Proton admits to removing top tether from the Saga, now offers free installation for current owners

saga-flx+

Proton has released a new statement regarding the so-called ASEAN NCAP tether-gate, where the Malaysian carmaker has now admitted to “mistakenly omitting” the top tethers from the current Saga models. The company regrets the miscommunication with ASEAN NCAP on the matter.

The statement further clarifies that the top tethers were among more than 10 safety enhancements that were added to the Saga in order to obtain a three-star rating. These include a front bumper beam, additional reinforcement to the front and rear bumpers, front doors, centre pillars and rear seat back support, the addition of a front passenger airbag, front seat belt pre-tensioners and a rear centre three-point seat belt.

A quick recap – the Saga was initially given a one-star rating in 2012, and was subsequently crash tested again in 2013, this time fitted with the enhanced safety package detailed above. The improved Proton Saga received a three-star rating, which has stayed in place until now.

Top tether

As for the removal of the top tethers on current Saga models, the Proton statement explained that, “the top tether was not a regulatory requirement for OEMs to fit in their cars at the point when the car was tested. Although we had complied with safety regulations and other required conditions in the country, we had overlooked in updating ASEAN NCAP on the omission of the top tether from the current Saga models.”

The carmaker also pointed out that, “the top tether (or the lack of) does not in any way affect the safety of Adult Occupancy Protection (AOP), as it is meant for the installation of child seats that are fitted with a top tether mechanism. In this case, child seats can still be fitted in the car through normal rear seat belt installation.”

As a solution, Proton is now offering current Saga owners free installations of top tethers. Customers are advised to call Proton Customer Care Hotline (1 800 88 8398) or email [email protected] to schedule an appointment to do so.

Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 9.42.46 PM

Basically, the issue here is that the Proton Saga was tested with top tether available, thus it was used in the installation of the Britax Duo Plus child seat utilised in the Child Occupant Protection part of the test. The child seat was secured to the car using the vehicle’s seatbelt and top tether. It scored 58% in this test.

Basically, since ASEAN NCAP now has no idea how the Proton Saga’s Child Occupant Protection would be like with the Britax Duo Plus secured with only the seat belts, the test results are deemed invalid. You can see the results with top tether in the table above.

The top tether is used as an additional anchorage point that limits the rotation of the seat in the case of a frontal impact. If you are using a child seat that doesn’t have a top tether anchorage in the first place, this doesn’t affect you.

Top tether (left) and support leg.

There are benefits to having some kind of additional anchorage like a top tether available, as it can improve crash performance. An alternative to top tether is a support leg, which is far more common in Malaysia compared to top tether. If you cannot find a child seat with top tether which suits you, or if your car doesn’t have a top tether point, look for a child seat with a support leg. A support leg doesn’t require any point on the vehicle to attach to. Instead, it rests against the floor.

However, this requires the floor it is resting on to be solid. For example, the middle second row seat of the Volkswagen Sharan has an underfloor storage area below it, and requires an accessory to be installed in the storage box for a child seat with a support leg to be used on that seat. So please check your car’s manual to be sure.

More recently, ASEAN NCAP itself used a newer R129 i-size type of child seat (Takata i-size Midi ISOFIX) with its latest crash test of the Toyota Hilux. That particular child seat uses a support leg instead of top tether.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:12 pm

how low can u get p1 , how low…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 16
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:51 pm

No big deal… Please keep support Proton because Proton admit doing wrong. Proton don’t purposesly lie to Rakyat… Small problem will improve next time !!! Proton care for Rakyat never lie again… not like Volkswagen bigger liar !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 150
      • Admit only? I thought he should resign. That is murder, volvo…..pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • Ban proton perdana!!! Perdana should be banned to give them a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
          • Ini perkara kecil. Cukur lah kereta ini kebangaan Malaysia. Cukur Cukur Cukur!

Kami mesti sayang negara dan Proton dan taat ikhlas kepada Rukun Negara….sayang Negara tak kira apa apa pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:10 am

It’s good proton admitting it mistake and offerring free top tether installation. What else do haters want? Cheating diesel emission or using fault Takata airbag are meaner than mislook the updated requirement. Keep calm and keep supporting Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 41
          • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:18 am

How to replace life? now this car rated 1 star instead of 3 star. No, in accident, sure to die.

How can Proton replace life Ah Beng?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:19 am

So, Jeremy Clarkson was right after all. In UK and Australia, Saga is rated the most dangerous car in the world.

When UK rated that, all the Proton fans got angry. I guess, Top Gear knew the truth!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
          • Open Letter to Saga Owners on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:50 am

Many of you buyers are lawyers, pls initiate a group action against Proton and seek compensation.

Proton should pay compensation. Ha ha ha but the money will still come from our pockets la via government!

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Why do people comment as if their parents or children have died as a result of this?

Do you guys know how many child seats in the market do not utilize the top tether point?

Some of the latest Japanese cars with a full complement of safety features even omit ISOFIX points, or come with only one of two types of tethering points. So, should those cars be banned as well?

We can slam Proton for cutting corners, but please, use your brains and don’t just bash blindly. At least apply some facts and context. Sadly, these appear to be tasks that Malaysians are increasingly unable to accomplish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Again I said. This is part of political agenda against Proton and Tun M. How many buying Proton because the havin top tether? Haters bashing about top tether but themself don’t even buckle up their safety belt during driving..

• Joker on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:01 am

Hey, stupid kong so what you mean is want us to stop our presumption and wait until somebody die bcoz of low quality proton that time only we can bash? Tell me that, now who is the one lacking of common sense???

