Japan wants Shinkansen running in Malaysia

Shinkansen

During Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s official visit to Japan, his Japanese counterpart Shinzo Abe has said that Japan would like to see its Shinkansen bullet train technology employed in the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail project, Bernama reports.

“I hope to see the Shinkansen running on Malaysian land,” he said at a joint press conference with Najib after the Prime Minister’s Office meeting.

“We realised the significance and importance attached to the project by Japan,” Najib said, adding that Abe and him have spent a lot of time discussing the project, and that he believes Japan will submit a very competitive bid.

Reportedly, Japan has also been lobbying to introduce the Shinkansen in the Bangkok-Chiang Mai and Jakarta-Bandung high-speed rail projects.

thai hsr render 1

“It’s still early as both Malaysia and Singapore need to sort out a lot of details. Japan, on their part, is willing to undertake manpower training, transfer of technology and financing in their bid to win the project,” revealed transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

The KL-Singapore project was originally targeted to be finished by 2020, but both Najib and Lee have decided to reassess the deadline considering the scale and complexity of the project. However, economic and commercial counsellor of the Chinese embassy in Malaysia, Wu Zhengping, has said that China can build the line by 2020, if given the contract.

The 330 km line is set to cut travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes, with trains projected to do 350-450 km/h on average. It was reported recently that a single journey could cost around RM200, and a return under RM400. Besides Japan and China, France, South Korea, Spain and Germany are also said to be bidding for involvement.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BANZAI!!!

• Deject on May 26, 2015 at 1:50 pm

It will be awarded to whom who massage the most balls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Kenneth Fook on May 26, 2015 at 1:52 pm

TBH, i doubt the intention of the japanese. We are merely a lab rat. All they want is to run their experiments on our climate and see how things work out. It would be great if our government could support the local as they are more aware of the fluctuations in climate change not to mention the material tolerance towards heat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 62
    • Seriously ? ? ? on May 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

What do you mean by supporting local? Malaysia can make bullet train? Heck, we can’t even make a proper car !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
      • Support Bumi on May 26, 2015 at 10:37 pm

They want Proton to make bullet train lol. If Japanese make, they butthurt say “moving coffin” coz train no VSC

• Burong on May 26, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Japan VS China. Najib wan to choose which one? It depends on who gave him the bail out of his biggest headache, 1MDB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • tailong on May 26, 2015 at 3:20 pm

if najib proven guilty, then, his balls should be nailed onto the walls…

let PAC do their things.. we’ll see the outcome.. should have enough comments in PT about 1mbd.. it gets lame..

some quarters foaming & b*tching about ‘innocent until proven guilty’, but in this case.. haiyyyaaa… already put judgement when investigation still being carried out..

as much as you do, i also want to see some ‘balls’ really being nailed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Henry on May 26, 2015 at 2:14 pm

China have proven that they are no pushover in high speed rail technology. We should use their system instead of the Japanese’ which cost three times more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Jonn Dol on May 26, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Better Japanese or Europe (French/German) technology. But the asking price could be damn high..

• Apa lu mau on May 26, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Give to china – complain!
    Give to Japan – complain!
    Give to xxx – complain!
    Proceed to do – complain!
    Cancel the plan – complain!
    Faster implement – complain!
    Delay implement – complain!
    Malaysian, Malaysian…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
    • superdriver on May 26, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Dude actually malaysia never had a chance. We have thousands of engineers, professionals and thousand of people who is willing to learn and do it and make our country proud. After many years we now only building the MRT, LRT and whatever when the rest of the world has done it already. Right now everything is money and projects awarded in ali baba policies to unskilled company that hires the cheapest/replaceable/noncollateral labourers and when all is over and if the trains are running well, the bangla ,indon, myanmar , india and all other workers will look at themselves proudly and say we built that , not the lazy malaysians.

This is happening in all private sectors where the actual skill is being outsourced to other countries and the malaysians stare in the hopes of getting a glimpse of the foreigners success. Hidup malaysia, hidup orang asing tanpa mu siapa kita.

• What to do when we have self-serving “rakyats” who would condemn and vilify our own homegrown efforts to advance and create our own.

To them, Proton engineers are a shame to the engineering profession, should be mocked on national and net news, spat on and cursed by their families and friends, shunned by their industry peers, and once they passed away, buried in an unmarked grave. Their names shall be demonised in the history books and propaganda videos.

• dodgeviper88 on May 26, 2015 at 2:32 pm

makes more sense to choose China over Japan as Malaysia might encounter compatibility issues when China intends to build high speed trains spanning across asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • greatlandere on May 26, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Well..Just don’t trust Chinese rail system, after so many crashes and unforeseen quality issue. It is already stated in china state media they admitted that the Chinese steel is the 2nd grade to compare with world grade…. how can you trust the B6 (mainlander) people who lack of self-ethical code and consider profiteering over quality.

China is superficial in many things from painting a beautiful picture to the world longest or tallest building, but that also come from foreign intellectual and knowledges…

Trust issue , I will go with the Japanese or the German or French rail system and design, they are still the best in the world.

We are Malaysian, we are not bound to china rail code system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • terms reliability, go japanese

• jarjar on May 27, 2015 at 1:53 am

No, Proton. 5 stars ANCAP. Japanese where got?

