliminate it today. You feel it “gay” because they are not designed for performance today, but it does not mean it is impossible to fine tune the output curve above your stick shift.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:47 pm

good that they come to their sences and stop the ‘how many gears do i have’ marketing war….its stupid ..
    everyone should just make a conventional 6 speed auto n thats it , no crappy cvt no unreliable dsg’s….

• they have even dropped dsg on the s4, high rate of warranty claims must be the reason plus zf 8 speeds are not that much slower and smoother.

• alldisc on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:25 pm

i agree, after the chaos which took place between 2010 and 2015 in china and malaysia.

VW may even revert to 4 speed automatic transmission – like toyota.
      as long as it has 1st gear. and reverse gear. and overdrive ratio for economy drive. reliability is more an important issue

• kenot on Sep 21, 2015 at 2:17 pm

10 speed DSG might be 10 times more to fail.

• alldisc on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:26 pm

i was thinking this is how VW try to cheat customers – aiya… 1 gear spoil, u still have 9 more gears. so many mah. dont worry lah.

• Absolute Rider on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Well, they need to pay the $18 billion fine. So now they have to cancel the project.

Yet, they still “talk handsomely” to the publication in Frankfort by saying: the gearbox is a very expensive and complex development, making it impractical. As such, the brand has thus chosen to put its focus instead on other, more pressing developments elsewhere. In the end, we had to balance what our priorities were with our transmissions and other things are more important and more urgent.

Branded or not, giant company or not, most importantly we must have code of ethics when we are doing things. Not because of thinking to make huge profits and impress the world by cheating the world with the use of high technologies and software to create something which is not real.

Now, the world knows you are the cheater.

• ex-VW owner on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:32 pm

i had a VW jetta, gave me so much problem, this car is not mean to handle the high output and the heat in malaysia, the gearbox spoilt, the piston melted… 3.5 years of agony, and my mileage was only 49k … pls don’t buy VW…

• JB_KIA on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:33 pm

6MT rulezzz!!

• Rusmah on Sep 21, 2015 at 4:15 pm

DSG, lightning speed on up shift.
    It uses dual clutch.

There is a problem. Down shift.
    To utilize 10 speed to achieve fuel efficiency.
    The gear ratio must be very close.
    For upshifting, there is no problem.
    The speed increase linearly.

While down shifting, there are vary of speed.
    The mechatronics, unable to react vary of condition of speed. Becomes “Decisive”.
    Mechatronic saying ” Which gear to choose? 4,5,6,7,8?”

In accelaration, yes, DSG is superb..
    6-7 speed DSG, downshifting still can cope.
    only downshift from 6-3 or 7-3.
    Imagine 10 speed.. while u drive on 10 speed with 150kmh then decelarate to 80/60 kmh. Which gear to be used?

Therefore, CVT/ torque converter in 9/10 speed might perform better due to it’s belt or toraidal mechanical properties. CVT linear in both accelaration and decelaration. In others hand. conventional AT box’s Torque converter as “buffer”.
    The up/down shift perform slow, but TCU got time to “think” and decide which gear to shift.

Anyway, VW, your current DSG is great.
    But, pls pay your CSR and refine it properly.
    VW buyer buys VW because of technology.
    However, reliability, responsibility of after sales service ruin your image. Pls re build your status.
    Dont be ostrich! We look forward more VW & Audi on the road in future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • headache on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Pls close shop la Audi and VW, only give problems. Noones wants to buy headache!

• polay boy on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:05 pm

obviously you are not a vw car owner.
        ppl talk bad about vw then you follow
        let me tell you, my vw car performance and handling is better than many products out there
        why dont you go and buy 1 to try lol

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I guess BMW was right when they said there is no need for more than 8 gears – period.

• Just like Sam Loo sayz you dun need more than 4AT.

• tyotamacai on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:26 pm

I agree, BMW should use 4 speed gearbox like Vios. That way Toyota macai can say his Vios is BMW!

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:26 pm

6 speed is enough. Even 919 Hybrid uses 6 speed.

• funny some mentioned about kena tipu mat salleh, actually true. for some status symbol and arrogance some people buy those low quality overpriced cars, carry with them granpa stories about how much better and ‘solid’ cars from europe are. while it could be true 30 year ago but nowdays the europeans are juz overpaid and produce low quality products..still got style only lah..

• my jetta done close to 40k in 16 months and so far ok.I believe some owners are driving their TSI cars like GTIs’.There is a difference of top speed and cruising speed.Road cars are not design to go full blast all the way for long period(it’s ok for short burst). The cooling system is not design for it.
    BTW,did you all notice initially this topic,there was a single line directing to another site highlight VW is recalling 15 million Cars with dry DSG! It was not there when I have a relook at this page the 2nd time. Anybody saw it?.Should check with Paultan.

• Dungu Suka Goncang on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Workshop Time bomb…tick tick tick tick tick……..