Taxi drivers’ protest against SPAD, Uber, GrabCar goes ahead – calls for resignation of Syed Hamid Albar

KL06_181115_PEMANDU_TEKSI

The planned taxi drivers’ protest against ridesharing apps like Uber and GrabCar has commenced today after all, despite not permitted and being declared illegal by the authorities. The Star reports that dozens of drivers have gathered at the Padang Merbok carpark at around 10 am, holding placards that call for a ban on these apps and shouting “long live taxis!”

The protestors, led by the Klang Valley Taxi Driver Action Committee, are claiming that the ridesharing competition has caused them to suffer a loss in income. They are also accusing the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) for not been firm enough in prosecuting these companies and demand that their leadership be “reshuffled.”

KL04_181115_PEMANDU_TEKSI

Many of the drivers brought their own taxis to the protest – some decorated with Malaysian flags – and a banner calling for the resignation of SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar was displayed. The protest also saw the support of MP Nasrudin Hassan and a few people wearing Otai Reformis T-shirts, who were present.

Although Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Mhd Amin Nordin had previously said that “the police and DBKL will have to do something” if the protest proceeded without a permit, the event has not seen intervention from a number of policemen who were present around the field and carpark.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Amereka on Nov 18, 2015 at 3:54 pm

USA – United States of Amereka.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • SPAD is the MAIN Problem! on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple. All this drama calling Albar to resign is just “drama”

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.
      You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST.

SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence and protest because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Don’t forget, besides Albar’s wife, ALL the licenses for companies running cabs are all owned by UMNO big boys.

Nobody can touch them la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
      • George Abdul on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:28 pm

So true SPAD one of crony company by BN making Rakyat / user suffer and taxi drivers suffer… just abolish the whole cronies industry !!! Time to change !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • Confession of White Man (RM250) on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Last year when I came to KL for the first time, cab driver charged me RM250 from KL Sentral to KLCC (Maxis Tower)

I was then just a “Mat Salleh” and knew nothing. Cab driver told me that is the normal charge. 11am non peak hours.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Why not taxi urge government to ban selling private cars, then entire Malaysian roads is their playground.

• These taxis should have gone mad la. GrabCar drivers can earn 5 figures now ler.

• Nizirith on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:08 am

Wow..very good “facts” u hv there..ohh pleaseeee mr storyteller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • I am a crony working in SPAD and I am Albar’s babu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Bleeding heart democrat on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:31 am

Speculative comments. Lots of accusations but no evidence to back up.

• Hondaman on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:09 am

Got proof or not? Minum ayaq ketum banyak sangat nie..

• protonsucks on Nov 18, 2015 at 10:55 pm

y there is a ” i love pm najib” ??

u protest coz uber and grab car stole ur job…

but u dont protest when pm stole 2.6Bil ??

bodoh betul la orang taxi ni

• john is otak batu on Nov 18, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Najib, where are you? They are insulting your Malay leader….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • PDRM Got No Balls on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:22 pm

With road closures today in KL plus this protest, it will cause mayhem in KL. Somemore today got ASEAN Summit. This will be so shameful to Malaysia. And worse still. it poses a SECURITY threat.

PDRM scared to do anything. Like stated above, polis were to scared to do anything. They only brave to arrest the jobless man who stole bread to feed his hungry children and encourage the Public Prosecutor to jail this guy for 10 years.

This Hooligans, PDRM dare not arrest. Why? Very simple. see who owns all the teksi companies. This is why PDRM is super scared. Teksi companies lesen are so lucartive. They are all given to UMNO big boys. With just one lesen, you can earn tens of millions per annum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • Protest against Gov? Okay dihalalkan. DiAmanahkan. DiBersihkan. DiHarapankan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Please go and buy a mirror and look at yourself (bloody taxi drivers). Check for your attitude, your mannerism, and your condition of your vehicles. Utterly brainless taxi drivers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 0
  • ntahapeape on Nov 18, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Syok sendiri punye drebar Teksi…
    teksi pon macam reban ayam…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
  • penghambaan zaman moden. heh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • meanwhile
    “jibby korek tahi idung”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Hangjebbat on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Worst taxi service in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • NEGARAKU DICEREBOH OLEH PEMANDU TAXI BERKELAKUAN ZAMAN BATU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • To all taxi driver in Malaysia, pui. Pui . PUI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • wawasan on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:23 pm

