Honda recalls 2008-2009 Accord and 2016 CR-V in US over airbag issues – Malaysian cars not affected

2008 Honda Accord EX-L V-6 Sedan.

American Honda Motor Co has announced a recall of certain models of the eighth-generation Accord and the fourth-generation CR-V in the United States, each over separate issues regarding airbag deployment.

Firstly, the company is calling back 303,904 units of the 2008-2009 Accord over an issue regarding the deployment threshold of the side and curtain airbags, as the side impact sensor calibrations may be may be overly sensitive.

As such, the airbags may deploy with the ignition on if there is a strong non-vehicular collision, such as an impact to the underside of the vehicle (like road debris) or even if the doors are slammed with “excessive force.” So far, Honda has received 19 reports of injury, 311 warranty claims and 160 field reports, according to a National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) report.

The issue is a software-related one, and has nothing to do with the hardware or supplier of the airbags. Honda will notify affected customers via mail, and will update the software – which will adjust the deployment threshold – free of charge.

2015 Honda CR-V

The second recall involves just 515 units of the 2016 CR-V, with only 30 actually ending up in owners’ hands before a stop-sale order was issued on affected models. The issue surrounds a Takata-made driver’s front airbag inflator, which can rupture with metal fragments striking the driver or the occupants, potentially resulting in serious injury or death. Sounds familiar?

Rather surprisingly, this particular issue is not believed to be related to the massive worldwide recalls also involving rupturing Takata airbag inflators, as it only appears to pertain to a structural flaw of the inflator casing, not the airbag inflator propellant itself. Honda and the NHTSA were alerted to the issue by Takata two days after an inflator ruptured at the latter’s plant in Monclova, Mexico during a test on October 10.

As yet, there are no reports of injuries or occurrences related to the issue. Honda has already contacted all owners by phone, and will provide loaner cars until repairs have been completed. It will also hold all remaining unsold cars affected from public sale until it has repaired all of them.

We have contacted sources within Honda Malaysia, who have confirmed that none of the cars sold in Malaysia have been affected by either of these recalls.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sohhai on Nov 02, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Hello Honda Malaysia, my 2005 Accord affected by the Takata airbag issue has yet to be replaced. I’ve filled in my information in your website more than 6 months ago but have yet to be contacted. Please buck up. Lives are potentially at stake here

• lithium on Nov 02, 2015 at 11:41 pm

you need to constantly badger honda customer care line for them attend to your recall. i waited for mths before they replace both my airbags. i follow-up with them every month. good luck

• vezeroth on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:42 pm

how come malaysian cars always not affected? are we really that good?

• Whatever brand cars are made there locally, with local parts so usually dun affect others, unless the components are part of global sourcing, ie Takata’s defective airbag chemical pills are made in good ol’ USA.