Mercedes-Benz M’sia says more diesel models coming

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid 3

At the announcement of its third quarter sales results for 2015, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) opened up briefly about the possibility of adding more diesel models to its local range.

When quizzed about his company’s stance regarding diesel-powered vehicles, MBM vice president of sales and marketing Mark Raine explained that neither he, nor his company are afraid to launch more diesel models, and it sounded very much like the combination will be doing so very shortly.

“We are very happy with the success of the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, as you can tell from the results we’ve just shown you. This tells us that Malaysians are generally accepting of diesel models,” Raine said.

When asked about which specific diesel-powered models we could expect to see launched here, he responded, “as you can see, we’ve got the limousines (sedans), the Dream Cars, and in the future, as you know, we will also have the SUVs. We will be bringing diesel across all three segments.”

So far, we’ve seen MBM remain faithful to its 2.1 litre turbodiesel engine, and remember that it all started with the extensively and internally tested W204 C 220 CDI. When MBM had later announced that the 170 PS/400 Nm car had passed its quality tests in the country, it also confirmed that it would be returning diesel cars to its future line-up.

The first new diesel model launched following that announcement was the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, a car we know to have enjoy immense success lately, as confirmed by this morning’s press conference. Also employing a 2.1 litre mill, the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid is capable of 204 hp and 500 Nm of torque – this excluding the additional output added by the car’s hybrid drivetrain.

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid 36

Next, MBM moved in to introduced the V-Class V 220 CDI, which as we’ve shown you, packs a 2.1 litre engine that delivers 163 hp and 380 Nm of torque.

Knowing that MBM is already quite confident of its diesels in the country and has spread it across a variety of segments, it wouldn’t surprise us if its coming range of SUVs will offer diesel power.

And seeing as how the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid has proved a major success thus far, could we see a similarly-powered S-Class variant? There is the S 300 BlueTEC Hybrid that MBM may consider, should it be in its direction to pursue a diesel-powered S-Class.

If it does come, it wouldn’t be a class first in terms of offering a four-cylinder engine, given the existing XJ L 2.0 Ti Luxury, which is powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine.

The new S-Class. Press Drive, Canada 2013, Die neue S-Klasse. Pressefahrvorstellung in Kanada,  2013

When we asked the MBM vice president on his opinion of the S 300 BlueTEC Hybrid and how the brand’s local customers may take to a four-cylinder diesel S-Class, he said, “I think that (S 300 BlueTEC Hybrid) definitely has the potential to do well here. At the moment, we’ve put our money on the S 400 L Hybrid, which has been a very good move for us based on the success we’ve had so far. We are, however, constantly revising where we can bring additional products to our portfolio.

“When I look at it at a global level, and also a regional one, yes, I definitely think an S 300 BlueTEC Hybrid could do well here. Also, looking at other cars we have powered similarly to the engine the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, and it looks like the acceptance has been great,” he added.

So, which diesel Mercedes-Benz models would you be most looking forward to?

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• good, The Right brand to push diesel usage in Malaysia.

Diesel is very fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Agreed, your kids asthma cough till half die you own problem, like diesel drivers will care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • alldisc on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:21 pm

oh, u did not know mercedez already brought in their diesels some time ago?

the E270CDI, remember? No??

about the same time BMW introduced its 530d E60 to malaysia.

both were hurt when our poor quality diesel damaged the cars (the fuel system), giving bad image with black smoke etc.

Jaguar sat and watched and did a simple remedy to this issue – they removed the diesel particulate filter and sold some diesel cars without much issue on performance, engine mechanicals or exhaust emission.

BMW saw this and quickly re-launched its 2.0 and 3.0 turbodiesel models. quite a success.

• Beemerajoke on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:13 pm

But i still saw 328d farting black smoke when trying to outpace a turbo car. Its slow acceleration didn’t impress me at all

• Larson on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:38 pm

A lot of malaysians here foam at the mouth regarding the VW diesel issue but they don’t even know why it’s an issue. They just enjoy the hoo haa. Malaysia does not have strict emissions laws like US or Europe so it doesnt count as a ‘cheat’ here in the legal sense. Anyway i digress as this is a Mercedes article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • xxXxxXxx on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Yeah please bring in the diesel model since our air is not really clean at all. Emissions no problem here and we do not have very intelligent tech guy to dig out the cheat software. Anyway we have Haze Season every year which more pollutant than the lorry here.

• dreamer on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:07 pm

CKD C300 bluetec hybrid plsss

• bring in the Diesel A class!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:07 am

MBM should just follow BMW Malaysia and launch diesel models for its entire line up and see what’s the uptake on those models.

• Rusmah on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Diesel will distinct in modern europe country.
    So sell in Msia ?