Mercedes-Benz Malaysia continues record run, already 70% up on 2014; M’sia now the biggest SEA market

2015-mercedes-benz-malaysia-q3-results- 001

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has just announced its sales performance figures for the third quarter of 2015, recording a total of 3,033 passenger vehicles sold.

Of the total sales volume in that period, 2,188 units were contributed by the brand’s sedan models: the C-, E- and S-Class. The C-Class alone recorded a total of 861 units sold, while the E-Class, led by the alluring price proposition of the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, contributed a total of 679 units. Demand for the S-Class S 400 L Hybrid remains strong, with 648 units sold in the quarter. September 2015 marked the strongest month for the W222 S-Class so far, selling 235 units.

The company’s new president and CEO, Dr. Claus Weidner presented the data to members of the media, and said that, “We are moving from strength to strength and have certainly topped historical sales figures for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia.The three consecutive four-digit sales figures in the third quarter of 2015 is a welcomed addition to our string of record quarters.”

Weidner also confirmed that as of September 2015, MBM had sold a total of 8,196 passenger vehicles year-to-date 2015, surpassing its total sales volume throughout 2014 by up to 70% (4,817 sold in 2014). The company was also proud to mention that Malaysia is currently the biggest market for Mercedes-Benz vehicles in Southeast Asia.

Mercedes’ range of compact cars were also key contributors to its success in the third quarter of the year, with a combined 838 units sold throughout the period. The CLA Coupe was the best performing model, adding 301 units to the tally, while the GLA SUV followed closely behind with 299 units sold. The A-Class contributed the remaining 238 units.

At the same event, MBM’s vice president of sales and marketing, Mark Raine also announced a price reduction for the brand’s entire C-Class line-up, whilst asserting that two new variants would be joining the fray: the C 200 Exclusive, and the C 250 AMG. New prices for the C-Class variants now range from RM248,888 to RM287,888.

Raine also reiterated his plans to introduce several more models from the brand’s “Dream Cars” range before the end of the year. MBM refers to its most premium models, such as the pure AMG models like the C 63 and the AMG GT, as well as the pure luxury-minded vehicles, from the CLS to the S-Class Maybach.

He said, “The Mercedes-Benz brand is set for another record year in Malaysia with the enhanced portfolio of the C-Class, combined with reduced prices, our upcoming launch of the Mercedes-Benz Dream Cars, and further exciting announcements in the coming months. I’m confident of further strengthening the Mercedes-Benz brand in the Malaysia market.”

More recently, MBM had launched its new W205 AMG C 63 S with a starting price of RM698,888. On the same day, it gave its CLA Shooting Brake its public debut here, with estimated price of around RM300,000. The compact estate model has a very limited availability of just 10 units for the foreseeable future.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:38 am

Wow so Bolehland is now MBM’s biggest market here and their new C class price is here to continue push. BMW and Audi Malaysia, the ball is in your court now. Respond or be steam rolled by MBM but got to give some credit to BMW for giving 5 years warranty n service free to all their vehicles.

• Sussudio on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:55 am

BMW maybe can respond but Audi? Cannot lah. Somehow they cant seem to make inroads.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Buy Proton, high profit margin.
        Buy foreign car, high tax.
        Enter city, congestion fee.
        Take LRT, fare increased.

Of course Mecerdes are sold better and better, while the majority Malaysian get harder and harder to afford a simple foreign car.

Cukurlah!

• See Malaysia has so much money. I don’t know why the yellow shirts make so much noise about songlap RM2.6 bil. Hello friends, its only RM2.6billion lah. Songlap sikit tak apa, janji negara maju dan ada banyak kekayaan untuk orang lain.

So, don’t complain lah. negara kaya sangat. Rajin kerja, mesti boleh beli kete mewah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • Rusmah on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:13 pm

John, I need more sohai like you. I can buy tons of bags, tons of cincin, feed the cow in orchard road condominium

• Not because of malaysian is rich. Its because the latest Merc design do really sell.

