French also keen on developing the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail project – TGV, anyone?

tgv train

Everyone wants in, it seems. Japan would like to see its Shinkansen bullet trains being employed in the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail project, and so do the Chinese with its own system, but they’re not the only ones with an eye on that spot.

France has also voiced its keeness to help develop the proposed 330 km-long line – according to news reports, Singapore transport minister Lui Tuck Yew said last week that French companies have indicated their interest in having Train à Grande Vitesse (TGV) operating on the planned high-speed rail project between Singapore and Malaysia.

Lui however added that the project was not yet at a point where any decisions about the best contenders could be made, and that neither Singapore nor Malaysia is at the stage of selecting which train system or company to go with. Both countries will first need to discuss the financial, regulatory, structural and operational issues on a deeper basis and in a systematic manner.

“Before we decide on the eventual system, we have to jointly decide it. We have to jointly decide on the selection of tenderers and the system itself. But I think that will come much later, because there are many structural issues that we have to decide on first,” Lui told reporters last week in France.

“It’s actually quite a complicated project, with many different permutations and many different possibilities. So we have to step through this systematically with the Malaysians, get an agreement before we can even put out a tender into the market,” he said, adding that at present, all Singapore was doing was attempting to learn as much as it could about all the possible systems that would fit the bill.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rulered on May 26, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Go for Jap tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Japan invented the high speed train
      They have the technology, Maglev and such.
      I would say, don’t invest on the train but
      instead invest on a good high speed track
      I mean no point if you have a Veyron but
      you don’t have a good flat secure surface to speed
      Train set technology come and go but tracks seldom
      Make KL as a technological and convenient hub
      of South East Asia after Singapore.
      Introduce different classes of rail coaches to meet
      different sets of target segmented customers.
      Apply Air Asia competitive long term booking rates as
      well as premium business class for the higher income
      Railway security, maintenance affordability and first
      rate technology should be the utmost priority
      Therefore I trust Japanese Shinkasen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Here is my argument.
        Look at the Autobahn German highway.
        It has been built since the 1920s or 1930s.
        It was built in a manner that it is very safe
        and the gradient level are well calculated to
        ensure that a car would consume less energy.
        During that time, there weren’t passanger cars
        that goes more than 100km/h. But they had a vision.
        Today the autobahn is still very much relavant,
        current, timeless that it can be applied for today’s
        driver and vehicles.
        Focus on the rails first, then the trains.
        When it comes to trains, it definitely has to be the
        Shinkasen. It is the Teslas of trains!
        We already have the KLCC. Please make our train
        something we can be proud of, and affordable too by
        going mass economies of scale. Mileage per seat.
        Maglev Shinkasen please!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • Kimberly Ng on May 26, 2015 at 5:22 pm

I hope the those who can make the decission have the thinking like you.

Nowadays just cannot understand how some ministers can come out with such nonsense statements.

• Support Bumi on May 26, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Go for Proton. Please make it with VSC. Support local products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • TGV is faster with 574.8 km/h

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfll-5h6Rg8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Maglev Shinkasen
      603km/h
      Fastest train in the world as at April 2015

From Tokyo to Nagoya 334km (similar distance KL-SG)
      in 46 minutes!!!!!!

Second fastest:
      430km/h Shanghai Maglev

Have a good read…
      http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-32391020
      http://www.bbc.com/news/world-32405407
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ch%C5%AB%C5%8D_Shinkansen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • i do agree on high speed train project but we really have to make sure it is safe in our country setting.at the end of the day we have to ask ourselves,is this what we want or we have other better options than high speed train?

• Kancil Hybrid on May 26, 2015 at 3:31 pm

TGV vs Shinkansen = 508 GT vs Camry Hybrid

Hmm.. Very tough choice.
    Sam Loo please advice. Hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 3:42 pm

TGV is an impressive setup indeed. Have taken the Eurostar a couple of times, each time am impressed….

But still my favourite has to be the Shanghai Maglev train. Holy smokes that is fast.

• Which brand do you choose for people carrier..?
    1) Chery Eastar
    2) Toyota Wish
    3) Peugeot 5008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • gaviny on May 26, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Alstom eh, will be nice to go back to them.

• Proton boleh !!

