Maxus G10 – a RM120k MPV that can seat up to 11

MaxusG10_Ext_02

A challenger to the Hyundai Grand Starex is set to come about soon, in the form of the Maxus G10 – word is that Weststar will begin selling the large MPV in a few months time; at present, a launch date hasn’t been firmed up yet, because the vehicle is still pending JPJ homologation.

As such, pricing hasn’t been confirmed, but the G10 is expected to retail around the RM120k mark, making it very much a cheaper alternative to the Grand Starex Royale.

What we do know about the vehicle – which was introduced in China last year – is that it will be launched as a ‘passenger car’ as opposed to a commercial offering, and that only one version will be available, a “luxury” variant riding on 16-inch alloys wrapped with 215/65 profile tyres.

The MPV features two sliding rear doors and can seat up to 11 (the example in the photos has a 10-seat configuration) – rather uniquely, Weststar says that one of the ‘selling points’ of the G10 will be the fact that you can specify how many seats you want, with a minimum configuration of five seats as a baseline. As such, pre-ordering is required, we’re told.

The G10 measures in at 5,168 mm long, 1,980 mm wide and 1,928 mm tall, and has a 3,210 mm-long wheelbase. It’s powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged GDI engine with 225 hp and 345 Nm for output numbers. Mated to a six-speed ZF automatic transmission with manual mode, the mill is able to get the G10 all the way up to a 190 km/h top whack.

Standard kit listed for the Malaysian-spec G10 includes dual-zone auto climate control, rear air-conditioning, passive entry/keyless ignition, cruise control, HID Xenon headlights, LED tail lamps, a moon roof and a DVD player with a seven-inch display as well as a six-speaker audio system.

The people mover also comes equipped with leather seats, parking sensors, front/rear fog lamps and a reverse camera, and safety kit includes two airbags and ABS with EBD.

It’s not listed in the equipment part of the spec-sheet, but ESP and brake assist will be available, as clearly seen in a photo of the AC control switchgear. There’s a button denoting the presence of it, and the highest-spec Executive Luxury version sold in China comes equipped with ESC, BA and traction control, so this should well be the case here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• samelorstpd on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Habis la alphard vellfire

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 12
    • nobody who going to buy Alphard Vellfire got attracted to this Maxus G10..

more like Habislah Hyundai Starex.
      the 12 seater selling at RM156k.
      overpriced Kimchi commercial MPV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
      • karam singh on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:34 am

Next moving coffin ? ESP, BA, TCS not available.
        its spec are quite good.. safety ?
        Not yet tested, wait till it is tested first.
        only those below got that good safety rating for MPV
        2015 Honda Odyssey (good)
        2015 Kia Sedona(good)
        2015 Toyota Sienna (average)
        but with 11people onboard averaging 50-60kg per person, 600kg+ ..Total gross weight about 2tons with 215 tires width, equal to bad stopping performance.
        only 2airbags ? how about other 9passengers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
        • Cricket on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:42 am

No safety concern in China,
          too many people there already…
          Anyone ever watch the video of a little girl being ran over few times there ?
          No one ever concern just watch it happened

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • kzm otak kosong on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:01 am

I was talking to kzm yesterday about this MPV, he said the mobile phone operator would be angry as the name is passing off.

Hello bang, that is Maxis lah and this is Maxus!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:04 am

That’s why i told you, sushi car still the best. Buy China car no quality, buy Korean car no RV, buy Malaysian car no quality + no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
          • Michael Teo on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:49 am

now only you know atas kosong?

• safetyno.1 on Jun 04, 2015 at 11:32 am

Sushi car no safety quality, got killer airbags inside!!!!!!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:39 am

Go check picture..there is ESP on/off option.

• Enuff said on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Higher price China car but far better worth buying than Proton Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
      • not enuff said on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:48 am

ohoho another racist eh? everyone knows china make the worst car. u are just too racist to see it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • arena on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:58 am

You can get Exora with additional money for fuel of 40k. Rather the people who buy Exora is for carry 7 people not 11.

I agree it’ll will give Alphard and Vellfire buyers run for its money

• theanswer on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:47 am

i prefer exora than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • China car? China Engine? With two airbags only for such two car? 0 star ncap? RM120k? Ok. Thanks. Bye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 49
    • Baibai on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Bye…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • knuckle on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:53 pm

You should check Weststar background before you comment like this, they know what they are doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Enuff said on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Bye bye Proton Exora. Time to wake up see how far you left behind by China car company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
      • This is not direct competitor to Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • OMG…P1 do not have any MPV to compete with this China made Big MPV…P.Exora 1 to beat Alza sales also kalah teruk….LOL

• 2.0 litre turbocharged GDI engine with 225 hp and 345 Nm

Six-speed ZF automatic transmission with manual mode

——————————————-
      I thought only Ford Mondeo or even expensive BMW model ending with number 8 will have such an output.

