Volkswagen Group recruits Daimler’s Dr. Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt to help recover from dieselgate

Hohmann-Dennhardt

The Volkswagen dieselgate scandal has certainly left its impact on the automotive industry, with a number of countries issuing recalls for the company’s vehicles. This includes Europe, where 8.5 million vehicles would return to service centres to rectify the issue, which itself is still a work in progress.

In a bid to recover from this scandal, the Volkswagen Group has secured the services of Dr. Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt, who will be appointed as a board member for the Group’s Integrity and Legal Affairs division from January 1, 2016.

Dr. Christine would vacate her current position as the member of the board of management of Daimler AG for Integrity and Legal Affairs, a position she has taken up since February 16, 2011, and was originally contracted to serve until February 28, 2017.

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

The move comes following a request issued by Volkswagen Group chairman Hans Dieter Pötsch to Dr. Manfred Bischoff, chairman of Daimler AG, to agree to an early termination of Dr. Christine’s original contract.

According to Bloomberg Business, the Daimler agreed to the deal “in the interests of the good corporate governance of the German automotive industry.” A landmark decision, considering its Mercedes-Benz unit competes with Volkswagen Group’s other luxury marque, Audi, another brand affected by the dieselgate scandal.

In an official statement, Hans said, “we are delighted that Dr. Hohmann-Dennhardt has agreed to take on this responsible task and that we can build on her outstanding competence and experience. At the same time we would like to thank Daimler AG for agreeing to our request to the early termination of Dr. Hohmann-Dennhardt’s contract.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• More top-gun hiring = More top-gun firing

• VGM Tipu Kuat Kuat on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:51 am

Nobody trust VW anymore. See even in Malaysia, DSG scandal also, VW AG has not addressed and sorted the issue out. VGM of course lies about that mineral oil sorting DSG out, but we all know its pure lies

• Disagree on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I owned vw product but so far it brings me problem-free. I didnt see those such things that you mentioned, are you telling the truth? Plus, DSG issue resolved for long time ago.. Stop spreading rumor here la

• Element on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

What do you means by VW didnot addressed and sorted out DSG issued? VGM had admited their DSG problem and also recall all their faulted DSG VW for updates.
        So what sort of lies that VW is talking about?!
        Driving Jetta for past 2 years, yet to face any DSG problem. My Jetta still a fun to ride car!

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Actually it’s good to see the Germans are helping out each other even though they are competitors.
    Here in Malaysia, we are still fighting who is the higher class who are not.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:15 am

Mercedes is on a roll right now with F1 wins, awards or the AMG GTS, good sales even in Bolehland to building luxury apartments in London and they can now even afford to let go their staff to a competitor in dire needs.

• I’m pretty sure there is an IOU inserted somewhere by Merc.

• DaughtryLover on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Nope thats how Germans are. They would rather help their country than let other countries beat them. Thats why Germany is the world’s second biggest exporting nation after China and ahead of US and Japan. They are the world’s fourth largest trading nation. All this despite their population being only 89 million people compared to US – 250 million plus, Japan – 125 million plus and China – 1 billion plus.