GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Shooting Brake – est. from RM300k, limited to just 10 units in Msia

2015-mercedes-benz-cla-200-shooting-brake-preview-in-malaysia- 001

As we uncovered last night, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has previewed its new CLA 250 4Matic Shooting Brake for the local market, only doing so behind closed doors.

The car’s appearance did catch us a little off guard, because while it would make some sense for MBM to offer it here, we had no clue that it would happen this soon. Either way, here we are at the Pullman Lakeside Resort in Putrajaya, to bring you a clearer look at things.

First of all, yes, MBM will be officially launching the CLA 250 Shooting Brake in the near future, but hasn’t yet made any mention as to when this will happen. However, before you get all excited about it, there is a point more troubling than the estimated RM300,000 price tag that was confirmed: just 10 units of the compact estate will be made available for sale locally, and it’s set to stay that way for the foreseeable future.

Here, then, is one such example of the 10 units: a CLA 250 4Matic Shooting Brake, featuring an AMG Line styling package inside and out, topped off with a Night package exterior kit too. The AMG Line bodystyling brings to the CLA 250 here the more aggressive front apron option and the brand’s signature diamond radiator grille, with a single-bar running through the centralised three-pointed star.

The Night package brings black to the exterior wing mirrors, beltline trim strip, and window surrounds. The dark-themed package doesn’t however add the black finish to the diamond radiator grille, as it does with the CLA 200 Coupe, which retains the standard AMG Line’s chromed finish.

At the rear, and the aggressive bumper is another key feature of the AMG Line styling kit, while you may also note that the taillights are shaped a little more sharply than the original coupe’s, to flow with the tailgate. The wheels on the display car are a set of 18-inch AMG multi-spoke light-alloy wheels painted in titanium grey with a high-sheen finish.

Inside, the Shooting Brake features a similar dashboard layout to the regular four-door coupe model, and has also been updated with the latest round of updates introduced by MBM for the CLA 200 that brought on a larger free-standing eight-inch display screen, new three-spoke multi-function, flat-bottomed sports steering wheel, and the carbon-fibre trim panel that runs across the dash.

Being a proper estate, the CLA Shooting Brake also comes equipped with a naturally impressive boot capacity. In its original state, simply opening the tailgate reveals 495 litres of usable boot space, while shifting the rear seats into its “cargo” position opens up a total of 595 litres. With the seats folded, a total of 1,395 litres of space becomes available.

For power, the CLA 250 4Matic shares a common powertrain with the A 250 hatch, with a similar power output. Equipped with a 2.0 litre turbo four engine that’s paired with a 7G-DCT dual-clutch automatic transmission, the CLA 250 offers 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque – a significant boost against MBM’s only other CLA model, the 156 hp/250 Nm CLA 200.

The big difference between the CLA 250 and the CLA 200 (and A 250) is that this Shooting Brake is equipped with a 4Matic all-wheel drive system, which splits the power distribution evenly between the front and rear wheels, but defaults output just to the front when the all-wheel drive traction isn’t required.

So, then, like what you see? Do remember that only 10 units of the CLA 250 Shooting Brake will be officially sold in Malaysia, and that it looks to be set that way for the foreseeable future. Should you want one, best hurry along.

International-market Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Folger Jangan Tipu on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:54 am

hello Folger, why bring this nonsense. E400 hybrid in the US is US55k.

Pls CKD this car in Malaysia. Can bring this car tax free, ask Malaysian Government for tax incentive.

Don’t rip Malaysians lah Folger. This Shoting Brake so cheap. COme here, want to hantam Malaysians Rm300k

• There’s always recond units.

• Noname123 on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Desperately impractical for that pricetag

• Aaron on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Head Turner

• Proton can design cars that Merc designers can’t dream of

• Shoot first, brake later.

• MrNyx (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:16 pm

This is really damn funny. I don’t understand why they still don’t want to bring in the 4-door coupe CLA 250. It can definitely sell like hot cake with AMG line styling. I REALLY DON’T UNDERSTAND.

• Sam has 3 Lexus and 1 saga on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:24 pm

It is not important for you to understand.

• Hoonta on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:50 pm

It looks awkward just like the sedan CLA

• Gaviny on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

I heard nirvana memorial booked 5 out of the 10

Lolz

• Ootai on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:33 pm

MBM knows that there are always buyer who buy mercs under co. registration. So, dream on to make the money works for you and not otherwise.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:05 am

My only question is why only 10 units? This ain’t some limited edition Benz and you can get one from any overseas dealers anytime.

• Ronlim610 on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:07 am

I think they are limiting to 10 bcoz the facelite is just around the corner….

• chuah jia yong on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:28 am

hi, is anyone know when cla 250 will be launch in malaysia ?