2016 Toyota Avanza facelift spotted in Low Yat Plaza

Toyota Avanza facelift 36

Look at what we stumbled upon inside Low Yat Plaza! The 2016 Toyota Avanza facelift appears to be already making its rounds prior to its Malaysian launch with the middle child G variant captured here. The lineup is expected to kick off with the manual transmission-equipped E variant followed on by the 1.5E model with an automatic gearbox (the manual E is powered by a 1.3 litre engine) before the 1.5S enters to top the range off.

The rejuvenated Avanza was first launched in Indonesia in August before making its motor show debut at the 2015 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS). First things first then, the price sheet that we have managed to obtain shows that the base manual variant will be priced from RM69,072, with on-the-road costs and insurance – an increase from RM66,072 commanded by its outgoing counterpart.

On the other hand, the 1.5E model is expected to cost RM75,787 while the G variant pictured here should be priced at RM78,477 – the range-topping 1.5S model looks set to be priced at RM80,810. All in all, we’re looking at an increase of around RM3,000 for the 1.5E and RM2,000 for the 1.5G and 1.5S models.

Toyota Avanza facelift 6

Other changes marked in the brochure include a difference in front and rear fascia between the lesser three variants and the flagship 1.5S model. Much like its Indonesian twin, the 2016 Toyota Avanza facelift looks set to adopt two different external outlooks with the S model getting an Avanza Veloz-inspired mesh front grille. The taillights of the 1.5S could also include the same red additions as seen on the Veloz.

Additionally, the brochure lists the addition of side skirts on the 1.5S variant. Also included on the 1.5S and 1.5G variants are 15-inch alloy wheels wrapped in 185/65 tyres. The 1.5E model gets 14-inch alloys while the entry-level 1.3E wears steel units wrapped in 185/70 tyres.

2016-AVANZA-PRICELIST-WM

Click to enlarge brochure.

Inside, a double DIN head unit with CD player, MP3, Aux, USB and Bluetooth connectivity is offered as standard on all variants save for the base 1.3E model – that one gets a different double DIN unit that lacks Bluetooth connectivity. The top two models also receive a multi-function steering wheel while the range-topping 1.5S is further differentiated via the inclusion of a “sports-themed” instrument cluster.

Last but not least, the oily bits underneath. While we’ve yet to get a hold on official figures regarding changes to the power output, the Indonesian Avanza range is powered by a choice of either a 1.3 or 1.5 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with Dual VVT-i. The smaller mill pumps out a total of 97 hp/120 Nm of torque while the 1.5 litre engine puts out 104 hp/139 Nm – an increase of seven hp/3 Nm and two hp/3 Nm, respectively.

Thank you to reader Yoong CW for the tip!

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Albert on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:28 pm

THERE must be a MORATORIUM of buying NEW CARS from perodua and Toyota.
    The price increase is unacceptable at this juncture when our economy is entering RECESSION.
    They are giving ouT rebates now to clear stocks ,and still INCREASING PRICE!
    REMEMBER,WHEN THE BUYING(OF NEW CARS) STOPS,THE PRICE WILL DROP!!!!( when stocks build up)
    LET US get pre owned cars.Your loans need not skyrocket,keep them within budget,forget the NEW CAR SMELL.
    6 months ago,I got a preowned car…immaculate condition and still enjoying it.
    These car distributors are CAR SHARKS NOW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 9
    • George Abdul on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Coming Honda BRV will going to kill this shit !!! UMW stop making lying to Rakyat !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Abolish the stupid excise duty, import tax. The Vios could be same price as the Iriz. Everyone including me wants cheap and good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • We should also abolish the AP cronies. It is because of them that we all suffer. And the 30 AP Pekema holders are all UMNO members making billions per year and we Malaysians suffer because of this 30 people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:16 pm

I advice all those idiots planning to buy this car, go buy 2nd hand lah. In December 2014 I bought a 2013 honda Accord for RM78k. It was excellent condition for a 1 year old car.

Why waste money on this junk?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:18 pm

You rather spend the RM78k on a used Accord, rather than your beloved “awesome” brand new Proton Suprima S?

Typical Proton fanboys: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok. No action is done. No wonder Proton need to close down having this kind of supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • Bladder on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Later you vomit blood when no warranty

• Those who still planning to buy this car, dun bother. just straight away buy wooden coffin. Lagi jimat

• Albert on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:17 pm

My friend John,OMG…Proton Iriz ..discount Rm9600 at Setapak now.The salesman said…Boss,Proton storage yards FULL to overflowing..boleh arrange max 10 year loan No deposit..just sign,loan approved within 3 days,blacklist also can consider now,plus free security tint and rm 500 petrol voucher,plus more freebees,free umbrellas,condoms,t shirts,bras ,underwears all thrown in,kaw kaw.I think this is a dealer,now Proton branch.
          Anyway,the good thing is he said NO PRICE increase now.At least some consolation for the poor fanboy.

