Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class SUV launched in Malaysia – GLA 200, GLA 250 and GLA 45 AMG, from RM239k

Mercedes-Benz GLA 200 (1)

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has officially launched the Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class in the country. The premium compact SUV, which sits on the front wheel-drive MFA platform used by the W176 A-Class (and C117 CLA-Class), arrives here in three variant guises – the baseline GLA 200, GLA 250 4 MATIC and range-topping GLA 45 AMG.

The X156 measures in at 4,417 mm in length, 1,804 mm wide and 1,494 mm tall, which doesn’t make the GLA a very large car – it’s slightly longer than the Audi Q3, but shorter than the BMW X1, its primary competitors. It’s also set to do battle with the upcoming Lexus NX when that arrives here next year.

In keeping with its go-anywhere character, the practical and flexible interior offers rear seat backrests that can be adjusted for angle, or folded down flat if required, and the boot has 421 litres of space, expandable to 836 litres, quite generous considering the car’s compact exterior dimensions. All three GLA variants feature a Load Compartment package, which allows the backrest of the rear seat unit to be moved to a steeper position and enlarges the load compartment capacity by 60 litres.

Mercedes-Benz GLA 250 4MATIC (32)

As with its shared-platform siblings, the powertrains found on the GLA are familiar – the GLA 200 features a 1.6 litre petrol turbo with 156 hp at 5,300 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,250 to 4,000 rpm, while the GLA 250 4 MATIC has a 2.0 litre petrol turbo offering 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,200 to 4,000 rpm. Both variants are equipped with a seven-speed 7-G DCT dual-clutch transmission.

Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.9 seconds and a 215 km/h top speed for the GLA 200, while the GLA 250 does the century sprint in 7.1 seconds and gets to a higher maximum speed of 230 km/h.

The GLA 45 AMG‘s engine is the same found on the A 45 AMG and the CLA 45 AMG, no surprises here – as in the other applications, the AMG 2.0 litre twin-scroll M133 produces 360 hp at 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 2,250 to 5,000 rpm, and the mill is paired with a seven-speed AMG Speedshift DCT transmission.

Mercedes-Benz GLA 45 AMG_Exterior (3)

Global lines for the regulation GLA are Style, Urban, AMG and Exclusive exterior/interior lines – Malaysia gets two lines, Urban for the GLA 200 and an AMG Line (with a Night package) for the GLA 250. The GLA 250, as its 4 MATIC suffix suggests, is equipped with the maker’s all-wheel drive system, which has fully variable torque distribution.

In terms of kit, here’s what the cars get, starting with the GLA 200. The variant sits on 18-inch twin-spoke alloys and an off-road comfort suspension that raises ride height by 30mm as standard. External design elements include a radiator grille with silver-painted louvres and chrome inserts as well as an integrated two-pipe exhaust system with chrome plated tips. The front and rear bumpers, meanwhile, have a simulated under guard finished in dark chrome.

Standard equipment and features include bi-xenon headlamps, cruise control, Thermatic automatic climate control, reverse camera, an Audio 20 CD system, velour floor mats, Active Parking Assist and Eco Start/Stop. Safety kit, meanwhile, includes Collision Prevention Assist, Pre-Safe, Attention Assist, the same as found on the GLA 250.

The interior is shod with Artico/fabric leather upholstery and light aluminium trim, and the Urban package brings silver chrome to the air vent surrounds/cruciform nozzle and a three-spoke leather steering wheel into the equation.

As for the GLA 250 4 MATIC, this one gets dressed with 19-inch five-spoke AMG alloys and an AMG bodykit (and AMG floor mats) as part of the AMG Line package, and the Night package adds on side mirror housings, roof rails and waistline trim strips in black, the latter two in high gloss.

The 250 also gets a sports suspension, which lowers the ride by 15 mm at the front axle and 10 mm at the rear axle, and a Dynamic Handling package. The 4 MATIC also has an Off-Road package – nothing to do with ride height in this case, but rather DSR (Downhill Speed Regulation) and an off-road transmission mode.

