Govt intervened to curb higher toll hikes – report

Toll

The government had earlier stepped in to prevent the initial proposed toll hikes at three highways that would’ve seen the implementation of costlier toll rates, according to a report by theSun. Works Minister, Datuk Fadillah Yusof, had earlier revealed that three highways had proposed to raise their toll rates by RM2 but the government instead insisted on a RM1 raise.

Concessionaires were permitted to raise the toll rates as per the contracts but did not do so since 2008. “We have been holding on actually, it was supposed to be increased in 2014 but Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak said no and to let us study in depth and have further negotiations with the concessionaires.”

“After the negotiations, we had to finally increase the toll rates though the increase seems high,” he added. Despite the toll hikes, the government is still expected to be paying a fair sum of money to the concessionaires as compensation. Without the recent toll hikes, the government would have had to pay a total of RM1.6 billion in compensation by next year.

“Although the toll increase has been implemented, we are still paying RM510 million in compensation for the Jan-Oct 15 period because of the delay in raising the toll rates which should have been done in January this year,” he commented. Fadillah said that the money paid as compensation could have been channelled to projects that would better the community.

For a recap on all the recent highway toll hikes, check out our roundup post right here.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• dongrik on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:17 am

talking talking talking…

• Najib let you choose. Lower BR1M or lower tolls?
      So government is the one that hikes the toll.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:55 pm

They can bullshit whatever they want. Lie is dirt cheap. Why not they tell the story “The toll suppose to increase RM50, but we only allow RM1 increment”?

Better contrast, greater government, right?

• Government Owns Concessionaires Lah on Oct 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

What lies. All concessionaires are majority owned by the Government through Khazanah, EPF, PNB and other GLCs. Infact, you can safely say, Government owns all the concessionaires. And each of these concessionaires are all managed by the big UMNO dungus.

So what lies are the government telling this time?

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:06 pm

1. All of a sudden, our government becomes so hyper-powerful.
      2. If you can say that a pencil is S-shaped, you can say anything else.
      3. The best way to extend the contract to 2938 is by postponing the proposed price hike for 5 years. Or, it should be: Postpone the hike for one year, from 2016, postpone to 2017, and then extend the contract for another 99 years. Cannot question, otherwise sent to Jupiter under ISA-2020.
      4. I am powerful enough to change any contracts, or interpret any rules according to my wish, I only use that magic power to sapu money into my koceks, why should I use it for the sake of my hambas?

• well the contract were signed 20-30 years ago on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:33 am

for once i know for a fact that the govt is not lying. most of the highway concession contracts were drafted years ago (think ~20-30 years ago, plus hway the oldest at 29 yrs ago) and it is a fact that the concession are allowed to increase the toll rate every 2 years. Nothing can be done to change this contract as this were done during mahathir time (to feed his crony friends perhaps?).

Well just think of it this way, if the does not allow concessionaire to raise toll, govt have to compensate them. and compensation money=rakyat money, but then if toll increase then ONLY the user of the hway needs to pay it. either way its still a lose-lose situation for the taxpayers…all to feed mahathir cronies from 30 years ago. sigh.

• sohhai on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:25 am

Liar liar pants on fire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • we believe you.

• toll concession: if govt dont pay me, i raise toll rate. either way, i untung
    govt: money for toll concession i get from rakyat. i dont rugi apa2. toll concession also my family punya, lagi untung
    rakyat: fish!! barang increase, toll increase, tax increase. my gaji not increase2. fish!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Whatever happened to the promise to use money collected from GST to reduce or abolish toll rate… Too many sweet promises yet too few materialized

• kemosabe on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:54 am

This is what happens when you have a government that does business with the people.

If you really want to curb all of this, try minimise the use of any government related services or related businesses.

Toll hike is the inevitable, but to compensate the toll concessionaires is openly guaranteeing profits. Some people should go to jail because of this. Wonder how they could even sleep at night.

• Albert on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:00 am

Have you not read this?
    “All liars will rot in the Lake of Fire?”
    Check it out for yourself.

• C.P. MOHAN on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:03 am

Declassify ALL toll agreements under OSA. All this talk is just spin to the public which means nothing except it is seen as another form of political “donation” courtesy of Rakyat.

• azrai on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:12 am

The G has the power. if they are really sincere, they can renegotiate with concessionaires and sign a new form of agreement. It can be done, but is it to be done? Since the concessionaires director coming from UMNOputra, then likely the UMNO membership fees, bus transport to PWTD every year, kain batik, kain pelikat, the white and red dons are paid with the money instead.

• Midship on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:14 am

Bulls@#$

• Midship on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:14 am

bullS%$#

• superdriver on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:25 am

Stealing from Peter and Giving to Paul..uncoincidentally Paul related to the gov…

• nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:49 am

Yup.. Bcos we have a caring government… Now, where is the paper bag i need to throw up…

• bill gates on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:04 am

it is a good day to die

• Sudah sampai masanya kerajaan kotakn apa yg dia ckp… ok skrg kjaan dah dpt jimat 1.6b. Gunakn duit tu utk ambik alih satu tol… seterusnya sampai habis. Tak payah ckp duit tu duit ni guna utk rakyat tp satu apa tak ada. Duit hasil penarikan subsidi minyak, gst… semua tu aku rasa lebih dari cukup utk ambik alih semua sykt ni dan buat projek lain. Malahan duit gst aje pun dah bole bayar semua sykt ni dalam masa setahun.

• frozen on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:13 am

u guys songlap in b, giving out in m is nothing la.

• kepalapusing on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

gov and toll companies shake hand under the table to suck more $ from rakyat…it’s crystal clear who’s fault it is…

• MalaysianET on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:03 pm

By increasing toll rate, more $$$ can go into the BN cronies’ pocket. And, they can continue to give BR1M “ha-ra-suah-ciu” to Kampung folks and they will continue to vote for BN in the next GE. Win-win for BN.

• gaviny on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:05 pm

you can say they are being run by martians, who can say it’s not true?

• Ismail on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Please be rational guys.. We have to be fair to the people who don’t use highways like those in Sabah, Sarawak and Kelantan. So the money should be channeled for economic activities and development there. So please this is not the story of Hunger Games.. negeri kaya mcm Terengganu, Sabah, Sarawak (oil & gases) must feed KL & Selangor people only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • MalaysianET on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Do u really think the money will be used for the development in those states? OMG, you are so naive! Even the money budgeted for the projects mostly will end up in the cronies’s pocket. Just look at KLIA2 and Hospital Shah Alam, the cost is way over the budget.

• Tadalaku on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:31 pm

satu lagi projek BN untuk rakyat malaysia…sucking the rakyat dry and dead…

Thanks for the Bn voters!