Volkswagen to focus on redemption, will cancel or postpone all unnecessary projects – Matthias Müller

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

New Volkswagen CEO Matthias Müller has announced there will be a swift and relentless clarification of the diesel emissions scandal, the first step in a long road towards recovering the brand’s image and reputability in the eyes of consumers.

Addressing more than 20,000 employees at a works meeting in Wolfsburg, Müller said that solidity, reliability and credibility belonged to the essence of the Volkswagen brand, and that was something that had to be restored.

“Our most important task will therefore be to win back the trust we have lost – with our customers, partners, investors and the general public. Only when everything has been put on the table, when no single stone has been left unturned, only then will people begin to trust us again,” Müller told the VW staff in attendance.

Müller made it clear that “apart from the enormous financial damage, which it is still not possible to quantify as of today, this crisis is first and foremost a crisis of confidence. That is because it is about the very core of our company and our identity: it is about our vehicles.”

matthias-muller

The CEO asked employees for their understanding, saying that he, too, did not yet have the answer to many questions, but said that “in this situation, where we are dealing with four brands and many model variants, care is even more important than speed.”

He said that a project team had drawn up an action plan, and that technical solutions for customers are imminent – the automaker will soon present these technical solutions to the responsible authorities, in particular the German Federal Motor Transport Authority (KBA), for approval.

Affected customers, meanwhile, will be informed that the emissions characteristics of their vehicles will be upgraded. Müller added that in many instances, a software update will be sufficient, but some vehicles will also require hardware modifications. The automaker promised to keep its customers constantly informed about the measures and arrange workshop appointments.

VW jetta TDI US-spec

Despite all these measures, Müller said it was not possible to quantify the commercial and financial implications brought about by the fiasco at present. As such, the automaker has initiated a further critical review of all planned investments.

“Anything that is not absolutely necessary will be cancelled or postponed. And it is why we will be intensifying the efficiency program. To be perfectly frank: this will not be a painless process,” he explained.

Still, Müller said that there will be no cutting back on the development of key technologies of the future. “We cannot afford to jeopardise this strong position now. We must make massive savings to manage the consequences of this crisis. At the same time, we cannot afford to economise on the future. That is something else we will also be addressing over the coming weeks and months,” he stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:23 pm

VW is a fantastic car because I am a VW car salesman…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Loss adjustor on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:33 pm

VW is a very safe car. I’ve seen many badly wrecked VWs but the drivers walk away without a scratch. Can’t say the same for sushi cars. Trust me cos I’m a insurance loss adjustor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • VGM Big Big Liars on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:34 am

Nobody trust VGM in Malaysia. For years they were lying about their DSG. Finally, 2 years ago, VW AG admitted in black and white that DSG cannot be used in hot countries and countries with jams.

Even after that admission VGM still lied again saying mineral oil used can solve this problem. VW AG themselves say there is no way around their faulty DSG.

In trust DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia at all. Even 2015 cars with DSG are still breaking down, juddering and jerking because when the DSG heats up, all these problems occur.

VGM pls stop lying to Malaysians please. RM200k is big moeny to most of us. It is not small money. Better you just sell 4 speed auto or just close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • timbuktu on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:52 am

here we go.. and where did u cut and paste this text again?

• Copy and Paste expert on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Copy and paste again? sometimes I am wondering why you hv such afford to do copy and paste work? u jealous because you couldn’t afford a VW? hm.. poor guys

• Jetta on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:12 pm

I know there are many comments about DSG, but still do you know why I am getting Jetta still?? reason being I got poisoned by buddy, since i owned it, I getting more and more addicted to drive it always from day to day. To say I am lucky, I have no major issue and your claimed with DSG breakdown problem still. Somehow other than oil consumption but really doesnt matter 4 me cuz not too much..

• VGM Big Big Liars on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:39 am

You sound like a VGM salesman trying to do damage control. We Malaysians are fed up with VW lies lah. Dieselgate is just one of many lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • fendi on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:35 pm

What sort of lies about VG you are referring about? You have to understand something –
          No. 1, you don’t represent Malaysian.
          No. 2, problems are fixed, many VW owner are happy with their service. You don’t VW, that why you don’t know.
          No. 3, VW is resolving the Diesel scandal currently and they are taking the matter seriously – they even changed their CEO and investigating what goes wrong. In very soon VW will reinstate consumer confidence in their products again. Because end of the day, it is a good car to drive.

