IIMS 2015: Toyota Avanza, Veloz facelift – from RM54k

Toyota Avanza Veloz facelift 2

Halo from the Jakarta International Expo (JIExpo) Kemayoran! We’re here to bring you coverage of the 2015 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS), and first up are the first live photos of the facelifted Toyota Avanza and Toyota Avanza Veloz (the latter is better known to Malaysians as the range-topping Avanza 1.5S).

The duo get a slew of updates inside and out, starting with a new front fascia with a much bigger differentiation between the two looks. Both models share the reshaped front fenders, clamshell bonnet and slimmer arrow-shaped headlights (reflectors on the Avanza and Veloz 1.3, projectors on the Veloz 1.5), but that’s where the similarities end.

As we’ve previously seen, the Avanza receives a very Honda HR-V-like look, with a thick silver-painted bar (chrome on the 1.5G) joining the headlights, under which sits a large six-point grille. The bumper has also been reshaped to become more angular and aggressive, with a slim full-width lower air intake bridging the fog lights (on the 1.3G and 1.5G) on either corner.

The Veloz, on the other hand, takes on a more Vios-esque aesthetic – the upper grille is slimmer here, the bumper real estate instead taken over by a huge downturned lower grille that’s connected to the fog lights.

At the back, there are fewer changes – both retain their rear bumpers (rounded with rectangular reflectors on the Avanza, angular with round reflectors on the Veloz), but the tail lights have been revised with relocated indicators and reverse lights (now on top) as well as three small aerodynamic protrusions on the lenses.

There are also new decorative tail light extensions, as well as a new chrome number plate garnish bridging the two (both only on the 1.3G and 1.5G). Elsewhere, there are new alloy wheels on all but the base 1.3E, which retains steel wheels with eight-spoke hub caps. Nebula Blue, Dark Brown Mica, Dark Red Mica and Grey Metallic join the existing colour palette of Champagne, Black Metallic, Silver Metallic and White.

Inside, too, there’s a small but significant revamp. There’s a new brown interior colour scheme for the Avanza (the Veloz’s cabin remains all-black), updated centre console trim, revised instrument cluster graphics, new gear lever design, chrome air vent highlights and new head units – a Bluetooth and iPod-compatible unit for the 1.3G and a 6.1-inch touchscreen for the 1.5G.

Also new is a one-touch tumble function for the second-row seats to ease entry and egress into the third row, as well as a more comfortable seat design. Toyota also promises improved sound insulation on all models.

Safety-wise, the Avanza and Veloz receive a front passenger seat belt reminder, three-point seat belts for the middle second-row seat and a new centre headrest for the second row (split in the middle as the seats fold 50:50). There are also side impact beams, Isofix child seat anchors on the second row.

Toyota Avanza Veloz facelift 35

But it’s perhaps under the bonnet where the Avanza gets the biggest change. Both four-pot petrol engines have been given Dual VVT-i, so the 1.3 litre now produces 97 PS at 6,000 rpm and 120 Nm at 4,200 rpm, while the 1.5 litre develops 104 PS and 139 Nm. These numbers are slightly higher than before – 91 PS/117 Nm for the 1.3 litre and 103 PS/136 Nm for the 1.5. Both five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmissions have been retained.

Prices for the Avanza start at 180.6 million rupiah (RM53,600) for the base 1.3E M/T, rising up to 191.8 million rupiah (RM56,900) for the 1.3E A/T, 198.7 million rupiah (RM58,900) for the 1.3G M/T, 209.4 million rupiah (RM62,100) for the 1.3G A/T and 211 million rupiah (RM62,600) for the top-spec 1.5G M/T (yes, manual only – take that, Mazda MX-5!).

The Veloz, on the other hand, retails at 204.2 million rupiah (RM60,600) for the 1.3 M/T, 216 million rupiah (RM64,000) for the 1.3 A/T, 215.1 million rupiah (RM63,800) for the 1.5 M/T and 226.9 million rupiah (RM67,300) for the 1.5 A/T.

Toyota Avanza facelift

Toyota Avanza Veloz facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dear Paul Tan and the team,

Everytime I login to the website and see this hideous, ridiculous “MPV”, my eyes hurt. I hope this is the last time we ever see this cow dung ever again.

