SPAD rejects requests for taxi fare hikes – report

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 259

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has rejected requests made by a group of taxi drivers to approve a fare hike in light of increased operation costs, theSun reports. According to the English-language daily, SPAD chairman, Tan Sri Syed Hamid Akbar, has stated that the current rate is “sufficient” as it has been revised earlier on “to suit the industry.”

Syed Hamid was responding to the demands laid down by a group of 80 taxi drivers after it had submitted a memorandum of protest to SPAD demanding that the body highlight their issue(s) to the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK), Puspakom and the Ministry of Transport Malaysia (MOT). The demanded hike will reportedly allow them to cope with the increased NGV price.

“The last fare revision in March was done after factoring in the expected increase in NGV price in September,” said Syed Hamid in return. To combat the increased NGV prices, the taxi drivers were reportedly demanding that the government provide them with subsidies and/or exempt them from GST charges levied on them during mandatory annual Puspakom inspections.

“It was quite alright from the last fare revision in March. But now it is back to square one since the NGV cost has significantly increased from 68 cents per litre to RM1.05. We have been suffering a lot,” said Port Klang Taxi and Hired Cars Association president, Mohd Jani Kamis. He also commented on the commission’s effort to eliminate the presence of illegal taxis and that more should be done.

“Our livelihood is at stake because of these mobile app such as Uber, Grabcar, Eazytaxi and others have been affecting our income up to 30%,” added Kamis. In a separate incident, a group of taxi drivers allegedly “trapped” a GrabCar driver after requesting for a car. Upon arrival, the driver was quickly surrounded by taxi drivers who then urged SPAD to arrest him.

Gregory Sze

An "actor" by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:10 am

Because SPAD has no issue with them not using meter at all, we get it. Carry on

• Areyousure on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:17 am

More taxi drivers to join Uber and GrabCar

• Cukurlah ada SPAD, the rakyat can ride on cheap taxi

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Yes, in fact taxi use Proton, the Volvo of Asia.

But in fact Proton’s HPF is stronger than Volvo’s, so actually Proton is safer than Volvo.

So actually Volvo is the Proton of China. Cukur we have world’s safest taxi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Misaijambang on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Syukur not cukur. Next time, get your word correct :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • taxudriverplsquit on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:27 am

Hike? Hike what? Still not enough by cheating passengers’ money? The last time I rode a bloody taxi, my destination could reach in less than 5km, but the bloody taxi driver purposely drove a big round and make a 10km travel. Piss off you cheaters taxi drivers, I’d fully support UBER, Grabcar and others like them. Never ever ride a taxi again. “Jemput Naik, Kasi Lebih Duit”.

• this is why the want sabotaj UBER and Grab Taxi.

Gangster..

• sohhai on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:37 am

Petrol price increase ask for fare hike. Petrol price decrease still ask for far hike. This is the wrong mentality that our business owners have. You increase revenue/profit by adding value to your products and finding a way to sell more products. Not take the easy way by increasing price

• George Abdul on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Where you don’t ask for Government 1st before tell others not to hike price??? Do Government ask Rakyat first hand before increase goods and add taxes ??? Go read world news and not Utusan !!!

• As I said before, fire all of them ingrates. Then gip the 10,000 Rohingyas driving licence and make them drive taxis. If they want to misbehave, threaten send them back to Burma.

Win-win for everybody! If the locals dun wanna syukur for the jobs they have, take it away from them just like in SG.

• tendang semua taxi, legalize uber grabcar

• IGP mom on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:55 am

Taxi drivers survival at stake since ice age but they are still around. And this means they are earning well. Always demand fare hike but service getting worst by the day. Each potential business is a potential cheat by these group of people. I remember very well they charged me $80 for a ride from Mid Valley MegaMall to UiTM. For successive days, I used Uber, and cost me less than half the charge. If people can earn that, why not the taxi drivers? Bunch of cheats, parasite to the country transport.

• Jezza on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:58 am

Please improve your service 1st. Taxi driver nowdays have a lot of times to do protest. Go search find customer lah.

• Dulu zaman Pak Lah, harga ron 97 sampai 2.70, tp ngv dijual pd hrg sekitar 0.68 sen. Skrg ron 97, rm 2.45 tp kenapa hrg ngv 1.05?
    Sapa tau sebabnya tolong kongsi info.

• Gargantia on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Gas and petroleum are from the same industry… why petrol fuel will have up and down But Gas only keep increasing by every times??? Government keep lying to Rakyat and bully small business !!!

• Don’t ride a taxi then so these parasites will not gain anything. Buy a car then or take public transport.

• Jebat on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:03 pm

This is why people prefer UBER.. bodo.. my uncle is a taxi driver. he admit that a lot of taxi driver did not use meter especially in Bukit Bintang and KLCC area.. he easily can sapu a lot customer because he use meter. tourist now not stupid, they already know malaysian taxi does not use meter in that area..only a few willing to use meter.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:56 pm

What difference will it make.

Hike or not, also I wont take a normal taxi anymore. You have lost the trust of your customers.

My experince with normal taxis is about 50/50. about half of them are actually honest drivers out to eek out a living. I pity these drivers. They have too many bad apples spoiling the whole tree.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:58 pm

When they complain about cost….

If Grabcar and Uber uses cars running Petrol, how can they say running a taxi on NGV is expensive? Go bark up your freeloading masters for charging you so much for the permit.