• if nobody uncover, proton will continue to hide it.
        isnt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
        • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:21 am

that is how Malaysia works. Same with RM2.6 bil scandal. If WSJ did not uncover it, nobody will know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:16 pm

WSJ didn’t uncover it. The story was provided to them by those who want to overthrow Najib. Get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
          • Hot girls got problems too on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Overthrow because he’s doing something wrong and damaging to the country in his capacity as PM. Isn’t that a perfectly valid reason?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Some reliable sources told me that this has a political motive to discredit Tun M indirectly, and get DRB-Hicom whacked. With the removal of the top tether point, the child occupant safety ratings do not plunge by much because not all child seats use a top tether. They can still be fastened using the seatbelt and seatbelt points.

However, ASEAN NCAP chose to release this information to the public and let it spread wide before clarifying with Proton because they received instructions to do so.

Although this does not make Proton innocent, and it was a stupid thing to do considering that all newer models like Suprima, Preve, Iriz etc have top-notch safety standards, this episode will only further degrade Proton’s reputation and undo all the hard work that they have done.

I can guarantee that this would not have happened under Datuk Syed Zainal’s watch. Under DRB-Hicom, all sorts of bullshit can happen. And it’s also a calculated kick in the nuts to Tun M by certain quarters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
          • CSI Dr M on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Apa benda reliable source? Everything also must make politic ah?

• Albert on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:23 am

What no big deal…utter stupidity.
        A LIE is a LIE.You can wear red ,it is still a lie.
        Tun,kindly do a thorough 100 percent check on your cars.Your LAZY dudes are hiding a lot of HANKY PANKY stuff.
        That is why I said PERCEPTION is a BIG PROBLEM for Protong.
        Like most of the politicians,LYING is part of their daily CULTURE.
        Ah Beng,how can you put food on your dinning table and expect your children to say “Lying is OK”…Proton did not purposely lie.
        SHAMBOLIC…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
        • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:23 am

Like Mahathir said, mudah lupa.

• Otak Keldai on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:33 am

Very normal for companies in Malaysia to lie. Look at 1MDB, until today still lying. And majority already accept them and forgiven them

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Yes, this is quite true. Even the politicians lie. UMNO politicians have been lying since Day 1, but now they might be outperformed by DAP and PKR liars as well.. especially with Tony Pua now qualified to be crowned as the King of All Liars, right under his guru Lim Guan Eng.

Malaysia is a country of lying leaders because let’s face it, lying and dishonesty is a big part of Asian culture no matter what race you look at.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
      • Proton Compulsive Liar on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:38 am

Typical Proton. It has always been lies with Proton, since its inception. From 1985, they said all other car prices have gone up because of Government tax on all cars. But we all know, all other car prices went up to protect Proton.

Then Proton lies about all their grants and Government help they get. It all runs into billion per annum, all our money which can be chanelled to better use.

Then Proton lies about their sales. Their CEO say all their cars, especially Iriz got super long waiting list. We know it is pure lies.

Then Proton says its under DRB Hicom and it never receives a sen from Gomen. We know better. Infact, Ministers are annoucing new launches instead of Proton CEO.

So many lies. Many more. Too long to list here. The company is a compulsive liar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
        • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:48 am

How many people bought this car because of that, can they sue or is Proton going to give them compensation??

It is only right Proton pay them compensation like how VW is doing so or planning to do so

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:27 pm

That’s a good question. How many people bought a Proton because of the rear top tether?

Anyone who evaluates Proton cars for child seat use will know easily that:

– The Saga doesn’t come with Isofix points, and now they don’t come with top tether points either
            – The Exora has neither Isofix nor regular tethering points although it’s supposed to be a family MPV
            – The Preve, Suprima, Inspira and Iriz have Isofix and tethering points in one form or another, and all of them have stability control except for the Inspira

These are not difficult homework to do before buying a car. Can you sue a car dealer for features you “thought” the car had when you bought it?

Nissan Sylphy has excellent safety features such as 6 airbags as standard; ABS, EBD, VSC.. the whole deal. But, of all things, it only has top tether points and no Isofix points.

Perodua Alza has tethering points but it only has two airbags, no stability control, and minimal safety features although it’s supposed to be a family MPV.

Until and unless our country’s regulation spells out what items must be mandatory on all cars, just like third brake lights, manufacturers will continue including and excluding features as they see fit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
          • kancheong on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:20 pm

i agree. we have enforcement issues in the country. im wondering why we type in lengths abt safety when we cant even be bothered abt basic safety like, buckle up when we are seated behind,.
            Proton has admitted, and has provided a solution. so let us move on.

• amende lahanat on Oct 21, 2015 at 3:15 am

Everyone does it. Even GM, which is the worst car company in the world which their car kept on failing, kept on killing their users, and US govt doesnt even make a single moves against them. Keep your cock inside and start using your brain

• Proton Lies About Everything on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:38 am

They had no choice. they kena kantoi. So now, admit and do damage control. How long can we Malaysians suffer with the lies Proton tells people?