The former assists the driver on demanding downhill stretches by maintaining a slow, manually selected vehicle speed within the physical limits, and the latter – engaged through a switch – modifies the shift points and accelerator characteristics for light off-road terrain use.

Equipment-wise, the 250’s bi-xenons are Intelligent Light System units (with Adaptive Highbeam Assist), and the interior is dressed with Artico/Dinamica microfiber uphosltery – otherwise, kit is essentially the same as the GLA 200, with an Audio 20 CD system, cruise control, Thermatic auto climate control and Active Parking Assist.

The GLA 45 AMG gets an AMG Night package as well as an AMG aerodynamics package, and sits on 20-inch AMG 10-spoke light alloy wheels. The Edition 1 version, which is what we’re getting, adds on a larger front splitter, additional flics in the front apron, and a rear aerofoil.

It also gets silver grey/red AMG racing stripes on the vehicle sides, complemented by red highlights on radiator grille, exterior mirrors, diffuser insert and rear aerofoil. The brake calipers are red painted too, and the multi-spoke AMG light alloy wheels are painted matte black, with red rim flanges.

Standard fit items include Artico/Dinamica microfiber upholstery, a Harman Kardon Logic 7 surround system, Thermotronic auto climate control and illuminated door sills.

Pricing for the GLA-Class variants are RM238,888 for the GLA 200, RM268,888 for the GLA 250 and RM378,888 for the GLA 45 AMG, all on-the-road without insurance. Comparatively, the CLA 200 and CLA 45 AMG are priced at RM235,888 and RM392,888 respectively – the latter is notable, which makes the GLA 45 AMG much better value than its CLA sibling, don’t you think?

Mercedes-Benz GLA 200

Mercedes-Benz GLA 250 4 MATIC

Mercedes-Benz GLA 45 AMG

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• techart on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:07 pm

One word…Gorgeous

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
    • turboman on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 263
      • Mercedes should consider to change their logo, if not forever will be labelled the old man car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 128
        • Obviously (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:12 pm

It’s not about the logo. It’s about the obstinate preconceptions that people have about brands.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
          • MBM Untung Banyak on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:49 am

This car only US$33,000 for the GLA250. Here RM$270,000.

MBM will get this car at probably US$20,000 direct from the Mercedes factory in Germany, being the official country distributor.

So, US$20,000 is about RM60,000. Add the maximum tax, excise of 130%, its about RM150,000. MBM will have special tax because its a country distributor. Probably less than 100%

MBM should be selling this cheaper. And not at RM270,000. Untung, untung a bit. Don’t untung so much until over RM100.000 clean untung.

And then, MBM blame the government for imposing high taxes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 17
          • Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:03 pm

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?
            More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!
            How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?
            How to buy this car?

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. That is RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 snd below which is Government statistics.
            Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrr on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:32 am

This is the model for Proton’s senior engineer. Guys, please support Proton and buy more Iriz. Their Mercedes GLAs are depending on you.

Mari mari, don’t be shy. Proton Iriz is good, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • mrupai on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:22 am

Yes. What is appear triangle in a circle needs change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • rizal on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:56 pm

only those non-updated brain keep saying merc for oldies..
          i had that same thought..but since current a class and c200 design..they catching the loaded yougsters now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • kenny on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:59 am

get a life please

• audinothing on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:10 am

Q3? LOL. sorry kid, but this crossover most likely compared to porsche macan rather than ur boring Q3. eventhough the macan is higher in terms of price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 11
      • zidane on Nov 08, 2014 at 9:21 am

earn that money first before talking like are able to buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
        • Ibrahim on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Is RM 4,000 a month a lot of money? Don’t degrade people. Not everybody with money wants to use expensive cars in Malaysia, especially when they know it is expensive just because of taxes and greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:51 am

Pre pubescent boys with no taste like you, yes? Please don’t lump the rest of us with you, thanks!