Proton – if you really want to success please put more afford in design

• some people won’t appreciate the sarcasm. lol

• Fair driver on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Even a cheap low quality Chinese goods can sell like hot cake if the price is low, Mercedes is now a CHEAPO.
      If this trend continue, one day, Mercedes will be on par with the Kimchis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • Fair driver papa on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Mind to share what expensive car you are driving?

• Fair driver on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:32 pm

I am driving something that is much expensive than CHEAPO Mercedes.
          Mercedes drop your price some more will you, if not you can’t compete with Lexus, BMW and Audi. Oh also Volvo.

• BMW Lies About their Figures on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:46 am

Congrats MBM. You have done well despite every year BMW lying about their sales. You see, BMW Malaysia sells about 1000 cars every year to Hertz Rental. Herts Rental then leases the BMWs to Sime Darby as company cars for their staff. Ironically, Herts Rental is owned by Sime Darby and BMW Malaysia and Auto Bavaria are owned by Sime Darby.

So, BMW does not really make real sales because BMW Malaysia is selling cars to their parent company Sime Darby (through Hertz Rental) and also to itself BMW Malaysia for staff usage.

Every year MAA figures do not show this truth. Infact, BMW Malaysia only sells few hundred cars only to the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Sussudio on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:57 am

A drive around Klang Valley will show you that BMW isnt lying. Unless you have eyesight problems. Heck even my taman almost every other house has either an f30 or f10 at minimum. Dont tell me they’re all sime darby staff?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Fair driver on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:34 pm

That is why Mercedes salesman like to tell lies, really no standard, now their management drop price some more, Mercedes now become like kereta pasar malam.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Cukur Cukur Cukur! Terima kasih BN kerana Negara Mewah dan semua rakyat mewah!

• Slow economy? What slow economy?

Luxury cars are literally flying off the showrooms, the local TGIs and Tony Romas are still full on weekends, airports got so many malaysians flying, expensive coffee is still being consumed.

• tokmoh. on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Maslan rates this comment 3.85!

Puji dear leader! Cukuuur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Jezzafanclub on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:09 pm

And again, syukur not cukur. Hang nak cukur apa? Janggut? Adoii, wat malu saja orang malaysia tak tahu guna bahasa dengan sempurna maknanya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Haha, you saw my point.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:49 am

wow, ringgit going to the dumps and yet, they can bring down the C Class prices.

Meanwhile, Axia price is going up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • MBM warranty still ourdated !!! on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:01 pm

MBM increase your warranty to 5 years, BMW Malaysia has done it, slashing prices to make it attractive is good but if you want to seal the deal, make all your models sold to 5 years + 5 Years Road Side Assist, that should make you a class leader but if you think your sales as still going to go up and up by slashing prices, think again !! I was consider a new C-Class over the my current BMW 3 series, but BMW’s 5 year unlimited millage warranty + service package sold me over …nuff said !

• palgo47 on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Whos buying all their cars? i guess our PM was right! Malaysia is definitely heading on the right track towards high income nation by 2020!

• Malaysia Poor – Rich Gap.
    is becoming bigger..

Fed up.

• Tax these rich ppl more.

• but rich people get to buy tax free car. Bangsat people have to pay tax.

• sad truth on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:01 pm

In Malaysia…kaya bertambah kaya, miskin papa kedana…the rich will continue be rich, the poor will getting poorer..

• dingdong on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Bangganya aq rakyat Malaysia! Hidup Najib, hidup Rosmah!

• ningku on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Ini kalilah!
    nasi lemak GLCs, Sime Darby UMW apa mcm?

• 1mdb, RM jatuh, bolasepak 10-0
    akhirnya rakyat boleh bangga..no.1 in SEA!

• Malaysian kena Screwed on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:37 pm

my company boss always say company not making profit. So no raise, no bonus.

My frens’ companies bosses said the same.

But every company boss, every year…surely they change another new model merc.

No wonder Merc benz Malaysia sales so good…