Toyota Malaysia teases #ViosPulseOfAction stunt video – watch a Vios quartet go very, very sideways

Toyota Malaysia has uploaded three teaser videos onto its official website, previewing an upcoming local stunt driving video, accompanied by the hashtag #ViosPulseOfAction. Let’s just say that what you’re about to see certainly involves tyres being tortured and loads of precision driving.

As the name aptly suggests, the Toyota Vios is the star in the videos. Four of them, to be exact, as they charge their way through the streets, probably to demonstrate the sporty appeal the Vios is claimed to provide.

The Vios quartet is even associated with four base jumpers as they overlook the city of Kuala Lumpur – certainly another statement that this will get your pulse racing.

The three short clips – ‘Narrow Road Here’, ‘Wheelspin Zone’, and ‘Strong Winds Ahead’ all end with phrase “Catch the Vios in action,” along with a date, November 1, 2015.

So, what do you think Toyota Malaysia has in store for us? Could it be something like the amazing BMW The Epic Driftmob video? We’ll have to wait till November to find out more.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• My goodness, after Myvi “racers”. Now got Vios “racers”
    Promotion of seafoods?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng car on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:17 am

There’s no VSC & TC in this car, you sure you wanna take this car sideways. Also remember only 2 airbags can save you when you crash after you gone side ways

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
      • Tyre almost fly out on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:38 am

Hahahahahahah the back tyre almost fly out in the second video! Even UMW Toyota’s marketing team fails, how to give consumers confidence in your products

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
        • No tyre marks on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:48 am

Wah what tyre brand Vios use, no tyre marks left on the roads after drifting in the first video. Very good for the environment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • karam singh on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Vios has high body roll,
          Higher tendency to roll over.
          2days ago there’s a Vios had an accident in Klebang Roundabout,Melaka.
          Also because there is no Stability control and easy to roll over.

Why buy Vios?
          Safety/FC/Practicality goes to Honda City,
          Cheapness+practicality goes to Almera
          Vios only won because of the ‘sportyness’ kits. ;P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • linear_system on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm

yup exactly at 00:10 2nd clip..hahaha

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:31 am

Yes, our Vios doesn’t have VSC. Thus it is capable for such stunt driving. We never cheat you like VW or Proton. You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 84
      • Samelordupe on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Since when p1 cheats?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Since when p1 didn’t cheat? Where is the hybrid to be launched in 2012? Where is the euro 5 compliant Iriz to be tested and sold in Europe? Where is the promise on quality assurance? Where is the glocal small car (Kepong is the world for Proton)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
          • LeJohn on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Maybe you should learn to shut up, the fact that there is a lack of safety equipment says it all. For you, even if the car come without seat belts you still will defend Toyota. And yes, my father rolled his old Camry and it would have easily been avoided with mere VSC on the car. Toyota being one of the only few brands boasting about ABS where every other car brand just has it standard and market some other safety feature.

• Father on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Your father bad driver then loh.. Be careful the genes might carry over to you..

• karam singh on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Try do the stunt driving in the rain,
        see how its work out.
        U never cheat? really ?

• johnny on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:45 pm

without safety, its also cheat. no matter what stun driving or whatever. vw always gave their owner safety first. that’s the important part when you drive a car.

• vw owner on Oct 21, 2015 at 3:07 pm

you’re right. plus, vw car performance is good! i get what i pay for, satisfied with my car so much because it brings me problem-free. thumb up

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:05 am

It won’t be anywhere near BMW’s drift mob that’s for sure. U need RWD cars to properly execute pin point precision moves as in the BMW ad. Now if they could only do part 2 with the all new M2….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Sherlock on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:43 am

No sh!t Sherlock

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 19, 2015 at 5:39 pm

dei.. all here kakikereta fellas only, yes we know RWD FTW.. don’t have to lord your so called knowledge on the rest of us.

it’s like me saying, no point doing a basketball video with chinese fellas, we all know black people jump the highest. relax la bro, let the creative fellas do what they do, if jadi clap clap clap, tak jadi whattodo boo sama dia la..

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Agree with you @regretbuyinga, what that @seancorr talking about M2 lar M999 lar drift mob lar… who cares?

• NO ESC TC on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:06 am

Who still buys this over Honda City?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
    • Sam L0rrr on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:14 am

Toyota will gives you great discount to buy their old tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
    • We have to off ESC, TCS VSC… etc.
      if not, you cannot drift it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Drift?! One old question. Do you even know what is drift?

• dugongx on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:55 am

Get lost la toyota salesman!

• dugongx on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:56 am

Your rubbish tin kosong coffin camry 2.0 don;t even have VSc you think people stupid to believe you vios can have vsc?

• Inb4 massive traffic jams because some tard flipped his Vios trying to do this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • They pitifully tried to show Toyotas have passion but in reality it is a lifeless, souless, zombie shuffling mindlessly from point A to point B, while eating the brains of drivers through boredom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • vios power on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:26 am

siapa nampak 2nd video tire almost terkeluar from rim. ada hati nak drift ini kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • I think smua org nampak. Big fail of this video. Big fail of Toyota marketing dept. Hahah!

• baekkk on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:42 am

could almost imagine my nenek drifting her Vios to Giant^^

• FIST (Member) on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:47 am

After this, all the lala beng want to drift as well.