• Deceiver, dun lying ppl laa…after G tax ur boss still can earn 200% profit.

• RM80k car also got no VSC? Can the Government stop cheating us please???

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:14 am

I echo your statement there by not purchasing any vehicle until the economy stabilises….thank goodness I bought both my vehicles before this shyt happened with the second one coming in last June.

• Mr. X on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:21 am

Hi Sean, how about go & finish up the prelim report. No wonder internet onboard very slow!!!!!!

• DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:18 pm

just buy 2nd hand lah. Teach those goons a lesson. Especially those UMW cheats

• Youfail on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:14 am

Nothing is difficult. Just blame gomen blame p1 blame coloured shirts blame twc blame everything but yourself for all your failure in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Yep. Right or wrong, Malaysian default mode is always blame someone else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • George Abdul on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:28 am

True nothing wrong with Rakyat, because Malaysian just following the Ministers and Government example “Blame others except themself” !!!

• UMW Motors is part of UMW Engineering. They are No 1 Government crony. All big projects are given to UMW. So, they can do anything in Malaysia. If they sell berak, you have to buy it. Just accept it

• proveme on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Proof?

• Albert, actually it is the government cheating the rakyat. All car companies are really owned by the Government. They are giving us low spec lousy cars at high prices.

I hope the GOvernment stop cheating the rakyat

• Paparazi on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Now, Toyota just a name NOT A BRAND!

• No need facelift. Straightaway go to jamban. Exora alredi tapau this moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • As I said Exora tapau this jamban anytime. However I got an idea. If UMW can give an extra 8% bumi discount on this car, I am sure it will sell well. I hope UMW can consider my suggestion. Why limit the discounts to houses alone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Gargantua on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Kill it with fire!

• Arnold Schwarzenegger on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:21 pm

You’re one ugly motherxxxxxx!

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:25 pm

saying that line in Arnie’s voice is just funny!

• Hmm looks like cheese burger with expiry date meat and vegetable…

• iamsuperpro on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:36 pm

fugly sohai cars. same like honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Well,what can I say about this?A truely unsafe family MPV with only 2 airbags,no VSC,TC,SC,HHA and the lot.Like it’s sedan sibling,the Vios.The Avanza will sell like hot cakes in Malaysia despite its ugliness interior wise and exterior wise and close to none safety features.I mean like come on UMW!This car’s target market is mostly people who transfer kids around who want the cheapest people carrier on sale.Safety should be its first priority!Wake up UMW!Well other than that,the Avanza’s new styling.The pre-facelift Avanza looked perfectly fine.Why,I mean why UMW ruined the front by adding that hideous front grill and the back with those “wannabe BMW” ugly extra lights at the bootlid.Instead for the facelift,UMW should have added more safety features such as 6 airbags,the lot.And also for the facelift UMW should have just added new rims and a bit of chrome here and there instead of the ugly makeover.Take note UMW,this is not acceptable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Dislike my comment as much as you like Sam Loo or your “jahanam” brothers.But I am right.

• oh my god look ,at that face you could be my next mistakes oh oh

• Buy Avanza better than buy lousy Vios

• kennyjay on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:18 pm

oh my eyes, helppppp!

• SAM VHL Loo on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:22 pm

I suggest in every Toyota Malaysia price list, it’s better they put ‘For more information, please contact ‘Sam Loo’ or ‘Same Lorrrr’ (A Toyota salesman with more than 20 years experience that will share few stories about why RV is so much important).

• Captain Obvious on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:23 pm

OMG I really love the design of this car! I need to buy one! Said no one ever.

• wat a FANTASTIC look !

• Lololol on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Yay! Congrats Toyota for delivering another class leading death in a box! Never has there been a cheaper way to buy death.. only to be superseded by Cigarettes, Vaporizers and VW emission trick software.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:48 pm

King of the budget MPV, even Kimchis are not able to compete in this segment.

This car will sell like hot cakes with excellent RV!

• UMW plz put ESC as standard :) on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:09 pm

OMFG the interior is so sh*tty and outdated. The engine is SOOO underpower. And the steering wheel design look so ugly and cheap looking.
    The only good thing about this car is the tyre rim. When BRV arrive in Malaysia, this car will get totally own. Overall this car is just craptacular.

