MBPJ to completely rid city of all abandoned vehicles

Abandoned-cars

The Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) will be increasing its efforts to rid the city of all abandoned vehicles left by the side of the road, according to a report by The Star. “We are stepping up enforcement this year and we are striving to achieve zero abandoned vehicles on the road,” said PJ mayor, Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain.

According to Azizi, the enforcement team responsible for identifying and removing abandoned vehicles have pinpointed several hotspots for abandoned cars – locations include SS20 with a total of 82 abandoned vehicles, the area with the highest count it seems.

Aside from that, SS1 to SS9 have also been marked out as rather popular spots with a total of 52 cars identified. In, Kota Damansara and Kampung Kayu Ara, up to 51 and 35 cars were identified, respectively. In 2015 alone, complaints lodged by residents on abandoned vehicles have totalled 510 with 286 of the total towed away. The remaining 188 abandoned vehicles have since been disposed of.

Seized abandoned vehicles will be towed away to MBPJ’s depot located in Section 26, Shah Alam. Within a month of said vehicle being towed away, a check will be conducted with the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to ensure that the vehicle is not stolen. Following that, owners will be issued a fine of up to RM600.

Additionally, MBPJ will conduct periodic checks on workshops that are suspected of leaving cars by the side of the road after salvaging parts from it. “We will also be issuing summonses to workshop owners who abandon unwanted cars along the road outside their premises,” commented Azizi. “If they fail to get rid of them properly, we will take action.”

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Before you do this MBPJ, pls clean up your officers. Your Trafik Wardens are so corrupted asking for money all the time. In Damansara Utama for examle, many car workshops put cones in all car park bays. Each workshop puts cones in 4 or 5 car park bays so that they can put their cars there to repair.

We innocent parkers have no to park. And when we park tepi jalan, we get saman. Many times I have brought the saman to the officer and have at the same time pointed out the cones. He look at me and just smile. And say he cannot do anything and I have to “bertimbangrasa” despite I have to pay RM100 for parking side of the road.

Clearly your officers are on the take. Clean your officers first please MBPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Renovation Department King!! on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Don’t look so far lah. All renovations, MBPJ officers ask berpuluh puluh ribu from each household each time for approval.

The renovations department also go to house to house and collect money monthly to keep quiet. We all know, in PJ, nearly every other house has done illegal renovations. So, every month, these officers come to collect their ang pau to keep quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • johnn on Aug 19, 2017 at 12:45 am

They’re just cones. You can park there if you want.

If anything happens to your car, look for PDRM not MBPJ.

• Levin on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:14 pm

For starters, there’s one abandoned car (Nissan Sentra) at the roadside just before SKVE exit coming from Cyberjaya towards Seri Kembangan (16 Sierra). The car has been sitting there for months and every single part from it has been scavenged/stolen/ripped off. I suspect this could be a stolen car that broke down and left at the road side.

• Richard Johnathan Lim on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:55 pm

There is an Singaporean plate Chevrolet Nabira near entrance of Citta Mall,Ara Damansara that has been sitting there for years.Its so dusty with no air in the tyres.And kids have written stuff with their fingers on the windscreen.But what bugs me is, if it wasn’t left abandoned, it would be a perfectly fine working Chevy Nabira.

• Goodyboy73 on Oct 24, 2015 at 2:36 pm

It’s time MBPJ do this clean-up.Forget about a few bad apples n start to work with JPJ to trace the owner.If non tracible then will pull back to their MBPJ open yard.By working on this method,i’m sure MBPJ n JPJ will be able to detect unrenew/S’poren/illegal cars.

• efron on Oct 24, 2015 at 10:01 pm

there’s one old abandoned kancil nearby the armanee in damansara damai.. The car has been sitting there for months and every single part from it has been ripped off. Please take action on this. It sore my eyes looking at it every time passing by…

• Power on Oct 24, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Damansara Damai monthly new abandon cars…

• Zaini on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:33 am

before issuing summons, perhaps the government would look into providing facilities to scrap old cars.