Volkswagen Group posts first loss in at least 15 years

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

The Volkswagen Group recently announced its Q3 financial results, where it has recorded an operating loss of 3.48 billion euro, partly as a result of the dieselgate scandal involving the automotive giant.

According to financial data released by the Group, special costs relating to the diesel issue, amounting to 6.7 billion euro, was attributed to the loss experienced in Q3, the first in at least 15 years.

With new VW AG CEO Matthias Mueller, appointed in the wake of the scandal, the company saw net liquidity in its automotive division increase by 27.8 billion euro, with additional liquidity worth in excess of 3 billion euro from sales of Suzuki shares.

The Group had earlier set aside a provision of 6.5 billion euro for recalls relating to the dieselgate issue in Q2, 0.2 billion euro less than the actual figure reported. Increased liquidity would certainly help Volkswagen weather the crisis.

However, Volkswagen AG managed to increase its nine-month, year-on-year sales revenue by 8.5% from 147.7 billion euro to 160.3 billion euro, even as global sales are facing a decline. The operating profit and sales revenue exclude the activities of the Chinese joint ventures.

For the first nine months of 2015, Volkswagen AG saw sales figures hover at 7,430,800 units, while Toyota recorded 7,498,000 units shifted, allowing it to retake the lead in global vehicle sales.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

This what happens when you lie. This Dieselgate also, they lied for 1 full year before getting caught.

But VGM is still king of liars. They lied for 5 years saying DSG got no problems. Even until today they are lying saying if use mineral oil, DSg won’t give problem.

but the truth is, even until today in 2015, so many cars are towed to the SC because of DSg faults.

Stay away from liars. Once you lie, you will always lie. Don’t know what other lies are hidden waiting to come out.

Stay away from VW cars. You pay Rm200k for a problematic time bomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 25
    • timbuktu on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:33 pm

same guy with the same content. it’s amazing everytime there’s news on VW, this same guy appears. which problem are you facing with your DSG? is it the mechatronic issue (gear stall) or the gear juddering? do you even know there are 2 types of issue with DSG? all you say is VW get towed to SC because of DSG. for your info, mechatronic issues have been fixed with the mineral oil. have you heard of any mechatronic issues? or is it the juddering you are referring to? have you sent in to replace with Rev L clutch pack? don’t know what I’m talking about? do you even own a VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 46
      • Technician on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:31 pm

i wonder you have been in SC for many times until you can learnt mechatronic , L clutch pack…do you expect all car owner need to know these…from owner become mechanic from mechanic become engineer..good choice VW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
        • this guy sit in the SC every week cause breakdown, so he knows all the parts by heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
        • timbuktu on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:41 pm

if you are a real VW owner, you will be worried and you will do some research on what those issues are all about. you will also ask your SC about those issues. i have the juddering problem myself and i got it replaced with a Rev L clutch pack which resolved the issue. Previous rev clutch packs doesn’t resolve the issue.

so before you come in here and pretend to know who i am, pls look into the mirror and ask yourself if you know enough before acting as a keyboard warrior.

for your info, i have never had my VW being towed since owning it for > 2 yrs already. enjoyed every bit of the DSG and TSI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • Logic on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Why you need to worry when you buy a car??unless you have no licence…

• That’s right. Only owner knows

• Thank you VW Salesman! on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:43 pm

This timbuktu guy is either a VW salesman or a VW owner now scared his RV jatuh gila gila.

Kawan, RV sudah jatuh teruk teruk la. Don’t come here and bluff. VW facebook already got horror stories daily by owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Nancy on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:54 am

To be honest, my previous Jetta had dsg issues.

But after repaired, the car is going strong now. No further issues with gearbox d.

No doubt, VW cars are awesome cars to drive. Way more fun than BMW and Merc .

I had nvr had that much fun in a car b4 i had my Jetta.

• timbuktu on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:51 pm

same here nancy. i have a VW with juddering but after replacing clutch pack rev L, the issue is gone for more than a year now. going strong and loving it!

• 2014 Passat Owner on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Nobody can beat my Passat, now coming 2 years old, my car already broken down 5 times.