• Proton in Germany ‘ VW ‘ well VW owners you own a cheap German car does not mean you are rich. you are driving a low quality, low class and no resale value car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Jaguh on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Even in Europe, where the market is more competitive and bigger, people pay a premium for VW. So stop your Jaguh Kampung mentality fantasising that proton equals VW. Oh I forgot, some smart Alec already said proton is same quality as beemer! Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • wvshame on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:44 am

VW no quality here, much worse than p2 and p1.
          DSG sucks big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • jambanvw on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:46 am

And stop your Jaguh Kampung mentality fantasising that proton equals VW.

VW can sell their junks to all over the world but bolehland. That’s not global enough. Lol

• Globe trotter on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:07 am

1 out of every 9 cars in the world is a VW. Is that global enough for you village idiots? Only in this inbred market, fellas still haven’t learnt to use the internet responsibly. Hahahaha

• VGM Big Big Liars on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:42 am

In overseas, you buy a lemon for US$20k. Nevermind, you can bin it as even a McDonalds worker earns more than that in 6 months.

In Malaysia, we get lemons for a whopping RM200k. That is so much money even for a datuk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • VGM Tipu Warranty on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:49 am

Many VGM owners have faced rejection. The truth is, VW has only 2 years warranty. The remaining 3 years in insurance warranty. And claims are discretionary.

Most of the time, after 2 years, claims are rejected even DSG claims cause insurance company refuse to pay

• serena on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Dear VGM Tipu Warranty, DSG claims was rejected not because insurance company refuse to pay. those was insurance claimed was rejected mainly are those VW owner that had modified their car and this group of people goes online jumping around! Saying that their claimed was rejected.

• kimin on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:55 am

VW in bolehland is laughing stock of auto industry, nuf said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • VGM Big Big Liars on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:44 am

Yes that is true. Sampai VW oners had to carry banners to protest in Bangsar even for their 5 week service appointment request and DSG failures.

Shocking lah. Wait 5 weeks to get appointment and if you cross your mileage in the 5 weeks waiting, they void your warranty

• linus on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:09 pm

why you need 5 weeks appointment? I sent my car to Balakong Service Centre, doesn’t need to wait that long..

• Polo lover on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:16 pm

There are so many VW service centre in Malaysia. If PJ222 service centre is pack, you can go Damansara service centre and so on. You doesn’t need to wait that long period to service your car lol.

• duima on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Try to speed with me with my 1.4 Jetta with your Persona or your Preve 1.6 then you know what is quality, class all about!

• fspeed on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:35 pm

If your car stall coz that stupid DSG, how? You got towing service number in your speed dial list?

• duima on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Don’t worry I got the towing service number behind my road tax on the wind screen. Somehow I haven’t get to call them before. My car is doing fine.. Pls dun curse my car break down…

• Tokoking on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Since when u got see VW breakdown by roadside? Everyday I drive I never see oso, if got take picture show lah. Some years ago fit always see beemers breakdown lah, even nowadays less oledi. Don’t simply fitnah, dosa tau? Real tokok kings u all.

• Yeah, as nowadays many vw on the road but I don’t see a single vw breakdown by roadside.

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Just stop making diesel cars. Go full electric.

• There’s no prob wt other variant of diesel cars….its the particular EA189 2.0 TDI engine only which have the defeat device install and the can retify this but may cause reduce in power & torque. the rest of the diesel are great…V6 TDI..btw, they do have hv full electric…Golf GTE etc…their chancellor had already issued a challenge to German’s automotive company to surpuss Tesla on electric cars. Seeing how they recover from the devastation of the war, i’ll bet the german will come back stronger.

• dsgsuck on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:47 am

Who cares about engine, we care about that stupid gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • VGM Tipu Warranty on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:52 am

Once you read VGM facebook, you will stay way far far away from the brand.

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Say that to my RR, air-cooled boxer Beetle.

• EricLee on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:36 pm

I tot VW had solved the gearbox problem already? My Cousin who drove Passat have no issued with his gearbox so far.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Matthias Müller is most likely the reason why Volkswagen AG will survive and make it out of this mess. Unlike the previous fellas, this guy is quite firm, and judging by how well he ran Porsche (just look at their lineup, by far the strongest lineup yet, and even better than some of the other brands like Audi), he really knows what he is doing.