Thank you

Best,
    On behalf of your loyal readers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 15
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Outlook, is a subjective thing, like you may think your wife is sexy, but your friends may not. Wanna buy good looking car? Go for kimchi then. Get a used unit even better, dirt cheap.

When people want comfort, reliable, fuel saving, good RV, they know they won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • toyotaik on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Comfort? No, it’s sampan ride
        Reliable? No, sub-par parts
        Fuel saving? No such thing
        Good RV? Altis 2013 68k anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Does it has airbag? I read the veloz brochure airbag count is not mention at all.

• My God, the design is horrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • This is true design from Toyota, current models like Vios, Altis or Camry are rubbish design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • hai, there’s 2 show right in indonesia ? iims and giias .. do you planning to go to both of the show ?

• Manyak Sporty Merah tu.

• karam singh on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:27 pm

try test that sportiness with full load of people and baggages to Genting.
      1.5 104hp with 4speed dinasour age tranny not enough to pull the car,
      Common Toyota car never sporty, look sporty with less power, old tech junk.
      Toyota Supra, GT86 excluded…

• tiffany on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:59 pm

As if Proton Exora fully loaded got power?
        Honda CRV no fully loaded also cannot fly already.

• fireman on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Proton Exora fully loaded will get burn like last time in Cameron. Old tech junk is better than burnout junk

• As if 10000000 Exora got burned, lol.
            With full load Exora turbo still have extra power. Go and test yourself.

• Sikhening on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:05 pm

That’s a sikh comment man.

• frossonice on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Sam Loo, if you ever mention RV here, I’ll smack your ass up with a spoon.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:52 pm

It’s proven Toyota has the best RV. You never go wrong with sushi cars. I have inside news this new Avanza is coming soon here and many kimchi buyers will come beg me to buy their second hand Sonata for 25k.

Work harder so you can own more Lexus like I do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • I no need work hard oso I got 5 lexus. Every week month change somemore. But mostly I like choco flavour one.

• There’s VSC and TRC light in the instrument cluster.

• Jason Lim on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:46 pm

why must 3rd world car so nasty looking?

• sri hartamas on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Pleaseeeee…UMW Toyota…give this MPV pretendeed the kiss of death. It has outlived too many facelifts. No amount of automobile botox can make this ugly duckling into a swan.

• sri hartamas on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Pleaseeeee…UMW Toyota…give this MPV pretendee the kiss of death. It has outlived too many facelifts. No amount of automobile botox can make this ugly duckling into a swan.

• sam dol on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

the only nice thing here is the girl in red..

• theanswer on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:14 pm

useless if seats cant fold flat.

• tiffany on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:57 pm

there is a huge draw back for seat can be fold flat.
      the 3rd row leg room will be limited, only suitable for kids.

• ugly to the max

• das auto on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:13 pm

That is one hell of a fugly copy version of BMW’s rear lamp. This so called MPV is the worse thrash ever invented. Class leading fugly design, poorest safety in its class, most bumpy ride, worst handling, least amount of space in class, weakest and noisiest engine, most dated and fuel guzzling engine in class.

Anyone buying this junk immediately pisses off everyone around him for causing pain to the eyes..

• This thing is still around for more than a decade? What a pointless automobile! Just die already!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:52 pm

A 5 year old Avanza is worth more than a 1 year old Tucson.

Take your pick.

I would pick a 12 month old Tucson for starters

• Littlebear on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:00 pm

I’ve seen so many Avanza drives like they are driving a Bugatti Veyron. Dah lah kereta looks like shit, they think it’s a race car now.

• dugongx on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:07 pm

That’s what happens when a pariah can finally afford a godbadge car.

• Indonesian here. Although many believe that this car is horrible, this car will still be a hit in the market, as Toyota got the most reliable after sales service compared to any other brand in Indonesia. Also, the brand sells by itself even with subpar car. So, brace yourself for another iteration of this car.

• kanazai2001 on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:24 pm

hopefully get MT for 1.5 version…
    and black interior too…
    and pls… price get lower…