• tokmoh. on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Fuyoo, Conti-style headlamp control, and indicator on the left side.

I see ESP off button next to hazard lights, so it probably is.

All for RM120k, pretty good value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:28 pm

http://www.hmetro.com.my/node/51582

ambulance maxus terbakar…
    a freaking ambulance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:30 pm

gearbox is ZF , that is fine…a household name…
    but from where is the engine sourced..??

• necro on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:41 pm

not bad, deserve my thumbs up!!

• idealtech on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:55 pm

ZF 6-Speeder auto?!?!??!?!
    2.0 turbo GDI 225hp 345 torque????!!
    11-ppl carrier????!!?!?

take my money you!!!!!!!!!!,if i were to have more than 4 of my own family :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • More competition the better

• Gaviny on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:59 pm

For me the engine has to be a diesel for torque

• Amazednot on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:09 pm

How long will this mpv last before it starts rusting and falling apart? Compare to starex is it worth buying??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • mr1031 on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:23 pm

wait for a few years or maybe months than you shall have your answer

• Enuff said on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Yes worth buying than Proton Exora. Like heaven and earth comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Than why dun you say it’s worth buying Alza, Avanza Innova, Livina, Wish , Steam etc.

List it all coz you dun know compare apple to apple

• China itself nowadays are much more develop. Not like last time just to make profit for selling. They have their standards for emission, durability & safety. In fact they also have many join venture from Western car makers. So I think it is safe for everything. Value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • not enuff said on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:51 am

talk is cheap..u chinese always said everything chinese is ichiban number one. but when it comes to buying..u go for toyota or honda or when u got more money a bmw..talk is cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • thepolygonal on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:48 am

Well you can look at those ambulances, bas persiarans and school vans that has been around for some time. They are still in working condition… I mean if they are problematic and pricey to maintain, corporations would have looked elsewhere.

• Even china car has ESP & TC! Toyota, apa macam?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • isuzuki on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Only the engine is European? The rest CN?

• Nenek Kau on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Nice finishing from the photos! Well, i reckon this will be a hit to rental car company and those with large family.

• An Innova or an Avanza can carry upto 10 people. So, whats different of this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Totally agree with the statement “A challenger to the Hyundai Grand Starex is set to come about soon when the Maxus G10”

Kimchis and China cars are definitely at par. So, Starex RV will fall even further now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • Albert on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Dont ever support or buy this bastard’s car.He is the most stuck up bumi businessman,just cos he got a huge AP and Petronas Carigali contracts.
      I am sure there are other car distributors that are more humble and more civic conscious than this monster.
      Even Robert Kuok does not breathe an air of arrogance like this overweight dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 52
      • Hewhew on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:38 am

Hew hew..tak dapat project la tu.. He must did something to get heli contracts from Petronas, Petrofac, Carigali Hess , Total..etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • x-city on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Impresive!… but how about safety? Is it enough to cover all 11 person on board? Looks like a very big moving coffin that can fit 11 person in it

• Enuff said on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Far better than any Proton can offer. That price with tax protection, if not same price with Exora Bold. Wake up lah jaguh kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • untie on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:05 am

Even Exora got taxed lor, get your fact right.
        Also this big MPY can handle like Exora? I doubt it.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:55 pm

I think the bulk of their sales will be from the tour companies and/or hotels who want a “premium” MPV to ferry its guests around instead of using the green/white ‘Bas Persiaran’ you see in some of the pictures.

• eims perfume on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:23 pm

did u mean the 2.5L diesel toyota hiace bas persiaran? that one suspension and handling like old school bus..

this g10 is much much better..

• hm..okla on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:08 pm

at least the interior looks far better than alphard and starex (obviously)

• sick&tired on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Wow using 6hp zf gearbox! Very impressive! I assume its the 6hp19. Same gearbox used in a lot of bmw’s. I would say its probably the best 6 speed gearbox around. And what about the GDI engine? Is it developed in house?

• sepul on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:07 am

This is very interesting. Westar Maxus is a well known brand for commercial vehicles and specially prepped vehicles so it should be good.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:16 am

Hmm… Will it be assembled in Malaysia or is it a CBU import ? If I’m not mistaken, the Weststar Maxus V80 is assembled here (CKD). The fact that the G10 must be pre-ordered makes me think it’s a CBU import, but I could be wrong.

• Arrow on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:48 am

Hmm…looks like you’re losing faith in Proton already. Good also lah, no harm to support China car. Talk about moving to a greener pasture. Hahaha!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:45 am

Lol…

• Aero (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 5:17 am

Tell me, do you think married men should NOT be allowed to talk to other women (like at the workplace) ? I said TALK, nothing more. Just because a man is married, he shouldn’t turn a cold shoulder towards ALL other women in the world… right ? And his wife shouldn’t force him to NOT look or talk to other women… right ? The same goes for the wife as well; her husband shouldn’t beat up every man she looks at or talks to. Again, I said TALK. If it’s anything beyond that, then it’s a different story of course. The most important factor in every marriage is trust. The moment one side loses trust in the other, that’s it.

