SPAD CEO “misquoted” over preference to end KL-Singapore High Speed Rail at Johor Bahru customs

hitachi bullet train

Over the weekend, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) issued a statement clarifying a remark by its CEO Mohamad Nur Ismal Kamal, saying that Malaysia would have preferred to terminate the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) service at the Johor Bahru Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) complex rather than in Singapore’s Jurong East, published in The Edge Malaysia last week.

“We would prefer to terminate the line at the existing CIQ,” he was quoted as saying. “However, Singapore wants it to terminate in Jurong East and understandably so. Just as we want to develop Bandar Malaysia, they want to use the HSR to drive development in Jurong East.

“From our perspective, by terminating it at the CIQ, the entire project will be within our borders and we will have more control of it. This will be closer to Orchard Road than Jurong East. But of course, we have to weigh Singapore’s economic and commercial considerations as well to come to an agreement.”

However, the SPAD states that it, in fact, would have preferred the terminus to be located somewhere within the Singapore Central Business District (CBD), which would have certainly been much closer to Orchard Road that either the CIQ complex or Jurong East.

spad-says-ceo-misquoted-data

SPAD’s statement in full; click to enlarge

“However, this is a joint project for the benefit of both countries and hence there has to be give and take,” it added. “For example, if we had wanted to terminate at the CIQ, the entire project will be within our borders and we will have more control. But this would not have been optimal and neither country would have benefited as much.”

On Friday, Singapore’s Ministry of Transport released its own statement saying that it was “surprised” that Malaysia wanted to end the service in Johor Bahru instead of Singapore as previously agreed on.

“Our understanding is that Malaysia views the commercial premise of the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore HSR project, and with which we agree, as being based on a direct connection between the two city centres,” a spokesperson said. “Terminating the HSR in Johor Bahru will not achieve this objective.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh. on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:59 am

SPAD CEO uses “misquoted” card!

It’s super effective!

Sinjiapok cukur

• Gargantia on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Again and again using cronies member to important task will make things worst.

Example MAS and 1MBD.

BN never learn from past history and pure arrogant !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Black Dog on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Alamak, still discussing. Wait for another 20 years before it can begin.

I’m totally agree that it should be terminated at JB. Cut all the crap and start work. Anyway, if Singapore wants to join in, they can just extend it into orchard road or whatever

• Universiti Tahi Malaysia (UiTM) on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Most likely CEO comes from UiTM and his English not that good ie he hardly cannot speak proper English. What he was really trying to say is “Jom buat apa keje kuat, mari makan nasi lemak and makan kuih lapis sambil tengok awek”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
        • UiTm Alumni on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:09 pm

You sir, your english wasn’t good enough to condemn those UiTM students. Let me help to correct your grammar.

Most likely THE/THESE CEO’s CAME from UiTM and his English not that good ie he hardly cannot speak proper English.

You better laid up your ass front of tv and watch the whole season of Oh MY English. Mind you, not all UiTM students nowadays hardly to speak as per your claim. Reflect yourself and brush up your own english first man!

P/S: am an EX- UITM Student yaww!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • Observer on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Malu betul this alumni guy. I think you better tidor la bang. To sleepy and talking rots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Mickey Mouse on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:34 pm

If I were you, there is nothing to be proud about. Your standards are one of the worst but Ministers will tell people our institutions are at par or better than Oxford.

And our Proton is better than BMW and Volvo

• Lawyer on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:56 pm

I got a law firm and I just sacked 3 uitm junior lawyers. Their English were so bad, simple drafting also cannot do. And always sleeping.

• Lim CK on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:09 pm

When I interviewed a uitm grad that day, he said “I is working hard if I getting this jobs”

I fainted.

• Vincent Ang on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:09 am

Typical UITM rubbish English. How in the world do you ‘Reflect yourself’? Cerminkan diri, perhaps? What is ‘hardly to speak’? Do you mean ‘jarang pakai’?

• lpost on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:24 pm

yellow ass with retard mind…

• lilytan on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:28 am

Something so straight forward have been twisted to create much confusion. The edge have downgrade itself and now it is as unreliable as its younger brother, the msiakini. Utterly rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Based on what? on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:19 pm

I’d like to differ. The Edge has been out there providing actual corporate news, in comparison to msiakini. People make mistakes, and it’s really unfair to blame the edge just because of one wrong report. Furthermore, we don’t actually know whether or not the fault was on the edge’s side. Editors usually record the whole interview so that they could write up on the article when they get back to office. Do you really think a reporter would make such a small mistake as this?