Even Service Centre, many times people send, SC say change oil, but when go home, car still has minyak hitam in engine. Proton even give empty container to prove they had changed oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • this is horrendous! Proton’s lie can kill children since most parent based their purchased on the rating given by ASEAN NCAP for the childseat’s safety with a Top Tether. this is way bigger scandal compared to VW’s dieselgate which only effect higher emmision while the vehicle safety are still top notch! (anyway, VW issues does not effect Msian, they dont hv diesel car selling in bolehland & what do Msian authorities care abt emmission wt our way dirtier EURO2M gasoline & diesels). in a nutshell, Proton’s lie can kill ppl (childseat go flying out of the car without top thether!) while VW’s lie dont.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Ooi brader, tak suka keluar lah. Jangan bising banyak. Saga dan Preve boleh racing kat Kesas dan menang. Memang selamat. Aku yakin denagan proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
          • Joker on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:09 am

Cant against the fact then ask ppl to keluar. You should have take my name over, it’s more suitable to you. Thank god, last time did not name my puppy as john. XD

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:21 pm

LOL.. child seat go flying out of the car. Dude, have you bought a child seat and fastened it to a car before? There are child seats with and without top tether. Have you used both?

Plus.. how many Malaysians actually even bother using child seats? Even the adults don’t use seat belts most of the time.

Maybe it’s Malaysians’ own lackadaisical attitude that made the Proton corner-cutters say “screw it, let’s retain these features for export models but remove them for domestic models since it’s a waste to put them in anyway”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • Remy Chan on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Those people who condemned proton dont even owned one. We, the proton ownerd dont mind at all, afterall proton wants to fixed them for free, so what. Those people who only good at criticising, can go home fly kite…!

• Lance on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:46 am

Remember their first letter? On that letter they clearly trying to hide. Now they knew they can’t escape this time and have to admit. By the way, they removed the tether and claimed Asean NCAP safety is already a BIG LIE.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:15 pm

To get 3 star rating, they made a number of modifications, not just include a child tether point.

If the child tether point alone can jack up the safety rating from one star to three stars, then all cars might as well add a bunch of these and get 6 or 7 star safety rating.

If you wanna bash, at least use some common sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Lance on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:31 pm

You don’t need common sense here, just fact. The point here is Proton received the NCAP rating with the tether as one of the consideration. Asean NCAP clearly stated without it, they will withdraw the rating. The point here is about LIE. Blatant LIE.

• Lance on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Asean NCAP reaffirmed that to achieve the rating it must include tether as tested. Proton claimed and publish the rating and removed that item. This is a clear and blatant lie. YOU DON’T NEED COMMON SENSE, JUST FACT.

• Cheating is cheating. If not discovered, will just keep quiet. What else not revealed? Any bolts and nuts missing or lesser spot weld points?

• josiah on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:42 pm

that’s why vw keep bashed by people in malaysia even vw car in malaysia didnt used diesel and didn’t affected by any issues.

• Joker on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:58 am

It’s seem that your proton is the bigger liar but not vw. VW cheat on emission which doesn’t cost anybody life but this proton will probably kill someone if this issue didn’t uncover it, I think proton will continue lying.

• Disagree on Oct 23, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Well, it’s good that Proton admit the mistakes they made but no point if they doesnt improve.
        Just like my alternative proton car is problematic! I have give it to my son, frustrated while driving it. Satisfied my vw the most. thumb up

• kzm (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:00 am

at least they admit that they wrong rite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
      • Malunyer on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:08 am

Hahaha so sad to you Proton fanboys. Eat humble pie.

Sudah kantoi big time. Muah ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:29 am

kzm is like john, they cannot see the hand that steals from them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Like vw did not admit the wrong but other still claim that they lie. So yeah, proton big time liar

• Disappointed on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Just saga? My inspira also no top tether but lancer have. I’m such a fool for buying Proton.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:06 am

kudos to pipu who report this irregularity..how bout those other pipu? don’t they know that top tether is missing? 1 thing for sure, they (family guy) don’t use child seat for their children that’s why they don’t know..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:26 am

Anda beli Saga ingatkan 3 star rating, tapi sekarang, nampaknya, kereta anda 1 star sahaja. Macam ini, kereta Saga ini macam Keranda Bergerak dan amat bahaya.

Anda kena kelentong dan tipu. Tapi jangan bimbang, sekarang anda akan kata, kena tipu tak ada hal, walauapa pun, kita mesti bercukur negara masih aman dan selamat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
        • farghmee on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:05 am

Is CoP contribute to the no. Of stars?

• Cannot Sue in Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:12 am

In overseas, people can sue the car manufacturer. But in Malaysia, we cannot sue Proton. the courts will throw out the case on the spot.

The poor defendant who bought the Proton infact got to pay cost to the court amounting few thousands.

• Shameful Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:16 am

Proton is a disgrace. We have lost billions in investment and hundreds of thousands of jobs from car companies that set up in Thailand instead of Malaysia.

In total, we have lost hundreds of thousands of billions to Thailand cause of Proton.

And now Proton come out to admit this?? It is more shameful than VW because, unlike VW, Malaysians have all suffered for 30 years paying high car prices because of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:14 pm

“Hundreds of thousands of billions” LOL.. That means we have lost more than the entire economy of the world combined.

And again, what makes you think that without Proton, car prices will be cheaper? You don’t really know how the economy works, do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:39 am

This is very normal. If people can steal Rm2.6 billion and get away with it scott free, it shows to you that all forms of stealing and cheating are tolerated and has become very normal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Otak Keldai on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:34 am

Just few months ago got VW scandal. Proton laugh at them. Now, Proton also got scandal.

Actually, Proton got so many scandals yet to be uncovered.

• Perodua also got scandal u never knew bcos they covered very well. Malaysian suka tipu

• camtakpro on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:36 pm

That 6 airbag Iriz might be just .6 airbag Iriz.

Proton VSC might be just a feature meant Very Solid Car due to high tensile strength steel used.

And ABS might be just normal Proton issue: Automatic Breaking System.