• thepolygonal on May 26, 2015 at 4:20 pm

No need these super trains tech… use existing LRT and put campro engine with huge exhaust pipe can already. The campro moves the train slowly while the exhaust will scare away any animals that wonder into the track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • frossonice on May 26, 2015 at 4:36 pm

If it is up to me, I will choose the TGV. Based on the problem arises with Taiwan HSR which initially built on TGV system but changes into Shinkansen system, TGV system allow more easier access to the tech as compared with the Shinkansen. Plus, every single god damn maintenance and servicing need to be done by the Japs as they are unwilling to transfer the tech to the locals. South Korea did it right by adopting the french tech. They are now producing their own high speed train.

Futhermore, HSR using french tech can basically accomodate multiple type of rolling stocks (trains) where as Shinkansen is only built for Shinkansen type of train and cannot share with other rolling stocks. But in term of safety, Shinkansen win hands down.

• Transfer of Technology and knowledge are one of the clauses that the Japanese are ready to include should we accept their bid. Such huge project usually make that a prime requirement.

• Ferruccio on May 27, 2015 at 4:37 pm

No one is going to transfer technology and knowledge to Malaysia lah. The Bumis are so smart, figure it themselves lah. Make Malaysia proud by making your own product like Proton

• tinmilo on May 27, 2015 at 9:24 am

Transfer of technology?
      We had those vision when we conceive Proton, look at how the vision has become.
      We can’t even build cars that safety carry 4 adults, and we wanna build train now?
      I rather we go for something more reliable and outsource it to the Japs.
      The whole idea of buying a train is to first serve its purpose as a train, to carry people efficiently 24x7x365 without a glitch.

• tintin on May 27, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Cannot. Later local supporters say the train tin milo how? Let the locals build it themselves lah

• yellowschoolbus on May 26, 2015 at 4:52 pm

I vote for Japan tech. http://www.japantoday.com/category/kuchikomi/view/japans-shinkansen-best-in-world-at-safety-punctuality-tech-but-not-marketing

If im not mistaken, shinkansen’s safety record is 100%; no accident at all.

• JonSnow on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:46 pm

I think you miss up important sentence behind.

If im not mistaken, shinkansen’s safety record is 100%; no accident at all ” With condition of under Japenese maintenance !! ”

If maintain by bumis, today kopi tomorrow kopi o the day after tomorrow cut cost for ms.r buy bag, buy ring … Do u thing it still will safety record 100%?

• sammy on May 26, 2015 at 4:53 pm

After the French submarine… No thanks.
    Go for Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Not to blame the French… who knows actually they are paying 10% of the money to French, the rest still somewhere in M’sia

• tinmilo on May 27, 2015 at 9:12 am

Well, there were in the deal, if they received only 10% out of what Malaysia has said we paid, then you only can say that they are colluding.

• If you wanna talk about subs, the Scorpene class outfitted with multinational tech and weapons would have a slight advantage over the Soryu class that relies on homegrown and US tech.
      Just want to correct some misconceptions.

• awan nano on May 26, 2015 at 5:23 pm

TGV yes! Double decker train.

• C. P. MOHAN on May 26, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Don’t get me wrong, I am for development/progress but priorities must come first if not “First-class facility third-class mentality/maintenance”.

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 5:53 pm

go for japs la…hi RV according to Sam Loo…

• roxas on May 26, 2015 at 5:53 pm

japanese shinkansen pls !

• Apa Nama on May 26, 2015 at 6:05 pm

France = TGV
    Japan = Shinkansen
    Malaysia = Fast Fire Car? (Keretapi Laju)

• paanjang16 on May 26, 2015 at 6:56 pm

I prefer TGV compared to the Shinkansen or the ones from China.

Looks like it would be a 3 train race to build the HSR between KL and Singapore. Whoever gets the KL-Singapore HSR will most probably get the KL-Bangkok one too. Reason being if you are going to Bangkok from Singapore, you might not need to step off the train/change train in KL as the same train can continue the journey on to Bangkok. If different train types high chance need to switch trains unless the TGV, China and Skinkansen share the same tech and can share the same track (Maybe train experts can enlighten me on this?)

• SavvyKL on May 26, 2015 at 6:58 pm

No France TGV, it base on very old locomotive design HSR train s, it can slowly archive high speed, but very slow acceleration and braking, so is very danger if can stop fast it one of importance in train safety. Also the train very small, width is too small compare to recent CRH,Shinkansen and ICE.