• kanazai2001 on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Why still not bring in the 1.5MT variation…

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Adoi Toyota.. Tak cukup buruk muka kereta ni. Try harder.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Still only 2 airbags and no ESC. Want to increase price some more. UMW Toyota is so thick skinned. They know EXACTLY what their faults are, but they intentionally ignore them because openly acknowledging their faults would mean that the buying public will then expect them to address said faults. If they add in ESC and more airbags, even on the top specs only, their profit margins will reduce, but their target market will still remain limited. Let’s face it, most people only buy Toyotas for perceived quality, reliability, resale value, aftersales and peace of mind motoring. Things like ESC and airbags are just ‘extra +++’ for them, hardly a necessity. Many of them don’t even know what ESC is… but they probably know what VVT and FC are.

UMW Toyota is not stupid, they are very smart at maintaining their huge profit margins… don’t be fooled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • paulnut on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Sam shall replace his son saga with this avanza.

• vincent on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:11 am

Overpriced junk.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:35 am

The Avanza keeps getting uglier and uglier…

Not to mention that it was a very unsafe car 10 years ago, and Toyota hasn’t improved it. Why would anyone buy this?

• Mark Tan on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:19 am

could have bring in the Veloz type.
    Why the rear boot, still same eh.

• JB_KIA on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:39 am

They treasure MT drivers’ life, finally. 1.3MT has got ABS+EBD now….

• Agreed. Not bad as all variants got ABS, Airbag etc.

• kanazai2001 on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:07 am

but still didnt bring in 1.5MT…
      UMW has official broke my dream… Q@#$%^$%^***…

• Same L0rrr on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:49 am

Buy preowned Avanza better! Good RV!

• Albert on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:36 am

Same Lorr,how are you going to get your 5th Lexus if each potential Toyota/Lexus buyer opt for used cars?
      You want my friend,the Senior Manager of Lexus to give you more discounts?
      Toyotas have reasonable RV but Price Increase…NOT acceptable now cos people cough blood to pay instalments!!

• No cable oso I know where to get cheap Lexus. Just go to Aeon Big, Tesco, Giant, 99 Speedmart, KK Supermart, etc. I can get all with different colours too, Cheap cheap.

• JB_KIA on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:13 am

send them all to JB. Fill the sea for land reclamation

• 1- http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/gallery/a637840-200px-Panhard_rod.jpg

2- bouncy, like a sea sick
    3- drivers left foot too tight

• There is always a car which makes you wanna shout “jesus christ what the hell is that”, and Avanza is one of that.

• But still, with that 1.5E price bracket, you can have Premium Spec of Exora Bold 2015 with 4 airbags and ESC!

• Yazeed on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:09 am

AIYAHHHHHH…this uncle kereta lagi…..

• i heard perodua will come out with this new engine. y not wait until then. maybe the price will drop.

• Bette davis eyes on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:27 am

Low Yat plaza? Ehh later orang curi then he will blame toyota for selling low quality cars.

• UMW Mampus on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:57 am

Title should read “very ugly car spotted in Low Yat Plaza”

• passbyer on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:05 am

a bit of black smudge vinyl around the headlights and red vinyl around the bottom bumper you will get an Asean joker car.

• Profengini on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:10 am

Very premium interior finishings, get it while stock last!

• kuriang on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:40 am

Lori ke ni?

• ai like on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:22 pm

oh my gooddddddd… this looks way good!!!
    reminding me of evoque. surely premium. buy now!

• BANGKINGMONG on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Macam axia G spec jer

• babygrand on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Shitty car !!!!!

• albag on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:11 pm

paying almost 80k for this shiat… only fools will do

• suomynona on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:19 pm

I can’t bloody believe it! Got VSC warning light in the dash of this car,but what’s the point when UMW took the feature out in the first place! Go screw yourself UMW

• nuajon on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:51 pm

just drive and feel u driven Alpat@Ahfatt (Alphard)

• Musalmah Endut on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Retarded Avanza or Exora in flames??

nahh.. i’ll just keep my Vanette.

• Pakcik on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:21 pm

no brown-colored interior like in Indon?

• Cikgu selamat on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:35 pm

the interior of this car has more plastic than my transformer toy……hahahahah

• pearjai on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:23 am

Better wait for honda brv ! Early 2016…..

• TOYO TIRES & Toyotaik on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:03 pm

No ESC, dual airbags only, ugly and only 15 inch alloy, ugly dashboard, 4 speed automatic gearbox make me boring, bad handling, this avanza more look like rubbish bin and that dual vvti doesnt make me suprise. An Unsafe MPV

• Stupid evoque owner on Dec 06, 2015 at 12:33 am

Woittt evoque? Tolong la, jan la jatuhkan maruah evoque..aq tengok kereta ni mcm container jer? Apahal pula premium

• Kazi Zafar Hasan on Dec 16, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Awesome and amazing. I like the Avanza model.