• Datuk Wong Chun Wai on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Malaysian journalist always very scared because politicians always lie ie go back on what they have said after publication. All my Star and NST journalist friends all record every single press conference and interview.

They go back and transcribe word for word because they are too scared. This is the normal practice.

CEO, pls don’t blame the poor reporter la because you are tired and hungry.

• CEO Salah Lah! on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:56 pm

This what happens when you come from an institution that has low regard for English and don’t concentrate on English.

Bog big CEOs don’t know how to talk or relay information. 100% here the media won’t be wrong. If one journalist made a mistake then you can say that journalist may have been mistaken. But if all the journalist in the press conference quoted the CEO and said same thing, most likely the CEO needs to be transfered to be the janitor.

I propose the SPAD CEO start his way up the ladder starting as the janitor of SPAD

• Rinnegan on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:37 am

I am starting to wonder to whom will this HSR project wil really benefits,…

• shawal on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:55 pm

this HSR makes multiple stops throughout the way…

it will benefit many that wishes to travel between these cities as well, be it businessmen or travelers , expect thousands to millions of passengers annually

• Present for the Cronies. on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:44 pm

It will benefit the croni companies who are usually UMNO members or their relatives. As usual, as with any project, the final cost will bloat up few fold. Expect this to blat up to be RM20 billion easily. It is our LHDN money that will be siphoned off.

Get Koreans or Mat Salleh to do this whole project, they will do it one third the cost. Get our local companies to do, sure bloat up more than RM20 billion

• Misquoted.. they love this word…

• Lawyer on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Such a disgrace. Better to admit you are wrong and move on instead of palming the blame on to the poor reporter who earns RM3000 per month.

Big earner bullying small earner here.

• You want the service terminated at JB CIQ, then the name ‘Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail’ stand for what?

Funny, please don’t tarnish Malaysia’s image overseas.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Lol good one bro.

Ending it @ Orchard Road would be cool but that area is already very packed…wonder where they will put the complex if that’s the case.

• Lpost on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Just terminate the line at JB. Full stop! Malaysia HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Please lah, you think Johor is so important that it should warrant a high-speed rail to KL? If this were to be a ‘Malaysia HSR’, you wouldn’t even have a HSR at all, wait another 50 years, or take the KTM. None of the other towns it connects to will benefit! Use your brain to think not your emotions!!

• Gargantia on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Another example SPAD CEO not up to the task even a small details can bring shame to global notice.

• Lawyer on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:58 pm

the shocking thing is, this guy pay packet is 6 figures per month. Not per year but per month!

• shawal on Jun 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm

expect to see singaporeans flooding IKEA bulatan kg pandan…

they will be complaining of every single thing…
    but as long as they keep spending , we’ll just keep quiet…

anyway
    really2 looking forward to this HSR project to come to life…

• Singapore land transport head also worry if SPAD CEO really means to end the HSR at JB, so instead of making an official query, the borrow the power from media.

Seems like both side are still not ready for this cross-border HSR challenge. I predict there will be lost of issues when the HSR construction started.

• pucathk on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:21 pm

To all reporter out there, please understand first the statement before you go publish it. Media really can made global shocked to us…

• Lawyer on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Reporter always made the scapegoat la. This CEO is just a big bully

• thepolygonal on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:31 pm

They should just make a Thai-Malaysia-Singapore HSR.
    And while we are at it, put in Peninsular-Sabah-Sarawak HSR too.

• At least he is honest about it. Our politicians on the other hand tells the public that we misquote them.

• tartargomen on Jun 22, 2015 at 5:09 pm

If ended in JB
    Why need to exchange KTM Tanjong Pagar land in singapore?!
    Fishy!

HSR just link JB & KL.
    What for? Do we have enough population to take this HSR?

Pocket filled with money already.
    Pusing, Twisting….
    Budget issued for KL-SG.
    Now only use it for KL-JB.
    Fool the citizen.

Comon la, Singapore citizen & foreign expatriate will still take air asia to KL.
    Wasting time Jam in JB causeway?
    They rather wait flight in changi airport!
    No miss flight, no delay, no missing baggage, no haggling taxi, no low quality LIMO.

This G, suck money, no working.
    Any party will do better than them!

I will use my eyes,
    I will take rocket,
    I will fly to the moon.

But will not accept the bloody sword take our blood!

• lpost on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:28 pm

ya rocket with bomb, just know how to destroy a nation & making stupid chaos, just like umno. stupid dap communist.