It was recently reported that about 20% of the East Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2) requires attention, following Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusoff’s tour of the expressway in a road scanner. The minister even revealed yesterday that a few areas are “critical.”
However, Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon says otherwise, stating that the structure and safety aspects of the LPT2 are in good condition and pose no threat to motorists.
This was based on an earlier inspection of the highway on Oct 22 by MIROS, the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), and Public Works Department to recognise the reason for accidents there.
Since opening in 2011, there have been a total of 85 fatalities and 1,991 accidents on LPT2. It was later revealed by LLM that 70% of accidents were due to human error, with the remaining 30% due to faulty roads.
Speaking to Bernama, Dr Wong said that, “there were some silting in some areas with uneven road surface, but this will not pose a problem to motorists if they drive at a reasonable speed.”
The long straight expressway is also a contributing factor to accidents occurring on the LPT2, he added, as drivers would become bored and sleepy whilst driving on the expressway. “This is also believed to be a factor, which prompted motorists to exceed the permissible speed limit,” he said.
Dr Wong advised motorists to take extra precautions, should they decide to travel long distances, including having a second driver. “If you are tired, stop at the rest area, and if you are not feeling well, take medicine. Do not continue to drive,” he added.
Yesterday – At least 20% of East Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2) needs attention – certain stretches identified as “critical”
Today – East Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2) is safe, says MIROS
What happen MIROS? – getting cold feet!!!
I guess 20% is acceptable for MIROS…
Im sorry, using that camera not gonna detect problem that can’t be seen by naked eyes.
Instead they should use better equipment like radar or IR sensor that can detect the elevation in 3D more precise and accurate.
For me that kind of equipment are useful instead of using camera with solar panel on top like ‘back to the future’ car, useless. show off only.
It is all about business! Minimal cost, maximal profit.
As long as you pay the toll, you die you own problem.
LPT2 is free la dude.
first when people complaint you have to check what is the problem critically.. the roads,kilometer mana selalu accident.. what kind of vehicle involve, kalau manyak lori involve you call up JPJ to check all the lorries and lorry driver frequently using the routes.. jpj pun takda guna tido selalu.. how many lorries using the roads early in the morning when people want to go to work.. creating jam and congestion..
Work minister scanning the road using technology, Prof Dr Wong using Bomoh. That’s how the two differ
That long boring stretch is dangerous, as driver can easily get sleepy. This however cannot solely be categorized as human fault, as the alignment design of the highway should avoid this kind of boring long straight stretch. Moreover, the R&R is basically a creepy isolated place. R&R is crucial for driver to take a rest. Highway should not being allowed to open until the R&R are fully operational.
they blame humans but road conditions contributed a lot to accidents oso example NSHighway many strecthes no lighting and old guard rail dividers killed many motorist impaling them but when aaked to replace they always cited high cost
Try convoi during rainy day. I bet they pile up with each other.