Most of LPT2 accidents caused by human error – LLM

Crash accident collision

The majority of accidents that occur on the East Coast Expressway Phase 2 (LPT2) can be attributed to human error, the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) finds, according to a report by Bernama. “Seventy percent or 238 out of 339 accident cases occurred on LPT2 between Feb 1 and June 2 were due to human factors,” said LLM director-general, Datuk Ir Ismail Md Salleh.

He went on to stress that various factors which came into play included drivers driving while feeling fatigue, speeding in bad weather, failure to comply with safety instructions and overall carelessness. Of the total number of accidents, 10 cases resulted in death, 25 in serious injuries, 58 in minor injuries while the remaining did not report any form of injury at all.

“Nineteen percent or or 65 cases were due to intrusions of animals while 11% (36 cases) were due to water crossings and faulty vehicles,” he added. On the condition of the highway itself, Ismail stated that a majority of the LPT2 highway was in a good state although several spots have been earmarked for repair works.

Additional measures have been taken by the LLM and the Malaysian Public Work Department (JKR) to reduce the risk of accidents including increasing patrols, repairing damaged fences, cooperating with the relevant agencies to help raise the levels of awareness on safety and erecting signage around animal intrusion hotspots.

“LLM and JKR have also identified locations of water crossings and dangerous corners and will improve road surface and take suitable interventive measures with the cooperation of the police, Road Transport Department (JPJ) and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD),” he concluded.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Datuk Ir Ismail Md Salleh.LIES on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:30 am

Hello crony, most accidents happen on the highway because of uneven roads and potholes la bangau. Your highway has so many uneven roads. People get scared and swerve instantly to the next lane and an accident happens.

Yes there is human error but main cause is that, crony company collects tolls but don’t tampal the lubang on the road.

Then instead of patrolling often and collecting debris like torn tyre in the middle of the road, the Peronda park in one corner to makan nasi lemak and minum the.

So many accidents happen because we trying to avoid big tyre in the middle of the highway road.

Please take out the IR in your name. It brings big disgrace to IEM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 28
    • George Abdul on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:38 am

First human error, later nature error, car error, environment error and more to Blame.

For BN and Government themself never have any error.

Aka bolehland cronies rights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:25 pm

2 airbags and no VSC won’t kill you. But your driving attitude does.

Crash at the speed of 130km/h, 5 star ASEANCAP Preve/Suprima S also you will die, because they crash test at 60km/h only.

Didn’t fasten your seat belt, 20 airbags also won’t save your ass.

Wanna get home safe? Be a safe driver, your impreza Saga/GTR Myvi are not as fast as you thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Whathef on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:44 pm

LETS GUESS WHAT CAR MANUFACTURER/MODEL IS THAT IN THE PICTURE?

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Battery RAMCAR, what brand is that????

• Toll Highway No Lights on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:08 am

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where PAID highways got no light post ie lamp post. We got to drive in the dark.

And this we are paying! Other countries, even non toll roads got lamp post giving light to the highway.

This guy should get his Datukship withdrawn. I am paying toll but the highways are dark and most of our car lamps cannot see big holes or animals on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
      • Zahar on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:34 am

Which country provide light on all their highways? If you have been to any…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • A.R.M Yusof on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:47 pm

dont spread lies.. UK dont have lamp post on its highway i give the route – M6 Toll- i know coz i live here.

• Whathef on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:33 am

U saying road condition causing more accident than human factor?
      Hahaha..

• Toyota ZERO sales on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:38 am

65 deaths due to animal crossing? Then why we pay toll? The toll is for you to gate the whole highway up. Not to feed the cronies to get fatter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • LPT2 user on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:18 am

FYI…LPT2 are toll free at this moment..

BTW, JKR should improved and extended the number of lanes entries from LPT1 so to reduce the jam.

• tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:19 am

Songlap laaa apa lagi.

Depa belum guna trump card lagi: takdir Tuhan. Be all, end all statement to hentikan persoalan, halalkan pensonglapan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Whathef on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:36 pm

65 accidents. not 65 death.
      Yup, stupid negligence malaysian comment at its best..

• SaveTheEarth on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:41 am

Such a good statistic. Every time got something to blame first things come out with statistic saying not related to those parties who in charge of this and that. Come on lah, do you know that all the replied are so silly. You built the uneven road and still blaming people for the causes of error. Where the police, where the enforcement, are you all doing what that suppose to be done. When people speeding exceed the speed limit are you there to stop or just hiding somewhere. When people racing along the road where are you all. Authorise personnel does not take action and now blaming us. Is human life you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • kzm - kita mesti bercukur! on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:41 am

According to kzm, we all must not complain about tolls and road conditions. We must bercukur Negara aman dan damai and not complain about toll and safety issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:16 am

Butul juga. Jalan kami suda lagi bagus dari Sweden, cukuuur

Engineer kata salah driver tu salah driver la, sapa suruh tak beli 5 star NCAP macam Iriz? Ia setaraf Volvo, world’s safest car, jangan persoal!