• while I understand such stunts are pure marketing gimmicks (we all know the Vios brand is pure B-segment soccer-mom or grocery category), such trailer would just encourage further dangerous driving by our uninformed youngsters who usually flock to buy such cars. Death on the roads are not a fun sight. Toyota has been skimping on safety features and getting away with it, and yet adding this kind of stunt video is truly unbelievable and irresponsible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • this is done with Toyota Vios’ highest spec, safety semua ada. Try doing it with their lower spec cars, by now you’ll be in the graveyard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Not True on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:12 pm

You’re wrong.. Toyota Vios highest spec still doesn’t have Vehicle Stability Control & Traction Control. The highest spec only adds Ah Beng’s TRD bodykit & stickers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • safety? on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Vios highest spec got what better safety compared to lower specs?

Same 2 airbags with ABS and no stability control

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

@XXX, hey brader, highest specs Vios also dun have VSC. In other words, any specs you will die.
      If you value the life of your family, please consider a car with VSC, at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • No difference. Highest spec and lowest spec have the same shitty safety standards. Just only got extra TRD stickers

• Even iriz better than this

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 19, 2015 at 11:49 am

Typical reckless Vios drivers

• You'rePrettyGood on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:01 pm

The only thing i want from toyota is for them to produce a baby 86, and at least half the price of the 86, with tuning friendly engine..

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:03 pm

One word.

DAFUQ. So so cringeworthy, and highlights what happens when you don’t have stability control!

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:13 pm

If you value the life of your family, please buy a car equipped with VSC over this lousy Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • neonchin on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Toyota. Please! Please Explain WHY THE FARK you want to do this video!?
    Same engine with family car vios, there’s bunch of cars out there with better handling also didn’t advertise their car in this way?

And that’s what we call reckless driving isn’t, despite I’m a huge fan of handbrake ( I shall admmit I’ve done it a few time)

So you’re trying to convince youngsters that vios with TRD bodykits are “Drfitable”, “faster”?
    Make no difference than mat modifier trying to convince themselves with cheapo exhaust and huge rear spoilers.

oh dear….stay away from vios TRD if you love your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:56 pm

UMWT is just ignoring the ‘elephant in the room’ that their cars are not safe enough. All these drifting gimmicks are just waste of marketing money.

• exactly my sentiments! Toyota has been skimping on safety features on their cars. It is very irresponsible to further promote dangerous driving! The last thing we need in our traffic congested roads are more jams due to accidents by reckless drivers in cars with little-to-none safety features. Darn you, Toyota!

• Wisdom on Oct 19, 2015 at 12:19 pm

I think the tyre did peeled off the rim, just at the point they cut the video and resume with rear end view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • dugongx on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Yes it did when they cut off the scene in that split second. Vios is a moving coffin not fit for these stunts. Toyota wants all those brainless buyers dead that is why they encourage ppl to drift in this junk coffin. Even saga has 10 times better handling.

• camtakpro on Oct 21, 2015 at 2:25 pm

The whole 3 videos are telling us about:
      1. computer movie effects can drift cars without tire marks.
      2. cheap stock tires are dangerous.
      3. girls in black.

• FFS, when will Traction Control and Electronic Stability Control be in place with all UWM Toyota vehicles? Maybe in year 2020?

• jobless on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:29 pm

prepare for more road carnages as ah bengs try tis on our world class roads and highways

• jobless on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:34 pm

can show us how to drift sideways to avoid toll plazas i sure buy

• Better we buy Nissam Almera 1.5E.
    1 airbag only for the driver.

this is enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:04 pm

@jeez, wah you really out of topic-lah. Then you better buy the kapcai. Cheap, Nice and Good.

• normal_user on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:25 pm

So is this is a publicity stunt to show that without VSC and TCS, the Vios can do such drifting stuff? When drifting, why do the 4 cars look more like CGI animated? (You can see the fast inconsistent frame rates, coupled with tyres that seems floating over the road surface)

Next time do real drifting with the rear wheel drive Avanza. Would love to see it turn turtle even before reaching the apex when cornering. Oh wait, its underpowered. dang.

• We have children, OKU, pregnant mother, school bus, ambulance, motorcyclist, postman, cyclist, pedestrian etc on the road. TOYOTA, please be considerate.

• Ulkamikup on Oct 19, 2015 at 6:42 pm

When the sales not so good..so, they come out with these videos. Heyy bodoh. U think people so stupid to buy this vios juz becoz of the ability to do sideways? HKC

• Ulkamikup on Oct 19, 2015 at 6:42 pm

When the sales not so good..so, they come out with these videos. Heyy bodoh. U think people so stupid to buy this vios juz becoz of the ability to do sideways? HKC

• If want to make a good video, the editing must be good also, at least hide the tire peeled off part la.

• choha on Oct 19, 2015 at 8:45 pm

these kind of demostrations are bad for kids….it will only cause more accidents

• paanjang16 on Oct 19, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Toyota is getting its priorities awfully wrong. People buy a B-segment sedan like a Vios for space, reliability, quality and safety. With so much money spend on such marketing and stunts, UMW (or Toyota HQ for that matter) could have added in stuff like VSC into the Vios instead.

In Japan, Toyota is a well respected brand that is well known not only for its quality and technology but for its safety as well.

Here in Malaysia, people will think you are crazy when you buy a Vios when you can buy a City, an Altis when HRV is a million times better or the utterly shameful Camry 2.0E & 2.0G which does not have VSC when Camrys all around the world has VSC.

Its sad to think that the Vios and Camry used to be the KING of the non-national segment last time.

• I can see the intention of Toyota to kill all the Vios owner.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:02 am

Noobs

• razzif on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:35 pm

since when vios is a FR car? drift?

• BOYRACER on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:03 pm

The most retard videos i have ever seen.Even can do this ‘drift’ with a Proton Iswara.

• front-wheel drive cars don’t “drift”.

• caffchew on Nov 29, 2015 at 12:07 am

I sold viso, but the car out of many voices, viso bad