VGM are big liars trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Nancy on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:07 am

Many pipu here don’t own a VW & talking bad about VW, they seem to be paid to write bad about VW. Somehow if you ask me, why should we bother?! They just wanna to make some profit out of it.
        For my Jetta, DSG issues solved for me, no issue anymore since it was replaced in June 2013. It goes the same with few of my few who driving VW.

• Sushi on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:46 am

One thing you need to bother Nancy..is your RV…good luck VW owner..and also if you dont bother why you comment??

• timbuktu on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Sushi is typical sushi. Can’t think can’t react and always got eaten by people. Who cares about RV when u keep the car for > 5 yrs? Then again those who change their car within 5 yrs are rich folks who doesn’t care about RV. Either way Sushi has no point. Got eaten again. Poor fish.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Sorry to say, DQ200 is still a shitty gearbox until today. Mechatronic issues can be fixed with mineral oil which cannot drip into the electronic board but the clutch issue cannot be fixed with current software of changing to D2 at the speed of 4kph.

Clutch wear and tear in less than 2 years with approx 25k km? You must be kidding if this is acceptable and considered as “normal” wear and tear.

If you enjoy to send the car to workshop every 2 years for a 3 days clutch replacement, you can keep it. But this is definitely an issue to most of the owners which VW claimed “solved”.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Told you already you won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially with our world best selling Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • waters on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm

I gotta agree with Sammy here.

The Camry Hybrid, with the current offers is good deal over most other makes in the market now.

• ThoongSiew on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:40 am

I have gone through few car forums such as lowyat, cari and even paultan. From my point of view, it’s very hard to find out the real, who and who had brought their VW with no problem, how many had experience failure on DSG or other problems. I’m trying to figure out. I have no answer at all. But for sure, most of the people who commented in forum and blog are not even VW owner, they just come out there to talk cock about it.
      Regarding your comment about VW, I don’t know whether how true are you or your just another anti DSG/VW keyboard warrior. It’s difficult to judge somehow have to admit that you are very passionate in anti VW, cause can see you everywhere. My question to you is – you really that free, got nothing to do meh?!

• They dont have to cheat if their cars are competitive! on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Cheat*r can never go far. They will eventually hit the ground HARD. The same goes to “robber in suits & tie”. Its just the matter of time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • 2014 Passat Owner on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:01 pm

VGM sales are now so bad. The whole Malaysia know what big cheats they are. Even their 5 year warranty also tipu. Only 2 years really

• Failed State Citizen on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Problematic cars, bad reputation… now caught CHEATING loll. VW cars are selling way way above what they actually worth and some geniuses still buy it..Malaysia boleh… apa apa pun boleh lol

• It’s not a loss, but a payback of what you’ve took from consumers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:06 pm

So the loss is not from the business side,as evident from their increased sales y-o-y.. its for the funds allocated for penalties and compensation….

• timbuktu on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:34 pm

seems like u’re the sensible one who talks with facts. unlike many others here who just shoots around with DSG whenever VW is in the news. quite pathetic fellows if u ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
  • We malaysian will suppport you even more, if and only if price reduced 40% and not pretend that VW is an ultraluxury brand. Ford are you listening…yeah you too.

• sushi on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:29 pm

nmh, are you living in the past? do you know a jetta is cheaper than an altis in m’sia? the polo sedan price has gone down to approaching high end myvi prices. since when does VW m’sia pretends to be a premium brand with premium prices?

• W204 C63 AMG on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:43 pm

What the article fails to mention is that VW declared they have about 30b euro sitting in the bank. And with the dieselgate only exploded at the end of Q3, it already made a 3b loss. So they have 10 more quarters or about 3 years to turn around. Else I guess the Lamborghini, Bugatti brands are up for sale.

• ben yap on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:56 pm

to solve the shitty DSG, VW better use the conventional 6 speeder.

less prob and more reliable.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:27 am

When VW said the DSG gearbox issues are fixed, you know you can’t trust them. It does not matter how good the engine, gearbox or how safe the car is when the car cannot even move.

Reliability and RV are most buyers’ main concern and Toyota proven it with the number of sales around the world.