• Anonymous on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Was P1 incompetent?… or simply taking people for a ride. N DrM complains about people’s preception of P1? U have clowns running ur show.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
    • Insider on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Is the top tether the only thing that was removed in the name of cost saving?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
      • they said not removed..but overlooked..
        I hope no screws were overlooked :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
        • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:40 am

This is like saying RM2.6 billion is donation….

• tokmoh. on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:51 pm

If they tell you it is, do you want to believe this liar?

Volvo of Asia my ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:01 pm

No big deal… fix later brand new no problem… Small matter not like Volkswagen bigger liar… Proton still asia volvo and bmw no problem back focus to haze… Ministers comfirm Proton safe as Volvo in Malaysia !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • Proton Lies About Vendors on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:36 am

Proton still lies about their low quality vendors who are mainly cronies of their mentor.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

Until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, only then the quality go up.

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton benefitting thier buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Joker on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:28 am

I think between VW and Proton. Proton is a real liar compared to vw. Proton build low quality car and now even Ncap rated it such low start in safety features but VW vehicle is still solid. Emission wont kill people but top tether would.

• Perodua is big liar, u can see the accident at Juru tol recently

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
        • Ur ass bad smell and decay. ASEAN NCAP only for wayang like Sam L0rr said. Saga, Axia, Myvi, Vios get 4 stars and below are considered to rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Dah kantoi, buat cara dah kantoi la. Apa may bising vios, axia?

Have you not learnt a management lesson?

“When you’re in deep dung, keep your mouth shut!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:42 am

They lie and then they tell Malaysians it is the Volvo and BMW of Asia. They say quality better than BMW

• Finally we know who.
    Thanks to ASEAN NCAP for bringing this issue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:18 am

So what small matter only… This item seldom use don’t cause an issue… But now bigger issue Proton hates ASEAN NCAP !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • ASEAN NCAP Boss for president

• Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:46 am

At first Proton did not deny nor admit. But now, the heat is too much, they got to admit. Such a liar company. What else have they lied? When you lie about something, there are 9 other lies buried and waiting to come out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Say something on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Boo you Proton. Boo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 16
    • Asian Volvo on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:26 am

Proton fanboys tak kerja overtime kah? Defend your master now! Ha ha ha!

• amende lahanat on Oct 21, 2015 at 3:06 am

x ot la, isu kecil mcm ni cme org bodo mcm ko je amek peduli

• Try to use proton and fetch your children :D rmb to slam hard on your brake

• loudnessjr on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:20 pm

I’m waiting that mamak kutty to defend
    this disgusting act…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:47 am

But he claim Proton is so great and we Malaysians never give it a chance. What other lies Proton?

• loudnessjr osem on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:23 pm

I’m waiting that mamak kutty to defend this disgusting act…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • I wonder whether the 10 safety enhancements were also accidently omitted in the cars sold to customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • someone at proton should get fired for this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Idris karan on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:01 pm

They’ll blame the janitor for misplacing the keys to the top tether storeroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:48 am

nobody will tke responsibility. Typical Malaysian company. Suck money they know.

• kencing kuat proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Peter on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Just ‘sorry’ & ‘come… uncle fix it for u’ !? No penalty!? No investigation? Hey, they are committing fraud, this’s a crime!
    Can VW say oops I-forget-upd-my-software in their emission test scandal? How VW hopes they’re from M’sia to get away from crime easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:42 am

Yes, Uncle fix for you, but you need to take time off or annual leave from your work to go to their workshop to fix it.

• Joker on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:54 am

Why not since it’s free??? Only stupid like you will telling these kind of nonsense.

• Unknown on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:37 pm

So someone at P1 obviously thought removing ABS was not enough to save costs, they removed the top tether too! Stupid idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • azhar on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Apa daaaaa…dah remove nape masih promo ianya wujud?…kelirukan pembeli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Tamansari on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Got that someone hor always kutuk toyota and vw. Now turns our his fave is the most low and dirty of all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Kutuk Volvo is the most topkek.

While Volvo is busy scoring aces for nearly all crash tests worldwide, this Volvo of Asia is caught pants down lying about their cars’ safety. Best of all, nobody’s gonna resign, crony business as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • tokmoh. on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Kan dah kata. Orang tanya yes or no, ko jawab we always ensure standard la, we were never informed la, ni la, tu la… putar lagi Halim, wang besar, wang besar

Volvo of Asia, apa ni? Safety bukan budaya kita? Menipu rakyat budaya kita?

VW kantoi tipu emission, CEO resign terus.

Proton kantoi buang safety, business as usual la kan?

So now betul ke Proton HPF lagi kuat dari besi boron Volvo? Masih lagi ke nak berlagak ko leader of safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
    • amende lahanat on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:00 am

Bodo ape ko ni. Die x resign terus. Kantoi 2014, die buat rilek je. Bile US nak saman billion dollar baru Ceo resign. Nampak pelik x? Tu nmenye damage control. Kalo dah bodo, x pyh bodohkn orng lain. Sng2 je org tau ko bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • amende lahanat on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:01 am

bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • zakir on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Kena tangkap basah.!! Kantoi !!
    This is what P1 is known for.
    Cheating for 30 years and planning
    to cheat for another 30 !!
    Should sue the pants off P1 as
    It has let profits blind them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • It is like you get caught for shoplifting, then you just give back the item and they let you walk away like nothing happened!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:37 am

Which is actually a possibility in Malaysia…. caught for shoplifting [along with a small sum of RM70k worth of property damage] and all you have to do is apologize and you can head off scot-free (apply to certain peopls only).

Everything is possible in Bolehland.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:50 am

Better yet.

Caught for shoplifting then claim it was a “gift”.