That’s my predicament, I guess. I am committed to Proton (and Proton knows it), but I feel that it’s not wrong to lend support to other foreign companies which have invested millions in our economy and automotive industry. They deserve to be treated fairly as well. But no matter what, Proton will always be closest to my heart, so long as they continue to demonstrate that they’re committed towards continued improvement.

• SAFETY SPEC SHOULD ON PAR WITH OTHER PREMIUM MPV. If spec follow highest China spec, so it will have DRL, panoramic sunroof, push start button, ABS, EBD, ESP, BA, TCS, TPMS (tyre pressure monitoring). Only let down 2 airbag

Fact this is REBADGE BUICK GL8 (please google BUICK GL8). So I think its a good MPV to choose

• rebadge from BUICK GL8

http://chinaautoweb.com/car-models/saic-maxus-g10/?pid=23228

• rebadge BUICK GL8. Kalay tgk interior pun tak lari jauh dgn BUICK GL8.

http://chinaautoweb.com/car-models/saic-maxus-g10/?pid=23228

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:56 am

China made car wont score NCAP for even 2 star, i have seen so much crash test and i am sure this car will kill 11 if u happen accident. I not confident with Great wall imported car.I only trust Proton who built by Dr. M and encouraged by Rosmah!I Love PM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • since estima at the same price is almost 10 years old , this is an attractive buy. Just need to wait for the test drive .

• thepolygonal on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:01 am

Aiyah… spoiler alert…

Sliding door is manual I think :(

• please check this link be4 comment (spec/safety/technical). for me its a good and value for money MPV if MAXUS pricing below RM120, 000. Fact this is rebadge version of BUICK GL8 MPV, a premium MPV.

http://chinaautoweb.com/car-models/saic-maxus-g10/?pid=23232

http://www.saicgroup.com/english/latest_news/maxus/35092.shtml

http://www.saicgroup.com/english/latest_news/maxus/32392.shtml

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:12 am

As long as it is not Kimchi, it will have RV.

• DPCraft on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:33 am

Front reminds me of Honda Freed

• nice.. except safety features.

• This G10 vs Stavic, which is better in Term of technical?

• ahmad on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Stavic syanyong rasanya sbb merge dgn mercedes.made in korea german kot.
      I pakai chery eastar mitsubishi power.
      Kereta china ni bgs ttp serbis dealer yg bawa masuk teruk.lepas tangan.

• MPVlover on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:07 pm

No, this is not Buick GL8 rebadge, both are completely 2 different cars. Maxus G10 is a new car developed by SAIC Motor Shanghai. If you can read Chinese, go and check out the review for Maxus G10 in China websites, there is even full review for Buick GL8 vs Maxus G10.

The review was positive on all areas for G10 accept for NVH. The suspension is on the hard side and ride is a little bumpy. Also the noise insulation is not very good. Performance is good for the 2.0T engine with 0-100km/h in 10.22s.

• kanazai2001 on Jun 05, 2015 at 11:26 am

why no MT…?! T_T

• Mister E on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Will launch soon is it? Need to test drive it 1st, si far for mpv nothing close to honda, odysee n elysion handle better than velfire, the absorber on Honda’s really great. But velfire looks more pimp la i think. For this car spec on paper is great, but can’t wait to read the teat drive review.

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Wow, really impressed with this…exterior & interior looks better than serena, & innova, and 225hp/345Nm?? OMG..hopefully it comes with bodykit, 17″ wheels and power sliding door and power boot…8 seater shld be enuff..rm120k…if drop another 10k shld be hot selling item.

• jinggo on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Maxus what?! Chinese car? Emmm… low quality, low RV, low class, SC suck to the max, eeeeeee…Yukks..

• isuzuki on Dec 21, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Reliability? Tech know-how? Safety? Maintenance cost?

• HONDA ELLY on May 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm

MPV IS MPV DON’T COMPARE WITH PROTON, IF GOT RM JUST BUY IT EVEN X6 OR Q7 DON’T JUST KNOW HOW TO SHOT OTHER.G 10 IS OK.

• Casual observer on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:57 pm

The G10 was designed in Italy using a British chasis’ German engine and transmission. Maxis was a British brand established in 1896 and was bought out by the Chinese in 2009 so Maxis should not be mad about that name.

• Casual observer on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Sorry friends,…… Correction……..”Maxus” was a British brand

• For those who put up bad review i suggest go n have a look first or even test drive it then can come leave comment here..otherwise just a crap talker..