Proton Satria Neo – production to end this year

proton-satria-neo-standard-4at 008

Bad news, Proton Satria Neo fans. Production of the three-door hatchback will cease this year, according to a response by the national carmaker to a comment on its official Proton Motorsports Facebook page.

The second-generation Satria was first launched in Malaysia in 2006. Since then, the hatch has gone through many revisions, along with a switch up in the variants being offered. The most recent is the introduction of the Proton Satria Neo Standard 4AT in January last year.

Currently, the model is offered in five variants, all fitted with the 1.6 litre CamPro CPS in-line four-cylinder engine that churns out 125 hp at 6,500 rpm and 150 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm. They are the 1.6 MT Standard, 1.6 AT Standard, 1.6 MT Standard with Aero Kit, R3 1.6 MT Executive, and R3 1.6 AT Executive.

In its near-10-year production run, the Proton Satria Neo has spawned several high-performance variants as well, including the R3 Satria Neo, which is not to be confused with the above-mentioned models. Built by the company’s motorsport division, the car received a Stage 2 performance upgrade that bumped power up to 145 hp at 7,000 rpm, and 168 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm, sent through a close-ratio five-speed manual gearbox.

Even Lotus had a go working on the model, giving rise to the limited-number (only 25) Proton Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing. With a bevy of performance enhancements, the car was certainly deserving of its “Lotus Racing” name. Lest we forget, the Proton Satria Neo was even converted for rally racing duties, known as the Neo S2000.

With the advent of this news, how do you feel about the end of the Proton Satria Neo’s production run?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect a mix of nostalgia, disappointment, and hope regarding the Proton Satria Neo ending production. Many appreciate its sporty handling, design, and status as a beloved local car, with some bemoaning the lack of power, comfort, and interior quality. Several commenters express sadness about losing a car that holds sentimental value, while others worry about the future of Proton's sporty lineup and suggest potential successors like a new Satria model or rebranded Hondas. There are calls for Proton to develop a new, powerful, and good-looking Satria that retains its handling reputation, with some joking about engine swaps. Overall, the sentiment is bittersweet, emphasizing appreciation for the Neo’s charm and hopes for a worthy replacement.

• xxxxx on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:50 pm

About time, salute to you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 314
      • Welcome back RBA john! I see the pep talk from your dear leaders Azmin, LGE, LKS did some wonders to your enthusiasm to write such long bullsh*t. But I applaud you for trying.
        Hows your Party Hard going? Must be quite boring since the star is in Sg Buloh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 21
        • Same L0rrrr on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Classic junk:
          1. No power
          2. No comfort
          3. No fuel efficiency
          4. No reliability
          5. No VSC
          6. No 6 airbags
          7. No RV

This is the classic Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok + Race Car Wannabe + junk quality model. Loved by mat rempit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 102
          • Obi Wan Kenobi on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:21 pm

However sure can tapaw your toyota vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
          • Nissan on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:59 am

And will get yourself tabao in black plastic bag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • 1. No power (Toyota got anything against Campro TURBO?)
            2. No comfort (NVH better than any toyota)
            3. No fuel efficiency (CFE FC better than dinosar 2.0L)
            4. No reliability (you mean you dunno toyota have Takatagate, SelfAcceleratingPedalgate, PowerWindowgate?)
            5. No VSC (Its vios & altis dun have VSC)
            6. No 6 airbags (Its vios & altis dun have 6 airbags)
            7. No RV (but got safety. You walk out alive & not veggie)

This is classic sendiri bangang tapi banggala+dorifto wannabe+F1 wannabe+tipu pipu with T badge but oso junk models. Loved by uncles and ah bengs, oso Pajero killers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:22 am

Same Lorrr, you drunk too much..Please take care of your Toyota sales and underneath brothel business..This is a truly race car..

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:39 am

Again Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok to the MAX!
            Compare the pathetic Satria 2 doors hatch back to Vios and Altis 4 doors sedan. Why not compared to our Hiace, then your Satria will looked much better?
            Junk is a junk after all. No matter how you twist it. If sales good Proton no need close production line! You adik John will one day become uncle, but not all uncle can afford our Toyota. Why Toyota so expensive? Thanks to your leech-alike Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Lansiliew on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Toyota conn you with new looks but old engine and transmission tech

• anti_john on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:07 pm

yup. thx for ur chicken gor also.

he donated me 2.6 billion and toll hike and gst.

make me so untung kaw kaw.

tq chicken gor.

XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • Anti john asshole on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:46 pm

You should be in hell, shame on you. This is car news, your asshole also can said bersih. Go to hell all of your family!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • dingdong on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:43 am

When people talk cars, other talk bersih.
          When people talk bersih, you curse people family go to hell.
          I don’t see any difference between you and him.
          Applying your logic, why not bring your mum together to hell?

• kzm (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Why u guys don’t register “John” name. If u register nobody else can use that name. Also get an avatar for that name.

• I luv to troll trolls, especially RBA ones

• Hunnam on Oct 23, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Sometimes you troll yourself. Who doesn’t know this lol moron

• fast5 on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:21 pm

You like to order around like?? Why don’t u do for “john”?? Dumno ministers act again ah “today promise tomorrow change” @kzm.

• inderaloka on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Proton Satria Neo to me is one of Proton’s good looking car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 10
    • wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:08 pm

yup. how good if got s2000

awesome rally car!

s2000 appeared in TOPGEAR also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • fed up fella on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Proton Aero to replace it?

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:31 pm

jz hope got special edition come out for ending this.

macam evo X final edition!

TAT

farewell satria and evo X

time flies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • fed up fella on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Yeah I hope so too….200 horsepower turbocharged campro will do just fine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • azrai on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:55 pm

It seem the Satria is just like a cult car. Remember the Australian Proton story on using Satria’s nameplate onto Iriz in Australia.

• 10 years already, should stop production and introduce new generation Satria.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:01 pm

This model is due for new successor long time already. Please improve on interior quality materials and maybe introduce turbocharged 1.5 engine for the next generation. If Proton manage to do it, definitely will be a dream car for youngsters in Msia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • Souped-up on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:03 pm

I thought it stopped already long time. Never see anymore.new cars also.

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:32 pm

haha. u need join the gang.

then only u will see more of that. XD

• sashirao on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Oh god, Finally… please i have been waiting for the change. I have changed to the third car already since my first test drive of SatayNeo and disappointed.
    May be ill get as a second car if the Proper-Satria is born, i dont mind Face-lifted of SatriaGTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:14 pm

haha.

u always can mod car de

jz use money only mah. XD

hahahahaha

engine change, piston korek dalam, add turbo, put racing mould, carbon fiber hood, brembo brake, exhaust paip, plasticdip, great suspension set, 16′ rims, michelin tyres, momo racing steering, ECU mod, larger manifold, and etc

all burn money only mah. XD

• wish they end this with a bang. satria neo cfe with 6 speed manual :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • kesian on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:11 pm

PDRM patut amik Satria Neo kejar kete lebih had laju

• buahdoyot on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:12 pm

if proton management is smart enough, then this 2 doors model should been produced with 4 doors long long time ago..thats how business shud be ran rather than stick with this not so economically 2 doors car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:14 pm

In all its 10 years, it never got the powertrain it needed to shine.

The chassis is decent, even if the steering was a bit numb.

They should have plonked in the tuned up turbo in its last years and created a memorable swan song.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 137
    • wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:21 pm

haha. coz u no play this car.

this car suitable for car heavy modder

u no touch this only mah

heheh

• nice looking exterior, but bad cheap plastic interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:23 pm

haha. u can always burn money to mod that de mah

money problem only. XD

• Firdaus on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Have u guys driven the 1.3 Auto version???
    I will reach the 100m mark walking before that car does!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • policeman on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Tipu. Kau boleh jalan average 40km/j?
      Nak tipu pun kenalah pandai sikit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • suomynona on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:40 pm

For me,deep inside and personally,I feel like I’m losing a friend. The 1st gen Satria was a car my dad owned when I was a kid until its sold off when I was around 15. Plenty of memories I have with that car (its even manufactured in the year when I was born,which is stated somewhere in the glove compartment) and its a manual,just too bad I never got to drive it before its sold.

As for the 2nd gen Neo,I think it is a timeless design ever since it is introduced into the market until now. Somehow the Neo never looked dated to me,especially the front,its handsome looking lol.

This little Neo could have been more powerful,appealing in some way,basically I’m gonna miss it. Could they maybe shelve this model and introduce it again in the near future,just so that I can drive it again. Words simply can’t describe enough of how I feel about this Proton. Farewell,Satria =’)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Ollie on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Not to be harsh. But the fact that your dad drove a Satria Neo describes the problem with the Malaysian car market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
      • Vios 10 year old chassis, drivetrain & engine and still selling, counting the years. So your point?

