Perodua Pre-Owned Vehicles (POV) to go retail in 2016

Perodua_Axia_vs_Viva_ 008

At yesterday night’s roundtable with the media on the sidelines of the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show, where Perodua’s year-to-date 2015 sales figures were announced, P2 president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh also gave updates on the company’s Pre-Owned Vehicles (POV) division.

The business of taking in used cars as trade-ins is already in existence (started in 2013), but Perodua is planning to expand it from the current wholesale-only model to include retail sales as well.

This effectively means that P2 will be setting up a pre-owned car arm in the mould of Toyota’s Topmark, Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s MUV and BMW Premium Selection, among others. Currently, traded in cars are sold on to panel used car dealers.

Perodua-Sentral-PJ

Aminar said that Perodua will take in cars that are up to seven years old, as cars older than that may be harder to refurbish for resale. Only Perodua cars taken in will flow back into the upcoming retail POV business – other makes will continue to be wholesaled to the used car dealers. POV’s cars will be offered with warranty for added peace of mind.

The original plan was for POV to be launched in this final quarter of 2015, but that has been delayed to next year. The final hurdle is a suitable location. “We want a good location in Klang Valley and we hope we will find one soon and start the operation next year,” Aminar told reporters.

The P2 boss explained that the establishment of POV will help Perodua have some form of control over resale values. It will also serve as an alternative to new car customers in challenging economic times.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Resale value and quality?? Most Mivi teribbly abused on the road judging by the way those drivers drove…reckless speeding often resulted in gearbox and engine poblems and suspensions not to mention dents everywhere…these road terrors simply dont take care of their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Aminar VSC ABS Mana?? on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Aminar, your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Still no VSC and ABS. You think Malaysians bodoh ah Aminar?

Aminar, no point sell 2nd hand but safety means ZERO to you. Malu betul. Perodua also protected like Proton. Untung banyak banyak for UMW. But UMw never give safety for both Toyota and Perodua.

Both Perodua and UMW also Government majority owned. The Government themselves don’t care for the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Eh POV kan porn, macammana boleh masuk sini dalam Perodua?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:22 pm

You will be surprised most of the traded-in cars are Proton.

People moved from Proton to Perodua for its reliability and fuel efficiency.

People from Perodua, will instead move to Toyota/Honda.

Reason is Perodua reliability and fuel saving enable the owners to save enough money to upgrade the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
          • rider on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:20 pm

world stupidest comment i ever read.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
          • idealtech on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:40 pm

I know i wouldnt, my wira is still going on strong. Myvi’s handling is comparable to my Iswara 1999 carburetor. Oh not to forget the Iswara torque power enables it to pull the car from 3rd gear (auto). U want a car that handles like a charm? go for Saga BLM at least.

• simple math for those idiots who say about FC saves money to upgrade new car:

lets say have toyota-car with FC: 1L/15KM and proton-car with FC: 1L/8KM, cost of petrol after 100,000KM for both cars (which is the warranty for toyota for example) will be RM 25,625 for proton-car and RM 13,666 for toyota-car, so toyota-car managed to save RM 11,952 . congratulation idiots you already paid more than what you saved when you purchase your toyota junk with zero safety features !

• Smart move by Produa.
    If I buy new Produa it may had re-sale value.
    Only how much discount will we get compare to the new car.

• olio benzina on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Perodua POV. Pre-owned by Jeremy Clarkson who called a new Perodua a POS only suitable for testing sledehammers with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • fanofthisite on Oct 31, 2015 at 5:02 pm

You take JC’s reviews on small cars seriously? 90% entertainment.

• Scrap yard already over loaded. No point buy from their retail

• alldisc on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:24 pm

why is this term POV sounds really familiar?

oh… my… a popular term in the porn industry. lucky no bad meaning… just Point of View.

• Mama Push on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:34 pm

no need to buy pre-owned car lar… maybe sudah kena banjir one… ayyoooooo

• Jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Me direct upgrade to Toyoda from Prodon..dunt even tink of upgrade to Produa Mivi handling like van especially when sapu korner yet most Mivi driven like F1 racing cars..they pobably frustrated cannot afod Toyoda

• Power on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:06 pm

when a F-Up car also need to pre-own, you know how bad the economy for those are…

• Ootai on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:09 pm

P2 boss. Just tell us when is the replacement model for Myzi coming?? It is >10 years. It is not fuel efficient in today’s standard. Ppl are buying because P1 is no better. Pity the P2 boring assemblers.

• I see P1 staffs going full force here. But it’s too late. Your Tethergate scandal hits the final nail to your coffin plus the Honda pulling out already digs your grave.