Never liked Audis. Ur-Quattro, now that’s an exception.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • turboman on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Ah Pek like you don’t try to behave young ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
          • Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Finish your spm before you talk ok?

Little wanker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
          • Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Narrow-minded people like you don’t try to sound smart, k? You’ll only embarrass yourself in the end. If all the young people become narrow-minded and become fixed to the old ways of thinking, then I fear for our future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • turboman on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Little wanker?? much better then your erectile dysfunction old fart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
          • Turbopussy trying to be man on Nov 08, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Q3 us for auntie to go pasar car la…young man ? or u can consider urself a young pussy ? probably auntie also have a better taste than u LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • turboman on Nov 08, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Young pussy??…still better than your old pussy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Omg, Q3 is one of the ugliest looking Audi together with A1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • OMG…Q3 for young man…are u kidding. This is really sexy and sporty car for young man with sexy lady…well done MBenz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Hi.
        Anyone know the GLA 200 order lead time?
        Will faster than CLA or worst?

Hope there is someone give a right information!

• kl fella on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:40 am

you’re asking on the wrong place.. why don’t you just visit the nearest MB showroom and talk to their sales advisors? i can safely tell you their sales advisors are second to only Lexus if not comparable..

• wingkj on Nov 08, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Hi.

Tolong

• not-your average salesman on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:20 am

the waiting period for this GLA is abt 4-6 months

• jeffkl on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm

turboman-you obviously dont know how to appreciate a good product.And i am not an Ah Pek buyer

• Maseratits on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Looks more like a hatchback than an SUV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Ur not alone to say it looks more like a raised hatchback and it is…check out the interior space which is really cramped inside. As for the spec I think the one to go is the GLA250 which has everything you need.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Wow..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • muhammad naim on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:36 pm

murah saya mau beli satu dari beli plat bmw.. not oldman

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Whoa, pricing is exactly the same as the X1 sDrive20i, and xDrive20d for the GLA 200 and 250 respectively. Q3 is cheaper in both departments by about 10-20k or so….

For me, I’d say the GLA would be a better buy over the other 2. The X1 is sorely dated, though it does have good engines, and from a performance standpoint, it has more power if you compare the base X1 and base GLA.

But on every other front, the GLA just makes more sense. Though probably worth to drive the GLA before you put your money down, as somehow the AMG suspensions are a bit too hard, which worries me a bit since the 250 has sport suspension- would it be too tough on our roads…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • weeee on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:42 pm

I’d rather get a Q3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 43
  • Matrix on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 132
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Downhill? The crazier driver wins by default, of course.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
    • The GLA driver is an old man, what do you expect? if you got ball come and race my VW polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 49
      • daffodil on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:55 pm

The VW driver is a dumbass, what do you expect? If you got ball come and race my bicycle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
      • jeffkl on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:23 pm

okla- vw polo? i thought Porshe …? polo is something white and round i chew on daily

• zamer on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:36 pm

hahaha..talk about city/inspira with merc?
      nevermind, you can just play yourself happily.

anyway, looking at the seat of this A series, doesn’t look comfortable to me. for these money, c class is a better option i guess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Can Do on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:40 pm

You are right. Your inspira would have gone down the ravine and the GLA can’t smell your smoke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:44 am

Brudder, you think everyone out there to race your ‘bolt’ city meh? Wanna show how good, go drop by rs collectif track day and say hi la. Maybe can get a free nut to match your ‘bolt’ instead.

Else continue pretend you racing everyone and carry on wanking!