• suomynona on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:42 pm

No sir, my dad didn’t drive a Satria Neo,he owned the 1st gen Satria years ago. Just wanted to correct you there, but yes, our local car market is simply a pain in the back today.

• policeman on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:00 pm

The fact that you can’t comprehend the above describes the problem with Gen Y and the education they received.

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:26 pm

yuh. tq fren for ur sharing.

time flies!

have to do that.

jz hope better car come out again!

• ARM Yusof on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:01 pm

My first car was the 2009 Satria neo CPS. The only thing i remembered the most is the handling was superb. Agile and responsive. Loved it.. But now, i’ll wait that 2016 civic coming to Malaysia.

Cheers.

• policeman on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:04 pm

My buddies will print out a police report for you to submit to your insurance company.

• DAMN! So where will CUSCO find a sporty 2 door hatchback with good body rigidity and able to take insane amounts of tuning?

• matjava on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:07 pm

I frequently tailgated by satria on highway. Small & sleek & fast but stability at high speed is for who dare to drive. Once I just let him overtook me and taligate him how fast he dare to go…150..160…170 then only he change lane..

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:17 pm

haha, can lagi laju punya.

jz burn money only. XD

• Just wait till accident. Confirm cannot walk way

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:27 pm

haha. got sepang circuit de mah.

aiyoyo

frog in the wall.

open track only cost rm300++

got ambulance de. XD

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:10 pm

love that lotus edition

carbon fiber hood!!!

<3

• Please introduce a new generation of Satria, with better power and better interior. The old recipes of Satria like pure handling and nice exterior need to be preserved and improvised in the new one.

• All driven by yobs who think they own the road.

• wilson on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:30 pm

i drive it on sepang circuit de………………

frog in the wall………….

• frossonice on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:26 am

No. That title is reserved for MyVi and to some extend, Viva drivers.

• donno on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Proton without a satria is something like the Honda without a civic type r, or the volkswagen without a golf gti…

Hopefully they will come out with a new 3 door satria gti, maybe based on the iriz?

• policeman on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Sure. Maybe it can be based on the Perdana, or Saga, or my butt. It wouldn’t matter. It will still look like a butt. Not my butt maybe, but a butt nonetheless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • donno on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:48 pm

The current satria neo, was a bit of a disappointment because it didn’t get the powerplant/engine that it really deserved.

The actual plan for the satria neo gti was that it would have the VAG 1.8 turbo engine of the old golf gti. When the plan to sell proton to vw was cancelled, so was the neo gti plan. The neo cps bodykit was actually designed for the neo gti 1.8 turbo. Prototypes of the neo with vw engine was built, whereabouts of them is unknown but it would be good if they are preserved as a part of malaysian automotive history…

• Juhanian76 on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:49 pm

It is the first and only homegrown proton to be exported to Japan through CUSCO.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:52 pm

The only proton i have a soft spot for… Its great to drive seriously.. Yes interior and packaging is small, but if u care abt driving its really good… Looks good and if u like modding n all, there are so many things u can get to enhance it by any which way… Sad to see it go, didnt own one, bt drove it many times, n i will always remember it….

• Need new generation of proton satria neo…hope for good reputation, good-looking car and more powerful.

• alldisc on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:12 pm

the best manual car on sale below 100k now.

maybe replace satria neo with Satria Gamma.

or Satria M.

or Satria NR (for Najib Rosmah).

i’m kidding. i’m kidding!!

• Need a new generation of Satria neo replacement…hope for a good quality, powerful and the most important is good looking car

• Ahmad Amizi on Oct 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Good riddance. Neo is a great car but most of Neo drivers are dangerous douches waiting to get decapitated by parked trailers. Also Neo club is one hated community. I remembered they blocked roads in Bukit Antarabangsa so they can all get up there in one piece. No police escort, thinking they own the damn road and those ugly drivers with their multicolored reflective sunglasses. Rip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Probably the only car in the current Proton lineup that even bashers grudgingly agree to be a rather good product (the comments here says it all)

Problem is Proton has long forgotten how to make endearing cars..i bought this car while i was in University about 9 years ago… although it’s not my primary car this days it’s still a riot to drive..

