Maxus G10 – 11-seat MPV appears on oto.my, RM130k

Maxus-G10-Oto-Ad

An ad for the Maxus G10 has appeared on our sister site oto.my, with a sticker price of RM129,888, ten grand more than the originally mooted figure. According to the ad, the big MPV brought in by Weststar is limited to just 200 units in Malaysia. But what on earth is a Maxus G10?

Back in June, we showed you the G10, which compares in size to the Hyundai Grand Starex Royale in the Malaysian context.

Introduced in China last year, the G10 seats up to 11 although the car we shot had a 10-seat configuration. Weststar says that one of the selling points of the G10 will be the fact that you can specify how many seats you want, with a minimum configuration of five seats. The big box measures 5,168 mm long, 1,980 mm wide and 1,928 mm tall, and has a 3,210 mm-long wheelbase.

The G10 is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged GDI petrol engine with 225 hp and 345 Nm for output numbers. Mated to a six-speed ZF automatic transmission with manual mode, the “TGI” mill is able to push the brick all the way up to a 190 km/h top whack.

Standard kit includes dual-zone auto climate control, rear air con, passive entry/keyless ignition, cruise control, HID xenon headlights, LED tail lamps, a moonroof and a DVD player with a seven-inch display as well as a six-speaker audio system. The people mover also comes with leather seats, parking sensors, front/rear fog lamps and a reverse camera. It rolls on 16-inch alloys and 215/65 tyres.

The decently-specced MPV counts two airbags, ABS with EBD, brake assist and ESP as safety kit. The ad mentions a two-year warranty. Looks like good value on-paper next to the 2.5 litre turbodiesel-powered Starex, which is priced from just below RM160k, although the Maxus is an unknown proposition.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ahmad on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Dear Danny Tan and other writers,

I hope that you can come up with suggestions or car reviews for cars that are elder/senior citizen friendly that we can buy for our mother/father.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
    Wannabe filial son

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • depends on the situation of the senior citizen.
      most senior citizen are healthy, dont need help to get into car.

but if you are pointing at senior citizen who is weak, having illness, regardless lo-ride or hi-ride vehicle also need assistance.

This type of car would suit your case, sustainable for your usage for 10 years ahead, since you want to be so prepared:

1. http://paultan.org/2015/07/09/2016-toyota-sienta-mpv-unveiled-for-japanese-market-2/carlineup_sienta_grade_2_40_lb/

2. http://paultan.org/2015/04/24/2015-honda-stepwgn-goes-on-sale/4150423-stepwgn_017h/

• Nicer than Innova, LOL

• Ahmad on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:03 am

thank you muya

• this car is good for my four wives and our 10 kids. Just nice. Eventhough I kerja kerani but still I have to support 10 kids, so, I need a big carrier like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:29 pm

An SUV like the HRV or Subaru XV is suitable. Getting in and out is easy.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 5:34 am

I think this is a great idea for a Driven episode.

It’s not only cars with the specialised seating, but for some, just normal cars with seats that have a reasonable hip point would be good enough.

• drMpower on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:51 pm

weststar just bumped their profit margin. brought in cheap then sell max profit. like this cheap max sell 100k even that push too far

• Henry on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:27 pm

This is because car importers/distributors have to get their selling price approved by the Gomen. They can’t price it low even if they want to. it is pretty obvious why.

• Henry on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:16 pm

We signed a Free Trade Agreement with China. The result is an invasion of Made in China products, especially automobiles, into Malaysia.

• this is the 21st century i hope there are power door and powered boot

• Businesses will buy vehicles if the ownership and running costs make sense. With this, service centre network would be a big issue. The Hyundai Starex isn’t going to be challenged lah.

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Unfortunately, no rear side power windows…

• Sam Looser on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:10 pm

This is the real deal, the real bungalow on wheels….unlike the poser overpriced crampy alphard.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Obviously you never sit in Alphard before. Don’t make sot hai comment if you don’t know much. Work hard so you cam afford a sushi.

• sick&tired on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:14 am

gearbox seems to be good, i assume it’s a 6hp19. Quite a reliable gearbox. Used by quite a lot of companies (BMW, Jaguar,Land Rover, etc)

How about the engine? While I have to give them credit for using turbo charged direct injection (better FC & more power), I would rather they use a multi point injection engine. A lot more components can fail with a ‘TGI’ engine (turbo, high pressure pump, injectors). I am not sure Weststar has the capability to maintain such an engine.

• Ootai on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Buy this for keep. Don’t mention RV and breakdown in Perlis.

• isuzuki on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Nice.
    Reliability?
    Maintenance cheap as normal Japanese sedan?
    After sales?

• joel23 on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Hands down better than Hyundai Starex with 3 point seat belt. Hyundai UK models comes with 3 point seat belts. Hyundai CEO thinks Malaysian are ‘stupid-er’ maybe?