No need to return at all as, you already eaten what you took.

• Nik Wan on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:57 pm

This company has no reason to exist.. Tutup jer la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • Yes, when everybody believes in something, it will happen. Everyone wish Proton tutup, sooner or later it will happen :D
      Just like money is actually just a piece of paper or numbers in a computer but everybody believe it has value, so it has.

• sepul on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:10 pm

With top tether or not, majority of people still don’t use child seat for their children/toddlers when they go out on the road. Not even adults use the seat belts especially at the back, for that matter.

Proton’s act on this is questionable, but as consumers we should be more proactive to ensure safety. If such fitment is provided/installed, then use it properly when needed. Otherwise find other suitable workaround.

Glad I never bought the Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Titanium on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:18 pm

“The statement further clarifies that the top tethers were among more than 10 safety enhancements that were added to the Saga in order to obtain a three-star rating.” This is the crux of the matter. They removed a feature that helped them gain the rating. Knowingly. There was absolutely no reason for them to remove it except to simply cut corners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Well, they cheated to ASEANCAP for this matter, but they do not really lie to the consumer because they do not offer top-tether when people buy it. However, buyers refer to ASEANCAP and ASEANCAP tested the car with the tether installed. When Proton varying the Saga and they removed the top tether mounting in that variant, people are confused because they weren’t told about it(the tether is n/a). So basically, the buyers are cheated too.

That is my understanding…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • confius mann on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Top tether ni takde, terus kene boo proton. Another model yg fully equip with safety, pun kene boo jgak proton ni. Just a simple quest, before this issue arise, kite taw n gune ke top tether ni hari2? Ohhh, confius….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 36
    • Titanium on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:35 am

Its a question of integrity la bro. Human lives at stake yet the manufacturer chooses to cut corners quietly even though safety ratings were given with the said tether in place.

• sepul on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:53 am

Itu masalah Proton dan biar mereka bertanggungjawab dalam isu safety equipment dan integriti mereka. Yang lebih utama, kita sebagai pengguna kena lebih peka dgn keselamatan sendiri. Pakai Volvo pun kalau safety mindset rendah tak guna kereta ada 12 airbag sekalipun. Kita demand kereta ada safety tapi bila dah provide komplen harga mahal la, tak reliable la, takde kualiti la, pastu bukan guna fungsi tu pun.

Dua2 pun masalah jugak, Proton buang top tether pastu market 3 star ASEAN NCAP, pengguna pun tertipu sebab tak cukup ilmu dan kesedaran pasal safety dan fungsi benda tu.

Jadilah pengguna yang cukup ilmu dan bijak.

• George Abdul on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:03 am

Use or never use consider different matter… IF you “LIE” once shame on you, IF you lie more them 30 years shame on whole organisation or company !!! Bolehland cronies culture to lie???

• Itu sbb org Malaysia mata kecil yg hy beri tumpuan kpd tahi lalat je.

• Scarface on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:16 am

That’s the point! They are targeting consumers like you…..ignorant about latest safety features and equipments. Hey, the world has changed, advanced, developed and new discovery every single minute, if not second. If you live like a ‘katak dalam tempurung’, you either a risk taker or simply care less about your life or others. Human learn from mistakes. You can learn from a real or simulated accident. A responsible person (it takes a human to lead and decide) will take proactive action to minimize or prevent those disastrous events from happening. Dude…we moving towards autonomous driving in the very near future. Yes, it’s already happening and in existence. If all vehicles on the road are equivalently equipped, there could be zero human mistakes on the road. The only human mistake could be omission or failure on certain safety features.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:19 am

A mistake is a mistake and in the end you are accountable for it plus it shows how incompetent (or they were lying to keep costs down?) they are for omitting such a crucial safety aspect of the car. The kids are the nation’s future leaders and Proton wants to kill them. Never owned a Proton before and will continue to not want one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Seancock on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:26 am

” never own a proton before and continue not to own”. Are yoy so proud with your second hand f30 that is RM 100k cheaper but still take 90% with 9 years loan?

• Biasalah..
    You want cheap car? We cut cost for you.
    you dont know? we also keep quiet.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:43 am

I already suspected from day one.

First thing’s first; Proton, you guys messed up badly and rendered all your ASEAN NCAP achievements invalid. Fewer people are going to trust Proton’s safety ratings. Now owners will think “What if my car doesn’t have airbag(s), ESC etc.”. The uneasiness and uncertainty will not go away for a few years, until most of us have forgotten about this regrettable fiasco (but many won’t). Whether or not this news will affect Proton’s sales, that remains to be seen.

Proton, you have given a HUGE playing card to all anti-Proton Malaysians and media like MalaysiaKini and Malaysia Chronicle. They will forever bring up this fiasco in future debates about whether or not Proton has actually improved and if they really deserve Malaysian support, whether morally or monetarily.

Secondly, ASEAN NCAP should continue to investigate Proton’s other models, and other manufacturers to ensure that they’ve kept to their ‘promises’. That is your job, ASEAN NCAP, do not wait for consumers to complain of omissions, you guys should take the initiative.

I commend ASEAN NCAP for openly acknowledging the company and model involved, and not trying to cover it up like the last time (when the Saga scored 1-star). Still, I am not pleased with how ASEAN NCAP has handled this situation, and there is much room for improvement.

Thirdly, despite the hopelessness of it all, I’m still happy to see that Proton is offering free installations for the top tether for the affected units. The damage has been done, but at least Proton reacted professionally. I believe the omission of the top tether was not even acknowledged by the top management… but whatever the case may be, most people will not care or empathise, and the blame will fall squarely on Proton as a whole.