So it seems the white shirts are pro jibby….
    Now I know what taxi I should take…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • I owned a stall selling ramly burger. Some IT geek open an online website selling ramly burger at a much more cheaper price. And I go to protest why the govt allowed online burger sale?

Or, I owned a fashion boutique. Should I go to protest why govt allowed zalora to operate?

This is a free biz world. Stay competitive or get out of the way!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 0
    • drawing on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Ms. JJ

Your assumptions are not quite correct in Malaysia…
      It is never a free biz world in Malaysia. People get special treatments all the time. And companies get special treatments too… Heard of Proton? Heard of Highway builders that the profits are guaranteed? Have you come across business that guarantee make money? Well, the highway operators in malaysia is such a business that they can increase their price when profit not enough. If not the gomen will compensate them anyway…

So why not protecting the taxi? Is it such a big shock to you ma’am?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • nabill (Member) on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Damn u…i wan a burger NOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • macromedia on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:26 pm

I stop reading when I saw the signage which reads I N… really?

• Abang2 driver x payah bayar sewa teksi mahal kat kroni gomen.
    Jom ramai2 join Uber!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • najib-tak-peduli on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Ah Jibby never care, he only think how to songlap more and more, squeeze for tax collection.. better taxi`s driver demo on individual permit and crony`s company taxis controlled.. do SPAD care? SPAD is another Jibby & Kak Mah proxy via Syed Hamid Alahabau geng..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • cy Lok on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:20 pm

this taxi driver should all join uber and grabcar since it give them better paid and what best is u no need to paid those cronies every month for RM1500-2000 for their shitty proton saga. win win situation here why they dont notice it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • I tell u taxi driver, even u all success to banned uber , myteksi , grabcar, i also wont take ur taxi, serivces like shit,love to get extra charge , bully my intern for midnight special charge, back from klia when reach ask for extra charge because too far….wtf reason?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Tuktuk on Nov 18, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Cari makan je..minyak, tol naik bang

• Drebar Bas RapidKL on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:50 am

Kalau dah macam tu, tukar profession la, jadi drebar bas RapidKl, ada dekat 400 kekosongan. Ada socso, epf, training , cuti tahunan, bonus, OT . Gaji purata RM3000 bersih bro. Yang sebenarnya pemandu2 teksi ni malas….kerja nak senang & tak nak lakukan perubahan untuk maju bila ada saingan..

• i no la on Nov 18, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Ezora premium auto , rm 35 000., taxi malaysia 10 terbaik di dunia. Naik tax kenderaan mewah lain bagi kepada taxi ezora premium auto. Eyz maa

• MBOLEH on Nov 18, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Just look at the shitty 1st generation Proton Saga taxi in the picture is enough to put off any passengers.

• Proudly brought to you by UMNO

• theDriver on Nov 18, 2015 at 7:00 pm

This is one Epic Fail la: “negaraku dicereboh uber amereka”…… adoila…..

• Passenger on Nov 18, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Dear taxi drivers,

If you want me to use your taxi instead of Uber and Grab. Please

Change your 1998 Saga for a new Myvi or Vios.
    Keep your car clean.
    Don’t pick your nose.
    Don’t spit out the door.
    Don’t smell bad (your body).
    Don’t smell bad (your car).
    Use the meter.
    Don’t demand extra money.
    Don’t cheat me.
    Don’t pick up your wife or other passengers on the way.
    Don’t fart.
    Don’t belch.
    Have air cond that works.
    Don’t play your music loud.
    Don’t make advances on the ladies.
    Give correct change.
    Don’t yell “taxi” when I walk on the street.
    Don’t talk on the phone to your wife for the whole trip.
    Don’t dump me on the street because you get hungry for nasi goreng.
    Don’t complain about traffic.
    Don’t stop on the way to buy stuff or talk to your friends.
    Don’t be grumpy.
    Say “thank you”.