If this happened to Perodua or Proton, I’d guess they would be filing for bankruptcy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Has the VW management Holocausted themselves yet? The Malaysian rakyat demands it.

• Clouds in my coffee on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:14 pm

No, proton will just get a bailout and tun m will say it’s just perception that what they’re doing is bad.

• Diesel gate on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Mark my words, the VW marque will come back stronger as a brand if they weather this crisis. They are already making better and safer cars than the other 2 premium German marques. It’s a good time to secure good offers now if u have the stomach to bank in on the brand’s future plans. With 600 thousand employees in tow and the government’s strong vested interests, they are not going to let it fold and go under.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Why does it sounds like Proton, whose only crisis is brand perception and not something more serious…

• Apple to apple on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:42 pm

P1 is only big fish in our very small pond. Where can compare with VW, where the brand has global appeal & highest sales this year. Compare apple to apple lah please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • And I agree with you. Either they fail big and fail hard or they go home with a whimper. Just look at dieselgate.

• How to be stronger? This is case sengaja tipu…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:25 pm

I can’t believe nobody accept Asians complained of the DSG reliability. VW needs to address that as well as its another issue of confidence.

• Asians (especially Malaysians) kowtow to their white man masterrace overlords, so no one will persoal the Mat Sallehs

• Dunno why here in boleh land so many people harping on dsg problems, but in Singapore, where they pay dollar for dollar to our prices for vw here, u don’t hear them complaining about dsg. Is it just us that bad things happen to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Malaysians has surpassed Sinkies in kiasuism. just look at our politics

• fbornot on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:49 am

Have you read their fb?

• SG VW on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:16 am

Here in Spore, VW is a premium brand. Bought my second VW in 3 years and never had any problems with DSG. Quite surprised that Malaysians are having so many complaints about it. The only issue might be the clutch wear and tear, but that’s a trait of DSG tech. But having driven this cars I can never go back to Japanese cars as they just don’t compare anything near in terms of handling, power and solidity.

• During that past 3 years Emperor LKY psychic will is so strong to effect the DSG mechanism that only Sinkie dun have DSG problem compared to the world.
          Now enternal emperor is gone, be prepared to spend time in workshop

• sg sohai on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:10 pm

You could probably drive a lada in that tiny island and it will still be fine…
          The distance that you cover plus you probable never get out of first gear… please don’t compare with Malaysia that has better taste and higher requirements.

• duima on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:44 pm

what to do?! Many people here in boleh land who cannot afford to buy VW, then they complaint la!

• timbuktu on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Middle Age Driver, which jurassic age are you living in? Do u even drive a DSG equipped VW? The juddering DSG which is your main topic is a thing of the past. Have you changed your clutch pack to Rev L? I believe not since u don’t even drive a VW.. just a keyboard warrior with words without substance.

• Badguy on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:08 am

Dear VW, please don’t leave your “DSG issue” to be in grey area, rumors or not. Do something on it… result may proof everything!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:17 am

All the best VW. – in the mean time you will lose your best selling crown to Toyota again in the world ranking of sales. If they pull out of this crisis expect VW to be a very solid brand. Other brands should also buckle up

• Gloria on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:25 am

Yes germans are not known to lay down and die. They will survive.

• tinmilo on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:54 am

By the time you finish with turning all the stones and halt all projects, your company will be bankrupt…

I suggest while doing this, you will continue to expand in markets where integrity counts for little and has no emission standard. *hint* *hint*
    Offer your technology and your older models as a rebadge for a certain car maker.

• You mean like India & TATA (since they divorce with Suzuki)? Definitely not Proton cuz their Jedis have sensed the Siths in VW

• Tank commander on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:27 am

Judging from the current crisis of confidence, P1 will be long gone before VW does. There’s enough good will built over years and reliable ownership worldwide to see VW through. It’s a dent on their ‘tank’ solid reputation, just like how their cars are built solid, but the Germans are tough and will come back stronger. If not, at least their cars are worth more as scrap metal than milo tin jap cars. Hahaha

• I think it’s really the Germans telling the Yankees up yours on their own soil. Hahaha