Saya da cukur, anda bila lagi? #kipidap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:26 pm

i never said that…which article i say that?

• Albert Sam on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:48 am

Yaa…their’s error is choose rubbish cars such as Myvi, Axia and Vios because those cars only can save fuel but cannot save their life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • superboy on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:50 am

Please enhance road safety structure and sign pole on vision-able place, lastly always drive safely and remember your family and the love one.

• robdeniro on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:56 am

The SILK highway newly-completed from Bdr Saujana Putra to Banting must be closed off and declared unsafe for any vehicle. Sinkholes and undulating surface without warning throughout the 13~km stretch. 100% unsafe but no action taken.

• zaizaizai on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:22 am

LPT2, the Malaysian autobahn

• Whathef on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:42 am

I just saw a bunch of retards who keep complaining and condemning, to the extend, saying most accident caused by road rather than human factors.

U the driver. u the witness. u know what really causing most accidents here in Malaysia.

These retards just doing their best, blaming the authority with their agenda. Most fools taken their so called ‘FACTS’.

U judge urself.

Yes they road condition is not perfect. But saying most accident caused by road is utterly misleading, foolish and going the same objective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • THE MALAYSIAN LOGICAL THINKING on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Are you Malaysian? Do you know Malaysian is the MOST RESPONSIBLE AND POLITE road user in the world?

They never ever wechat/whatsapps in the car, they never use phone while driving, best of all, they will drive according to speed limit. They are very very polite, and they change road after signaling, never beating traffic light.

Even more, they never to such foolish acts such as tailgating.

ALL THE ROAD ACCIDENTS IS THEREFORE PURELY CAUSED BY THE POOR ROAD CONDITION AND THE GOVERNMENT.

• Whathef on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Have to 2nd u on that.
        What a blessed country & citizen.

ITS ALL BECAUSE OF THE ROAD AND THE GOVERNMENT

• yawning on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:21 pm

b.sht!!!

1. the road undulating & water spread unevenly/puddle everywhere. but that’s not a major issues since almost all highways are like that

2. it happened to me, the LPT2 highway fences is the prblem. animals intrusion. i dont know, whether its too low or broken.. plus poor road side bushes maintenance blocking my view. big black monkey (not those cute monyet but beruk) sprint out of nowhere. well, the rest is history, thank God, im alive & my car cost me 5k to fix it back to normal.

3. cow, pig & goat etc still get its way into LPT2. every week we can clearly saw those carcass on the road side.

• squall_shinoda on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:16 pm

If you want to look for someone to be blamed for the condition of the LPT2 E8, then you should blame Idris Jusoh because his policy during his time as the MB of Terengganu is the primary factor of the inconsistent pavement quality along the LPT2 E8. When BN retook the government of Terengganu from PAS in 2004, the Idris Jusoh state government gave the green light to continue the LPT2 E8 project under one condition – the majority of the project tender must be awarded to Terengganuan contractors (read: cronies). As a result, as we already know, the project was notable for its numerous delays, mostly due to incompetent and inexperienced contractors.

Many of them did not even have experiences on road construction. Some of them withdrew by using the material cost increase as their excuse. Even though it was true, they should be prepared by keeping their job on schedule and not songlap the payment first. Some of them also buat kerja cincai with inferior workmanship. Some did not even adhere to the standards when building the slip roads for the rest areas.

I had once witnessed a lorry almost skidded when trying to enter the Paka layby when I tested the newly-completed LPT2 E8 in February. When I examined the slip road, I found out that the slip road was to narrow – the width was 3.0 m which was the same width as the emergency lane. In other words, the contractor simply used the emergency lane as the ingress and egress roadway, before making a 90-degree turn. That’s what had made the Paka layby dangerous in terms of workmanship quality.

Because of the many contractors being involved in the LPT2 project, the workmanship quality is inconsistent. Some sections have good quality with smooth surface, some other sections are bumpy and there are even patches in some areas. I think the same reason may also explain the cause of the stadium roof collapse several years ago.

• mohdjiman on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Using KL-Karak-LPT-LPT2 on monthly basis, I would say don’t go over the speed limit. Uneven road surface…More than 110km/j, its on your own risk…

• LPT2 user too on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:04 am

I remember when I first traveled via LPT2 from jabor to KT around 8:40pm last March, there was this hurried driver with his macho showdown flooring the pedal pass jabor toll. Around 40 minutes later, I passed by him in what looked like an aftermath of brutal crash with a dead cow carcass lying behind his totally wrecked car. Kudos to Highway patrol who had been there earlier; it it wasn’t for them, things could get worse….