• Campro inefficient on May 27, 2015 at 10:23 am

You must be blind. Go check ANCAP and EUROCAP and there are so many Jap cars with 5 star safety rating. Proton got EUROCAP ratings??? What about IIHS ratings??? NONE!!!
        And for your info Jap cars like Jazz, Accord awarded best safety pick for multiple years already so where is Proton?

• Kanasai Banzai-san on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Japanese reliable? Yar, check out the Japanese air-bags.. sure kill!

• Nissan on May 26, 2015 at 3:22 pm

I wish there is Japanese benton instead of nasi lemak, not because the latter is not tasty but for better hygennes on board.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Give it to me I can finish it by 2019
    I mean how could China beat Japan?
    Japan invented the high speed train
    They have the technology, Maglev and such.
    I would say, don’t invest on the train but
    instead invest on a good high speed track
    I mean no point if you have a Veyron but
    you don’t have a good flat secure surface to speed
    Train set technology come and go but tracks seldom
    Make KL as a technological and convenient hub
    of South East Asia after Singapore.
    Introduce different classes of rail coaches to meet
    different sets of target segmented customers.
    Apply Air Asia competitive long term booking rates as
    well as premium business class for the higher income
    Railway security, maintenance affordability and first
    rate technology should be the utmost priority
    Therefore I trust Japanese Shinkasen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • SavvyKL on May 26, 2015 at 5:46 pm

well, Japan Shinkasen already outdated in term of speed, there HSR are slow,high cost. (they focus on Meglev) hence Shinkasen train speed Max around 300km than we need push max to achieve 90 min time, means Squeeze train to Max, than this will cause train lifespan reduce and parts keep change. your can see Taiwan HSR bankrupt due to too high cost on maintenance, operation and part. than other HSR like China there CRH-380A design speed up to 410KM/h than commercial speed upto 380km, than means KL-Sg HSR only average 250-300km/h only push 60-70% of HSR capability, means train lifespan and parts will be last longer and cost operation will be bring down. seriously future economy also need consider with future link to north Penang and Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • andasfc on May 27, 2015 at 1:56 pm

believe the japs train just broken their own record for the fastest train in the world.. should be 480km/h if not mistaken..

• stealth on May 26, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Never look down on china’s technical expertise. When they say will deliver by 2020 They really mean business. Nowdays they dominate even telco technologies as well and i have to be impressed of what they can achieve. Btw read about china’s bullet train progress they made wonders in their own country.

• wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 8:14 pm

It is the Germans that built Maglev for the Chinese.

Japanese Maglev Shinkasen
        603km/h
        Fastest train in the world as at April 2015
        From Tokyo to Nagoya 334km (similar distance KL-SG)
        in 46 minutes!!!!!!
        Second fastest:
        430km/h Shanghai Maglev
        Have a good read…
        http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-32391020
        http://www.bbc.com/news/world-32405407
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ch%C5%AB%C5%8D_Shinkansen

• droll on May 26, 2015 at 4:57 pm

the shinkansen isn’t just known for its speed. it’s also known for its punctuality and reliability. how will m’sian operators deliver on those???

• BeemerFreak on May 26, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Simple, they can never. Government run services are NEVER on time. PLEASE DO NOT let KTM run this otherwise we will have problems faced like what the commuter had…..never

• pontiac on May 26, 2015 at 5:47 pm

go for JAPANESE PLEASE.. AND PLEASE! no CONVENTIONAL high speed rail PLEASE.. GO for MAGLEV TRAIN!

China? their maglev technology is not from their own. Its from Germany.

• roxas on May 26, 2015 at 5:53 pm

pls pls pls!!! pls take the japanese shinkansen !!! its the best !!!

• Jpm: give it to me
    Mpm: no
    Jpm: I pull you out from your sh*t
    Mpm: ok but don’t let my former boss know
    Jpm: ok
    Mpm: settle problem solve

• andrekua on May 26, 2015 at 6:39 pm

I think government really need to study the cost to operate these train rather the the cost to build it.

No doubt that having these would greatly help with our public transportation but at what cost. Is it really affordable mean of transportation?

For example, a single trip from Tokyo to Osaka cost RM400++. How much would it cost for our KL to JB? If it were to cost hundreds, most especially families would most definitely prefer their own vehicle since it’s more economical for them. Moreover Malaysia is not a high income country.

• sianglee on May 26, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Now we are not high income indeed. Who knows by 2020 all malaysian are millionares…when 1usd = rm200 yes we can..

• Albert on May 26, 2015 at 8:42 pm

The botak is very happy.
    Why?
    Geisha providing “massage” as the bullet train speeds to new records in Bolehland.

• The Japanese operation model will not work here. They’ve got passenger volume to make it viable. Heck, people use the Shinkansen from Utsunomiya to Ueno station in Tokyo as a daily commute to work, which is about a 120km ride in 45mins. I say run the line to Ipoh and Penang, that’ll make it more enticing for the passengers to use the service. I feel RM200 per ride is very expensive.

• You can’t go wrong with Sushi train.

• raitag on May 27, 2015 at 3:30 pm

I HOPE SO!!!