And lastly, as a strong (but not blind) supporter of Proton, I just want to say I’m deeply disappointed with how Proton had ALREADY broken their promise of safety, barely 2 years since its inception. Even though the Saga is not a 5-star safety rated model (as it’s old and launched before Proton’s promise of safety), the least Proton could have done was to maintain the current safety specs, and not reduce it. Just a few months back, the Saga Plus was launched without ABS, and I felt disappointed then as well. It’s true that the Saga is a cheap car, and most of their market audience do not understand or appreciate automotive safety tech like ABS or even seat belts, but that shouldn’t be an excuse to reduce safety kit, especially when they have become cheaper to produce with each passing year.

Also, I bet not even 1% of Saga owners ever used the top tether, and the top tether itself is not exactly as expensive to produce as ABS or airbags… yet look at the consequences now. Is it worth it ? I hope Proton learns and will not forget this mistake. They cannot keep doing this, year after year, for 30 years. It’s ok if Proton makes a mistake, we all do, we’re not perfect… but repeating the same mistakes over and over again is unacceptable and inexcusable.

This is a very dark day in Proton’s recent history, but Proton has been through worse. I hope something good will come out of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Tejano star on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:08 am

Bagus. From now on if some fanboy boasts about protons safety ratings we will say “are u suuuuure it has airbags and ABS..? Are u really really suuuure?”

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Yeah, sad day indeed. Whenever the word “Proton” comes up, now there’ll be more brainless comments such as these..

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:46 am

Why fuss about top tether when even miros now use leg support child seat not top tether for new asean ncap tests. Put matters at the right perspective.
      Regulations keeps changing every year.
      Low income People want cheaper & safe cars. Exclusive child seat with top tether so expensive for Saga level owners.
      Drivers hv other alternative restraint options to still meet the safety expectation for the child.
      The issue is to educate & to learn then the people can be convincing & wise enough to know their level of safety & affordability.

• the problem is if you cannot afford to put in the top tether, don’t put in for testing to get higher score. we are completely ok with that.
        by sending a sample with the device for testing and mass production without it is cheating.

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:35 am

In 2013 proton use top tether & miros also use top tether child seat.
          In 2015 miros use non top tether child seat but with leg support, then expected result should be the same on saga without top tether.
          Maybe some people missed 1 thing from over 5000 components per car, human error nobodys perfect, but as long as they admit & commited to improve for the better, thats the positive move.

• In manufacturing, you product the same product that you sent for certification especially for sensitive industry like automotive. You are talking about safety feature, not cup holder, not teh tarik hook.
            There were caught with their pants down, of course they have to admit.
            And we are talking about Proton here, a company that is not new in this type of problem like how they remove the rear disc brake quietly in their previous models.

• In manufacturing, you product the same product that you sent for certification especially for sensitive industry like automotive. You are talking about safety feature, not cup holder, not teh tarik hook.
            There were caught with their pants down, of course they have to admit.
            And we are talking about Proton here, a company that is not new in this type of problem like how they remove the rear disc brake quietly in their previous models.

• farghmee on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:18 am

Sy sokong ape yg bro ckp.
        Kpd yg kuat komplen, cube carik kt market my ni, mana model car seat yg pakai top tether?
        Rata2 pakai 3point seatbelt jek.
        Yg ada isofix pn mahal gile. Tambah pulak vertical stand tu.
        Ke korang xbli child/baby carseat? Aku bli.

Proton dh admitted n dia offer rectification. Fair enough.

Lg1, proton kena letak VDC dlm exora plg murah. Safety maa.

• kazanixm on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:54 am

the most sensible critic i have ever read here in Paultan.

peoples like you should critic more car manufacturers so that they can improve more

• tokmoh. on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:58 am

Penny wise, pound foolish Proton.

It’s not really about people will use top tether or not, it’s about INTEGRITY.

If a cheap hook also they wanna cut cost, can you have peace of mind other costlier parts are really in your car?

So Proton tell Iriz all come standard with ESC, u wanna believe this liar?

They say their HPF steel is stronger than Volvo’s boron steel, u wanna believe this liar?

What if they only HPF the cars sent for crash test, the normal ones they don’t to cut cost?

But of course the crony management thinks it’s worth saving a few sen. Integrity means nothing to these scum liars and thieves. They can always conveniently blame us for not being patriotic.

In the end, they keep their overpaid salaries and bonuses, while their unfortunate customers are gullible suckers taken for a ride in their Volvo of Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • farghmee on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:22 am

U have proof saying otherwise?

This isnt tokmoh that I used to know.

Many documented accidents involving preve (uses hpf) show intact a-b-c pillars upon collision.

• Tejano star on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:41 am

We have proof of a lie here. Thats the key point. What else can they be lying about?

• tokmoh. on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:49 am

I am questioning their integrity, read more carefully and slowly, and think deeper what I am trying to convey.

So yes a few Preve here and there showed good protection. Is it for every single Preve, without the slightest of doubt?

Without the slightest of doubt?

With full faith every single one was assembled exactly to the specified requirements?

With full faith not the slightest attempt to cut corner?

HPF is expensive. ESC is expensive. Top tether hook is cheap.

They shamelessly removed the cheap component to cut cost, not even apologizing for it. What odd the more expensive component is kept intact?

What kinda assurance can this liar give?

Maybe there’s something your sharingan eye sees than I don’t see.

I certainly don’t see integrity in Proton, and that’s all the assurance I need that whatever Proton says cannot be trusted.

