VEP registration deadline postponed to end 2015

singapore road

Singaporean motorists entering Malaysia need not worry on missing the deadline for registration of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP), according to a report by The Straits Times. The English-language daily has reported that the earlier proposed cutoff date of October 1 for Singaporeans to register their respective vehicles has now been pushed forward to “the end of the year at least.”

The move is brought about in order to provide the Malaysian authorities additional time to refine the radio frequency identification tag (RFID) to make said system impervious to cloning and/or tampering. “Don’t worry. If you have no tag on Oct 1, you will not be stopped at the border,” commented a spokesperson for the Ministry of Transport Malaysia (Malaysian MOT).

“The latest decision is that we want a better tag that is tamper- and clone-proof, so we are trying to enhance the tag at this point of time,” added said spokesperson. The finalisation of the RFID’s architecture is expected to be completed in about four months from now, hence the postponement. Following the confirmation of the RFID’s final design, registered owners will then be provided information in regards to the pickup of said tags.

While exact details have yet to be confirmed, the current plan is to have owners collect their respective RFID tags at several key locations including roadside rest areas. As for the cutoff date for vehicles to display their RFID tags, nothing has been set in stone just yet. “We will announce the cut-off date for all Singaporean vehicles to display the tag when we are ready. It could be in June next year,” added the MOT spokesperson.

Earlier in September 2015, it was revealed that only around 45,000 Singaporean vehicles have registered for the VEP and RC (road charges) levied on foreign vehicles entering Malaysia. According to reports, the lower-than-expected figures could be attributed to several issues with the online registration platform, which is the only way for motorists to register.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Jokes.. Jokes.. Jokes… And then.. Jokes again.. More jokes? Anyone?

• xxXxx on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Our govt really tak malu ke, Singaporeans laughing at us for so many years already.

• Inilah Malaysia. Kerja pun tak reti buat dengan betul. Bikin malu macam PM dan RM.

• Nasi Lemak 4.0 on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Nasi lemak management… If wann own rakyat money can implement immediately but foreign one can delay all…

• cendol (Member) on Sep 26, 2015 at 10:42 am

Expected postponement.
    Malaysia is just not ready to implement VEP yet.
    Too many issues to iron out.
    They can’t even handle VEP registration , not to mention handling VEP collection.

• Lawrence Law on Sep 26, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Im not surprised with the delay. It seems to be very common for Malaysia to miss the deadline. I mean 90% of implementation – pray for a better Malaysia –

• Clio17 on Sep 27, 2015 at 12:34 pm

registered 4 vehicles already – it was a breeze. no problem at all.

• Rusmah on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:18 am

Of coz my honey will postpone it…
    it’s a gold mine! I want more SG vehicle pay me pocket money!