• Ismail Razak on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:00 pm

U dreaming? GLA isnt meant for racing. Unless if u have balls, please race with GLA 45. BTW, when were u at Genting when GLA just launched yesterday? U raced in ur dreamland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:37 pm

this is class…unlike a3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Confused on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Can someone tell me why Merc design is getting better and better every single year? i am impressed!! not juz outlook itself, but performance too!

i guess BMW gotta step up the gear!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • daffodil on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:48 am

Yes Merc has improve every single year, but still 10+ years behind the BMW, so BMW don’t need to step up the gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
  • Can Do on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Looks above average. Seems like a very tall hatchback. Boring front though. Dashboard is too plain and the problem with Merc these days are the MMI screen is like an after thought. Should have build it into the dash rather than sticking out like a poor quality iPad. Having said that, it is still better than the X1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:22 pm

In my opinion, if I were looking for a compact SUV, I will top up a bit and get an X3. For just a bit of money, you get yourself a taller and roomier proper 4WD SUV with higher ground clearance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:39 pm

The LCI X3 is a proper SUV IMHO….this GLA is a raised hatchback that looks like an A Class on the inside which means plenty of hard plastics…not a proper Benz. A proper starting point to a Benz ownership shall be the base W205 C200.

So if you need a proper German SUV, its the X3…or the Q3 if you are on a budget. How about the X1 u say? Well its gonna be obsolete soon and the looks of it is quite…ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • kl fella on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:46 am

what makes a SUV? it’s not just about height and ground clearance. what makes SUV a SUV is the drive train.. it must have at least power on-demand and a true SUV would have permanent AWD.. such as x3, x5, q5, q7, land rover, range rover etc

• cla owner on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:12 am

i saw it white colour GLA 250 at singapore,its awesome for me!

• Everything looks great, except the Centre Screen.. the thick border of the screen feel like 5 years ago technology

• gaviny on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:30 am

156 hp seems a tad bit low for a big car

• old dog on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:05 am

Merc become Volvo looks…

• mercedes benz getting bttr hopefully terms of reliability. bmw = banyak masuk wokshop, burn my wallet. bmw parts are cheaper tho and easier compare mercedes but break more often.

• Low slung and looking good. Wow indeed. Price not bad either if the taxes are taken into account. Definitely a head turner.

• MrNyx (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Bullshit la, they can bring in GLA 250 but can’t bring in CLA 250…

• personal point of view… this GLA makes me think BMW design is very outdated. merc has made the Audi become uncle car and BMW old man car. CLA and GLA are so desirable to successful young men. i want one… but belum successful….. sigh….

• wongkj on Nov 08, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Hi.

Please!!

• nabill (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 9:48 pm

only criticism i have on the design is the rear lamps are too big for the car’s dimension , should have been abit shorter n slimmer…but overall looks ace///
    although if u read online reviews in the Uk,almost all of them shoot the dual clutch gearbox for being slow n jerky at low speed..

• Jules on Nov 09, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Those review are from the earlier batches.. 2012. They have upgraded the firmware… Now they aren’t that bad. If u want to have responsive kick down then u need to use S mode.

• Master - G on Nov 09, 2014 at 8:33 am

KR1M – Kencing Rakyat SATU Malaysia

• No COMAND in the GLA250?? Smaller display and no GPS? Why can’t they up it a bit?

• This GLA is like a very pretty n sexy girl on the outside but inside…not a very pleasing partner one can brag about

• Dr. Doom on Nov 09, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Anyone drive BMW M3,M4,M5 or M6 here?

• I rather keep my money to buy Billion of Gold bar than a Mercedes and BMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • kl fella on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:48 am

with RM200k most likely you can only afford to buy a single gold bar

• yes Mercedes still for old man . reason is their retarded transmission . not suitable for spiritual drive . A200 feel very underpower . SO imagine a more heavier GLA .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Unknown on Nov 16, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Q3 for young? Are u kidding? This Mercedes more sporty than ur Q3 and suitable for young people. GLA 45 AMG powerful engine. Nice job Mercedes.

• apekgoh on Nov 23, 2014 at 2:00 pm

only 2 years warranty for a Merc…. disappointed, total ownership will be higher with just 2 years warranty, no appealing in ownership seriously Mercedes Malaysia!

• Any one know that the GLA250 Malaysia version can be upgraded to GPS feature? As I understand current A class and GLA are without GPS feature.