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Is it easy to switch hpf on a kanban manufacturing assembly sequence for the main body parts? I Dont think your theory applies, conflicting if u understand mass industry.
            I’m sure Proton practice high integrity, The saga top tether is just a human error which they admit to improve, but the bashers attack with theories base on dreams and emotions and irresponsibly applies to other models.

• farghmee on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Why proton removed that top tether?

Without that tether, how many stars saga can earn?

• nekmoh on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:07 am

why target proton only? must also check all manufacturer la.

• Stupid comment of the year

• You still love, support your girlfriend even after she’s been cheating on you countless times?? Har har har har!

You better support TATA the proud owner of Jaguar Land Rover.

• Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:19 pm

What is worse in Proton’s history? History of making moving caskets. So what will make you not support Proton? I can show you statistics that show 20,000 Malaysians have been killed by Proton vehicles since its inception; you still wanna support? Money sucked out of economy, failure to produce, what else you want? APA LAGI LU MAU?

• Actually 200,000 Malaysian have been killed by Perodua vehicles since it setup the rubbish company.

• Hope lost on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:46 am

Spin spin spin! One moment come out with press statement saying all is well. Now this.

• clair on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:02 am

typical low mentality of Malaysian. because of one fault, all of you want the company close. Did anyone think about other effect? Penting diri dan bangga diri dalam diri sebab makan makanan kotor banyak sangat. Hati busuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • who is that one fault? someone remove the top tether without the management knowing?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:09 am

Care to share what bad things will happen if Proton close shop?

Unless you are one of the employees, I really can’t think of any?

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:13 am

Think economic chain reaction to non-proton related businesses…computer/handphone salesman, house developer, school teacher stationary supplier…

• Tejano star on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:41 am

What effect should we worry about?

• daily on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:03 am

so, any of u use this feature?
    or even know its existence? or function?

i dont.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:16 am

Whoever made the decision to omit it should be fired and Proton should be slapped with a lawsuit to make them remember

• “MISTAKANELY” are you serious????? this is a joke of day. its all about cost cutting and getting more commission for their Bosses only. maybe supplier refused to pay them commission and they did this. KARMA is getting them. bunch of wannabes.

• Henry on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:30 am

Please don’t do that. It is a dangerous move just to save a few Ringgit.

• Where can like that ? Semua pun u cakap. P1 win lor. What if accidents happen and lives of occupants got affected? Can claim compensation or not.

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:14 am

Child seat with top tether RM1399 only. Very cheap affordable for Saga owners to utilize top tether at backseat.

• 360principal on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:24 am

Why fuss about top tether when even miros now use leg support child seat not top tether for new asean ncap tests. Put matters at the right perspective.

• chikubi on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:14 am

Saga = low yat product

• rosdi on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:37 am

Bodoh punya Proton. Those responsible for this should commit harakiri, or resign, or demoted. As long as the tak apa culture prevails Proton will always be like this.

• hw come things like this can happened??? so bad.. so sad..

• Leonardo on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:53 am

All car makers make cost reduction on components from time to time. But you must know which component to make cost savings on. Never, never touch SAFETY COMPONENTS/ITEMS!

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:59 am

That is mighty low of Proton to have done that. I had a nagging suspicion it was Proton from how they worded the original press statement.

Oversight my foot. Can they also forgot a few screws or airbags?

Proton is an ISO Certified company, there will be a document trail if there was a willful omission like this. There will be some signatories from up top to allow this change. In fact, in light of this, SIRIM should do a full re-audit Proton’s processes.

Waiting for a statement from Tun Mamak. Volvo of Asia. Riiiiiiiiight.

• Proton an ISO certified? Hallow .. where did you get this?

First of all, automotive industry uses TS certification, not ISO. Many auto company inclu Perodua are TS certified but Proton is not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Inspira Owner on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:16 am

I had my Inspira V-belt ordered more than 3 months ago due to their Inspira recall exercise, till today the parts still not arrive. They kept saying too many recall cars involved, part production could not cope up.

Wonder how long the waiting period this fitting to get installed for all the saga on road based on the ratio between saga and inspira.

5 years? Proton?

• Smart guys buy original on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:21 am

Maybe you can try get it from Mitsubishi service centre? Heheheh

• Ivan Ng on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:27 am

How many of you actually use the top tether, or child seats in the Saga. I understand that everyone has a right to his/her opinions, but to blindly bash if you don’t use the tether or even own the Saga is just not right.

I bought a 2013 Sage FLX and was told that the item was not part of my batch of cars, which is fine as I have the adapters form the child seats that I bought. I installed it and use it with no harm as this is common practice overseas.

My only question is where else did Proton cut cost from there on? If they have admitted to removing the top tether and have agreed to install one for me, then that’s fine but I will pursue this matter to find out more before blindly running my keyboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Tejano star on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:43 am

Check under the hood for more surprises.

• Cukup makan on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:20 am

Proton Saga profit per unit is only RM500. Revealed by the previous Chairman himself.

• Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Good logic. Just remove the air filter la never see also air still go inside engine ma. Remove abs la, never accident ma. Remove seatbelt la, my daddy sit in car never use ma. Remove radiator la just air cooling enough ma. Stoopid

• Big boss Sam on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Work harder and buy Toyota. You are risking your family by driving a milo tin coffin car. Please buy Toyota if you value your life.

• Sayang Proton Cinta Proton on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:37 am

Potong Saga is back!! Potong Potong Potong!

• Proton same quality as volvo and bmw? Phui. Same quality as bmx maybe.
    Why need owners to call? Why can’t proton call the short changed customers directly?