Try this and see if it helps.

With love

A former passenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Richard Johnathan Lim on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Myvi or Vios? Those are’nt safe alternatives, take a Preve or SS.Safer with 6 airbags.

• ben yap on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:04 pm

bodo punya taxi driver thinking they support Najib and he will interfere. he more interested to songlap more money than helping all these things.

act of a desperate person is to apple polish a crook.

• labix7 on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:13 pm

lu kata uber & grabcar tu Haram … tapi lu kasi tipu meter, lu kenakan caj tambang tinggi, lu tipu drive slow2 so meter gerak cepat… itu lu tak kira haram ka???

• Jobless on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Maybe they should chg their uniform to RED…maybe will got more bisnis becoz more ong

• idono on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:22 pm

How to destroy small tyre bearing vio uber grap car. 3 giant robot 150kg and 100kg luggage, ezy maa ,, ekk ikk klik klik klik tit tit tit tit kwek kik kik twet twet twet , brooooooommmmmmm bearing sound, gemuk susah kurus pon susah, that y i no new york taxi like dad.

• Ootai on Nov 18, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Taxi drivers demand?? Why should the bn govt cares?? Wait another 2 more years, then any demand will be looked into. Votes count, by such critical moment.

• Lie detector on Nov 18, 2015 at 11:04 pm

I wont even think of riding the red/white taxi, even if it is free of charge. The drivers faces looks like…..sh@t….

Malu sangat naik red/white taxi.

• Eh pandai pula cakap tutup periuk nasi. Next time if you see people waiting for taxi stop and take us anyway even if the road is congested. Its not like we won’t pay. And there’s this thing called mannerisms. Perhaps you’d like to try it sometimes, and people wont opt to uber/grabcar which are obviously cheap.

• samlok on Nov 18, 2015 at 11:59 pm

all bunch of shit

• MR CHANGE on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:36 am

I can see some drivers that scamed me before ahaha they want the monopole to scam freely whitout constrain.

• Saya Setuju on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:34 am

With all due respect, I agree with all the comments above!

• So they have protested. Does anyone misses them yesterday?

• kuriboh on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:04 am

u see..this is what we call ‘the rakyats power’.
    we see something that unlikely beneficial to rakyat, we create alternative. Luckily Uber and GrabCar comes at the right time. we just want a service that value for money.

• Lawrence B on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:57 am

I LOVE UBER! I LOVE UBER! Their cars are new and branded. They use Honda Accords, Sonatas and even BMWs. Malaysia taxis use broken Protons. Uber’s drivers are mostly highly educated. I have met Uber drivers who were business analyst, retired sale manager, engineer etc. Uber’s fare is also much cheaper than the taxis (as much as 40%). So why should I use Malaysia taxis who are crowned worst taxis in the world? Let’s get things right… Taxis exist because people need them. Not the other way. We don’t exist so that taxi drivers can make their living. If taxis are no longer required, then be it. Uber works like AirBnb. Why some governments are taking action against Uber but not AirBnb? Simply because governments don’t make profit from “hotel permit”. Please don’t act holly by giving all excuses.

• Go to pavilion, bukit bintang why only blue cab? The yellow ones all by roadside “quoting” prices.

• Omron on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:13 pm

2Pak – Amerekaz Most Wanted

• akmal on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:49 pm

y need to blame whole malaysian taxi driver? thres only 1/4 of them did a protest. bigger than this protest event happened in brazil too.. this current worldwide issue theres no need to put down our country

• Hafiz on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Pemandu teksi lagi terok grab cas aku rm20 depa(teksi) meter x dihidupkn pastu cas aku smpy rm40 apehal pastu nk salahkn grab amik kj depa