I haven’t messed with it much (even rims are stock) and is probably one of the reasons it still feels new..infact many are quite surprised when i tell them the age….

Not the most comfortable but man it carves corners and makes u smile ..a truly brilliant chassis that can easily cope with 100 hp or more which is not surprising as contrary to popular believe it does NOT share the gen2/persona platform and was completely built up as a standalone project with part minimal parts commonality..(try putting in a gen 2 disc brake/engine mounts/fuel pump for example and see what happens..actually dont…)

its also no surprise many are being bought as ‘project’ cars.. it’s sad to see it go out of production..Will be holding on to mine for as long as I can..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Hamzal on Oct 22, 2015 at 7:37 pm

This garbage also wanna sell?? What a piece of junk crap. Stupid proton and it’s rubbish lousy plastic noisy underpower shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • proton on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:00 pm

nissan motorsport called nismo;
    proton motorsport called promo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • choha on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:01 pm

these kind of cars serve no purpose but more illegal street racers….proton as a national car maker should stop making ‘sport’ cars in order to bring down accident rates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Rockybalboa on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Thrid world car for third world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • VW Diesel Scandal on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:26 pm

They should put s2000 engine before ended it

• agent2killa on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Sad to hear the news but it’s long coming. I’m a Neo CPS owner myself. Fitted it with turbo because I want more torque going up the mountains ( I’m in Sabah BTW) . Recently got a 4WD but it’s so different than a Neo. Neo is a lot of fun to drive with fantastic cornering. Hopefully Proton will come up with a new car embodying Neo’s spirit.

• Proton basher on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Good luck and Good night to Satria Neo. Maybe they are going to rebrand Honda cars now.

• drillero on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Some of the experts here, not even test drive Satria Neo for once, yet, commented, as if, the Satria Neo is their working horse.

Honda, if ever, listen to these type of experts comments, they probably stop producing car @ 1st Civic, years ago and stick to their Honda Cup 50 till today.

Respect to Satria Neo, till see you reborn again.

• I sat in my friend neo before. It’s the most noisiest and uncomfortable ride I’d sat in. Engine is very noisy, nvh is loud and harsh. There’s totally zero comfort in this car. Seats are cramped and suspension is so stiff. Only morons will buy this car and suppose the lousy proton brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • drillero on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

Smart people own more brands & have more friends. They, who drive all brands hence broaden their experience, respect each brand qualities and uniqueness. Smart people with smart brain like Honda and Toyoda will focus on their passion regardless of “milo can” mentality labelled at their products. Did Honda was a Moron to continue with the latest 2016 Civic? Some experts may never experienced 1st gen Civic either.

• old dog on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:12 pm

protong should just stream line to

1) Sage (cheapest)
    2) Iriz – change to Electric/Hybrid
    3) Preve/Suprima – sedan but just cut suprima
    4) Exora – but who want such big size MPV now? size it down if possible
    5) SUV – where is the SUV?
    6) Accordana – i rather have SUV based on Accord, which is like CRV

• MentalKAR on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:32 pm

SALUTE to U NEO.

• the first car i bought with my own money. so much memories. it’s the car i told myself i have to buy when i start working and have totally no regrets. looks good, handles sweetly, seats, pedals steering and gearstick all perfect distance away. only thing is lack of power. but the way it makes you smile when taking on a corner makes up for it!

• ccy7218 on Oct 24, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Predicted upcoming models to be halt production: 1. Preve 2. Exora 3. Suprima S 4. Iriz 5. Persona, only left Saga as sole survivor… Just wait and see,time will tell…

• MKA™ on Oct 25, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Thank you Proton for make such a sporty car for Malaysia Proud to have one for me .

• Ootai on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:25 pm

High time for ploton to rebrand honda civic type R as the new proton satria for bolehland and asean market. Rip the old sate.

• Intervener on Oct 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm

OMG! It is indeed bad news for Satria Neo owners. The moment the production comes to an end then the various body and mechanical “original” parts of Satria Neo will also stop production. As such, for those who still wish to continue driving the Satria Neo for the next 5 to 10 years have to start to store parts especially for the 2 doors and rear bonnet in anticipation of wear and tear. I still driving Satria (1st Gen) and i find it difficult of getting parts for the 2 doors and rear bonnet when Satria Neo replaced the 1st Gen Satria.

• Human on May 23, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Do you think Proton will launch a third-gen Satria? Hmm