• Saldan on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:34 pm

How come those red shirts don’t protest proton for cheating practices??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • SV Plus on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:46 pm

The New Saga Plus do not have ABS and EBD also! How can that be happened? ABS is a must have in all cars!

• Contender on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Well now how do we trust Proton so called 5 star rating for Preve etc ? Since NCAP test Proton Saga give a better car improved from 1 star to 3 star. Does this mean test car for NCAP test is like the export quality with better equipped and strengthen bodies ? While the Malaysian production is the tin kosong ????

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:54 pm

I agree that Proton has done a mistake but at least they admit it! Why do Proton bashers like to bash kaw kaw on Proton for a small problem.Remember Takata Airbags problem??

• dsg rocks on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Proton ceo tak resign? Kulit very tebal.

• consumer on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Well, at least proton admit the issue. Who can live without mistake. The most important is never repeat it again. And the risk accessment has been done. Hopefully the service center not giving any kind of excuses to fix this.

• waters on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:49 pm

tethergate?

• Veskar on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:10 pm

I think, the bigger issue here is with regard to what Proton had actually “mistakenly omitted” in the fitting of its other makes, i.e. Iriz, Suprima, Preve etc.

What about the VSC, ABS and all? Did Proton “mistakenly omitted” including such security features after NCAP testing?

What makes this more of a scandal (or bad faith) on Proton’s part is the fact that the tether was removed AFTER the NCAP testing.

There must be some chain of documents somewhere instructing the tether to be removed. If u submit design specifications for testing with NCAP, why deviate from the plan?

• neckotynne on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:19 pm

I’m thinking what about takara airbag issues last few months from the Japanese cars…? Is it any different? All those brands called up their car owners to replace the airbag… It’s about the people life too right…? Proton take the same action as what the Japanese brands did…? So, what’s the different…?
    Well well… When it comes to Proton, some people will have “a syndrome of bashing” even the other brands also made mistakes… It starts with the same “old song” points, from the tax issues to save Proton, power windows (very old story repeated all times), dashboard issues (same very old story), bla…bla…whatsoever…
    Hehehehehe…! Kipidap!

• Veskar on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Actually, for Takara, the Jap manufacturers did’nt know any better. Takara was truly unethical when it installed the faulty airbags. Same goes for VW.

Proton on the other hand, “mistakenly omitted”. Pure negligence or worse, incompetency there. If they did it on purpose, then they are on the same level as VW and Takara

• Scarface on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Takata airbag issue is a product defect from a supplier. The defect is only known after exposed to wear and tear added with careful post mortem from an accident that causes death. However, Proton tether is astonishingly ‘mistakenly omitted’. A purchaser may notice it if meticulously ticking the checklist during delivery. There is no way to simulate an airbag deployment. Purchasers are upset thinking that they have bought a car with consideration given on NCAP safety ratings. These buyers probably have budget within this range. Imagine if you took delivery of a car with stability control with may give it a 5 star rating but it doesn’t work at the crucial moment that you needed it. The manufacturer came forward and tell you, “the software was mistakenly omitted”. How would you feel? Hopefully you are still alive to sue them for breach in sales by description under Sales of Goods Act.

• peace on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Whether it is a lie or not, at least there are no fatality caused by this. We, the Malaysia shall think positively and avoid blind assumption?

• Ootai on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:36 pm

TS Mokhtar/Tun M should sack the bugger who bring shame to the co. No step forward, but thousand steps rolling in the deep.

• sharuzzaman on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Where can I read the the original statement?

• bukapintubayartol on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:45 pm

i didn’t understand what a top-tether anchor was until i saw this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evb6BmaqmyQ

• hazrim on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:47 pm

saga flx gune petrol 97 peehhh lajuu…

• hazrim on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:48 pm

saga flx isi petrol 97 peehhh lajuuuuu

• Remy Chan on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Those people who condemned proton dont even owned one. We, the proton owners dont mind at all, afterall proton wants to fixed them for free, so what. Those people who only good at criticising, can go home fly kite…!

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:30 pm

To the bangangs comparing Takata with this issue, how is it the same? One issue is faulty part, the other issue is the item not even being installed in the first place. It would be the same thing if Toyota for example omitted the driver’s side airbag altogether. This is like saying the airbag is there but did not install it at all.

Whether people use it or not, if it is included in the spec list then it must be there. Just because there are uneducated people who do not care and do not bother to use it, it doesn’t that every single Malaysian out there is just like that. Keep in mind that this issue crop up because there have been Malaysians looking for this spec as mentioned in the spec list. Please don’t think just because this is a Saga, only poor uneducated people buy it.

• Portupagalhee on Oct 21, 2015 at 2:59 pm

The main point he told there is that Proton has taken action to solve it bro… As what other brands did in other cases… Aiiyooo bro… When I read his comment, I think I can understand what he’s trying to say there…! Don’t simply2 “bangang” a person if u r the one who don’t understand the point there… It’s like u r saying u r bangang too because u don’t know how to read the main point there… Sekolah mana dey…?

• Anything other omissions PROTON?
    Maybe other reinforcement elements?

It is hard to accept your “omission statement” as your purchase orders should be based what you specified, or maybe the tether is not within your specifications and the tether is fitted just to get higher safety marks which makes a lot of ppl suspicious about the integrity of your cars! the integrity of that “Lulus” badge! or the integrity of the engineers, mgts in Proton!

• MentalKAR on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Mengaku salah satu perkara.
    Membetulkan yang salah satu perkara.
    Sepanjang SAGA hidup kat jalan raya KITA ada dengar ker BAYI mati terpelanting keluar sebab tak da teter ini?