• Zhang on May 26, 2015 at 7:07 pm

My bet is on the Chinese. Cost is the most important factor here, Singapore has the monies but Thailand n Malaysia…???
    Won’t be surprise if China will market this as part of the Trans SEA railway project that stretches from Singapore to Hunan,
    China. Ultimately, China will benefit economically from this project and they might just subsidies and furnish cheap loans
    for the project. Just wonder if Japs and Frenchies can match that……

• saladin on May 26, 2015 at 7:28 pm

For me fast train is uneconomical to cater the kl -singapore demand. Currently i have travel to singapore by bus n plane. By bus rm80 take 4.5 hours, or rm200+ by plane take less than 3 hours(including boarding everything). Both also convinient. So how do the fast train fit in.

• Still Waiting on May 26, 2015 at 9:02 pm

I think this train service is for myself and a few others colleagues whom works remotely in KL, S’ban & Malacca for a SG company and we need to go SG on monthly basis. If the price is within RM250 range, It’s a viable option for us. Cos I’d rather spend the money on a fast ride back home than a return ticket plus overnight hotel stay…That is if they actually deliver what they claim (2hrs 45minutes plus immigrations and RM200+ range. But I think the biggest difference between flight/bus/train is when an accident happens. Bus, we’ve heard stories and news over and over again that I don’t even need to pull up any news from the web you should already be familiar with it. Airplanes, well… we’ve been through a bad year and if given the option of things going wrong in high speeds, I would rather be on the ground than 30,000 feet up…

• tgv de merde on May 26, 2015 at 8:17 pm

PLEASE.Not another french bullsh*t. They are known for selling sh*tty technology at high prices. The frogs will lie through their teeth before the transaction and continue snubbing right after. Look east. Go shinkansen!!

• If Singapore has equivalent say in the project while over 95% of the rail was in Malaysia land PLUS kiasu attitude of the Republic l afraid better we delay the project until we ironed out our 1MDB matters.

Thorough yet unbiased study must be done since we already made series of blunders for the last decades or so.

• Full House on May 26, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Give train project to German. German sublet to France. France sub let to Japan. Japan sub let to Korean. Korean sublet to China. China buy 1MDB. Push the world economy. No minister involved will make objection.. PAC also feel lazy to check.

• ruralresident on May 26, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Who will benefit from this project. Rural folks will definitely at loss as their properties are at stake here. If the government was too chicken out to the pj folks by cancelling the KIDEX and whatever project that pass through pj area, what right do the government have to pass through thousands of acres of rural folks properties.
    Even if the project does take place, pj folks have to be barred from using it..!

• Azmin on May 27, 2015 at 9:23 am

Saya cancel itu projek sebab rakyat selangor tak nak KIDEK. Lagi pun, how can I make them angry, nanti affect pulak next PRU. Jadi fikir fikirlah sikit , kawan.

• alovely day on May 27, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Better to buy from the French, at least they speak English and the EURO is expensive, so there is higher likelihood they will employ Malaysians to implement the project. The worst are Chinese suppliers (such as Huawei) they will ship boatloads of Chinese employees here because their management hardly speak English and doesn’t cost much more to pay renminbi to their nationals compared to ringgit for Malaysian. Go to Huawei office in icon building at Jalan tun razak and you will see hundreds (if not thousands) of uncivilized mainland Chinese tyrant over the locals they hire as drivers and clerical work.

• Aisye, everyone dont worry…
    They will pay a third party ‘CONsultant’ RM500Mil to decide for us which is better. Remember Scorpene, use a consultant laa.

• If you wanna talk about subs, the Scorpene class outfitted with multinational tech and weapons would have a slight advantage over the Soryu class that relies on JP homegrown and US tech. Also definitely better than Russian Akulas, and perhaps matchable to the Germans Type 21x
      Just want to correct some misconceptions.

• ahmed on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:54 pm

never ride on japanese nor chinese HSR. rode on TGV couple of times. basis my xp on TGV and wht i seen on utube for shinkansen, i’d prefer TGV. these are french we’re talking about. they know how to do it IN STYLE. spacious and doesnt look cheap internally. even the canteen feels comfortable – mcD over mamak ambience, if u know wht i mean. not high class, but doesnt look cheap either.

safety-wise, correct me if i’m wrong, there are no fatalities on TGV too. these trains use jacob bogies thus reducing the propability of jack-knifing the coaches like wht happened to ICE in eschede incident. when derailed, the coaches remain in one line instead of jack-knifing into each other

• amerulfitri on Dec 01, 2015 at 3:47 pm

TGV PLEASE!!!

• amerulfitri on Dec 01, 2015 at 4:06 pm

TGV PLEASE!!